We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Ranked #60 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First time in Sharm, my daughter and I decided we wanted sun and a relaxing holiday. I have only excellent things to say about the whole holiday, Staff all helpful, happy and polite. Room was always clean and our room cleaner could not have been more helpful. In fact all members of staff despite working long hours in the heat stayed as cheerful from start to finish. Yes if you looked very closely some areas are a little tired but the gardens and buildings themselves are magnificent. Choice of food was very good, we were half board so tended to get our mid day meal from Joe's Mexican Bar. On site the Italian Dive School were very helpful.
Just remember to take plenty of small change as you will want to tip staff more than you realise.
I shall definitely be going back and taking the whole family.
Foot note if you get Chatty Man Rep. (Alan Carr look alike) he is a mine of information on the recent finds at Alexandria.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 3,269 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were transfered to this hotel at last minite as our usual destination of Taba Heights is no go.
What a fantastic two weeks we had and I dont think we will return to Taba.
Ther hotel is glorious with fantastic gardens, and even though there are steps, it adds to the character.
The buffet food albeit in a temporary restaurant was fine, and the meals in the Mexican and Italian Rstaurants were superb.
Our room was spacious and comfortable.
The bars are good, but do take some mozzy repelant as even though you cant see them they bite.
Staff were excellent and mega helpfull, we cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cromwellhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We've been to Sharm a number of times now, but always stayed at different resorts to make it interesting! I have to say this place ranks at the top. Our room was spacious, bathroom clean and tidy, bed comfortable, and a seaview worth the money alone - beautiful.
Resort itself is large so good to walk around - and up and down, as like alot of resorts here, it is built on a hillside. Every day we sat by the Aqua Pool Bar, and were served by Ayman - a top man! This pool is not heated, but didn't realise that until last day!!
Sea was coppy while we were there so alot of mornings, the jetty was closed, but by midday the snorkelling was excellent, if a little choppy. But by the end of our week, it was calming down nicely.
Food in Main Buffet was really good, with plenty of choice, and a couple of times we ate at the Pool Bar (for a supplement) which was good too. Acapulco Joes is worth trying which we did with our Food Voucher.
We come to Sharm every March for the climate (scorchio!), and for a chilled out time and that is exactly what we got here. Do not believe too many reviews - this hotel is fabulous, the staff are friendly, (as are all Egyptians we've met) food great, and wine plentiful!! Remember, a smile and a chat go a long way.....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed at the Renaissance at the start of April with a friend. We're both well travelled and were looking for a resort in which we could unwind and enjoy some sunshine.

Having survived the long queues at Sharm's airport, and the speedy (read terrifying) driving of our transfer, we were really impressed by the security at this hotel. A lot of people will be apprehensive travelling to Egypt at the moment, but all cars are checked underneath with mirrors and a bomb dog before being allowed in to the resort. Bags are put through an airport style scanner, as are all guests. Employees also have to go through a similar check when they leave/enter the resort. There are security guards at all exits from the resort, there 24 hours a day.

The main lobby is a beautiful building,a which contains a few shops, the Italian restaurant, the spa (containing the gym) and the main restaurant. It is located next to the main pool area, which has a bar, a Bedouin seating area and plenty of sun loungers. Around this area there are a number of suites.

The resort has beautiful gardens sweeping down from the top level to the sea, with a waterfall feature running through the middle. The grounds are extremely well tended and provide a bright and cheerful ambiance. They are kept with a sprinkler system which comes on in the early evening.

There are four main pools: The first is tucked away next to the main entrance to the hotel, the main pool is located by the main restaurant, a third is found on the left hand side of the resort, about mid way up and has aqua aerobics, the final pool is next to the sea on the right hand side and has a pool bar.

The beach front is mostly rocky, but has two small sandy beaches. The reef runs right up to the resort, so guests are asked to use a floating jetty to enter the sea - this is good fun in itself! The fish are absolutely stunning and can be seen without snorkelling for those who may not wish to get involved that way!

There is a small croquet court and a volleyball court by the sea. Both are free of charge. The tennis court is on the top level by the entrance and guests are entitled to one free game. The gym is small, but fully functional, although it's air con isn't great. The free spa facilities include a jacuzzi, a steam room and a sauna.

The greatest asset the resort has are the staff, who would do anything to improve the stay of the guests. They are always cheerful and pleasant, without ever being pushy or overbearing. In the dining room we were told that if we had any special requests, they would happily oblige us. The lovely Amr was on hand to serve pasta at almost every meal. At the Aqua bar we had consistently great service from Soltan and Michel who anticipated our need for green tea mid morning and would bring us bottles of ice cold water without us having to ask. They also did make a mean cocktail when we did relent and indulge in a bit of holiday naughtiness! Ayman looked after everyone at that pool, bringing endless towels, teaching snippets of language and even providing us with a pair of masks and snorkels for us to use for the week for free. Everyone we met was an asset to the resort, and I hope that the management fully appreciates their hard work!

The breakfasts were wide ranging and tasty; every morning there was an omelette bar, a selection of breads and pastries (although one opportunistic sparrow did seem to help himself to those sometimes! This could be easily rectified by covering the food), a selection of cooked breakfast food, pancakes, salad and fruit.

The lunches and dinners were of a similar format - the fish courses were fantastic and should definitely be tried. The hotel were clearly trying to cater for fussy eaters by always having chips pizza and chicken available. There was always a large fresh salad bar and a huge selection of delicious breads. A desert table had a large number of choices from cakes to jellies to rice pudding. Having a peanut allergy I did have to ask a lot if any of the food contained peanuts. The staff were obliging and always helped. Perhaps a management policy could be to label food with a "(n)" if it did contain nuts? That is a simple suggestion that would have made me feel much more confident. The theme nights were varied, and the Asian night in particular stood out for us.

We tried to Italian restaurant with our one free meal. This was a lovely change and we fully enjoyed the food there. The service was also fantastic.

The people we met at the resort also added greatly to our holiday - there was a lovely mix of age ranges, couples, families and nationalities. We really loved getting to know the other guests and were so impressed by the Russian guest's English ( and volleyball skills!!).

We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for sunshine and the opportunity to switch off for a short break. We would consider going back again. Please ignore the other reviews which are critical - you can't please everyone all of the time - everyone we met was having a lovely time.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite, and I am sure they will oblige you if there is one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RANorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one month and I am sorry to say we will not ever come back again!
The hotel overall is very nice and in part impressive albeit a tad shabby in places.However the food and service in the dining room falls way bellow any that we have experienced anywhere else in the world.With one or two exceptions the staff in the dining room were very inattentive most of the time we felt that we were invisible! The standards of food hygiene and food safety were really bad insomuch as My ,as one member of Saga crowd ,had a meeting to discuss this with the new Executive chef.Things did improve slightly but still stayed way short of our expectations.The last week of our stay we were driven out of the dining room because of an infestation of flies which where all over the uncovered and un chilled so called cod meats and salad stuff.We ate in the Mexican which was i must say really good.It did show what they can do .It is a pity we had to pay extra for the privilege of having excellent food well served by fabulous staff.

Room Tip: upgrade to a room with a sea view over looking the main pool .Well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theYorkshiretwo884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Sha... R, Manager at Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort.

You indicated in your response that some of our hotel services were unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. And as you mentioned that some changes had been done, as well another upgrading and modification under process.

We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me on Nagwa.omar@marriott.com.

Nagwa Omar
Admin. Asst. to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having stayed here 4 times over the last 5 years I was apprehensive now it's been changed to an all inclusive hotel and the previous reviews were very hit and miss. However we had another great week - staff as usual really helpful and friendly, hotel cleanliness second to none and the weather and snorkelling amazing!! Now re the food..the main restaurant is still closed so the main dining area is in the function room. No it's not as nice as the restaurant but it does the job short term. Breakfast was great, plenty of variety. Omelette station, hot food, cereal etc. lunch is a let down as its the same as dinner but if like me you don't mind paying for what you prefer there is the beach bar and sports bar where you can get salads, sandwiches etc. dinner was fine, yes a bit more variety would be good but I thought it was plentiful and tasted good. Overall the hotel just needs to get into the swing of the all inclusive way and make sure the variety, quality are top notch and that its clear in what is included and I do believe this is work in progress. Also improve the nightly entertainment, im not that bothered about it but i could see from a family perspective this is a let down.We had a great, relaxing week and give this hotel a big thumbs up!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank laurielil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the second time in March 2014, having stayed previously in September 2013. The only real difference to last time was the temporary restaurant set up and we didn't think that was much of a problem.

As a returning guest we were upgraded on arrival to a suite, which was very big, and very nice. A couple of days later, the hotel sent a thank you card and small platter of dates to the room, which was nice too.

The hotel is still in a great spot - snorkelling in the sea is brilliant - and the grounds are lovely. All of the staff were really good and could not do enough to help.

We thought the food was fine. We have stayed in All Inclusives in the Caribbean and the food there is much better, but the price there is also much higher. Drinks from the bars were good too.

We will go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mont1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.6 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#65 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,179 reviews
16.6 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,569 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cyrene Island Hotel
Cyrene Island Hotel
#91 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
603 reviews
4.6 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#10 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort

Address: Om El Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#60 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £39 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Marriott Managed hotel nestled on a headland & surrounded by the spectacular coral reefs of the Red Sea, overlooking Ras Mohamed National Marine Park. Extends over 95,000 square meters, with 350 meters of its own beach frontage, sandy coves, Lush gardens, waterfalls, its own floating jetty, diving center & 4 Swimming pools. The resort provides a series of two storey villas accommodation, creating a feeling of space around the Resort & affording many of the 384 rooms & suites with panoramic views of the Red Sea Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Golden View Beach Resort Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing