We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price, but not really great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Ranked #78 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for the price, but not really great”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Not a great start when the car we booked with the hotel to pick us up from the airport (a tip we learnt many moons ago was a major stress-reliever) wasn't there. When we did get to the hotel the staff seemed more interested in working out whose fault it was than anything else.

We were offered a room upgrade to a full sea view (I think we were booked into a room with a bit of a sea view before) although I am not sure what difference there is. We were also offered a free car when we left, so that kind of made up for it guess.

Two important tips (1) you do get what you pay for and this hotel is inexpensive at present and (2) this is Egypt so you will get hounded in many places when you were out and about. Really nobody should be surprised by these two things.

As others have commented the Renaissance falls someway short of a 5-star hotel. The food is basic at best and adequate in quantity. The hotel is a little tired and could do with more touching up in many aspects (room decor, bathroom, cleanliness, painting, minor repairs) but as I said you have to keep in mind the price - right now it's very cheap.

What makes the difference at the Renaissance are the staff. Without exception they are fantastic - enthusiastic, helpful, and genuinely care that you are enjoying your stay. To be honest without this it might be a whole different experience! And that word genuinely is important. It is not uncommon for people in to be angling for tips which we have seen a lot in our travels, but that's not the case here - they're very much trying to help. I don't know how the management have instilled this in their team but it deserves a "well done" in my opinion.

So don't expect the luxuries of a 5 star, world class hotel and bear in mind the price you are paying and there is no reason you won't have a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Since0Seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    812
    268
    114
    95
See reviews for
731
1,187
133
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a solid three star or at best a good 4 star and never a 5 star. We booked and paid for a sea view room and i telephoned a week before to make the staff aware this was our honeymoon. When we arrived we were made aware that we had NOT been given a sea view room which was strange as thats what we had paid for !! This was soon corrected and we were given a decent room which was clean tidy and acceptable. The resort needs some maintenance as the paths / walkways are crumbling in places , the toilet flush handles in the reception area were broken, some areas need the paint touching up ,there are rope bannisters up many of the stairs which are loose and look in poor condition.and for some strange reason very few of the light fittings are level,The food was really good and the staff try so so hard to please however the mosquitoes are horrendous and we witnessed some people with upto 25 bites per leg which made it not worth going out after dark. All in all an enjoyable holiday however we would not go back again. Shopping outside of the resort was a nightmare with people hanging around outside their shops hassling you at every possible chance , an initial hello from them quickly changed to ' hey i am talking to you ' if ignored. Egypt as a country has gone nowhere but down since they built the pyramids and out side the resorts its just filth upon filth . Decent resort fantastic staff but no return for us

Room Tip: Higher floored rooms are better for views if you get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olimpia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Hotel is pretty nice,staff is helpfull,the beach was very nice and clean,the pool was nice.
There's a lot of places must have a maintenance
All my concern was in food quality was not the same quality for a five star hotel

Room Tip: Second floor is always better from my side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joseph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

To summarise: Do not expect 5 start treatment. Sad to say but the majority of staff are male and miss that caring, attentive touch. Not to say men are not capable but this does not seem to be evident in Sharm, outside of the hotel too.

The location was not so great, I can't say exactly where we were, but we were always last to be dropped off when taking tours with other hotel groups.

Reception:
The few ladies that did work on the hotel reception were professional, knowledgeable and apt for working in a hotel environment that receives international guests.

We booked through easyjet and requested a balcony sea view room. We were given (upgraded to an apartment room with outdoor garden) but quite a distance from the sea or heated pool.

We were also informed a tour rep would meet us the next morning. This took us by surprise as we had not booked or arranged this. Quite cheeky, but it did help us.

They wanted to take a holding deposit of £300, by any 5star standard across the world, this was a bit too much for me. I highlighted this and left no holding deposit as they could not figure out that £50 was a sufficient amount to ensure my credit card works. This was a problem later in the week, when we had built up £100 in food across the hotel, and I was told that I had pay off my bills at reception or pay for things in cash from now on.

The reception staff are not knowledgeable about their own hotel or times of restaurants, and when a lack of information is conveyed without a smile, it really is frustrating.

We arrived on NYE and wanted to attend the hotel party, but the reception staff were unable to clearly inform us of the price and what it included. In the end we attended the party for free but did not have any of the food which was nowhere to be seen anyway.

The language is a problem. However I was able to surprise my gf with a customised birthday cake (at a fair price) and a massive beautiful bouquet of flowers. For example I gave exact details of how the cake was to be made. But they left out the message on top, and me requesting nuts on the side of the cake, was presented with nuts in a bowl as in a side dish of almond nuts rather than nuts on the side of the cake.

Restaurants:

The hotel has 3 main restaurants (one Italian Il Paliano, one that serves buffet style food). There is a sports cafe on the lower floor that is open most of the time and has the best food. There is also a bar that has nibbles (made in same kitchen as sports bar). There is a mexican restaurant out by one of the pools but never got to eat there.

The breakfast is really good with the standard you would expect. However service is poor, and you will continually be asking staff for clean cuttlery, napkins or the tea/coffee you requested.

The sports bar has even worse service, with nobody particularly willing to help.

If you want to order anything of the menu or with a difference, do not expect this to be an easy task.

Il Paliano: On walking into the restaurant, no staff came to greet or welcome us but rather called us to behind the bar. This happened the night before.

No smiles, but rather wondering what we wanted in a restaurant.

Asked to wear trousers as opposed to shorts Changed came back Restaurant empty
3 staff and asked to wait as another team member would take order He told me to wait a two minutes for waiter The waiter Amir/Amr Hassan was busy being instructed to pour a shot I then told them we were hungry He informed the waitor and I continued to look at them to which I was told to hold on and it will be a minute

The menu is relatively poor with no good starter/appertives options.

Amr (waitor) served bread but no plates were given, crumbs all over table and didn't think to clean up.

Red Table cloth was dirty with oil marks White table cloth had a hair on it Napkin was dirty Cutlery was not clean.

Facilities:
There are about 3 pools, all outdoor but only one heated. It was always too busy to use.
We went in Jan so a heated pool was essential.

Whilst relaxing at the pool or anywhere in the facilities you will be constantly bothered by the spa staff. The prices are ridiculous and we negotiated over 50% discount. Furthermore, do inspect the spa facilities before purchasing, as the spa is basic and dated despite undergoing a recent "refurbishment to a high standard".

There is a jogging trail around the resort which is good.

The resort itself is big and very nice.

Room:

We ordered a regular double room, but were given "upgraded" to a suite. The suite was large, with a kitchen, lounge bedroom and bathroom. The standard was old. The day we moved in, there was a note to say the next day the room would be fumigated. This was back handed complement and couldnt help but feel cheated. My gf went ballistic, knowing that her clothes and all sorts would be covered in chemicals. She rang reception to find out exactly what this meant but the language meant we could not find out.

The room was not clean. It was dusty. And over the course of the week, we noticed the cleaning was not thorough as items would be left on the floor.

The shower continually leaked over the bathroom floor as the shower door was not correctly sealed.

Also you have to let the water run for a while, as it initially comes out brown. and over the first few days the water would smell.

We had to call reception to ask for new towels and bedsheets as this was not changed daily.

All in all I would not stay here again, but it was cheap.

From meeting residents of other hotels such as hilton and marriot, the standard all over sharm is low, so expecting 5 star anywhere seems impossible.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonGent22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Sha... R, Manager at Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us and sharing your experience with the Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort.

You indicated in your response that your stay was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
ALAA ALY
Director of Rooms Operations
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh
alaa.aly@marriott.com
002 01221501116
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Have just returned from an 11 night stay. It was our first time in Egypt. We had a fantastic holiday. The hotel site is lovely. Two storey accommodation blocks situated in spacious grounds. It is set in to the hillside so does contain a fair number of steps, however we didn't mind this as it gave us brief moments of exercise amongst the hours of total relaxation. The grounds include well designed water fall features and gardens. The rooms are good and are kept clean by dedicated and attentive staff. Our cleaner, Ahmed, noticed our anniversary cards and when we returned to our room we found that his towel art skills had produced a beautifully crafted heart with flowers.
All the staff cannot do enough for you. Service in all the bars and the restaurant was always excellent. Ayman sorted our sun beds each day, wherever we wanted them and would make sure that you were ok all day. An example of this was, after noticing that we had one snorkel set of our own, gave us another to use throughout our stay. Hopefully, the management of the hotel realise what a good and friendly service their staff give.
We were happy with the food as there was always enough choice. There is also plenty of choice of where to spend your day, with 4 pools and an extensive water front area. The snorkelling is amazing! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we would not hesitate to return. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathIan154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Its really fantastic resort
All staff more than friendly
Every body working hard to make you happy
Every thing is organize and clean
Really I advise every one wants to stay in sharm to book in this resort
Thanks renaissance team

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Before i get started for those who have never been to egypy. 5 star egyptian hotel is not the same as 5 star hotel in other places...

Having a great time at the golden view. Service is great and friendly staff. All star cleaner ahmed for our room who attends all our needs plus makes great decorative "oregami" with towels and fresh flowers that brings a smile to your face.

All inclusive food quality and selection fluctuated daily but there was always something nice to have. Depends on how picky you are i guess... heard plenty of whiny people who just ate salad and their pasta/pizza.

Dive center on location "DiveIn" will sort you out for a reasonable price and you would be ridiculous to not fully endulge in the reefs of sharm. Im an open warers diver. But the dive center and our guide Ramy still managed to make it possible for me and my girlfriend who was taking the scuba diver course to get 3/5 dives together.

And finally what many people are wondering: is sharm safe? We Went to nama bay. Did quad biking in the desert and visited the bedwin tribe and camel riding. People we met at the hotel went to cairo and said it was grand. Dont let the media scare you!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Larvin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.6 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#60 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Fanara Residence
Jaz Fanara Residence
#13 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
3.8 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#15 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
#48 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,175 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#19 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort

Property: Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Address: Om El Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Marriott Managed hotel nestled on a headland & surrounded by the spectacular coral reefs of the Red Sea, overlooking Ras Mohamed National Marine Park. Extends over 95,000 square meters, with 350 meters of its own beach frontage, sandy coves, Lush gardens, waterfalls, its own floating jetty, diving center & 4 Swimming pools. The resort provides a series of two storey villas accommodation, creating a feeling of space around the Resort & affording many of the 384 rooms & suites with panoramic views of the Red Sea Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Golden View Beach Resort Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing