We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Ranked #62 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just returned from 10 days at this hotel.

We've now visited this hotel on 4 occasions and been to Egypt a high number of times, so hopefully this is a balanced review.
flew with Easy Jet, which we have found to be better than the charter airlines. (And cheaper!)
Took off on time and had the usual flight. Biggest problem was Mr Easy jet didn't give out landing cards before landing, claiming they "Ran out". Me thinks, they forgot?
Anyway, into the airport and cue chaos, not having a filled in landing card creates.
Eventually got through the bedlam and met our "Private transfer". We have always travelled by bus with other guests, but made the "mistake" this year, of going up market and having a transfer for us only. The driver introduced himself as Michael Schumacher!! He then went on to prove this point, by trying to drive his 1300CC, Hyundai at Mac speed. It was the sort of ride you would pay good money for, to scare yourself. Certainly scared us!!!
Got to the hotel alive, thankfully.( And quickly)
This is a great hotel and very quiet in its location
Booked in very quick and got the 2 rooms we requested. 2111 and 2112. Adjoining rooms and on the ground floor as we had our adult daughter with us.
Hotel was only around 40% occupancy.
Rooms haven't changed in all the time we have visited and are beginning to look tired. Not a big issue for us as we only use it for sleeping and getting showered. New flat screen TVs showing dubbed films, CNN and BBC world news. All you soap addicts best set your "Sky plus" before leaving home. Rooms cleaned to a very high standard by Ibrahim. Thank you. Spoke to us every day in his best English and our best Arabic, or should I say, lots of gesturing and smiling!!!
Now, let's get onto this all inclusive thing. Or is it !All inclusive"
Went up to the "Coast" restaurant for dinner and found it had been refurbished, which I think is for the better. Others say not. You can have a wander and see what culinary delights there is, before deciding. Last year was a bit of a queue and you couldn't see till the last minute the options.
All meals had to be taken in the main restaurant. Long walk from the beach. Last year you could lunch at all the bars. Food was of good quality but, not a great choice. Chicken and fish were popular!!
Lunchtime menu was quite often better. Curry, stir fry etc.
During the stay, they changed the way it worked. You could eat at the bars, but if you went over about £5, you paid a supplement. Not all inclusive.
Also. no ice cream at the pool. It ran out, but not replaced. Not all inclusive
Drinks were limited to spirits, wine and beer. No cocktails. Cocktails were part of the deal last year Cocktails were extra. We paid £20 for 3 cocktails. Not all inclusive.
This hotel is now used by SAGA holidays, which caters for a more mature traveller. Find this a bit odd, with so many steps down to the beach and a lot of the rooms.
Anyway, none of this spoilt our holiday.
A big thank you to the staff, who really make up for some of the hotels short comings.
Especially, Mohamed Amiens Saad (Captain Mohamed) in the restaurant, who went out of his way to bring me cheese at the end of the meal. Thank you
Ahmed and Mohamed who took over from him around the pool. Nice towels!!!
Ibrahim the room cleaner, Great job.
Ahmed on the Jetty. Good English and very knowledgeable. Some life guard!!!
Went on a speed boat trip organised by "Mario" met him previously and a good bloke. Doesn't rip you off. Book your trips with him.
Ali the speedboat captain!!! Great ride.
Too sum up, would I return to this hotel
??????
I will keep an eye on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dogcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Sha... R, Manager at Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort.

You indicated in your response that the All inclusive system was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations.
Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Abdel Rahman
Front Desk Manager
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh
mohamed.abdelrahman@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 3,239 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Food is horrible and no viarity at all in their dishes, though it supposed to be an international hotel!! Yet the staff are friendly and welcoming to any kind of note and helpful, facilities are nice but not great as the other hotels in sharm sheikh..but little disappointed about the food!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Shorouq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Sha... R, Director of Rooms Operations at Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort.

You indicated in your response that the food was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations.
Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
ALAA ALY
Director of Rooms Operations
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh
alaa.aly@marriott.com
002 01221501116

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our second time at renaissance golden view beach resort, not as good as the first time as the food in the Coast resturant not as good, Staff are trying to resolve this issue and the food was improving as the week went on well done to them and they are taking on board the concerns of the guests.

Almost all of the staff at the hotel will try their hardest to please the guests apart from those at alcopolco joes who seem to be more interested in whats on their mobile phone than what the guests are asking for!!!!!!!!!!! I had to ask 3 times over 2hrs to put soap in the dispenser so that I can wash my hands.

Wasem on the beach towel desk was great as was the guy who brought our many drinks to our lounger.

This hotel is a little dated and some things need sorted, our room was very good #6206 with sea view.

Room Tip: if you do not mind walking up a lot of steps numbers starting with 6 & high floor have sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucieboy_dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Sadly after 10 years of going to this hotel and being a loyal and regular customer - sometimes twice a year! and this time I felt that it had reached its all time low.

It had changed due to management to the extent that its clearly not a 5* anymore. Worse idea they ever had was bringing in AI as it does not work.

Last November we were there and enjoyed the R class all inclusive which was fine - this year we were told this was now available so we could not have it but when we arrived there was a group of people wearing the red wrist bands on R class - we queried it and they said they had given it to them as they have booked before it was cancelled but they had re thought things and decided to bring it back in from the 1st June!!!!! this is so ridiculous they need to get their act togther and make up their minds!

I was insulted by the reception staff on my last day and sadly this has left a bitter taste in my mouth and I may not come again.
I did send an email to the manager but as yet have had no reply.
Its such a beautiful location and I have to say that some of the staff - Aymen (Recreation) Ahmed (Recreation), Mohameed & Zoltan (Aqua Bar) and Sayed (Beach Bar) were all absolutely amanzing and could not have done enough for us.

Just seems the Management need to get their act together.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank sare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Sha... R, Manager at Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort.

You indicated in your response that the All Inclusive package was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me via my mail Nagwa.omar@marriott.com.

Nagwa Omar
Admin. Asst. to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed with friends for a long weekend to do some diving and booked here because the prices were really low. I had read some mixed reviews of the hotel, but it really did surpass my expectations.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the hotel staff and told to have breakfast while they completed the check in process for us. When we finished breakfast they gave us our keys and told us we'd been upgraded to sea view rooms, not to mention that they allowed us to check in a 9:30am. Very nice!

All of the hotel staff were very friendly and were fun to laugh and joke around with. It seemed like they genuinely enjoyed talking with everyone. Also, since the resort wasn't very full they had plenty of time to talk with the guests that were.

The Dive In scuba center provided very nice options for diving and again the staff was very friendly. The spa staff were very good at their jobs and had reasonable prices.

Breakfast variety was adequate. We didn't do the all inclusive package, so we ended up eating at Acapulco Joe's twice and really enjoyed it. Definitely some of the better Mexican inspired food I've had in the Middle East with very generous portions. Plus fried ice cream...yum!

The hotel also had an activities guy that lead the Aqua Gym classes and beach volley in the afternoons. It was a lot of fun and a good way to get a tan while being active.

They were very accommodating and even let us check out at 6pm on our departure day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Sharm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at this Hotel Janury 2013 and i have to say it was the best holiday i've had.
This was my second time to Egypt, my first to Sharm and i loved it so much i've booked to come back to this hotel in September.
The food was out of this world, i loved the breakfast selection. The rooms were beautiful.
The entire hotel was spotless and the staff just couldnt do enough for you.

I felt like royaly on my stay and i cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SufiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The rooms were lovely here, nice and clean, one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in,. Unfortunately the food was dreadful we actually lost a couple of pounds each. it was the same thing more or less every day, curry, beef stew, chicken, pizza, soup and rubbery fish. Hopefully the restaurant is now finished and the food may well improve, as we had to use the downstairs conference rooms, we often ran out of tables and once had to eat lunch in the entrance hall. Lovely weather, very hot. The Spa was great for massages, especially Marwa for sports massage. Not many English mainly locals and Russian. Evening entertainment same every night, belly dancer, whirling dirvish, red indians dancing and once a puppeteer. Would not return. This was our tenth trip to Egypt and the only one we had to go to a Doctor regarding upset tummies, we were given antibiotics in the end and had to have two lots as we were there 2 weeks.

Room Tip: Try to get near Reception otherwise it is a long walk up hill for your food. We gave up waiting for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammirocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Sha... R, Manager at Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort.

You indicated in your response that the selection of our food and entertainment were unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me via my mail Nagwa.omar@marriott.com.

Nagwa Omar
Admin. Asst. to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.6 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#65 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,159 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cyrene Island Hotel
Cyrene Island Hotel
#92 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
599 reviews
16.6 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
468 reviews
3.8 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,526 reviews
4.6 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort

Address: Om El Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#61 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £33 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Marriott Managed hotel nestled on a headland & surrounded by the spectacular coral reefs of the Red Sea, overlooking Ras Mohamed National Marine Park. Extends over 95,000 square meters, with 350 meters of its own beach frontage, sandy coves, Lush gardens, waterfalls, its own floating jetty, diving center & 4 Swimming pools. The resort provides a series of two storey villas accommodation, creating a feeling of space around the Resort & affording many of the 384 rooms & suites with panoramic views of the Red Sea Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Prestigia, Booking.com, Marriott, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Golden View Beach Resort Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing