We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Jolie Ville Golf & Resort
Ranked #27 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2008

We went to this lovely resort at the end of October. What a fantastic experience. We came to the hotel, got checked in, and the hotel arranged for a small golf cart to pick up us and the luggage to take us to our room (we had paid extra for a room in the royal wing). When we entered our room, we were amazed - what a size….. Must have had about 30 sqm room, 4 sqm hallway and about 12 sqm bathroom with a huge tub in it. Had two ¾ beds in the room (for 2 people) - so there was plenty of room on all the 280 centimeters. There was coffee facilities and TV with lots of channels. Room was located close to the royal wing pool - only 50 meters down to the pool. The royal wing pool was also big and very nice, with depths ranging from 110 cm to 150 cm - and a childrens pool only 45cm deep (with a water playground). Bar and restaurant in the pool area as well, serving cold water, soda, beer, and descent food.
Only downside of the royal wing is the distance to the beach - takes between 5 and 10 min. to walk down there - but it is possible to catch the little hotel train, driving from the reception, down close to the “beach” area. Just remember there is a lot of steps down to the beach jetties, and you have to get there early to get sunbeds. But snorkelling on the hotel reef was absolutely amazing - saw lots of colourful fish - could have spent hours and hours down there.

The hotel itself offers a variety of restaurants of different cuisines - there is a buffet restaurant, a bistro, a Chinese and a Lebanese (in the Royal Club across the road - restaurant is overlooking the golf course). During the day, there is 2 pool restaurants at the main pool and 1 in the royal wing. Prices of food at the hotel are more expensive than in Naama Bay - but food is descent here. One thing I lacked from the previous reviews, I read before travelling, is the price level for food at the hotel. Prices range from about 50 LE and up: pizzas 55-70 LE, large burger with fries 70 LE, club sandwich and fries 65 LE, pasta 70-80 Le, lobster or steak from the grill 135-300 depending on what you should fancy.

In Naama Bay, at a restaurant called Dananeer you can get a steak dinner for about 60 LE for a beef tenderloin with fries (about 80 LE for Surf and Turf). Pizza Hut offers Large pizza’s with stuffed crust for 55 LE per pizza. There is also a KFC, TGI Fridays, Hard Rock Café, Egyptian, Italian, Lebanese and Chinese cuisines - so plenty to choose from. Taxi down town cost us 40 LE - but they will try to charge 50-70 LE. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus on certain times.

Breakfast at the hotel was free, of course - and very nice. Plenty of selection between freshly made omelettes, chicken and beef sausages, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, meatloaf, 8 different yoghurts, plenty of fresh fruit (melons and fruit salads), all carved out and peeled (so no worries about eating the fruit), serials, bread and more. Sometimes it does however take some time to get some coffee, but waiters are fast to clear the tables.

Hotel also had free internet access - that is on the stationary pc’s they have in the reception - however, these are almost always taken.

Staff at the hotel were generally very welcoming and polite, particularly our room cleaning guy was a nice young man. The Egyptian people are very warm and accommodating people, but respects a no thank you. The occasional one may noy get the hint - so you should just ignore them.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jinxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2008

Stayed here 9/27-9/30 with a group of friends. Driving up you think you may be screwed because you’re in the middle of the desert, but once you get there, it takes a while to get to the main hotel. You’ll be pleasantly surprised. It’s a grand hotel, with great amenities like snorkeling, tons of restaurants, FREE INTERNET access, FREE BREAKFAST, enormous pool(s), huge rooms with large bathrooms, and balconies. There’s a little shop in the lobby for last minute items and snacks, which is great.

Rooms are very nice, spacious and have really large balconies.

The only downer is when pulling up, they have these security barriers that prevent anyone from driving up to the main entrance, which is a drag if the bellman is not there to help with your bags. In addition, if you want to catch a taxi to go to the Old Market or Na’am Bay, you have to walk all the way to the main gate to catch the cab. But the gentleman at the gate will gladly call one for you.

Over the beautiful wooden bridge is the “beach” area, which is fantastic and you have great snorkeling right there!! There are tons of little nooks where you can grab a couple beach chairs and an umbrella and hang out all day. You can also rent snorkeling gear from the dive shop.

There are also 4 piers that you can lounge at, but be sure to get there early.

The main pool is nice and plays decent music. They also serve drinks and you can have lunch a few steps away at the BBQ restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jackeemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Just to give my review a context, I have holidayed in Sharm four times and stayed in four different properties in the last three years:

Grand Rotana
Hyatt Regency
Sofitel
and finally, Jolie Ville Golf Resort.

I was perfectly happy in all the other resorts, you take the good with the bad and the good always out weighed the bad. I have always managed to get very good deals also, which I think you need to keep in mind when you are less than satisfied.

However, I wouldn't feel right if I didn't let others know that in my experience you can do much better than the Jolie Ville.

The breakfast was not good, the food is all a little bit tired and the standard is certainly not as high as the other hotels I have stayed in. The staff in the breakfast area never offered us tea/coffee proactively, we always had to look for them (in the other 3 hotels they were all over you with refills and even got to know your name). Nobody ever said good morning either, which is in stark contrast to the other hotels I have stayed in.

The restaurants had no atmosphere , whenever we walked in they were dead quiet with no music or buzz about them. We tried the Bistro, the Lebanese Restaurant (the best of them) and then we went into the Chinese Restaurant. The Chinese restaurant had no customers and no music playing with four staff looking at us! We had that feeling of dread and decided to leave and get a taxi to the Grand Rotana next door as they have an Oriental Restaurant there called Silk Road. What a contrast, the doors were opened before us, everyone was saying hello, the staff were extremely nice to us and the Manager came to our table to introduce himself. Quite honestly it was like a joke, as if someone had told them how bad the other hotel was! My husband and I were on holiday with my sister and brother in law and their two kids..............they couldn't believe how gorgeous the Grand Rotana was. We ate there a second night also.

The pool at the Jolie Ville is fine (as are all the grounds, its an old'ish hotel, but clean) but nobody from the bar comes round for drinks orders or lunch orders during the day. Again, in the other three hotels they were always doing the rounds and getting a drink was easy (makes sense too because you order much more and thus spend more money with them!)

The taxi situation in the hotel is ridiculous too. You order a taxi at the concierge desk as you normally would in a hotel. They then send you out to a hut where you are harassed about the price! Its as if you are in the centre of the town! Our taxi from Jolie to Rotana cost £65 Egyptian, and from Rotana to Jolie £25.

We asked to meet the Manager, better to give honest feed back face to face I would have thought. The Manager was too busy and would not meet us! I hate any kind of stress on holiday (whats the point?) so we just decided to forget about it and left the hotel every evening to eat off site.

Again, all I can say is that there are much better hotels in Sharm for in and around the same money. The great thing about holidaying in Sharm is the lovely friendly staff and the attentive service. I'm afraid I cannot say this about the Jolie Ville and I think I am well qualified to remark as I have experienced other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Juholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

recently returned from a two week visit to this hotel and all I can say is that is was fantastic. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the rooms huge and the service very good, We stayed on half board basis and can honestly say the food was very good, ,Breakfast was buffet service and there is something for all tastes and plenty of it. Dinner is based on a theme such as oriental or mediteranean so its not the same food night after night and they never serve chips!
you also have the choice of a chinese or a lebanese restaurant. There is nightly entertainment which consists of two girls singing (sounds like karaoke only not as good) and then a show which iis different every night., saw belly dancing and guy who stood on broken glass, none of it brilliant but it was entertaining,
There is a kids club which was pretty good and ran most of the day. There was an amazing sight at the back of the hotel where there is steps down to the beach and the jettys onto the red sea, it was gorgeous. The pools in the hotel are amazing i have never seen so many, there is a lazy river that runs round them all and it was lovely. There are water slides and play areas for the children, big and small.
Taxis from Naama a little hair raising and they will try and get you to pay a lot but definetely should not pay more than 50 egyptian pounds.
Prices for dirinks around the pool a little pricey but hey this is a 5 star hotel. Just stock up at the supermarkets in Naama.
Take note this is not the place to go if you want to drink good wines etc with dinner, the egyptian wine is 18 pound a bottle and it is rubbish. We do enjoy a glass of wine but alcohol consumption was greatly reduced here. Not complaining though every thing else so good.
if You want to go to Sharm I would definetely suggest you go here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiddles02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Got a very good deal for a week's stay at the Jolie Ville Golf & Resort in Sharm el-Sheikh. Breakfast included. We had three standard rooms all facing the inner court yards. All our rooms had a large balcony, well-stocked minibar, nice beds, big, marbled bathroom, tv with many international channels and the rooms were large. They were cleaned daily and even if you returned home to your room around midday, housekeeping was done. That was a relief from other hotels where housekeeping often is not done until late afternoon.

The hotel and the hotel-grounds are large, spacious and clean. Reception is polite but tended to be a bit slow upon check in. The concierge's people were all very helpful and polite and for a small tip (10 EGP) even nicer and helpful. But let me say that they were nice and polite and serviceminded also without the tip. We used them to take care of certain arrangements we had where we needed a private car, and although the prices were higher had we hailed the cab ourselves, we did not feel ripped off.

There are two large pools on the grounds, the main pool being VERY large, with a lazy-river running all the way around the fine area around the pool. Water was clean and pool and pool-area were cleaned daily. Fresh towels were easily obtained from any number of manned towel-stations around the grounds. There are palmtrees, bourgainvillea-flowers and green grass-areas all around. At the main pool near the water slide there was an animation-desk and a "Snoopy-club" and while the adults got a tiny bit tired with the animation-gals yelling into their mikes at all times, the kids seemed to like it and there was always a lot going on.

We were many nationalities and none stuck out as being too loud, too silly, too drunk or too much. All kids were well-behaved and we didn't experience any bad things around the pool, in the hotel, the restaurants or at the beach.

It takes about five minutes to climb down to the gorgeous beach-area with several wooden jetties leading to an amazingly beautiful coral-reef. There were plenty sunbeds and you can also lounge on either of the jetties. There were restaurants at the beach as well as barservice and several showers where you could wash off the salt from the sea. There is also a small divecenter where you can book diving or rent snorkel-gear. The friendly Abdou in the diving center laughed at us for not buying our own snorkel-gear as we ended up renting each day. It was rather pricey, and Abdou adviced us to get our own already the first day, but ended up giving us a discount a huge grin the last day. The areas on the beach with sun-loungers is divided into several parts and it didn't feel crowded when we were there, although it is not by any means the largest beach areas we've been to. There is a small sandy patch by the waters where smaller kids can splash around, but other than that, it is only deep waters with reefs. Our five year old in the group loved it after a day of getting adjusted.

Breakfast at the hotel was buffetstyle and there was everything: eggs, sausages (chicken or beef), baked beans, cereals, cakes, croissants, fruits, omelets, oriental style stuff, cheese, bread, vegetables, juices, coffee, tea and much much more. The busy waiters kept the place relatively nice and were quick to change the food around, and we could make the breakfast last until evening. The coffee was good.

The Ascot bar had even better coffee, good beer and was a fine place to relax before bed or before dinner. Nothing much went on there and it was also more expensive than in Naama Bay, but we went there a couple of times and had a nice time with snooker, listening to the jazz-band (not the best band in the world) and talking.

We ate at the Jolie Bistro and at the Lebanese Restaurant across the street in the golf-section of the hotel. We were taken there in a small buggy and also picked up again. It is pricey to eat at the restaurants, but they had nice food. The dinner entertainment is horrendous with two ladies singing evergreen but not singing very good. We just had a laugh about it. We went to Naama a couple of times using the free shuttle at 6 PM. Took it back to the hotel at 11 PM, just when Naama began to get pumping.

All in all we had a very relaxing week at Jolie Ville Golf and experienced nothing but good atmosphere, nice service and wonderful weather, topping at 40 degrees the last days we were there.

This hotel is located a short drive to the airport but a long drive to Naama, Old Market or Hadaba. There are no taxis, so you have to arrange driving with the concierge or walk to the security man who sits in a booth before you go into the square in front of the hotel, and have him call you one. This is also where you will be dropped off when you arrive home with a taxi from Naama.

From the Main Road (Peace Road) there is several kilometers drive to the security booth/hotel, so you cannot walk down to Peace Road and hail a cab yourself. This is one of the only drawbacks of the hotel, along with the fact that there is nothing there except for the hotel. The hotel has a shop with a large selction of stuff, but it is expensive. We could have used a supermarket, but then again, we went to Naama and did some shopping anyway, so it wasn't anything that ruined our vacation.

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank LouiseAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Nice big rooms, lovely hotel. Beautiful and I mean beautiful grounds. BreAkfasts are amazing. Wont say too much more except grounds were fantastic see photos...
Location about 10 mins from strip by taxi. Close to airport (approx £5 fare)

3  Thank Katfishh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Can not understand the young visitor that complained about everything in this great hotel. We have stayed in much more expensive well known named hotels around the world yet this more than compares. We found the service excellent, all staff friendly, helpful and the place spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. We actually thought it a bonus to have so few other British people there it certainly was a pleasant change and made you feel even more secluded and private around the pool.
Maybe if you want lots of other English visitors you should stick to some of the Spanish resorts that are more English than England.
Our housekeeper, Mohamed couldn't do enough for us and every waiter made a fuss of our three children learning their names and chatting - not for tips but because Egyptians really like children and are not afraid to smile and speak to them. I found even the captain on our flight to Cairo made a point of chatting to our youngest, as did every security guard, and chefs and waiters everywhere we went!!
The pools are beautifully clean and every single sun bed was scrubbed down each evening in hot soapy water and our beds in the Royal Wing changed every other day. There were lots of staff cleaning, maintaining, gardening and the place looks fantastic, in fact they polished the marble walkways so brightly it hurts your eyes in the sunlight!
We ate in all the restaurants and found them all to be good. My son loved the BBQ pool bar where he dined on lobster for lunch. We also particularly adored the Chinese and my children were in seventh Heaven with all the different pudding options in the Lebanese buffet.
The only worry we had was getting small enough notes for tips as you tend to charge everything to your room and don't end up with change and I wished I had brought my collection of one dollar bills. Although we never felt obliged to tip the service was so good, better than we have had in London, Hong Kong or New York we wanted to!!
Yes the complex is large and the elderly, disabled or couch potatoes may find it too far to walk in the heat but you are only a few minutes away from anywhere not 15-20 as someone said. Anyway the food is so good you need to walk it off!!!
We were not looking for nightlife we had our 3 kids under 11and found this an ideal hotel for families or those looking for good food, great service and lovely clean surroundings. My husband travels extensively around Europe and the far East where he always stays in 5 star hotels and found this one to rate as one of the best. Jolie Ville is probably one of the only places we would return to as we always like to see somewhere different.
The only thing I didn't really like was Naama Bay where they try to cajoule you into their shops or restaurants, I don't like to be bbothered and I am definitely not one for haggling - it just isn't me - even though they were always pleasant however we did find beautiful Italian food in the Jolie Ville there at the bottom of King Rashid's main street.
I was so pleased that the Egyptian people were so genuinely lovely and indeed they made the holiday with their excellent service, politeness and friendliness.
We had been concerned about the heat before we went (HOTTEST SEASON) but with the low humidity and abundance of lovely pools to cool off in we found it wasn't a problem and the excellent air conditioning everywhere was a real pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NotgoingtoBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.1 mi away
Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort
Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Penins...
#81 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,014 reviews
2.9 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#9 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,611 reviews
3.8 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#15 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,039 reviews
3.7 mi away
Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh
Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Cas...
#115 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Rotana Resort & Spa
Grand Rotana Resort & Spa
#21 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Jolie Ville Golf & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Jolie Ville Golf & Resort

Address: | Um Marikha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £34 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Jolie Ville Golf & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sinai Peninsula. Immerse yourself in the world of your dreams at the Jolie Ville Golf & Resort. Enjoy all the luxuries life has to offer, whether you are here to golf, scuba dive, on business or holidaying with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maritim Jolie Ville Golf & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Golf & Resort Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Maritim Jolie Ville Golf And Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing