We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab week at Iberotel!”
Review of Iberotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberotel Palace
Ranked #11 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely and VERY hot week at the Iberotel Palace in Sharm El Sheikh. We travelled as a young couple and found the hotel staff to be very assertive and always helpful and topping your drinks up on a night when sat at the bar or on the terrace
.
The room was always kept very clean with lovely towel art left on our bed each day. There is the use of a free safe in room too.
The one niggle we did have however was the lack to mention the dinner clothing attire that men are expected to wear to the restaurants. My boyfriend had luckily packed a pair of trousers had we had a feeling this was the case but as it is NOT mentioned on the hotel information on the Thomson website we thought it was just a preference rather than a request. I even asked a member of Thomson staff in our local Thomson branch and she said it wasn't necessary for men to wear trousers. Which we found out it is!

Apart from this we found the restaurants to be good with good selection of food and a waiter on hand to get your drinks as soon as you are seated.
We did think that the BEACH BAR is better for a lunchtime snack rather than the restaurants. They serve lovely food from cold sandwiches to burgers, pizzas and pastas.

The local area is fab for shopping and haggling- which is a must! You must have confidence and enjoy the experience! I would recommend going over the old market which is just across the road from the hotel on either a FRIDAY or SUNDAY night with the reps, you feel a lot more comfortable in a group. This is where you get your genuine fakes and the reps show you the best shops to go in to do so, also help you with your haggling!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay thanks to the amazing staff who couldn't do enough to make sure you had an excellent holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jaz Hotels & Resorts
10  Thank ash0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,528 - 1,534 of 3,750 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

After a 6 hour flight myself and my boyfriend arrived at Iberotel Palace, the transfer was great as there was only us and another couple so we didnt need to stop off anywhere else, they provided us with our own little mini bus. On arrival we were provided with a pack of documents and the hotel receptionist ran through this, we got to our room and the hotel provided us with a few baguettes as we arrived late at night and missed dinner.

The room was nice, a little dated but kept really clean all week, our cleaner Alan was great. We were overlooking the arena which was good as we didnt hear any noise from the beach at night, i had heard there were alot of people getting moved due to the loud music. The beds are fantastic, we found it very hard to get up in the morning.

The mini bar in the room is a bit confusing, its stocked with 2 fanta, 2 cokes, 2 sprite, 2 water and 2 beers. This is apparently chargeable even though a few of the bars actually give you the cans and bottles. I didn't get the whole point of it but we ended up having to pay at the end of the holiday for this.

On our first day we went to the pool bar and were greeted by a not so friendly member of staff, he was rude and never smiled, he rolled him eyes when asking for a drink and just seemed like he didn’t want to work, we were later told he apparently doesn’t like the heat, it really should be noted that he shouldn’t be working outside and maybe a job within the air conditioned hotel would be better suited for him. We also accidently broke a glass and were treated like we were children, after asking for another drink we were provided with plastic cups and told to be careful.
To get a good bed at the pool you need to be up around half 7 to put your towels down.

The bar which is open until 1am is a real let down. There is no music played at all and the atmosphere is terrible. We went in on our first night and walked straight back out. The spirits are all local branded, the soft drinks are branded which is good and you get bottled water at every bar.
The 2 buffet restaurants are ok. I have been to some very up market hotels with a great choice of food but felt like this was very much the same every night. Lots of rice dishes and felt like the majority of the meat dishes we felt were really dry, there was not a lot of sauces and gravies to use. I had read the food was great here but really didn’t think so. We are not fussy eaters at all and we found this to be a bit of a let-down. We were not advised of the dress code before going to this hotel but when going into the buffet restaurant on the first night we were escorted back out and told my boyfriend had to get trousers on. This made him feel completely embarrassed as he was handed a pair of trousers from housekeeping, along with a few other men who were misinformed before coming only just to eat our dinner. I felt the situation could have been handled better and they could have let us sit outside on the first night as we ended up buying him a pair for the rest of the week. As our room looked onto the restaurant we watched a few nights and some guests were being let in with shorts on, I found this really unfair on us. The Italian restaurant is nice, we had the shrimp to start which was amazing, and we shared the fried seafood which was also lovely and the chicken dish which was ok. You can eat in here once per stay.

The beach bar on the other hand was great for lunch time. Our waiter Osama was fantastic and made our lunch times a real pleasure. You can choose from a wide range of things, pizzas, burger, flat breads with chicken or beef, fried chicken sandwich, cold sandwiches, salads there’s lots to choose from. I would recommend going here for lunch and not the buffet restaurant, we felt the food was the same in there as at dinner time so it was good to get a change at the beach bar. They did a pizza making class one of the day’s which was great, you got to make your own pizza then eat it for free.

The entertainment we felt was really poor and catered mostly for the older generation. There is no music or atmosphere during the day, you have water aerobics about 12 every day but that’s really about it. At night time the shows were great from the companies who come into the hotel, but the rest was just really singing which got really boring after the first few days. We only ever stayed once all night in the hotel the rest of the time we went to Naama Bay which was brilliant.
The hotel provides a boat which takes you to the coral reef where you can snorkel, Aziz is the driver and he knows lots about the place. This was great, however I would recommend buying the sea shoes which you can buy across the road at the old market, the coral is very jaggy and you could really hurt yourself if you fall. You also have to buy your own snorkelling equipment. If you haggle you can get them for about £5-10 each.

The spa was really good aswell, we had a chocolate wrap and full body massage this was £110 for the 2 of us and was around an hour and a half long. Sam is the man to see about the treatements.

There is a little water activities hut at the bottom of the beach bar where you can book trips etc. We done the sofa water sport which was really fun.

I just wanted to include some tips when going to Sharm as I had never been before I didn’t really know what to expect.

- Currency – I would recommend just taking English notes, you get a better exchange rate over there, roughly about 12 Egyptian pounds to 1 English pound, plus everyone takes the English notes anyway.

- Taxi’s – we found a taxi driver who ended up taking us out most nights, taxi number 700. He was great and we just phoned him whenever we wanted picked up and he would be there 10 minutes later. His number is 0020 100 7226266, if you tell him you got his number from trip advisor he will know it was us that put it on. Very friendly and appreciative.

- Naama Bay – pay no more than 20-30 Egyptian pounds each way in a taxi. Make sure the taxi is white and blue and has a taxi number on it. The hard rock café is very expensive to drink in, we weren’t sure where to go when we first went here and this was the first place that stuck out. For 2 drinks we were 369 Egyptian pounds which was ridiculous. We found a café called Shopra café just straight across the road, beside Byblos cafe, we went here every night for drinks and Shesha. The guys were lovely and made sure we had the best seat when we went in, ask for Amed if you go, we told him we would mention him on Trip Advisor.

- Soho Square – I had heard mixed reviews on this and it wasn’t really that good. We went to the ice bar which yeah was good to see but at £15 it really is a bit of a rip off. No atmosphere in the bar and you couldn’t take a picture because the lights made your iPhone camera not work. The fountains were good to see and we ate in Zen the Chinese which was nice but other than that there’s not really much to see. Pay no more than 50 Egyptian for a taxi each way.

- The shops – Haggle Haggle Haggle. Pay around a third of what they are asking for and if they say no just walk away, they end up shouting you back inside as they don’t want to lose out.

I would recommend this hotel if you like peace and quiet, we had a great time but won't be returning as we like things a little more lively.

If you would like any more information on this hotel or anything to do with Sharm please message me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Linzi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

There is nothing negative I could say about this place, the customer service and the helpfulness of the staff are of a very high standard and nothing is too much trouble. The free boat facility out to the reef is great and the reef is amazing, the best I have seen. The quality and wide variety of food available is great, the only problem with this is you just can't stop eating. Our room was always kept clean and we were left little gifts and towels sculpted on our beds. If you are looking for that chilled out relaxing beachside holiday, that is all inclusive and great value for money, then this holiday will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travelmaniac07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just got back from the most relaxing week of our lives. Well where do i start? Having chosen this hotel based on customer reviews, it exceeded our expectations greatly. The most important thing is cleanliness. It is immaculate throughout and having suffered with egypt tummy in the past(5 star resorts) we were a little cautious. We shouldn't have been, we didnt suffer once. The food choices are amazing and far to much to choose from. The staff are lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We preferred the beach as we very rarely were able to get up before 4am to put our towels out to reserve the pool beds :) The spa is great and the honeymooners massage was very relaxing. We are now hoping to book for the summer and possibly late oct too. Best get back to work to earn some pennies :) Many thanks for what has been on of the best holidays we have ever had.

Room Tip: we stayed in 3309, top floor so had sun all day till 4pm. Great sea view and large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tiny260270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just returned from a two week honeymoon stay at the Palace. It was absolutely amazing. Great hotel, very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. We have rebooked for next year. Mochaa!!


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jaz Hotels & Resorts
6  Thank Gwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Iberotel Palace. First impressions were positive the moment we arrived to check in. On our first full day we realised why this place has so many positive reviews. The buildings, gardens and pools are maintained to a high standard as are the rooms. The staff at the bars, restaurants or beach could not do enough for you. Everyone of them were always courteous and polite. The beach is fantastic and kept clean at all times. Entertainment was low key but excellent quality. The restaurants catered for all tastes and of a very high standard. We stayed in room 3302 which overlooked the gardens so was very quiet. I would recommend this place for all ages if you are looking for a chilled relaxing holiday(no kids).

Room Tip: Men are required to wear long trousers in all restaurants for evening meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ken499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

well another wonderfull time at this hotel everything is just what you want on holiday attentive staff clean rooms good gin& tonics, last time it was bottled beer (perfect) this time draught beer ok you can put up with it, nothing is a problem for the staff if your not happy say so and its sorted even the thomsom reps are easy to deal with we had a problem with a trip we booked and john sorted it 50% refund amazing for thomsons and Rebbeca was really nice ps say hello to George?, the live entertainment is not,(dead) boring and the fun pub is no fun!!. both restaurants are very good the breakfast chef is very funny, the chef at the blue marine near the beach will cook you anything if you dont fancy whats on offer. the beach bar is very good mustafa will take good care of you.Adam (baldy) from the beauty salon is a laugh and the 2 german girls are a pleasure to talk to.
if you dont like using thomsons for your trips use the rep from the hotel dive centre you will get what you pay for. DONT USE THE RAT IN THE HAT he walks about the beach and hotel (sun and fun) you will be ripped off!! as usuall we met loads of lovely people and had a great time with them all when you go over to the shopping centre just across the road and you buy something dont forget to ask for a present when you finish haggling you will be surprised, have a lovely holiday

Room Tip: facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dotcom312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
3.6 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,484 reviews
4.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#8 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#64 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,145 reviews
10.8 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,085 reviews
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#63 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Palace

Address: | Maya Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £61 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Palace Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Iberotel Palace Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing