We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Iberotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberotel Palace
Ranked #9 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great”
Reviewed 27 October 2009

My friend and I returned from Sharm on the 14th. We stayed at the Iberotel Palace based on the recommendations read on Trip Adviser and very glad we did so. The staff were lovely and very accommodating but maybe that had something to do with 2 girls travelling alone, as we did get al lot of attention! We stayed on a B&B basis and to be honest that was fine as the hotel is just across the road from Old Sharm so not a problem if you want to venture out. Although I’m not normally a beach person I was loving lounging on the private beach - we even did Aqua aerobics. The staff were very friendly, in particular there was a young lady who was from North England (sorry I can’t remember her name) and the dance teacher was great too. We haven’t laughed so much in ages. !! Unfortunately i got I’ll the last couple of days (nothing to do with dodgy food surprisingly) but again the staff were great, in particular our rep Ahmed - he couldn’t have done more and even arranged for a fruit basket to be delivered to our room - the little things that matter :o). The only negative was the spa - I was looking forward to being pampered so my friend and I both went for a package of 3 different treatments. However for a 4/5 star hotel the service was well below par. I didn't feel special and the treatments seemed to be rushed - BIG disappointment, which was a shame as i was really looking forward to them. If you stay away from the spa then I would thoroughly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confused_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,874
    621
    132
    34
    16
See reviews for
442
2,659
84
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (881)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

I have stayed at the Palace three times this year which is a huge recommendation... I absolutely love it. The hotel sits right on the beach, is the height of luxuary, the staff are so friendly and work really hard to make you comfortable and smile!!. The food is really good and if with the vast array of buffet dining or two resturants you cannot find what you want just ask and they will try to get it for you. All the staff are great - Get "Ali G" at the beach bar, "Sam Happy days" the animation Boss is such a lovely funny chap (he tried to teach me to salsa dance but ive got two left feet!!), Hosny the bars manager is fantastic and pool bar Mohammed is great.

I did not have any complaints about service, i read some other reviews from people who were there at the same time which did not reflect my experience, i have been to the hotel in Feb 09, May 09 and Oct 09 and every time has been fantastic.

The worst points i do agree are: the singer in the parrot bar is terrible (they were auditioning so have hope), the entertainment is limited (not the hotel if you like sophisticated evening entertainment) , but we had fun.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodieSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Myself and friends have been to this hotel twice a year over the last three/four years and have always found it excellent. On this last visit perhaps we were unfortunate but during our second week it was the end of Ramadam and the music from the bar next door and across the bay was absolutely horrendous and very very loud. We were told that it would all cease 4 days after Ramadam but this was not the case and continued on and we could even hear it in our rooms!!

Everything else at the hotel was as good as ever apart this time from the lack of staff which has never been a problem in the past. I know with the current economic climate obviously hotels have to watch expenditure but cutting down too much on staff was not a good idea and the staff who were there were absolutely exhausted.

During the day either at the beach bar where the service was not as good as it was in the past unless of course you are from anywhere else except England!!! and the main buffet restaurant it was fine but if you went to the main buffet restaurant from about 8.15 p.m. thus avoiding the rush when it first opened it was an absolute blitz zone with insufficent staff. There were no laid tables and even if you sat down at a table that had not been cleared the staff were so rushed that it took a considerable time for the table to be relaid so that you could eat your food and obtain a drink. During the time that we were there the Blue Marine Restaurant open and can only have praise for the Manager and staff there they were absolutely excellent shame we did not go down there until two days before the end of our holidays.

As always hygiene cleanliness and the cleaning staff cannot do enough for you to keep your room in tip top condition and the reception staff will do all that they can to assist with any queries.

This is not a cheap hotel to go to especially if you add on the cost of the all inclusive package and I must say that I think people will think twice about going again unless the staff situation improves!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

The Iberotel Palace is a beautiful hotel. It's perfectly situated, as you only have to cross the road to get to Sharm's Old Market, and the hotel boasts the only sandy beach in Sharm. Our room was spacious and spotless, and our balcony overlooked the courtyard and the sea - absolute bliss at sunset! There was no kettle, although I heard that all the rooms are currently being refurbished and will include a kettle and plasma tv.

You can do as much or a little as you choose. There are various bars you can go to - the Borsalino Pub has karaoke nights and discos; The Papagallo Bar which is more relaxed, has a very pleasant but sadly massively untalented singer in the evenings; The Sundown bar overlooks the beach and is the quietest bar of all, and The Beach Bar (on the beach!) is open for drinks and snacks during the day. Entertainment-wise, during the day you can join in the activities provided by the Real Animation team... A BIG hello to lovely Vicky, and Sam "Happy Days"!! You can play bocce, darts or volleyball, or do some aqua aerobics or stretching with them during the day, and at night they'll invite you to watch the various shows at the Arena or join in the competitions. The bellydancing and local dance shows are a real spectacle.

The food is delicious (although a bit samey) - we particularly enjoyed the main restaurant's (Coupole) Egyptian Corner. Be warned though - if you don't like, or you're allergic to coconut, about 99% of the desserts will be off limits! The Toscana restaurant's steak with pepper sauce was exceptional, (one of the best steaks ever according to my husband). The Blue Marine restaurant was also good. The only let-down in nearly all of these was the service, which was nothing short of appalling. We'd be shown to a table which had already been used, after which we'd have to ask twice on average for it to be cleared and reset, and we'd be asked what we wanted to drink once we'd practically finished our food. The final straw came on day 3 of our week long holiday, when after the second time of asking, our waiter reset our table, (because we'd be shown to a dirty one yet again), and he practically threw the cutlery at us, almost knocking one of the glasses over because he wasn't even looking at what he was doing! Furious, we complained to the Assistant Food and Beverage Manager, who was deeply apologetic and insisted this was not normal and wouldn't happen again. The next morning we were treated like royalty... but to the point where we weren't sure if they were taking the mick out of us or not! The waiter from the night before was made to serve us again, (probably as a punishment!), and the whole experience was much better, if a tad bizarre. The superior treatment continued for the rest of our holiday, (although thankfully not to the same extent!), with the Assistant Food and Beverage Manager serving us himself at the Toscana restaurant. A massive thank you to Mr Essam for taking our complaint so seriously and making the rest of our stay far more enjoyable. However, I must say that although we were being treated well, our fellow guests continued to suffer in silence, poaching cutlery from other tables to make up for the pieces they didn't have, and putting up with sitting at dirty tables. I must also point out that, although it wasn't our problem, the hotel was seriously understaffed, with half the usual compliment of waiters being spread across two restaurants, and only two instead of five bar staff being present at the Papagallo bar. Thanks to Shehata and Ahmed at the Papagallo for working so hard! Those who were there were clearly tired and overworked, and as a result often looked as though they didn't want to be there.

It's definitely worth going all inclusive to this particular hotel - you get far more value for money.

The beach is lovely, and every effort is made to keep it clean, although you will often see the odd plastic item or paper floating around, washed in from further down with beach, which is sadly filthy. The water is beautifully clear though, and you will see the odd fish close to the shore. For the real action, take the little boat (free of charge) to the diving and snorkling spot nearby.

The beach is sandy... kind of. As you get closer to the water, the sand becomes more shaley in places, but that's not really a problem. The prayers coming from the 3 surrounding mosques can be clearly heard throughout the day thanks to their loud speakers.

The pestering from members of the hotel spa who try to sell you facials, massages and henna tattoos is also a regular feature at 'beach time'. You won't be safe by the pool either, in case you were wondering! The guys are friendly enough, although slightly overfamiliar on occasion, but I believe that's cultural.

Overall, putting the service issue to one side, the hotel was great and has something for everyone. But if there is something amiss, do complain - it'll be worth it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNiteOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We arrived at Iberotel Place on September 28th 2009 for a two week stay. When we got to our room after our long flight we found that the hotel staff had left us sandwiches, these were greatly appreciated!! There was also a complimentary bottle of red wine waiting for us. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the rooms are a great size with a huge double bed in them. The pool and fitness room etc are really close from the rooms and it is only two minutes walk from the beach. The staff cannot do enough for you and they are very polite and friendly. When we had been there four days the amination team changed and "Sam" was made up to Chief Aminator, he made everything great fun from the Miss Iberotel Palace competition to the Karoake nights. Nothing was too much trouble for him and we hope he is still there when we return. Overall a fab hotel we would definately recommend it - Pete & Mandy from Staffordshire

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy0040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Myself, my husband and my sister have just returned from a week at the Iberotel Palace, second time this year for me and my husband and third time for my sister, we just can't keep away!!
We were there from 29th Sept to 6th Oct, and the weather was gorgeous, we didn't see a cloud all week and the temperature was 34 deg/ 39 deg. The evenings were also warm (no need for sleeves!)
The hotel, grounds, pool and private beach are spotlessly clean throughout and the food is of a really high standard with plenty of choice, there wasn't one day where I couldn't find something I liked. The rooms are large and comfortable. Probably the only hotel bed I've ever had a good night sleep in. There isn't tea/coffee making facilites automatically in the room but apparently you can ask for it at reception (we didn't realise until it was time to go home)
Snorkelling is a must, the all day boat trip to Ras Mohammed National Park (booked at the hotel) is well worth the money especially if you have Syed as your guide as he is so passionate about his 'underwater garden' and will tell you everything you need to know, but you can also go to the little jetty on the beach and Aziz will take you in his boat to the end of the bay where you can snorkel and see so many beautiful fish, Aziz takes the boat out every half hour so you can go whenever you feel like it - tip him well, he is such a lovely happy man, as are all the staff, they all deserve big tips, they work so hard and can't do enough for you and are so friendly and cheerful.
A big thank you to 'HAPPY DAY'S' - Sam, (head of the animation team) what a lovely, energetic, enthusiastic man he is, he works tirelessly to entertain the guests, day and night, his cheerfullness is contageous!!
All in all another luxurious, indulgent relaxing holiday at the Palace!! highly recommended.
Julie

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunfun000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Upon Thames
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We have just returned home from an amazing week's holiday at the Iberotel Palace.
Everything about our holiday was wonderful. The rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy, the location was fantastic and the staff could not do enough to help you and help make your holiday as enjoyable as possible (especially Mohammed at the beach bar).
The restaurants were always clean with a good selection of buffet style food, and being on the All Inclusive package, we were also treated to 1 evening in the Toscana al a carte restaurant - very nice!
Other treats received on the All Inclusive package were the free laundry service and the free 30 min massage.
The hotel's private beach was beautiful. Again, spotlessly clean, with free beach towels supplied every day and a good selection of sunbeds to choose from.
Please don't be put off by other comments on here about the masseurs. Yes, they will pounce upon you on your first day and try to get you to buy various treatments, but as soon as you politely say no, they will not pester you for the rest of your holiday.
I would also agree, that any excursions should be booked from the beach instead of from the rep, as we found them to be very expensive. We would thoroughly recommend the quad biking. Great fun and good value for money.
Special thanks have to go to the animation team at the hotel who made our holiday so memorable. There was always some fun activity on the beach to join in with.
Sam was an absolute star!! We thoroughly enjoyed our game of boules and water aerobics every day. Just hearing Sam's voice on the beach each day bought a smile to our faces. He had just been promoted whilst we were there - thoroughly deserved!!
This hotel is definitely recommended. We will be looking to return again next year!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
3.6 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,339 reviews
4.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#3 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,008 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#22 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,155 reviews
7.8 mi away
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
#10 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Palace

Property: Iberotel Palace
Address: | Maya Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#6 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Palace Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Iberotel Palace Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing