We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animation team - I love you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
Ranked #81 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Animation team - I love you”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Decent hotel with a large territory! Very green and beautiful with lots of pools and bars. All services for hotel guests only.
Stayed in a standard room overlooking the pool: the room is spacious, clean. Bathroom and toilet combined. Eating a lot, but very little fruit. For breakfast, lunch and dinner - buffet with a large selection of dishes (hot and cold). Normal service. Separately, I want to highlight the animation team. It's a miracle you guys. Thanks to them at the hotel was not boring or adult leisure or children. Vacationers have been offered all sorts of entertainment options ranging from charging and ending aqueous floor, football, akvaerobika and dance lessons. Animation team also prepared an evening program for guests. Every time amazing the ingenuity, skill and unforgettable emotions. Thanks to them every day was not like the previous one. Just for youth discos have been proposed exit or their local clubs or discos in the open. Animation team I love you! I want to express my gratitude to Dima, Ksyusha, and Lado for the positive and memorable stay. As for the sea, in order to take the sunbeds had to get up early and go to take seats.
Sandy beach at the hotel.
Overall enjoyed it, it was a great 10 days for a peaceful and relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrinAnastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Krin,

Thank you for the lovely review and for expressing your feelings about the Animation team. They are a great bunch of professionals full of enthusiasm for their work. They will encourage those who want to join in but they know when to leave you alone if this sort of entertainment and activity is not your cup of tea.

I’m delighted that you managed to relax and enjoy your ten days with us and perhaps next time you might consider two weeks.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    857
    377
    140
    109
See reviews for
716
1,363
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Sonesta from 28th March to 4th April but could of easily stayed another week. We had emailed reception before arrival to ask for a room on the 2nd floor by the Cactus Pool which is exactly what we got. The rooms are very spacious with a lovely view from the balcony over the Cactus Pool. Ibriham, the pool attendant made sure you where we'll looked after and always reserved our sun beds in the same place every morning. We mostly ate at La Dome restaraunt as we found the Citadel a bit too rowdy with lots of pushing and shoving from the Russians. La Dome was more chilled and laid back and the food was mostly outstanding ( apart from the themed French night but that was just personal choice and doesn't reflect at all on the hotel). Breakfast was mostly freshly cooked omelettes and fried eggs, beans, sausage, French toast, pancakes, cereals and fruit etc Our days where mostly spent by the Cactus pool which had a swim up bar that we frequented on most afternoons (sorry about the noise haha) This was the place that everyone congregated for a good natter about all and sundry with a good few laughs along the way. We made some lovely friends whilst there (a mention to Belle & Gary :) Entertainment on an evening was not really to our taste but chose to sit in the bar next to it where you could sit and have a few beers and talk. We went into Naama Bay twice which we found very enjoyable. Drinks were very reasonable and the bar men would keep you amused. The walk along the promenade (about 15-20 min stroll) was beautiful and even tho traders asked you to look at their stuff they weren't forceful or intimidating. Just a simple No Thanks did the trick. The beach is very small and overcrowded, especially in a morning but go just after lunch and you can find a bed no problem. The fish are absolutely beautiful and well worth going out and doing some snorkelling. Yes there are lots of Russians. Yes they are rude and arrogant and they push in when us English are quietly queuing!!! But I wouldn't let this put you off this hotel. It's a large complex with beautiful gardens and in the week we where there I don't think we actually seen it all or tried it all. I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again. Fantastic hotel. Beautiful weather. A week was not long enough for us. Well done Sonesta

Room Tip: Most British are put near The Cactus Pool. Quiet and peaceful but close enough to amenities. Althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Mike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Chris & Mike,

They say a week is never enough at the Sonesta Beach and you have confirmed that. Your review is a delight for us to read and very informative for the other visitors to this forum who may be seeking reassurances about various hotels, so we thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review with the “fantastic” title.

We strongly believe that one of the most important things that discerning Brits want about a holiday abroad is to have choices, so we are pleased and proud to offer our guests a range of options here. Choices of where to eat, where to sleep, where to sunbathe, where to relax in the evening and it’s good to hear that you were happy with your choices as these things are very personal.

I’m delighted that you had such a great holiday that you would have no hesitation in booking again so I sincerely hope we do see you back here soon.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having never been to eygpt before we didn't know what to expect. The sonesta beach resort exceeded all our expectations and more .the staff were the friendliest and most helpful we have ever encountered on many trips abroad,they seemed genuinely pleased that you had chosen their country to visit and made our stay really enjoyable. The hotel itself was absolutely spotless, the food was varied and ther was always something to take your fancy whatever the day .each day had a different theme from different countries . My partner is vegetarian and usually struggles to find much variation in her meals but it was pretty much 50/50 meat and veggie options.. Every day pool man was out with new towels as you approached the pool, .before we travelled we read on trip advisor about having to buy water , this wasn't so as bottled water was readily available free of charge. , the rooms are massive and I would say 70% have pool views , ......
Only downside was no free wi.fi which we have come to expect in 5* resorts and the mossies( take lots of spray with you else the little buggers will eat you alive as the sun goes down)
Whist we were there we met lots of other guests that had been many times and for me that spoke volumes of the resort and it's staff. Will defo be going back

Room Tip: Anywhere around the cactus pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Andy,

A wonderful title for a review and we thank you for that and it’s true what you say, when you meet repeat guests or read reviews like yours, it does speak volumes.

I’m so pleased you chose the Sonesta Beach for your first visit to Egypt as we are blessed with the perfect location to enjoy all the activities and excursions available in and around Sharm, “the City of Peace and Tranquility”. In addition, on our doorstep we have some of the finest snorkeling to be had in the Red Sea and the wonderful Egyptian sunshine. Our grounds are extremely well-maintained by our team of professionals and the staff here are just about the best you’ll find. And I know you liked the food.

It’s been great to host you on this occasion and I do hope that you will return soon to the ‘best hotel you have stayed in’.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed here twice now and will be going back again. The staff are amazing especially Mohammed on the cactus bar the manager at the restaurent who will do anything to keep you happy and of course Mustafa the other restaurent manager. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff the private beach is good the snorkeling is amazing and the food being a head chef myself I am in some position to say is really good. Thanks to all the staff at sonesta Sharma.

Room Tip: It can get very hot in the airport on the way in to Egypt, also don't buy a visa unless you plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear James,

Praise from a Head Chef is praise indeed and very welcome and thank you so much for your professional perspective. We’ll pass your compliments on to those you mentioned and I join them in looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed last Easter and loved the Sonesta Beach Resort . What made us come again was the friendly staff, beautiful maintained grounds, great food but more than that was the feeling of 'coming home'. We were made to feel as if we had never been away. The staff at Le dome restaurant remembered us and welcomed us as old friends. Our room requests had been met and, again, nothing was too much trouble. This year the change of the opening of the Cactus bar in the evening worried a number of us but the volume of the music was perfect, background and no more and the management clearly understood the required ambience and our fears were unnecessary. The opening of the Cactus bar in the evening was, in fact, a delightful addition to the resort. We will be back again and again. Our holiday home from home. Thank you Sonesta staff, particularly Mohammed Mohammed at le dome and Rasheed and Alaa at Le Cactus.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet holiday and are looking for rest and relaxation, your best bet is to ask for roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Gilly,

Many thanks for this lovely endorsement of our hotel and resort. It’s nice to get positive reviews but we do love to hear from repeat guests as this sends such a strong message to anybody considering a holiday at the Sonesta Beach.

I’m glad you approve of the new opening of the Cactus Bar. When we make changes we put a lot of thought into it and our main priority is the guests’ experience and whether that would be adversely affected or enhanced and we seem to have got it right again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home again soon and be sure to send us your room request when you have all your booking details.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

lovely grounds and swimming pools,staff very good and friendly especially the heated pool attendant who could not be more helpful,clean towels every day,food good always something to suit everybody,beach very crowded no room to move tip if you want a lounger go about 1oclock when all gone for lunch.beer not bad at all shorts hit and miss.one downside going into naama bay bars you have to run the gauntlet of traders who hassle you non stop.

Room Tip: rooms tend to be near the heated pool for britsh guests,good place to be but a good walk to the entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racker1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to present this concise but informative review on Tripadvisor. It’s good to read that you enjoyed our beautiful landscaped gardens, the pools, the staff and the food and your suggestion to readers to visit the pools in the morning and then the beach after 1pm is a good one.

Naama Bay is only a dsshort walk away or a quick taxi ride and is full of bright lights, shops and entertainment. The vendors there are keen to get your attention but a polite “no thanks” usually deters even the most persistent salesman.

I do hope we’ll be able to welcome you back as a repeat guests in the not-too-distant future.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beernem, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We are very jealous to read all the nice revies about this great hotel! As Belgian gouvernement gives negative advise to travel to Sharm our 16th stay at Sonesta Beach for this June has been cancelled, to our big frustration. Since many years we have the best times in our 'second home'. The great location, (15min walk to Naama Bay). Nice pools. Beautiful garden. Good food and service at Le Dôme. All the helpfull staff on the beach, pools, bars. Our favorite room front Casablanca... We 'll miss it this time. Hope to return in December

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivier_leys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Olivier,

I’m so sorry that your travel plans were restricted by your government. We all know what it’s like to look forward to something and then have it taken away. And after 15 visits it would be just like your second home. But let me reassure you that everything is calm here and we do know of various nationalities who have taken scheduled flights to Sharm via Cairo and had excellent holidays.

Thank you for thinking of us and I’m sure that very soon the foreign governments will realize that there is no threat and Sharm we will get back on its feet. In the meantime, we’ll try to keep your favourite room free just in case you make it earlier than December.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 mi away
Sonesta Club
Sonesta Club
#117 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,367 reviews
4.1 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#3 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#58 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Son...
#91 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
#7 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino

Property: Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#59 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino Sharm El Sheikh, stretching across the sands of Naama Bay, overlooks the Red Sea and South Sinai desert and mountains. The resort's traditional Arabic domes and archways form a village-style ambiance. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, and seven swimming pools for relaxing laps in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sonesta Sharm El-Sheikh
Sharm El-Sheikh Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing