We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
Ranked #87 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Room good, kept very clean - felt a bit guilty after the first day when we had our things strewn everywhere and all was neat and tidy on our return. Several pools - some big and busier some small and quiet, Food choice very good - and loads of it (just as well with the large Russians!). Entertainment just fine - an hour or two of dancers most nights - they were good. Hotel staff work very hard and couldn't ask more of them. Very clean resort and good service. The only negative comment I can think of is that the white and rose wine was dreadful! Red OK and there's always cocktails, beer and spirits.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefens88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review recommending our hotel to the other readers on this forum. It’s very welcome.

We do have plenty of entertainment on at night and lots to do (for those who want it) during the day. There is a wide range of alcoholic drinks and cocktails available so if some are not to your taste there is a lot of choice and I’m pleased you found your favourites.

It was a pleasure hosting you on this occasion and we look forward to the next time.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 3,002 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Sonnesta Beach Hotel is filled with wonderful staff who cannot do enough for you to make your holiday a memorable experience. We were taken by Thomas Cook who were attentive to all our needs offering excursions including diving at the world class Camel Dive Centre.

The Management Team were highly visible and open to any comments and questions.

We will be back next year.

Room Tip: If you want quiet you need to be by the Cactus Pool More lively by the Blue Wave Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear June,

Thank you for the short-but-sweet review of your 5th stay at the Sonesta Beach and I am so pleased to learn that you were well looked after by Thomas Cook and our hotel staff.

I'm glad you noticed the managers on patrol. I don’t want them sitting in their offices, I want them to go on ‘learning walks’ to talk to the guests and see for themselves what is happening and what is right or wrong, or what could be improved today. It is so important and I believe that is one of the reasons that we have such good customer service, because we seek out the gests' issues, not hide from them.

We always appreciate your custom and we know you have a choice so we look forward to giving you the best service again next year.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We've just returned for another wonderful week at Sonesta Beach...
The weather was beautiful, the gardens imaculate, the staff friendly and attentive, the surroundings clean and well maintained, the food well presented and of good quality.
Yes, some of the fittings are a little worn, and 5 stars is probably 'pushing it a little', but all in all, a really great holiday!
Thank you to the entire staff for helping us have a great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, the Dome restaurant is quieter, and don't forget The Casablanca for lunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanGBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Ian,

Thank you for another great review and of course for choosing the Sonesta Beach again. Having reviews on this forum from repeat guests speaks volumes to the undecided readers and we appreciate it very much.

We are constantly re-evaluating all of our resources and that includes the fixtures and fittings and we are discussing some refurbishment work in the not-too-distant future. But we will have to do it at a time when the work itself has absolutely no impact on the guests during their stay so planning is all important.

I’m glad everything worked out well for you and you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to welcome you back for your next holiday here in Sharm.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel was quite a discovery.
We arrived late after dinner time but they kept the restaurant open for us. We stayed for a week, and found plenty of variety to eat, and apparently salad and fruits were washed with bottled water, very considerate with European stomachs!
The room was spacious and nicely kept. All the hotel grounds were very well looked after and the staff was always helpful, the waiters hold the door for you and pull your chair to help you sit at the restaurant.
The hotel has a lot of pools, I lost count at some point. For us the best ones were the blue wave one, and the one nearby reception. At the time of the year we went the cactus pool was a bit too quiet.
The beach is nothing outstanding, but there was plenty of room and empty sunloungers for us, and aside from all the colourful fish wandering around us we were lucky enough to see a couple of bluespotted stingrays swimming in knees-high water.
Our flight was leaving in the evening and although we had to leave our room by midday, they kept our luggage safe and allowed us to use a courtesy room in the afternoon to have a shower and get changed into travelling clothes after spending most of the day in the pool.
The overall experience was very positive and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms around Cactus pool might be quieter but they are a good walk from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DalgisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Dalgis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this “awesome” review and for sharing your experiences on this forum.

Some flights do arrive late and we don’t want our guests to go to bed hungry so we do try to have something available for late arrivals. Then of course around check-out time we do try to help wherever possible.

I’m glad you enjoyed the food. It’s all prepared under strict hygienic conditions and the salad and fruit are indeed washed in filtered water, not simple tap water.

As you lost count I will remind you that we have 6 pools, all with different ‘characters’ so that you can choose the one that most matches your mood that day and then of course there’s the beach.

Overall an “awesome” holiday and one which we hope to see you repeat in the near future. We look forward to it.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Decent hotel with a large territory! Very green and beautiful with lots of pools and bars. All services for hotel guests only.
Stayed in a standard room overlooking the pool: the room is spacious, clean. Bathroom and toilet combined. Eating a lot, but very little fruit. For breakfast, lunch and dinner - buffet with a large selection of dishes (hot and cold). Normal service. Separately, I want to highlight the animation team. It's a miracle you guys. Thanks to them at the hotel was not boring or adult leisure or children. Vacationers have been offered all sorts of entertainment options ranging from charging and ending aqueous floor, football, akvaerobika and dance lessons. Animation team also prepared an evening program for guests. Every time amazing the ingenuity, skill and unforgettable emotions. Thanks to them every day was not like the previous one. Just for youth discos have been proposed exit or their local clubs or discos in the open. Animation team I love you! I want to express my gratitude to Dima, Ksyusha, and Lado for the positive and memorable stay. As for the sea, in order to take the sunbeds had to get up early and go to take seats.
Sandy beach at the hotel.
Overall enjoyed it, it was a great 10 days for a peaceful and relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrinAnastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Krin,

Thank you for the lovely review and for expressing your feelings about the Animation team. They are a great bunch of professionals full of enthusiasm for their work. They will encourage those who want to join in but they know when to leave you alone if this sort of entertainment and activity is not your cup of tea.

I’m delighted that you managed to relax and enjoy your ten days with us and perhaps next time you might consider two weeks.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Sonesta from 28th March to 4th April but could of easily stayed another week. We had emailed reception before arrival to ask for a room on the 2nd floor by the Cactus Pool which is exactly what we got. The rooms are very spacious with a lovely view from the balcony over the Cactus Pool. Ibriham, the pool attendant made sure you where we'll looked after and always reserved our sun beds in the same place every morning. We mostly ate at La Dome restaraunt as we found the Citadel a bit too rowdy with lots of pushing and shoving from the Russians. La Dome was more chilled and laid back and the food was mostly outstanding ( apart from the themed French night but that was just personal choice and doesn't reflect at all on the hotel). Breakfast was mostly freshly cooked omelettes and fried eggs, beans, sausage, French toast, pancakes, cereals and fruit etc Our days where mostly spent by the Cactus pool which had a swim up bar that we frequented on most afternoons (sorry about the noise haha) This was the place that everyone congregated for a good natter about all and sundry with a good few laughs along the way. We made some lovely friends whilst there (a mention to Belle & Gary :) Entertainment on an evening was not really to our taste but chose to sit in the bar next to it where you could sit and have a few beers and talk. We went into Naama Bay twice which we found very enjoyable. Drinks were very reasonable and the bar men would keep you amused. The walk along the promenade (about 15-20 min stroll) was beautiful and even tho traders asked you to look at their stuff they weren't forceful or intimidating. Just a simple No Thanks did the trick. The beach is very small and overcrowded, especially in a morning but go just after lunch and you can find a bed no problem. The fish are absolutely beautiful and well worth going out and doing some snorkelling. Yes there are lots of Russians. Yes they are rude and arrogant and they push in when us English are quietly queuing!!! But I wouldn't let this put you off this hotel. It's a large complex with beautiful gardens and in the week we where there I don't think we actually seen it all or tried it all. I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again. Fantastic hotel. Beautiful weather. A week was not long enough for us. Well done Sonesta

Room Tip: Most British are put near The Cactus Pool. Quiet and peaceful but close enough to amenities. Althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Mike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Chris & Mike,

They say a week is never enough at the Sonesta Beach and you have confirmed that. Your review is a delight for us to read and very informative for the other visitors to this forum who may be seeking reassurances about various hotels, so we thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review with the “fantastic” title.

We strongly believe that one of the most important things that discerning Brits want about a holiday abroad is to have choices, so we are pleased and proud to offer our guests a range of options here. Choices of where to eat, where to sleep, where to sunbathe, where to relax in the evening and it’s good to hear that you were happy with your choices as these things are very personal.

I’m delighted that you had such a great holiday that you would have no hesitation in booking again so I sincerely hope we do see you back here soon.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having never been to eygpt before we didn't know what to expect. The sonesta beach resort exceeded all our expectations and more .the staff were the friendliest and most helpful we have ever encountered on many trips abroad,they seemed genuinely pleased that you had chosen their country to visit and made our stay really enjoyable. The hotel itself was absolutely spotless, the food was varied and ther was always something to take your fancy whatever the day .each day had a different theme from different countries . My partner is vegetarian and usually struggles to find much variation in her meals but it was pretty much 50/50 meat and veggie options.. Every day pool man was out with new towels as you approached the pool, .before we travelled we read on trip advisor about having to buy water , this wasn't so as bottled water was readily available free of charge. , the rooms are massive and I would say 70% have pool views , ......
Only downside was no free wi.fi which we have come to expect in 5* resorts and the mossies( take lots of spray with you else the little buggers will eat you alive as the sun goes down)
Whist we were there we met lots of other guests that had been many times and for me that spoke volumes of the resort and it's staff. Will defo be going back

Room Tip: Anywhere around the cactus pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Andy,

A wonderful title for a review and we thank you for that and it’s true what you say, when you meet repeat guests or read reviews like yours, it does speak volumes.

I’m so pleased you chose the Sonesta Beach for your first visit to Egypt as we are blessed with the perfect location to enjoy all the activities and excursions available in and around Sharm, “the City of Peace and Tranquility”. In addition, on our doorstep we have some of the finest snorkeling to be had in the Red Sea and the wonderful Egyptian sunshine. Our grounds are extremely well-maintained by our team of professionals and the staff here are just about the best you’ll find. And I know you liked the food.

It’s been great to host you on this occasion and I do hope that you will return soon to the ‘best hotel you have stayed in’.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#10 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,461 reviews
4.1 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#64 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
#8 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
697 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Sharm Hotel, Resort, Villas & Spa
Sheraton Sharm Hotel, Resort, Vi...
#105 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino

Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#39 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#64 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#84 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £19 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino Sharm El Sheikh, stretching across the sands of Naama Bay, overlooks the Red Sea and South Sinai desert and mountains. The resort's traditional Arabic domes and archways form a village-style ambiance. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, and seven swimming pools for relaxing laps in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sonesta Sharm El-Sheikh
Sharm El-Sheikh Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing