We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good, not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #20 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very good, not 5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks - 19th september till yesterday.Everything has been pretty much covered by previous reviews so i won't repeat it. However, just a couple of things - positive and negative.

Negative - food quality not great, its ok, plenty to choose from, just needs to be hotter. We had a bad experience in the tiran - sent food back twice as cold and spoke to the f & b manager who told us he was having problems with food quality!!! Some of the rooms are not in a good location, little privacy/overlooking building site. We went to namma bay for the evening, NIGHTMARE!!!

Ridiculous booking system for restaurants - needs to be improved, long queue to book and not always easy to get into the Italian. Marahaba - great, Tiran - give it a miss, we saw uncooked food being covered in foil and left out in ridiculous heat, not refrigerated at 4pm for evening service. No wonder people are ill! Milk in the fountain view is out all morning and the jugs on the tables topped up, not fresh and not cold!! Beware!!!
Its a tipping country and they all expect it regardless of whether you want to give or not!! Annoying!

Positive - Request a room in the adult block - great location and lovely pool although if you don't tip the towel man you take pot luck on the beds, mostly all gone before 8. You can park yourself on a bed before 8 to secure it but don't leave or he takes your belongings. After 8 you can leave the beds and no one will take your stuff although some folk bag a sun bed and go away for hours - very irritating. Plenty of beds on beach and main pool so no big deal if you don't want to be annoyed with it all.

We went on a private speed boat trip for an hour - FANTASTIC!!! Just see the boys at the diving place on the beach, 4 of us had an amazing time. The quad bike trip is brilliant - we did it through the hotel but lots of others did the trips alot cheaper - look on trip advisor for details.

Snorkelling is amazing. Most of the waiters are lovely, but you do see a difference if you give them a small tip every day - service levels fluctuate.

Must see Max - chap who works in the shisha tent on the beach, very entertaining and interesting, lovely chap.

Would we go back? No - we both have been quite unwell as have lots of others, seems to be the normal there. We did have a lovely time but there needs to be an improvement in a few things to make it the 5 star it sells itself as.

Room Tip: Request adult block with pool view or swim up room if not travelling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,326
    1,409
    503
    107
    60
See reviews for
1,613
3,538
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We returned from the Sensatori on 3rd October after a 12 nights stay for our honeymoon. Had a great holiday and enjoyed the hot weather.

However few things that we were not happy with, which lets the hotel down.
1. Chipped, cracked, old plastic cups at the bars outside.
2. Paper cups being used in the Sinai theatre.
3. On occasions had to queue for a table at the fountain restaurant as tables had not been cleared and set.
4. Building work still in progress.
5. On occasions ignored by waiters on the beach, they seemed to have their favourites.
6. Poor quality of the drinks on the all inclusive.
7. Ripped seats in restaurant, worn out and ripped sun bed cushions, etc.

However, saying this we still liked alot of things. Hotel gounds are lovely, swimming pool is fab, could not fault the food and the staff are so nice and friendly.

We also requested to move rooms as we had been put in the family section, with a view of a pirate ship snack bar and a big yellow slide!!! Being on our honeymoon, we did not want to be in this section. We were moved after 2 days to a fab room (2216), on the ground floor, steps away from pool with a sea view as well. Could not fault it.

I think that this hotel has been opened before it is ready. We booked this hotel as we were promised pure luxury. However, this was not a 5 start hotel, but a pleasant 4 star. Hopefully in another year it will be up to standard.

Room Tip: Room 2216 was fab. Block 4 is the family section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Sensatori hotel.
We booked in July last year in order to celebrate my wife’s birthday, so got a good deal by booking early. We had a really amazing holiday, and the highlights were as follows:
The Hotel
Has been re-furbished to a really smart & contemporary design, the décor & furnishings in all of the public areas were to a high standard. There is still some minor works going on around the Hotel while we were there, but were not a problem at all. The lobby bar & piano bar were a nice setting for a cocktail or two, with the outside balcony seating areas great to have a pre-dinner drink.
The Pools
The adult pool is a good place to relax, a really nice pool with some framed sun beds which were very comfortable. There was an issue with some guests reserving early morning sun beds with the pool attendant, but the Manager put up a sign saying that all towels would be removed at 8am on any that were un-occupied, which seemed to solve the problem. The Main pool & Infinity pool were nice, but we felt it was more crowded & busier there, so preferred the adult pool. The waiters were always coming round for your drinks, & ice cold towels at the Adult pool, which was a nice touch.
The Beach
The beach was really lovely, with plenty of comfortable padded sun beds. The warm shallows are great for cooling off, but the best bit were the fish…snorkelling over the coral reef was incredible, so many different species & colours to see, or you could snorkel off the jetty which was very good, but did get busy with scuba divers at times.
The Room
We had a beach front swim-up room in block 1 which we felt was in the prime location, as it is away from the main hotel, & a bit more private. I had e-mailed the hotel to request block 1, so glad I did! The room was really well equipped and the king size bed was so comfortable. A Nice touch was the mood lighting in the bathroom, and the piped music. Shower was good & powerful, & the air-con kept the room really cool.
Our cleaner Khaled was really brilliant, he kept the room spotless, & for my wife’s birthday he really went to town decorating it with amazing towel sculptures, balloons & banners all around the room, & run a foam bath with rose petals for her, she was thrilled!, so a sizeable tip was well worth it. There was plenty of storage space, & good functional furniture in the room & balcony. A free safe box & fridge are provided, with tea & coffee & water.
The Restaurants
The Fountain view buffet was very good, with a vast array of tasty hot food at all times. Breakfasts were great too. We dined in the Italian twice, great food but the service was a little slow at times, but proved no problem for us. The Tiran Diner on the beach does the most amazing Fajitas & steaks, its well worth a visit! The Marhaba Restaurant was really nice, but unfortunately the food wasn’t to our particular taste, but did seem very popular with other guests we spoke to.
The Gokan Asian was an amazing meal, oriental type fine dining which we really enjoyed. We ate in the Gokan Teppanyaki on our last night, the Salmon Seafood dish was cooked in front of us by the chef on a griddle, and it was excellent! We celebrated my wife’s birthday in the Stonegrill restaurant, a truly great steak meal with efficient service, and they brought my wife a birthday cake, which I had pre-ordered, a lovely evening!
The Chavannah Spa
Booked my wife a Balinese herbal massage & facial for her birthday, she absolutely loved it!
The Entertainment
We went to the Sinai Theatre once or twice, saw a couple of tribute acts which were really good, and a couple of shows done by the Thomson’s team, they were really good & very entertaining. We visited Soho Square which was quite modern & lively, and you could browse the shops without too much hassle. Naama Bay is well worth a visit, a really lively place with some good bars, but a bit of a culture shock!
The Hotel Staff
The Staff were really brilliant…from the room cleaners to the beach & pool waiters,
The restaurant waiters & reception staff really made the holiday for us; they were so friendly & helpful & could not do enough, a real credit to the hotel!
Excursions
We went on the Cairo one day excursion, flying on an old type propeller plane, it was such an experience! This excursion was probably one of our highlights, a visit to the pyramids & sphinx, rode on a Bedouin horse drawn carriage across the desert, lunch on the Nile, then the museum & Tutankhamen’s tomb, it was an unforgettable day!
To conclude my review, I fell that this Sensatori hotel, the location, the glorious weather, the Red sea & beach, the facilities & restaurants, the food & most importantly the Staff made for one of our best ever foreign holidays, and we would strongly recommend it to all our family & friends, and find it really hard to understand some of the previous negative reviews.

Room Tip: Block 1 for amazing sea view swim up or jaccuzi rooms are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Ronaldo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had stayed at Sensatori Tenerife earlier in the year and having been impressed with that we picked this hotel as a result.

We found plenty of similarities – the décor is impressive and the staff were extremely good and helpful. Food was better in some restaurants than others, (Marhaba probably the best), with the buffet restaurant a bit canteen like but we felt it was all decent enough and it’s the quality you’d expect for the price you pay. This isn’t a European 5 star and its naïve to think it would be at these prices!. We also tried the Gokhan Teppyinaki which was good and a nice change.

Drinks were always available – its a bit of a tedious Sensatori policy to only include certain drinks and try to get people to upgrade to a different Drinks package though. Didnt seem worth it to us! Not all the waiters were particularly quick but they were friendly and special mention to Mohammed on the beach. We found it a good plan to pick a sunbed near the Tiran Diner in order to not get forgotten! We did tip early on but I don't think it made a huge difference either way. The Piano Bar was the only indoor bar we went to much – piano player was quite good but better when he didn’t sing! Advertised WiFi was a bit hit and miss.

We had a room in Block 1 (1240) – first impression was a bit so-so (it was much smaller than the Tenerife one with a bit of an imperfect bathroom and a balcony overlooking the tennis courts) but overall we were happy there as so many other rooms - including the swimups that we’d been hoping to upgrade to - seemed to lack any privacy at all. Special mention to the room cleaner who left various decorations most days!

Best part of the hotel was the snorkelling off the end of the jetty – this was fantastic. Excellent variety of tropical fish – you will even see them just wading off the beach. We took our own fins and masks which I would say is worth it – we prebooked extra weight on the baggage to do this and I think it works out cheaper than hiring every day. We didn’t use the pools much but the adult pool was quite good, never seemed too packed although it is difficult to get a sunbed there!

We went to the spa and recommend the Balinese Massage which was one of the best we’ve had – nice setting too overlooking the beach. Very peaceful atmosphere in there.

Trips – we went on 3 all with Thomson. Most memorable was day to Luxor, its hot, intense and expensive but absolutely worth it, Valley of the Kings was really spectacular. We also did a VIP Cruise (snorkelling off Tiran Island) which was nice to go on a boat but actually didn’t have any better snorkelling than what is available off the hotel jetty and also St Catherines Monastery which was interesting and included a nice lunch by the sea.

Airport transfers were smooth and well handled and the Thomson reps were pleasant and helpful. Good tip to go on Sammys Hotel Tour on the first day to get your bearings.

Final word of advice – if you DO get a stomach upset ( I did…) forget Immodium or anything like that. Go straight to the chemist on the strip of shops behind the hotel. The tablets he prescribed work fairly quickly….

In summary – it’s a very nice hotel with keen staff and tremendous snorkelling opportunities.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elsk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Just returned from two weeks at Sensatori.A good hotel but silly little things let it down from being up there with the best.

I have stayed here before when it was the Conrad Hilton and have to say it is a vast improvement over that.
On arrival a very quick check in and taken to the main restaurant and was quite impressed with the variety of food.
Then shown to our room which was very good indeed spacious and very comfortable.But as we were to find out quite noisy at 0130 in the morning from work going on in the Tepanyaki restaurant, almost like they were cleaning and moving tables about but if your a light sleeper you will suffer some sleepless nights, we were in 3219.
Over the course of the 2 weeks we ate in the Maharba, the Tiran and the main restaurant and the food quality was excellent, the service from the waiters etc was outstanding, special mention for Saad in the main restaurant who always made sure your coffee or drinks glass was always full.

We never had any problem getting a sunbed around the Adults pool, one word of warning though, you have to be at your sunbed from 0755 to 0805 or your towels will be removed,the new guy on our second week enforced this quite rigorously which resulted in some heated arguments. Drinks are brought to your sunbed all day fantastic service, which got even better after a small tip.

The gym is very good with fantastic views out over the sea and Tiran island. Equipment is also very good. My only gripe with it was the water cooler run empty on the first week and instead of putting a fresh bottle on they just unplugged it and put bottles in which were never cool especially after the sun had been beating down all day.

The good points.
The food quality is very good.
The grounds are very spacious and you would not know the hotel is full.
The service and friendliness from the staff all over the hotel is outstanding.
Plenty of sunbeds that are well spaced out.
No dodgy stomach upsets. :-))
Never at anytime saw staff looking for tips, although they accepted them gratefully, I would also say if you are tipping give them Egyptian money as they seem to have trouble exchanging English money and will probably loose some in commission fees.

The points that let it down and they are quite niggly but if sorted would make things almost perfect.

The hotel has wifi all over the hotel but it is only free in the lobby elsewhere it has to be paid for, the wifi in the lobby is very slow when it actually works. why not just give access all over the hotel?
The mini bar in the room is just a fridge that you have to pay if you want it stocked.Would it really be that bad to put a couple of Pepsi and beers in it.?
The main restaurants air conditioning is very efficient and it can be very cool in there, which means by the time you have picked your food and got back to your table your food can be cool.
There is still some maintenance work ongoing but not really a lot of noise from it.

Thoroughly enjoyed our time and would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jimtud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

I have recently returned from Sensatori after a week away with my friend and I must start this review by saying how shocked and surprised I am at some of the previous reviews of this hotel. If you are looking at spending your holiday in pure relaxation and not having to lift a finger, then this is the place for you.

The hotel is BEAUTIFUL and I was completely blown away. It more that exceeded my expectations and the pictures that Thomson have on their website do not do it justice! The rooms are very spacious and the bed is huge and sooo comfortable. We were in the Adults Only block, room 3153 and therefore, spent most of our time around the Adults Only pool which was fabulous. The staff both there and everywhere could not do enough for all the guests regardless of tipping or not. We didn't tip until the end of the holiday and I must stress that this made no difference to the level of service. They are fantastic and deserve every tip they receive.

I must admit that I was dubious about the food before I went but I was pleasantly surprised with the vast choice and quality of the food in the Fountain View. Everyday the meals were different and no matter how fussy an eater you are, there is definately something for you. We also ate in the Marhaba (Middle Eastern) and the Casa Bianca (Italian). Both were fantastic but I particularly enjoyed the Italian and the Tiramisu was to die for!

Although I didnt really spend much time on the beach, I did have a paddle in the sea and walked along the Jetty a few times to look at the Coral and fish. These were AMAZING and I only wish that I wasn't afraid of the sea as it must be outstanding to snorkel in!

I also went to the Spa for a Balinese massage which was heavenly. The Spa is beautiful and better than a lot of Spas that I have visited in this country! Well worth the money and I would definately recommend a visit!

The only downside to the hotel is the evening enertainment. However, we did go to see the George Michael and Michael Jackson tributes which were fantastic and also the 2 comedians who were very funny and a good late night entertainment for the adults!

Whilst writing, I would also like to say how disgusted I am at some comments made regarding people with tattoos. Yes, there are people at this hotel who have tattoos - not all young might I add - but they are in no way offensive or loud or 'chavvy'. In fact, I myself have a small tattoo on my wrist (heaven forbid!) and I am a Technical Manager at a legal company. How chavvy am I?! For me, it is the people with these small minded views and opinions that have the problem.

Overall, this is one of the nicest hotels I have ever been to abroad and I would not hesitate to return and recommend to friends and family. Thank you so much to all at Sensatori for making my holiday perfect and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanderella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Recently returned from a 10 night holiday to Sensatori Sharm El Sheikh. Our room was a whirpool sea view which was lovely and clean very spacious with the most enormous bed and huge balcony directly overlooking the beach.

Check in was fast and efficient and our bags were waiting at our room once we'd had a bite to eat as we arrived 10pm.

We found the hotel to be very clean and tidy with staff constantly cleaning, gardening to keep the grounds immaculate.

The staff at this hotel are fantastic, helpful and friendly. Particurlary at the adult bar and the club house (sports bar), where we spent most of our time they where excellent, they couldn't do enough for you and always had a friendly greeting whenever they saw you. Hussein in particular is an asset to the hotel, with his friendly manner. He worked so hard, making sure you never had to wait long for your next drink!

The food was very good, with a massive selection in the fountain restaurant with something to suit every taste.

We did a couple of excursions Quad Biking & Sinai by Starlight both of which we would recommend as good value, interesting and great trips, with excellent guides (Freddie & Howard).

It was around 100 degrees everyday and the iced towels around the Adult Pool were very welcome in an afternoon.

We had a fantastic honeymoon, at a hotel we would definately return to and recommend others to visit.

Room Tip: 1204 lovely large balcony with whirlpool overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
7.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,147 reviews
6.6 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#14 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#19 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,051 reviews
3.2 mi away
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
#10 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,526 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh
Address: | Ras Nosrani, Sharm El Sheikh 102, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#13 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#20 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensatori Sharm El-Sheikh Resort puts you just footsteps from the sand. It is set on a beach overlooking Ras Nosrani Bay across 37 scenic acres of landscaped gardens fronting a stretch of over 600 meters of pristine sandy beaches. Sensatori Sharm El-Sheikh Resort is located across Tiran Island and close to the world-famous Ras Mohammed National Park, both considered to be two of the best diving spots in the world. The resort is also conveniently situated near Sharm El Sheikh Airport, the city centre, marina and the various attractions in and around Sharm El Sheikh. BALANCE and CHOICE, running through the whole Sensatori experience. On the one hand there are action-packed activities; on the other, ultra-relaxing spa treatments. Likewise, gourmet cuisine sits alongside fast food. The secret to it all and the main focus lies in the attention to details. The hotel offers 470 guest rooms and suites categorized to 19 room/suite types, all dressed in modern stylish fixtures and furniture. All rooms are equipped with electronic key lock, 32” LCD television and 40” in suites, mini bar, safe box, iPod docking station, iron/ironing board, tea and coffee kettle and a luxury bathroom with a Jacuzzi bathtub and mood light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensatori Sharm El-Sheikh By Coral Sea Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Conrad Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Sharm El-Sheikh Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing