We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
33 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$50
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/06/21
Hotels.com
US$49
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$44
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/06/21
Expedia.comUS$49
PricelineUS$50
TravelocityUS$49
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,122)
Filter reviews
9,122 results
Traveller rating
5,008
2,474
908
439
293
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,008
2,474
908
439
293
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset bar deluxe side sinai dive club animation team soho square italian restaurant fish naama bay main restaurant water aerobics pasta special thanks rice shuttle bus main pool pool view plenty of sunbeds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5,103 - 5,108 of 9,122 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2011

This was our second visit to this hotel and yet again it didnt fail us. Like everyone we were a little worried because of the troubles that have been happening, but honestly please, please dont worry, you really wouldnt know there is anything wrong. The resort is so quiet its very sad really because they need the tourism. I was actually told that there are some hotels that are closing down due to a lack of trade.
We stayed for a week in the new side in a triple deluxe room. The rooms are of a very good standard and are cleaned everyday thoroughly, the cleaners work very hard to ensure your stay is comfortable. We had lovely towel decorations everyday.
The food for us was absolutely fine, in fact I agree with some of the reviews that I felt that this year the food was so much better due to a new chef. Dont expect lots of meat,its mainly chicken and fish. The salad counter is great and always very fresh. We always found plenty of selection, just dont go with high expectations, remember how much you paid for the trip. The staff in the restaurant were fantastic and couldnt do enough.
We found the animation team an absolute scream and really found them great fun. They dont hassle you too much but will definitely engage with you if you engage with them. There was something on every night in the sports bar which wasnt the best but you know what just go with the flow have a few drinks and enjoy it, we did.
The spa is great myself and my sister had an 80 min massage and we managed to get it for £45 each so def haggle with them.
Overall the stay was perfect its exactly what we were looking for good weather, good food and drink all at a great price.
All the staff were amazing and we will definitely be returning for our third trip next year.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaggon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

my wife and i decided to stay at the hilton after our friends had stayed the previous year and were going back , we booked to stay in the old side of the hotel as we love a beach and wanted to be near as possible to it , on arrival at reception we were greeted with the word's UPGRADE 7 ENGLISH POUNDS PER NIGHT ! . on declining this offer for reasons explained above ,we were directed to another member of the reception staff who repeated this offer ,after convincing the staff we did not want to be in the new side ,we were checked in and taken to our room ,on entering the room it was fine ,clean and spacious ,on preceding to the balcony i was devastated by the view over the adjacent hotel's GENERATOR'S AND RICKITY METAL FENCE ,ALONG WITH THE CONSTANT HUMMING OF SAID GERERATOR'S ,,i immediately returned to reception and explained that this was not acceptable and was told I COULD UPGRADE TO NEW SIDE FOR 7 ENGLISH POUNDS PER NIGHT ...or there was no alternative (this despite the hotel being practicly empty we later found ) i again declined and was given a large sigh and a shrug of the shoulder's by 2 reception staff ...as time was getting on i could not be bothered to argue and retreated to our room (323) NEXT MORNING I AGAIN RETURNED TO RECEPTION and spoke to the tompsons rep( i might as well have asked the CAMEL that was parked at the gate for assistance ) having no joy with her i thought id try my luck at reception again ,WHAT A DIFFERENCE !! the morning staff were like a breathe of fresh air ..they couldnt apologise enough and was told some one would be at my room as soon as we were ready to go...we were taken to a gorgeous seaview room 116 perfect and no charge ...now to start our holiday...before leavin i was reassured by my travel agent (again tompsons) that sharm and in particular our hotel were "IN NO WAY EFFECTED" by the unrest in egypt ...MAIN RESTAURANT CLOSED ,CHILL OUT BAR CLOSED ,POOL BAR CLOSED ,POOLS NOT HEATED AS NO DIELSEL TO HEAT THEM , as i say this hotel had come highly reccomended by our friends who were staying in the new part 16 ov us all together and they were devastated in the decline in the hotel ,the food in the new side main restaurant was fine for me as im not fussy and apart from the last 3 day's standard was fine but some of our party struggled with it , WE DID NOTICE A MAJOR DROP IN STANDARD'S WHEN THE HOTEL STARTED TO FILL WITH EGYPTION TOURIST'S WHO WERE GIVING CHEAP HOL'S TO KEEP RESORT GOING ,HILTON SEEMED TO BE HAPPY TO SERVE MEDIOCRE FOOD TO ALL TO COINCIDE WITH THIS INFLUX ,DISGRACE !! sorry this has been a bit long winded and trust me im not one for complainin , on the PLUS SIDE'S beach was fab staff apart from the inital reception were FANTASTIC ,SUNSET BAR WAS FAB , all in all the hotel was great to lie on beach all day couple of drinks on way back to room , bite to eat and chill in ya room all night as entertainment was not for us , I AM THE MUSIC MAN playing on first night was enough for me ha ha , we did go to ROCK NIGHT ,which consisted of dj playing rock ballad C,D ...no honest that was it ! ALL IN ALL I WOULD NOT RUSH BACK TO THIS HOTEL ,(nor would our friends who stayed previous year and loved it ) on speaking to people in airport there were better hotels who did not scrimp and scrape on entertainment ,food heated pools etc....to save money WHICH AT THE END OF THE DAY ,I FELT THIS IS WHAT HILTON DID ...AND I MY MIND I FEEL THE "HILTON " BRAND HAS BEEN TARNISHED FOR ME .....I HOPE THIS REVIEW WAS HELPFUL AS I HAVE BEEN 100% HONEST .....

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment-Hilton, PA to GM at Hilton Sharks Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2011

Dear Sir and Madam,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Sharks Bay Resort for your recent holiday. Your feedback on Trip Advisor is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards.
We have noted your comments regarding your stay and we are concerned to learn that you were dissatisfied with some of the services provided. Due to the unrest in the country and the curfew in Cairo, all our food and oil were delayed, as it come from Cairo, which is the main reason that affected our services during that time, also please note that all tour operators were aware of the situation all over Egypt and how it affected business life in all aspects. It is a country situation and not the hotel alone. All other comments were communicated to the concerned department to investigate and rectify the problem.

May I thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sharks Bay Resort in the future.
Yours truly,

Amira Ismail
PA to General Manager
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Could not fault this hotel at the time of our stay there were only british people there I thought it would lack a bit of atmosphere but the place was full of atmosphere. Staff were friendly and the food in the restaurant was excellent you would be hard pressed not to find something you like to eat. The evening entertainment could have been better but this did not spoil our trip.

We upgraded to the new side which was well worth the extra money as in the old side the decor was a little tired.

Overall it was a great stay, our second trip to the Hilton Sharks Bay and would not hesitate to go a third.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Let me make it very clear, in visiting Egypt at this time we were aware that there may be problems. I had contacted my tour operator before travelling with this in mind and asked for assurances that facilities and staffing levels would be what you expected of a Hilton Hotel - these assurance were given without qualification.
On arrival the hotel seemed quiet but that suited us. We were allocated a room in Hilton 1 but soon chose to upgrade (at a cost) to a better room in Hilton 2. It was late evening and we were advised to go to the Bedouin Restaurant in Hilton 1 for a meal - a walk of some 10 minutes. The food was poor and with very limited choice we had kebabs and a mediocre pudding to follow.
The next day the extent of the Hilton problems became apparent. Hilton 1 was virtually closed down and was a ghost town apart from the main Reception area and the sea front Sunset Bar. We could have had a swimming pool for each member of our party there were so few people about. The main restaurant in Hilton 1 was closed down for the duration of our stay and we had to use either the Bedouin Restaurant or the Italian Restaurant or remain in Hilton 2 and take our chances with the buffet style meals there.
One of the 2 pool bars in Hilton 2 was closed and the pool bar in Hilton 1 only opened part way through our stay.
I've mentioned the quality of the food in the Bedouin Restaurant, poor and of limited choice; the same could be said of the main restaurant in Hilton 2. Quality was poor and although there appeared to be a choice we got the impression that day by day the menu changed but the food didn't - meat stew one night was named differently the next night and so on but tasted the same. The organisation and layout of the main restaurant was chaotic - regular buffet choices alonng a side wall but also included the "specials" for the meal where chefs cooked or cut to order. The effect on diners was to delay them obtaining food because the queue for the specials was within the line for the regular buffet choices and no one knew where the queue was anyway. At breakfast the problem was made even worse when trying to find someone to provide coffee or hot water for tea - a 10 minute wait in a queue for an omelette to be cooked could be followed by a 10 minute wait to attract attention for coffee and tea.
The hotel guests were for the most part English - we were told that other European nationals had been advised to stay away. Unusually in our experience, there seemed to be a daily influx of busloads of Egyptians who may have been a some sort of special deal with Hilton.
The staff were polite and courteous, as we have found all Egyptians to be but woefully inadequate for the numbers they were dealing with.
The best restaurant we found to be the Italian restaurant, probably because you had to reserve a table and they seemed to keep the numbers down. Reservation was a simple matter but we were confused on occasion to find that despite a rule that tables could not be reserved the day before and bookings opened at 10.30 on the day, we were told they were fully booked when attempting to make a booking at or just before 10.30. Food was good although over a 2 week stay a little repetitious.
The hotel bars were adequate but not exciting - the usual restrictions on drinks were applied but not a problem to us as we quite like local drinks.
The grounds were well maintained and always had staff cutting grass or picking up leaves so they looked very good.
The shuttle bus between Hilton 1 and Hilton 2 was useful at times when we could not face the walk uphill to Hilton 2 or we were carrying beach stuff that was bulky.
Our room was cleaned daily and the towels usually replaced - the towel sculptures were much in evidence. Simple problems were not rectified during the stay - our wash basin was stubbornly slow to empty and occasionally we left our room before it had; a power socket was hanging from the wall with the wiring exposed. Neither problem was corrected while we were there despite them being identified and notified to the hotel within the first day or 2.

Overall we were very disappointed with the quality of our stay at the Hilton. We expected better, especially since we had had pre-travel assurances from our tour operator about standards and facilities, and we got a second rate experience. In conversation with other guests who stayed at the Hilton on many occasions previously, they were astounded at the deterioration in the hotel, the food quality and the overall experience.
As I said at the beginning, this is a snapshot of our stay in February. However, the Hilton would do well to take account of these comments and those of the guests who had stayed there previously.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PotteryPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

What an excellent holiday and beautiful hotel, the rooms are very impressive, large, ultra modern and extremely clean, flat screen TVs, walk in showers and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Buffet style food was great, excellent choice and something for everyone, chefs cooking food on open grills made to order and the buffet breakfast was the best selection I have ever seen. Sherif in the restaurant was great, made us feel very welcome and always had a smile on his face.
Check-in ran smoothly, very slick and great to be driven around the resort in a golf buggy, we were checked in by Mohammed at reception, very polite and welcoming and seemed to remember us throughout our stay.
The staff make this property, nothing is too much trouble, always happy to help and genuinely care that you are having a good holiday. Wael, the bars manager was a credit to the hotel, his team are all brilliant and such good fun.
The pool is massive, the biggest I have ever seen, great for kids and adults, sun beds are comfy and there is always someone to set them up for you and oput out your towels - everything seems to have been thought of and all the little things taken care of.
Security seemed very tight which is great, every vehicle is checked and metal detectors are at the enterance of the hotel for an extra level of security, not that we ever felt it was needed!!
The weather was perfect our whole trip and the sea was incredible, if a little cold! It was just like looking into an aquarium!
Can't recommend this hotel enough, we will definitely be going back, soon hopefully and taking the family! Cant wait!!

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittenscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews