We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel nice, food dreadful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Ranked #66 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We booked the Hilton Sharks Bay because it was a Hilton and thought it would live up to the name. There are many pro's for this hotel: extremely comfy beds, clean rooms with towel art every day (the monkey was my fave), the adult only pool, the snorkelling and fish in the private beach, the entertainment team- Mido and Mina in particular (thanks boys) and the beer.

However, we are extremely big foodies and enjoy a nice meal on holiday. Apart from the Italian restaurant (which if you tip well you can get into again), the restaurants and food were really not good. They were packed and dirty and the food was consumed for survival purposes only. After a few days we both became rather unwell which lasted ALL holiday. The Egyptian holiday makers were very rude and would push in front, use their hands as servers and waste bucket loads of food at every meal.

Luckily, it did not spoil our holiday but we will definitely not be returning and would advise others to go elsewhere (perhaps an English only resort where everyone will share good manners). Another piece of advice if you have already booked would be to tip waiters, bar staff, pool attendants, servers, etc on day 1, it was evident who had. Good luck!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment-Hilton, Guest Relations at Hilton Sharks Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Sharks Bay Resort for your recent holiday and for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that you felt the holiday did not live up to your expectations.

We are concerned to learn about your comments regarding your stay with us and they have been noted and will pass it on to the concerned department for corrective action

We are of course sorry that you did not consider raising your concerns with the senior management team whilst here, who would have made every effort to address your concerns. We pride ourselves on our service levels and take feedback seriously in order that we can address any specific issues.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and I do hope that you do give the hotel another chance on your next visit to Sharm, as we constantly strive to improve the service to our guests.

Kinds Regards,

Zdenka Virova
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,649 - 1,655 of 7,533 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

The staff are absolutely first class, the pools are first class as are the facilities, the food is absolute slop, i wouldn't feed my dog it!!!!. The Egyptian holiday makers whilst in the restaurant are like ANIMALS not queuing, getting massive plates of food and then leaving most of it!!!!!!. I unfortunately was taken very ill and had to have my appendix removed, the hotel paid for taxies for my wife and son to visit me in hospital. Special thanks to our cleaner, we were in room 4108, he was excellent, the animation team were brilliant, everybody was asking after me when i was in hospital. Also get your trips from Fabio, much cheaper than your rep. He is a really helpful and friendly guy. I would return to the hotel but the food would have to massively improve, which is a shame because the staff are a real credit to the place

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neilgilholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment-Hilton, Guest Relations at Hilton Sharks Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sir and Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Sharks Bay Resort for your recent holiday and for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We value your comments, as it is only through the eyes of our guests we can improve our services.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback I am sorry that you felt that the holiday did not live up to your expectations and I do hope that you do give the hotel another chance on your next visit to Sharm, as we constantly strive to improve the service to our guests.

Kinds Regards,

Zdenka Virova
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I am very upset and dissapointed with the Hilton sharks bay I arrived home on 21st of August after spending a much awaited weeks holiday there.Myself and my husband returned to the hilton this year as we had been there in April 2013 and had a fantastic time so we couldnt wait to go back this year.However what a massive dissapointment we have had a week of hell I myself became very ill on the second day and was unable to eat drink or even leave my room I cant say what this is down to because there were so many possible causes firstly the splash bar on the deluxe side was absolutley filfhy and was not cleaned the full 7 days we were there,the bottled water was warm,the plastic ice box was absolutly filthy,the Eyptian quest were rude, arrogrant ,ignorant and had no manners whatso ever.They basically did what they wanted and had no respect for any one else,they would put there children in the pools without nappies on and the children poohed in the pool which had to be closed many many times whilst we were there, they would not queue like the rest of us had to and would just push to the front of the queues,they behaved like pigs whilst eating and would spit food out on the place mats which were never cleaned after them just shook of and the next persons cutlery then placed on them,when to spoke to staff about this they said they have no rules in life and not to worry because they would all be gone in 3 days,i explained that this sort of behaviour and rudeness would not be tolerated in England and they said they cant do anything because they are a majority of there guest and they need them to return year after year and the food was disgusting and wasnt fit to eat,they caterd for the Egyptians and not the English I could not believe the difference in a year and was told this was due to the time of year we visited, it shouldnt matter what time of year you go the service and standard should be very high at all times, we paid more to be on the deluxe side but the old side was better.The old side had barbaques entertainment and served better standard of food,Ifeel this is such a shame as we had planned to return here yearly for our holidays sadly we wont be doing this now .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment-Hilton, Guest Relations at Hilton Sharks Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Sharks Bay Resort for your recent holiday and for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that you felt the holiday did not live up to your expectations.

We are concerned to learn about your comments regarding your stay with us and they have been noted and will pass it on to the concerned department for corrective action

We are of course sorry that you did not consider raising your concerns with the senior management team whilst here, who would have made every effort to address your concerns. We pride ourselves on our service levels and take feedback seriously in order that we can address any specific issues.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and I do hope that you do give the hotel another chance on your next visit to Sharm, as we constantly strive to improve the service to our guests.

Kinds Regards,

Zdenka Virova
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

While the infrastructure is perfect (room, swimming pool, decoration…), the service (cleaning, bars, reception, internet and restaurant) is really poor. Following to our stay, my wife and myself have serious stomach ache, certainly due to the food that is obviously not really fresh and the same everyday. Regarding the service at bars and restaurants, we have been really disappointed - impossible to find a clean table, glasses are dirty and sometime slightly broken, floor and front kitchen aren't clean at all and air conditioner doesn’t work in some part of the restaurants (10 days), while it is 43 degrees outside. Regarding the internet, while I chose Hilton because of its business oriented vision - internet isn't fast at all and most of the time there are interruption (from 25 minutes until the next day). Don't expect internet connection from your room - the only possible way to catch Wifi is to be close to the reception desk. Regarding the reception - we have paid for a sea view room and have sent 3 email before our arrival to confirm our expectation to have a nice sea view room. Once we arrived, we have been offered a room with “no view” (view to a tree in front of a wall - we did pictures). After complaining several times, we have been offered a new room (after 3 nights). Regarding the in-room service and in general all services - we have been highly disapointed to understand that we MUST tip in order to get the standard service… During our first two days, we were totally ignored from bar and restaurant staff until we started to tip (at least 4-5 USD each time) as everybody was doing it. We did the same constat with the cleaning service - when we tipped, we got shower gel, shampoo and all towel. Once we forgot and the room was cleaned really poorly (floor was not clean, no towel and no shampoo/shower gel). After 4 calls to the reception and 40 minutes, we received everything. The same happened the next day, when we decided not to tip anymore! During the last day we have been roughly informed that there isn’t any possibility to get a late check out (from 12:00 until 18:00). While the hotel is “certainly” fully booked, I was sure that there should be a possibility to get a room free from 12:00 until at least 17:00. At 20:00, when we left, the room was still unoccupied... This was my first long stay at Hilton (have been 1 night at Hilton Leningrad in Moscow in December 2012) and we have been really disappointed. While this stay wasn’t friendly, it was also dangerous (from a health point of view). Exept for its location (sea side/old side is really nice for couple without kids) and infrastructure (huge territory, nice rooms), I definitely don't recommend this hotel - for the same price you could get really better.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Колин Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment-Hilton, Guest Relations at Hilton Sharks Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Sharks Bay Resort for your recent holiday and for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that you felt the holiday did not live up to your expectations.

We are concerned to learn about your comments regarding your stay with us and they have been noted and will pass it on to the concerned department for corrective action

We are of course sorry that you did not consider raising your concerns with the senior management team whilst here, who would have made every effort to address your concerns. We pride ourselves on our service levels and take feedback seriously in order that we can address any specific issues.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and I do hope that you do give the hotel another chance on your next visit to Sharm, as we constantly strive to improve the service to our guests.

Kinds Regards,

Zdenka Virova
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed here in August 2012 and had the worst holiday of my life.

The 'secure' safe in our room was secretly opened by the staff and had money taken on two occasions within a 7 day period. When raising this to security, we had our room strip searched and the blame passed to me and I was accused of stealing the money (around £300 English money) from my boyfriend!

When door readings and safe readings were EVENTUALLY completed by the management as per our request (at first the door and safe readers 'wouldn't work') it showed someone else had entered our room on both occasions. The person had also put two wrong passwords in the safe before finally gaining access and inputting the correct coed on the third attempt. The wrong passwords were extremely similar to our password (for example 6767 instead of 6969). How did they know this?

The door readings also showed that a few minutes after them gaining access to the safe, we had entered back in the room. This implies that they were spying on us and knew we were about to head back to the room!

The security and management team in our room were very rude, intimidating and threatening. Other people in the hotel at the time had similar problems but had branded T-shirts stolen and not money. They helped us to fight our case while at the hotel as at the time I was only 19.

However, the management did not budge and they continued to be rude, patronising and take no notice of our complaint despite a member/members of their team evidently stealing from us.

Following our compliant, we returned to the room the next day to find a VOO DOO DOLL hanging from the latch on the ceiling above the safe!! The voo doo doll had pins in its eyes. This is not acceptable, the day prior to this we had a coffin towel art on the bed! Pictures to follow.

We were mortified and petrified for the whole 7 days at this hotel.

When we arrived back to the UK, we were in contact with Hilton head office to inform them of our experience. They informed us they do not have control of this hotel and we needed to re-raise this with the hotel management at Sharks Bay. After threatening to go to the newspapers, we were offered two free Hilton vouchers and the money that was stolen from us (around £300 in English money) back to us. NOT ACCEPTABLE.

I would also like to comment on other parts of the hotel, the food was non existent the restaurant served 'chicken' which was anything but chicken and had the same food every day. I did not see the chefs once and did not see the food re-filled. Once it was gone, it was gone. There were flies all over the food.

The food at the outside snack hut was exactly the same and was simply not edible.

The service was appalling and no staff wanted to serve or help you. Instead they were busy arguing amongst themselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Phillipa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment-Hilton, Guest Relations at Hilton Sharks Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Sharks Bay Resort for your recent holiday and for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We value your comments, as it is only through the eyes of our guests we can improve our services.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback I am sorry that you felt that the holiday did not live up to your expectations and I do hope that you do give the hotel another chance on your next visit to Sharm, as we constantly strive to improve the service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Zdenka Virova
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have been to this hotel 3 times till now and every time we like the hotel more and more
Reception we like Sameh he is v.good guy and he helped us from the 1st day till the last day
Animation
Anmation team always great team special thanks to sam
Restaurant
Every one there is so nice
I love it and I will come again and again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment-Hilton, Guest Relations at Hilton Sharks Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Sharks Bay Resort for your recent holiday and for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we achieved our aim of ensuring your holiday to be both relaxing and memorable.

May I thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Hilton Sharks Bay.

Kind regards,

Zdenka Virova
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

stayed there over easter and absolutely loved it! The pool is perfect for kids with a slide and gradually gaining in depth. As the beach is not great with a lot of rocks and a coral reef they tried their best with creating a little sand beach by the pool. The staff was very helpful and helped with every problem. wide choice of food! definitely would go again

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylwia19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment-Hilton, Guest Relations at Hilton Sharks Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Sharks Bay Resort for your recent holiday and for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we achieved our aim of ensuring your holiday to be both relaxing and memorable.

May I thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Sharks Bay.

Kind regards,

Zdenka Virova
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#37 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,723 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#65 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#24 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#10 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,617 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
#48 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,835 reviews
9.5 mi away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#52 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sharks Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sharks Bay Resort

Address: Ras Nusrani | Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#49 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#52 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £37 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sharks Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 629
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive into a Red Sea adventure at the beach side Hilton Sharks Bay Resort, an all-inclusive resort in Sharm El Sheikh. Relax on the private beach, swim in one of 7 pools or try your hand at tennis or mini golf on the onsite courts. Close by the famous SOHO Square where restaurants, bars, entertainment centers, night shows and shopping arcade with less than 4 minutes walking distance. Just 10 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from the Go bus station, the hotel boasts a fully equipped health club, a private beach, 7 polls, 13 restaurants and bars, 2 kids' clubs, kids' playground and shaded pool and daily evening entertainment with animation team program. Sporty types will love the dive center. Explore the Red Sea coast and top dive sites or visit Sharm El Sheikh Attractions like the Aqua land Water Park. Treat your loved ones with a private dinner at the beach, or enjoy a cool drink over Red Sea views at the Sunset Bar. Hilton rooms boast a balcony or terrace with garden, pool or sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sharks Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sharks Bay Hotel
Hilton Sharm El Sheikh
Hilton Sharks Bay Sharm El Sheikh
Bay Hilton Shark
Hilton Sharks Bay Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing