We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, will definitely be back! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
lti Tropicana Grand Azure
Ranked #106 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner travelled with 7 other people here on 12th July for 2 weeks.

First impressions were high as we were booked in promptly and shown to our rooms. We all got free upgrades to junior suites & were able to eat in the aquarium restaurant, which was fantastic, never had a bad meal!

We sat around the dolphin pool as this is where the daytime activities took place with the animation team who were also amazing, very friendly & didn't push you into doing anything! Our towel man Mohammad couldn't do enough for you and got 9 sunbeds & towels everyday in the same spot for the whole 2 weeks!

The bar staff in the lobby were great, always cheerful & easy to have a laugh with! The hotel is very clean and they constantly maintain the gardens around the hotel.

Do not book excursions through thomsons!!! We went to the cleo water park as they made it out to be amazing & the biggest one in sharm! We spent £40 English pounds which was meant to include towels, free drinks, food & sunbeds at the thomsons VIP bit. However, we never received any towels, there was only about 50 sunbeds for around 150 people so had to sit at the other part which we then had to pay for our drinks! The slides are rubbish and we got round the park in 1hr! Do not waste your money!

We did a few other excursions, quads, sand buggy's, boat ride and water sports which we're amazing & we booked these through 2 company's who came around the pool area, special shout out to Mani who works for Sinai Safari, so funny & took care of each of us when going out on excursions!

Be prepared to tip, even just £1 to the people who go out their way for you, they really do appreciate it & work very hard for the money!

Cannot fault this hotel & we will defo be back once it's refurbed!

Leanne
Scotland
12.7.14


Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Leanne_s_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 3,031 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Dear Sir/ madam,

I just came back from a disastrous vacation at this hotel. It was the absolute worst hotel experience ever in my travels.

We went to this hotel 2 years ago when it was "Tropicana Grand Azure" hotel and everything at that time was amazing; the service, the professionalism, the staff, the room cleanliness, etc.... so we decided to make our vacation this year also at the hotel we enjoyed so much previously. To our great disappointment, everything has changed this year. Thanks to the new "Tirana" management chain of course.

We booked at this hotel from the 14th to the 18th of July 2014 and we made our booking around mid June 2014 (almost a month earlier). We booked almost 11 double bedrooms as we were a big family who wanted to enjoy our time together.

It all started when we arrived at the hotel on Monday, the 14th of July. We were received by the so called Mohamed at the reception/ front desk. This person proved to be later the most rude, unprofessional and tactless person with zero background when it comes to handling customers especially angry ones.

We arrived at the hotel at 1.00 pm. and this person received us and told us we can wear the bracelet (all inclusive) and go to the restaurant to eat for half an hour or so until the rooms are ready. We didn't argue this and we went to the restaurant and stayed there for almost an hour or an hour and a half. When we finished and we asked about our rooms, he told us the rooms are not ready yet but I can arrange for 3 or 4 bedrooms that you can put your luggage in until the rest of the rooms are ready (the time then was 2.30 pm. and the rule states check-in time to be 2.00 pm.). We did abide to this although he didn't even apologize and did not even mention a good justification. So we stayed for another hour and then I phoned the reception to ask about my room as the time then has reached 3.30 pm. His colleague advised that he doesn't know about our case and that Mr. Mohamed is the one who is following it up so I asked about Mr. Mohamed when he said "he has gone to the toilet!!!!!!". I left a message with this guy to inform this Mohamed to call me as soon as he comes back. I waited for another half an hour but in vain nobody called me or showed up. So, I phoned the reception again and found this Mohamed claiming that the rooms are being cleaned and he wants to do us a favour and give us all the rooms booked for our family next to each other and that's why it's taking some more time to check in. So I yelled at him that this is not a good reason for me as the check-in time is 2.00 pm and now it has reached 4.00 pm and we're still out and I told him to do his best because this is not acceptable and I hung up the phone. Of course, he didn't call back. I waited for another half an hour with the hope that he would call and the problem would be solved with no more arguments. But, he didn't call. So, I decided to go by myself to the reception with my sister-in- law. When we reached the reception he kept ignoring me and he addressed all his speech to my sister-in-law and still no apology and then said "I will give you 2 more room cards access for now and the rest......" so I interrupted "no rest .. we will take all the rest of the cards now.. no more delaying". Finally, we took all the cards.

When I entered the room with my sister, we found the toilet is not clean at all (although he claimed that we're late because they are cleaning the room).


Here is the room condition:

1. The "Do Not Disturb" door sign wasn't there nor the "Please, make up my Room" sign!!!!!!!!

2. The toilet was dirty.

3. The bath towels were worn out and their sides were tattered.

4. The Mini bar was completely empty and moreover it acted like a cupboard and not a fridge (it wasn't cooling at all).

5. The bathtub and the sink drains were unclogged as the thing that clogs them was dismantled.

6. No sewing kit.

7. No Hair caps.

8. The kettle was rusty which makes it absolutely disgusting to use.

9. The air condition has no buttons on top.

10. The trash basket has no cover.

11. The lighting in the room was very appalling as it was dim and many of the lamps were not working.

However, and in spite of the above, we tried to forget the whole thing and start enjoying our vacation.

The second day we went to one of the pools and stayed there till 5.30 pm. and the regulations state that the pool is open until 6.00 pm. but when we went to the towels guy to exchange the towels with the card, the guy advised that the cards has gone out and that we have to take these wet towels with us to the rooms and come back tomorrow to exchange them!!!!. So, I started an argument with this other rude and impolite guy that he has to get me the cards now as I don't care about the circumstances. I care only about my right. So he started yelling and waved his hands dismissively and told me "ok.. I don't have any dry towels or cards ....go change them from some other pool". I did not reply with a word as I could not believe what he was rudely telling me. We all left and we went to the other pool but we found the cards has gone out also!!!!!

I decided to take my complaints (since we arrived to the hotel) to the Front Desk Manager "Mr. Mohamed El Gohary". He received all my complaints well and promised that the guy at the front desk would be punished for his rudeness as well as the guy at the pool and he added that the guy at the pool would even come and apologize to me!!!. So, I thought what has happened to us since we arrived was a mishap that would be rectified and we will enjoy the rest of the vacation. To my frustration also, nothing happened after this discussion and no one came to apologize or even show some regret for their rudeness. At this point, I decided not to take it further as it seems the new staff lacks training and manners.

The next day when were at the "waterfall pool" as they call it. We saw a waiter at the pool bar who serves the beverage to the guest/ customer followed by a profanity that you don't usually hear at a bar or even a mediocre hotel not a 5-star one. This waiter has used profanity especially with foreigners as of course they don't understand Arabic. So, we decided we can't be quiet about what we have seen and heard. I got out of the pool with my brother and his wife heading to the reception to ask about the front desk manager to convey our complaint. It seems the front desk manager was on break (or this is what the front desk claimed). Some other manager offered his help and that he would listen to our complaint. When we told him about this guy at the pool, he took the case so lightly and asked us to go to some other pool if we feel discomfort having this guy around!!!!!! My sister-in-law told him it's not us who have to change our place and that the guy should be punished. He responded in a an extremely aggressive way "what can I do?? I can't ask him to apologize to you as long as you're not the one who he has addressed his bad words or profanity to"!!!!! Then, we returned again to the same pool to follow what the management will do. A short while after we saw some of the management staff coming to this guy at the pool bar and they took him and left. Of course, we thought they kicked him out and that is the least they can do if they care about the hotel's/ chain reputation. But to our great surprise we found this guy serving the next day at the main restaurant. What a punishment!!!!!

Any many more incidents that I could not list down in this review.

We were so happy leaving the place when we checked out. We will never stay at this hotel again, it's a waste of money and a messy place to stay at. And I will report our horrible experience to everyone to stay away from this hotel.

I strongly urge everyone NOT to book a room at this hotel. The front desk and management are clearly confrontational and incompetent. The hotel staff are uncaring, unhelpful and extremely rude (with the exception of the waiters at the main restaurant). Be aware!!! DO NOT STAY AT "TIRANA GRAND AZURE HOTEL".

I really hope that this review saves even just one person from the horrible experience that we had.



Posted by:

Mariana Nabih

Cairo-Egypt

23-07-2014

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marmar n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Well what can I say about this hotel, yes it does look tired and in need of some TLC but the people who work here make it what it is.
We were here on our honeymoon for two weeks, we were upgraded like everyone else to the Aquarium Restaurant which was brilliant, the food never got boring, plenty of fresh fruit, veg and salads. The meat was brilliant as were the fresh soups and breads.
Our first week we were mainly on trips and not really mixing with Animation or the staff, but we got to know Ahmed in the Aquarium Restaurant and each time we went to eat he had reserved our table and our drinks were waiting for us, such a nice guy and we often tipped 20 EP three times a day and on his last day we gave him 100EP as he was going on holiday with his family to Cairo.
There are three main pools here, the top pool is best if you just want to chill out sunbathe and read a book, the middle pool is for fun and games with Animation and near the kids club and the last one we didn't really go in, it was quite shaded and away from everything.
During our second week we started interacting with Animation and you can't miss Aimee with her loud, warm Northern accent, it was nice to hear when you're away from home! The Animation team didn't push you to do things they let you know what was going on and if you wanted to join in then you did. The best activities were Water Gym, Water Volleyball and the Olympics!!
My husband of two weeks, lost his wedding band in the pool during water volleyball and everyone stopped the game and looked for his band for over 20minutes, luckily it was found by a very friendly Polish man.
The lady who did the Water Gym was brilliant, she didn't skip or get bored of doing the class it went on for nearly an hour and it was brilliant, a proper workout!
If this hotel wasn't closing we would definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is great! Once through the security gates there is a circular driveway around some camel statues (great for photos) and to the front entrance. Cases stayed with the bell boy while we checked in. Check in staff were friendly and professional. We were upgraded to a junior suite ( all english are) and our room was great. Huge bathroom with bath and shower and another walk in shower. Large sink area, toilet and bidet. Large wardrobes in the hallway. Bedroom area with 2 double beds and a dresser, and a living room area with sofa, 2 big armchairs, coffee table and tv unit with fridge. There is tea/coffee making facilities- we took our own teabags and borrowed a couple of mugs from the pool bar as the cups in the room were small. Patio doors out onto the balcony that has a table and chairs and a drying rack attached to the wall. The view was over the main pool and across the complex to the sea. Our room was cleaned daily with fresh bedding and towels and some lovely towel sculptures. Fresh water was also left if we left the previous empty bottle. (You can ask for bottled water at the bar any time). Our cases were brought to our room and collected at the end of our stay. As we had a night flight home we paid to keep the room til 6pm. This cost £40 but we felt it was well worth it to stay in the pool til 5pm! The hotel lobby has 2 accommodation wings attached to it- this is where the junior suites are. Then there are clusters of buildings further down the complex.

The hotel lobby is huge, circular with a domed roof and pictured walls. the Marrakesh restaurant is off the lobby and the A la Carte restaurants also. We ate in the Marrakesh most nights (this restaurant is for the Europeans and part of the free upgrade). In the Marrakesh there is a salad bar which we did use, a selection of hot dishes, a pasta station and a chef cooking meat or fish to order. We ate steak every time! We tried the Chinese restaurant one night too and it was lovely, table service for a change. Also in the lobby is the main bar which is open from 10am to 2am. The bar staff were great. There are other rooms off the lobby with big TV screens, which was great during the World Cup. There are a few small shops in the lobby too, souvenirs, jewellery, a minimarket and a beach shop. Near the beach shop is a money change machine which you just feed english notes into and get egyptian pounds out. It does take a small commision but this is a few pence. You will get 220 LE for £20. Guest services is also in the lobby if you need any help.

Just outside the lobby is a seating area where you can buy english newspapers and there is a singer on in the evening. The hotel animation team are around here in the evening, they are lovely and will come and chat. Big shout out to Aimee and her quiz at the pool bar every day at 4pm. You will hear Aimee before you see her and no she doesn't have a megaphone!

The main pool is huge with a bar in the middle that you can walk or swim to. The pool is walk in and slopes gradually. Families tended to go to the family pool so the main pool was quiet. We tipped the towel guy and he had towels on our favourite beds each day for us. the staff at the pool bar were fab, a good laugh and brought our drinks to us.Special thanks to Reda who helped me with my phone! There is a snack bar near the pool too that serves hot sandwiches and chips.

There is an entertainment arena that has a kids disco in the evening followed by a show or game show. The entertainment is a bit hit and miss but a good laugh. The children's club is here too with a gaming room and the family pools with slides. Also the main restaurant which we didn't use. Then the beach which is lovely with the 900metre jetty. There is a bar and snack bar here too. We were happy at the main pool so we didn't spend too much time at the beach.

At reception you can book the Soho Square bus for approx £7 return each. you're there about 2 hours and unless you plan to eat there its too long. There is a lot of shops that repeat themselves and some restaurants and bars. Also the Ice Bar but we didn't go there. The fountain is lovely. I don't need to go there again.

Outside the hotel- within 5-10 minutes stroll is McDonalds, KFC and Burger King, Hard Rock Cafe, TGI Fridays and lots of bars and shops including La Strada Mall. Right across the road from the hotel is The Three Crowns Pub. We spent a lot of time here, the English owners are great, the food is good, the drinks are great and Jack doing his Michael Buble act on the Friday night made our week.

Nabq Bay is only 10 minutes from the airport so you're checking into your hotel about 45 minutes after getting off the plane.

All of Sharm is quiet at the moment as travellers seem to thing its next door to Ciaro! The Egyptians will welcome you and thank you for having faith! I would recommend Nabq Bay and the Tropicana Grand Azure to anyone. Enjoy your holiday.

Please note- the hotel has recently been taken over and is now the Tirana Grand Azure. Hotel staff informed us it would close later this year for refurbishment. That means it will be even better when it reopens.

Room Tip: All english are upgraded to juniors suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank coolmintcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great from start to finish everyone so very helpful all the staff work very hard.rooms spotless everything you need well worthwhile to go see it was a great holiday next to shop's again all very good food great.could not have had any bad news for this hotel its a great place to go
Debbie

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Arrived home this morning from spending 2 weeks in paradise, my husband and I and 2 teenage boys both 16 have had the best time at this hotel, I was worried before we travelled after reading the reviews on here, The hotel is spotless every where and the bar staff the restaurant staff and the amazing animation team Aimee, Cristana, Joe, Jerome and the rest have made our holiday so special thanks guys, the food is lovely everyone can find something to eat, and plenty of places to choose from. and none of us had any upset tummys, the rooms are cleaned everyday. There are 4 pools to choose from and never once struggled to get a sunbed,
Really dont know what people want from a holiday when I read some of these reviews, but I got plenty for my money and more. I wouldnt hesitate in returning to this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ribena40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I went with the girlfriend to Tirana Grand Azure. We had never been abroad together and we were especially unsure on what to expect in Egypt. We arrived at the hotel and like all brits, we were upgraded to a junior suite close to the main lobby.

Room was very clean with two showers, bath, sofa, balcony and three beds. The room cleaner was outstanding and was always happy and asking if our stay was ok. He would clean our room when we were out and leave fantastic towel displays, very funny (best one was a hanging monkey from the ceiling with a toilet roll as a head).

We arrived on the 6th July and went home on the 17th. The hotel started off super quiet which seemed odd for the size of the resort, but it got gradually busier as the days went on.

The pools were lovely, there are many to choose from. Although the main, huge pool could do with re-painting to make it look less dirty. Lots of sunbeds to choose from. One con around the pools are the excursion guys CONSTANTLY walking around trying to make you go on trips and never get the hint to leave you alone. We ended up doing two trips. Boat trip to Tiran island to snorkel and the desert safari on quads, camels, stargaze and show. Both trips are a MUST DO.

Restaurants: We mainly ate in the aquarium restaurant, which is located in the main lobby. Staff were amazing and always went out of their way to top your drinks up and treat you like royalty. Food was great for the first few days but then became extremely repetitive. The Italian and the Arabian restaurant were merely average. Not much choice in food and portions not that great. Snack bars are POOR. The snack bar at the waterfall and the terrace bar was never open due to the resort being so quiet, so if we were hungry during snack times we had to leave our sunbeds and walk 10 minutes (YES 10 MINUTES) to the beach. Snacks available are burgers, chips, hotdogs etc. no crisps, chocolate or ice lollies which is a massive disappointment when you want something light to eat.

Beach is lovely. Private beach with security guards either side of the hotel to make sure only grand azure can get on it. The pier/jetty goes out FOREVER. Must be almost a mile long and you can walk in the sea (in the afternoon) all the way to the end of the jetty. Sea is deeper in the morning with less fish. Lots of fish at the end of the jetty to snorkel although it's often windy and the red flag is up. PS wear sea shoes when doing this, the coral is sharp!!!


SERVICE: The service at this resort is 100/100. Staff will do everything they can for you. They are always smiling, making sure you are ok and always topping up your drinks. A massive thank you to Muhamed, Ahmed and Abdullah by the main pool and slides. These guys made you feel at home and always got into some great conversations with and always had a laugh with you daily. The pool guys in the blue and white polo tshirts are the only staff at the resort which don't do it just for your tips whereas it feels like all the other staff do it just to get tips out of you (as great as they all are). The pool guys working in 45 degrees heat doing 12 hour shifts, 7 days a week (during Ramadan too) and always have a smile on their faces. We genuinely felt sorry for them as we felt they needed time off. The bar staff by the pools are ace too.

CON: The animation team. These lot are the most irritating people I have ever known. They are so cheesy, with repetitive and dreadful entertainment.. especially the English ones (not sure on names) and the Russian lady who speaks on the mic (AWFUL). They also pester you to join their 'events' every evening also.

Overall a great hotel which is designed to be a lot busier than it is now. Meant to be a refurb at the end of the year (so i've heard) so it should improve even further.

Thanks for a great holiday! I miss Egypt! :(

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeremy_ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.5 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#19 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Nubian Island Hotel
Nubian Island Hotel
#55 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Sea Holiday Village
Coral Sea Holiday Village
#25 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#2 of 33 in Nabq Bay
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
#33 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to lti Tropicana Grand Azure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Tropicana Grand Azure

Address: | Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 00000, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#30 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £133 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 808
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your lti Tropicana Grand Azure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Tropicana Grand Azure Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Tropicana Grand Azure Hotel
Grand Azur Sharm
Hotel Tropicana Grand Azure
Lti Sharm
Lti Grand Azure Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing