We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hope to come back one day”
Review of Mandarin Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mandarin Resort
Ranked #184 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The staff here are absolutely amazing !! Special mention to Tarek Mohmad who was our barman. He was our companion for 7 days, and really looked after us - we miss you !!
He made sure we had a great time, and that we made it through the holiday in one piece (from Richard & Soggy) - Habibi
Rooms - clean, large, we were on the bottom floor so could walk ten steps and be in the pool !
Drinks - There is beer, wine and local spirits - try them all, and you will find something you like.
Food - A short walk over the road. Many complaints while we were there about the Russians. But we would go about an hour after opening time and it would be ok. We were there for 7 days. You can always find something you like. There is always salad, and a huge array of sweet things. We tried everything and did not get sick. Try and get in Mohammed's area, which was front left when we were there. There were 3 of them in the section, all fantastic, and they share all their tip money. It might sound simple, but just be nice to the serving staff, it is not their fault if people take your plate or push in front of you. We found the staff very friendly, and always got more on our plates than the people in front of us.
Beach - A real highlight. We spent 2 days just chilling. You can buy snorkel gear from the shop by Mandarin Hotel. Small fish by the beach. More at the end of the wharf. You can also get pizza at the beach bar.
Mandarin - we are glad we stayed here, as it was quieter than the sister hotel, a great chance to relax, or sit around and chat with newly made friends. The Mandarin is where we meet many lovely english speaking people (also lovely non-english, conversation got easier with beer & charades & sharing snack foods we had all bought).
Money - everything at the hotel can be paid for using pounds. A lot of people tip with pound coins. If you take some extra £10s, the staff like to swap their coins for notes. If you swap at the beginning of your trip, then you will have plenty of coins for tipping the excellent service. The only time we needed egyptian money was at duty free at the airport, as they did not accept cards.
Touts - locals will approach you to buy trips, massage etc. We found them to be very friendly, even though we did not buy any trips. When we felt like having a chat it was very interesting to learn about their lives. When we wanted to be left alone, they would say hello and then leave us to our books.
If you have any problems with anything just see Ahmed Nassr at the main reception, and he will help you out.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor, as you get great access to the pool, and would quite often leave our slid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soggynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

the hotel is beautifull the views of the bay are lovely staff very friendly and rooms clean the animation team great especially oscar fabulous dancer his michael jackson routine amazing now for the bad news the food is awful for a 5star hotel, the food is rationed you can not help yourself, the reason may be because of the hordes of east europeans who pile their plates dont eat it all then there is little left for others. they get away with it because they dominate the staff , demand and get ,we brits are too polite the management give them what they want because they fill all the hotels, thank goodness for eric,s chips and chicken ,next to the mandarin ,lovely guy cant do enough i would not go back unless they sorted the food issue,s

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My fiance and I went To the Mandarin Resort on the 1st October 2012 and would return when ever we could. We loved it there. The staff are so welcoming, friendly and helpful. We were there for 3 weeks and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is in an excellent part of Sharm. When we arrived we were greeted by george such a lovely friendly man. The entertainment team were so friendly and they were lovely people, Miza, Toosha, shaimaya and many more. It was the best holiday I have had in years. The waiters George and Mo were brilliant and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was kept clean all the time and it was lovely staying over at the Mandarin because it was quite and we didn't find it a problem going over to the Hauza for meal. We used to take everything we needed for the day and just spend the day over there and go back to get ready for the evening.
All together a wonderful Holiday and we will be returning as soon as possible.
Thanks you so much Hauza/Mandarin

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Our holiday started and finished really nicely and in chilled atmosphere :)
Me, my partner and my 11 years old boy just came back from lovely Sharm El Sheikh and stayed in Mandarin Resort for 7 nights all inclusive, across the road from sister Hotel, Hauza Beach Resort.

Important thing, in Hauza is English-Egyptian speaking rep (he is rep of the Hotel, not trips or agency's). We found him really helpful -if you see him say hello from Renata and Liam ;)

Rooms where very spacious and modern, 2 double beds-really comfy, cleaned every day and housekeeper surprised us on daily basis with new decorations in the room.. I've put some pic ;P

Bathroom - big, clean and modern too. And hair dryer included! What was bonus for me ;). Also Towels was change every day.

Food - we went to eat to sister hotel restaurant in Hauza Beach Resort. Across the road. Choice of chicken, fish, beef, every day different kind of cuisine - Italian, grilled food, variety of side orders and many delicious cakes to choose from. Even my fussy boy had something to choose from, and on days when he just wanted chips -they just made it for him ;D Very nice service and lovely people working there - thank you.

Beach - On our first day we went strait away snorkelling and have seen beautiful fish. Water was clear, beach was divide to two parts the ' quite' part (the sign made us smile) and the the busy one, with lost of music and daily entertainment.

Pool - lovely view from our room to pool and just 2 metres away from our balcony,the water was cold but it did not bothered us - we still swim in it ;D
On our pool area was really quiet and you could easy chill all day in the sun of 27-32C. The Hauza Beach Resort had few more swimming pools and slides, for our use also :)

Entertainment - we didn't participate, can't say ;P

Local shops and owners was really friendly and helpful... yes they try to sell you stuff every day but they not that bad. And when my lad was ill, they made him some herbal tea with oil -and it really helped :) -thank you. And they didn't took a penny for it!

In addition we book lovely and relaxing massage in Hauza (I recommend Magda) we also went to Cairo for a day trip. But we pre book that over in UK, the Egyptian meet us in our hotel and explain all, and we have payed day before our journey.
About Cairo u have to remember 'nothing is for free' - even picture taken by ur own camera by someone else!

We went also on boat trip, recommended by few people in the resort. We book that with people on our beach.. Remember haggle !!! Haggle.. -don't accept first price lol ;D
The boat trip was an highlight of the holiday for us, we scuba dive and snorkel on that day. The boat had three stops near island, what is national park near wreck of the 30 years old ship -parentally went down cos of drunk captan ;P

It was great holiday!!! ;D

And girls don't be put off but Egyptian wanting to buy you! They are nice people :). My partner on the end of holiday been bit fed up with the offers but we took all with pinch of salt and good laugh!

Is worth to book this hotel ;)

Ps. The Russians wasn't that bad on our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nateczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Me and my partner visited this hotel last January for 1 week. we couldn't fault the hotel and the staff were very friendly. The food was nice, just very samey and boring after 3 nights of rice and chips. I found it extremely hard to relax around this hotel, especially on the beach, as i was constantly pestered by sales reps trying to sell day trips. There are only so many times you can tell someone that you do not want a £50 massage before you become irritated. One man even started to give us both a head massage, despite us saying no thank you about 20 times prior. On about the 3rd day we decided to ignore all sales reps, but they pestered us by saying 'excuse me' countless times until we answered. This resulted in us completely abandoning the beach for the rest of the holiday and sitting around the pool in the sister hotel over the road instead
However, one of the bar men over in the sister hotel (mandarin) was amazing, he was so friendly and always went out of his way to fill our drinks up (when they were only half empty so we never went without.) he even saved us clean towels for the pool everyday.

this hotel is lovely, just not the place to go if you want a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: tip the room service people with £1 coins and you will have very clean rooms with towel sulptures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Me and my boyfriend just came back from lovely place Sharm El Sheikh and stayed in Mandarin Resort for 7 nights
.
This was to best holiday I ever have had.

Rooms - spacious,2 double beds, cleaned every day and houskeeper surprised us every day with new decoration on the bed....for Valentine's day it was amazing..

Surprise cake on my Birthday from Hotel management without telling anyone and also I received very nice necklace from them...

Food - we went to eat to sister hotel restaurant Hauza Beach Resort to Nubian restaurant,choice of chicken, fish, beef,every day different kind of cuisine - Italian, grilled food, variety of side orders and many cakes to choose from

Beach is absolutely amazing,we did snorkeling and have seen beautiful fishes,water was clear and is pleasure to do snorkeling. It is the most clearest see I ever saw.

Pool - lovely view from our room to pool and just 2 metres away from our balcony,the water was ice cold but it did not bothered us because we spent most of the time on the beach,where we can swimming :).
Entertainment - working hard every day and we have a big choice of activity to choose from.

Staff - Bar,reception,housekeeping,waiters - friendly nice people, hospitable and polite with sense of humour.

We want definitely come back to Sharm El Sheikh again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuzanita13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

for what you pay this hotel is very good, don't forget you are not paying 5 star prices. But most things are five star staff beach pools area. Entertainment every day and night, and a very good show in Mandarin on valentines day, well done to all the staff.

Room Tip: we had room over pool, very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patricia oliver o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
350.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,695 reviews
350 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,430 reviews
350.1 mi away
Parrotel Beach Resort
Parrotel Beach Resort
#6 of 33 in Nabq Bay
3,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
351.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,732 reviews
348.3 mi away
Steigenberger Alcazar
Steigenberger Alcazar
#2 of 33 in Nabq Bay
257 reviews
351.6 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#7 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Resort

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the location in Nabq Bay overlooking Tiran Island makes this hotel the perfect option for seeing the very best of Sharm El Sheikh. With a room selection of Mountain View and Pool View rooms, Enjoy a relaxing stay at the Hauza Mandarin Resort, Large swimming pool and children’s paddling pool▪ Pool bar terrace▪ Sun beds and sunshades▪ Pool barWe would love to see you at Hauza Mandarin Resort and look forward to making you feel at home. Be sure to check out our excellent All-Inclusive plus concept! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing