We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star hotel with 2 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Royal Holiday Resort
Ranked #32 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“4 star hotel with 2 star service”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Why this is advertised as ALL INCLUSIVE 5 STAR ile never no.....3 restaurants and 3 bars you have to pay to use, why advertise as all inclusive.....the service was shocking to my wife, her food given to men waiting in the que, waiters ignoring her unless i was with her, also witnessed this behaviour towards others. Dirty glasses, waiters having crafty fags then straight back to work without washing their hands, chefs handling food with no gloves, wiping sweat from their foreheads with their hands and still handling food with unwashed bare hands, disgraceful. In the room taps where hanging off the wall, wires sticking out of the wall, unswept floors throughout our stay...dont forget this is meant to be a 5 star hotel!!! We are a family of 4 and during our 2 week stay we only had 3 days where no one was ill, upset stomachs all round which ended up with a visit from the doctor and loads of medicines for us, we def wouldnt use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayman S, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Paul,

You paint a picture of a hotel that is far removed from Le Royal Holiday Resort. We don’t have any record of complaints such as yours emanating from one room so we can only assume that you did not report any of these issues at the time. If you had done so, they could have been resolved very quickly and efficiently.

Stories of waiters serving men before women are unlikely as all our staff are trained to do almost exactly the opposite and to behave with the utmost respect towards women. How would you know that waiters were ”having crafty fags”? Where did you see this? I would very much like you to email us to provide more information so that we can identify all these people who are breaking hygiene rules right, left and centre.

However, even though this hotel follows all the internationally recognized rules and regulations relating to hygiene and hospitality, I have already passed your comments on to the various department heads for their attention so that they can remind all the staff of their responsibilities.

I am sure we won’t be seeing you again but I thank you for the review.

Best regards,

Ayman Saad
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,278
    372
    157
    57
    29
See reviews for
961
437
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Addlestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous 7 nights at The Royal Holiday Resort. The Hotel was beautiful and exactly what you see in the brochure pictures. The swimming pools and Aqua park were second to none and very very clean. The food at this hotel was very good with plenty of choice and of high quality and we were very well looked after by our waiters, particularly Khaled Mohamed and Mohamed Said. The staff in general were all excellent, friendly, helpful and prepared to go the extra mile. I can not fault this holiday which was made so easy and enjoyable with the help of our Thomas Cook reps Walid and Sambuk. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayman S, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Jo,

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful holiday and will definitely return. You clearly enjoyed the facilities and activities along with the service and the food and we will pass your kind words on to the staff you mentioned who will get a big boost from knowing that you remembered their names and recognized their hard work.

Many thanks for the lovely review and we look forward to the next time.

Best regards,

Ayman Saad
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I really wanted to love this place and parts of the resort were magnificent. There were so many things that let the hotel down. There were 10 of us in our party (7 adults and 3 children -4 yrs, 2yrs and 1yr) and we all hoped that this would live up to our expectations.

The positives: The accommodation, grounds and pools were amazing. The beds were comfortable, the pools were great fun and clean and the view from our balcony was lovely -we were in 2302, a great location! Our cleaner was fantastic. The air con is great, but a little noisy. The family rooms are great.
My mum and I had a wonderful spa treatment (massage and scrub). Well worth it, but negotiate the price.
The variety of food on offer was great. There were often too many things to choose from.
The transfer from the airport was very quick and the view of the mountains was lovely.

And now for the negatives:
We all ended up with tummy trouble - yes, all 10 of us. The ice was apparently safe, as were the salads. We only drank bottled water (more about this later) and used anti-bacterial wipes and gel every day. It was blamed on the heat, but I'm not so sure. We had ice in our drinks and ate the salads. Perhaps this was our mistake. It really took the shine off our holiday and left us unable to eat or leave our rooms at certain points.

Bearing in mind it was 46°c on one of the days, trying to get a bottle of water was like asking for the moon on a stick. We spent most of our time at the pool by the Cincin pool bar, where the staff were few and the water was scarce. One of the bar staff was sacked midway through the week for being inadequate and the others were still unable to cope when it got busy. I would heartily recommended buying an extra 500 glasses for the bar. This would solve the issue of the glasses constantly running out. I saw one barman put a tray of glasses in the dishwasher and then interrupt the program to take it out 3 minutes later (due to a glass shortage) and then serve more drinks in them. Not hygienic at all. Nor is rinsing the ice-scoop under the tap and the putting ice in the glasses with it. No wonder people were getting ill.

The toilets of the main lobby were often filthy and clearly showed that others were suffering from tummy trouble.

My boyfriend and I celebrated our anniversary at the hotel by going up to the Sky Bar for cocktails. We couldn't order 3 of the cocktails we wanted because they had no cranberry juice, or the correct spirits. 6 drinks cost us over £40, which seemed excessive, but we were celebrating our anniversary, so just let it go.

I knew it wouldn't be 5 star, but it has put us off ever returning to Egypt.

Needless to say, we won't be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Block 23 has a great view and a central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miss_Major35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayman S, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Miss Major,

It is clear that we fell short of meeting your expectations in several areas and we apologise for this. We did go through a period of staff shortages which had a detrimental effect on services in certain parts of the hotel. We have since employed a new F&B manager as well as an assistant for him along with a number of experienced staff to bolster the existing numbers.

Water should not have been a problem as we offer it in various places and if one outlet should happen to run out there is always another not very far away. It is peculiar indeed that all 10 of you had upset tummies. However, we should point out that there is a huge difference between an upset tummy which just means that you need to stay near the bathroom and food poisoning that is crippling and painful in the extreme. An upset tummy can be simply the result of changing one’s diet or drinking ice-cold drinks after being in the sun all day and it does appear that you and your group are the only ones to go down with it. Perhaps you went out for an evening…

We have passed you various comments on to the departments concerned for their attention and I am sure they will put measures in place where appropriate.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope you enjoy your future holidays wherever they may be.

Kind regards,

Ayman Saad
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

as with so many other bad reveiws ours was deleted why , this hotel and its package is not 5star along way from it,i get no pleasure in saying this because, we so needed this holiday and had picked it because off what it was offering, the whole package is based on untruths and as a result we are now taking our complaint up with thomas cook , in my eyes they are the ones to blame ,we are well traveled and always op for 5star plus , i will confirm that the pools, slides and grounds are amazing but thats where it ends, i would not go back if they give it me free

Room Tip: do not pick garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jimmyjames1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayman S, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Jimmy,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday with us but I am a little concerned about some of your comments.

I doubt very much that your room was exactly as you describe it. Even allowing for a certain amount of poetic licence, a room as you describe it would not pass inspection and would be closed until the necessary repairs had been done and they had been checked.

Our staff are very often praised for the quality of their service so the picture you paint of a member of staff standing in front of you with “a sharp thrust out of the hand with a frown” is, frankly, alien to this hotel. He would be sacked and they all know this.

Similarly, your description of the outside bar area is humorous but, alas, inaccurate and exaggerated. And there is certainly no reason to avoid the ice as it is made with filtered water so you could have enjoyed all those drinks perfectly chilled throughout your holiday instead of warm. I’m sure this would have improved your experience no end had you enquired.

The image of the chef sweating into the frying pan? Not even funny and really throws an element of doubt on your entire testament.

We are fully aware that we did not meet your expectations but your comments are not helpful, either to the hotel or to potential guests. As a work of fiction this review could be amusing if it wasn’t so damaging to the staff who bear the brunt of your wit.

Thank you for having chosen Le Royal Holiday Resort.

Best regards,

Ayman Saad
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel from the second we arrived and also had a free upgrade, the hotel is stunning & the grounds & slides amazing. The staff especially mamhoud in the main restaurant are so friendly and will do anything for you, the food is lovely and plenty of choice never went hungry! The manager is so nice and any issues he sorts them out immediately, the rooms are large & spotless and our cleaner was very good he had towel art waiting for us everyday & replenished anything needed, this hotel i would highly recommend and will definitely be returning , well done le royal and thankyou to all of your staff too for making our holiday special, first time in egypt & certainly wont be the last

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jillymac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayman S, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Jilly,

I am so pleased that your first time in Egypt was such a success as that means that there will be a second time and we hope it will be at Le Royal Holiday Resort again.

The staff here are trained to serve you well and I’m glad that you felt that was the case throughout your stay with us.

Your review is very welcome and will serve to encourage to all the managers and staff so we all thank you and look forward to welcoming you back for another “fantastic holiday”.

Best regards,

Ayman Saad
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We've just returned from our second holiday in this fantastic holtel. We were there last year in June for a week and just had to return this year for 2 weeks. From the minute we arrived we were not disappointed. All the staff were so friendly and ensured we had a great time. Lots of choice in the restaurant - a big thank you to Hesham, Assistant Manager Food & Beverage and his team who have recently joined the staff - so friendly and efficient, plenty of choice of food & drinks available. So welcoming when you enter the restaurant/food court. Thanks also to the fantastic pool bar staff providing all the drinks and offering chilled chopped fruit around the pool. Very welcome. A big thank you to all the lovely guys who provide the pool towels with a smile, especially Rami with his RFC shorts who teased me with my Scottish accent! The reception staff and security staff all very friendly. Entertainment team at the amphitheatre doing a fantastic job - Mr Royal night so funny!! We will return. Thank you all. X

Room Tip: We like the rooms near to the main reception but families may prefer nearer the Aqua Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayman S, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Diane,

Second time around and “another great holiday”. Of course we were all delighted to welcome you back again and it’s nice that you noticed we have a lot of new staff to complement our existing group of professionals and they are all from excellent backgrounds. We will pass your thanks on to those you mentioned and they too will be very happy to see their names in print.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we can’t wait to see you back here for the third time.

Best regards,

Ayman Saad
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I wouldn't be writing this if if weren't for the fact that my first review has been deleted!!! Be warned Royal, you are doing yourself no favours by having reviews deleted!!!!

Our room wasn't cleaned for 2 days. Not a major issue, however, on calling on the third morning and then again at 10pm the same night, I was given 2 towels and 2 bottles of water for four of us.

It wasn't so much the food that was unacceptable but the service that let us down. We sat for three nights in the restaurant without a cleaned table or a drink for 20-30 mins. From then on we ate out in Nama bay or soho square.

Our children, who are twins aged 14, we're not served at any bar. I actually watched one son being ignored whilst adults behind him were being served!

We wouldn't recommend this hotel and will never return. There are far better resorts in Sharm.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayman S, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Jo,

Tripadvisor lay down guidelines for reviewers and the responses from the hotels to which we must all adhere. Any violations of these guidelines will result in having our comments deleted. These guidelines are available for all to see on the Tripadvisor website.

During the period to which you refer we had experienced a sudden depletion of staff and this resulted in some guests being disappointed with the service and we have apologised for this on this forum and we apologise again to you.

Happily, we are now much better staffed and we are providing an excellent service across the board. The fact that your twins were unable to get a drink at the bar was unfortunate and I will set the wheels in motion in the F&B department to ensure that equal importance is attached to youngsters waiting to be served. Please apologise to them on our behalf as that would have caused them some inconvenience as well as frustration.

There are many hotels in Sharm for you to choose from and I hope you do return to Sharm for your next holiday. If that should be the case, I would be very happy to personally show you around the improvements we have already made if you cared to drop in one day.

Thank you for the review.

Best regards,

Ayman Saad
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Son...
#87 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
601 reviews
1.8 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#22 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,254 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jaz Sharks Bay
Jaz Sharks Bay
#31 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lido Sharm Hotel
Lido Sharm Hotel
#16 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#24 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,748 reviews
9.9 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Holiday Resort

Property: Le Royal Holiday Resort
Address: El Salam Road | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Royal Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royal Holiday Resort Sharm El Sheikh is the latest addition of Le Royal Hotels & Resorts, a brand celebrated for premium standards and a hallmark made of excellence and comfort.426 luxury accommodations, 12 exclusive Food & Beverage outlets, state-of-the art Wellness Center, extensive Aqua Park are just a few of the top facilities featured . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Royal Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing