We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #24 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Spent a week in the Savoy Sharm in January. Weather was lovely. We reckon about 23 - 25 degrees with clear sun apart from one day.
First the hotel. Mostly very good. Staff were excellent, very courteous and helpful for the most part. Hotel room was top class, facilities on site excellent. Great swimming pool, lovely private beach. Everything was spotlessly clean. Dive centre on site excellent. good equipment, excellent safety and organisation and very reasonable rates. (First rate dive leader in Bebo!) Restaurants were reasonable but I wouldn't feel that the food was top notch - mixed bag really. We were on a B & B basis and I would recommend that this is the best way to go. While the breakfasts were very good, in January a lot of the house restaurants were closed so the variety was not great. We had discounts of 25% in all of the restaurants in Soho Sq. This is an area directly outside the hotel which has quite a few bars and restaurants. Not really to our taste - found it a bit too bright and 'manufactured'. It is also 25 mins from Nama Bay, which seems to me to offer significantly more variety and interest. While the hotel had a shuttle bus to Nama Bay it only ran twice a day, with the last bus back to the hotel at 5pm. They really need to improve this service. So overall the hotel is very good but sharks Bay is limited in varirty and is outside the main Sharm area.. The only complaint was that the internet link was down for 2 days and we were told by the Business Centre that the main cable was cut and there was nothing they could do. We subsequently found that the dive centre on the grounds of the hotel had access via USB. When I inquired at the Business Centre they suddenly discovered that they could do that also! When they suggested that I pay for the service (I had already paid for an internet card at the business which I couldn't use), I was less than happy. However, they did sort the issue and dropped any payment from the bill. Not 5* service.
If you are into diving then the Red Sea is the place to go. The arrangements for all day boat dives from the hotel are very good. Note that if you want to dive the Thistlegorm they only go on Thursdays so watch which flights you use.
If I were to go to Sharm again I would go to Nama Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaretJug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,010 - 3,016 of 4,782 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

We had a lovely stay at the hotel. The rooms were luxurious, quiet and spotless. The service was really great with staff going overboard to help you out, Check-in and check-out was a little slow. The hotel has the Savoy plaza just outside with some really good restaurants, open air bars, an artificial ice-skating rink and a shopping complex. The hotel was elegantly decked up for Christmas and the New Year.

Overall, a really nice stay. Look forward to being back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank guamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel in Jan 2012 food was very good staff the same Soho square is a must
You should try the yellow submarine I hope that Egypt’s new government will keep politics out of tourism

Room Tip: pick row a we stayed in room1123 this room overlooks the sea as do all rooms starting 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redeyeStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

had a great time would return again, would like to see exchange rate on a board daily otherwise no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Fantastic - spent a week there just after new year, the staff are so friendly especially Mr Sami at the Rocky Pool Bar. The Savoy was extremely clean, and was everything we wanted in a holiday - The only thing i would suggest is that the rooms could do with a refurb, a bit old and dated. We went B&B and found it ideal - 2 adults and 3 children. Soho square is just outside the Savoy with a wide range of restaurants where you get 25% off if you are a guest at the Savoy. Also well worth the money a quad bike trip to the desert - see Ramy - he was fab. All in all a fantastic holiday and would deffinately go agai.n

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

To give you an idea we are a couple aged in the 30-45 year bracket with a 9 year old daughter. We have been lucky enough to stop in some truely 5-6* hotels around the world so base our opinion on what where have been and experienced. For example we have stayed at One and Only Kanahura in the Maldives, One and Only Le Touessrok in Mauritius, THe Four Seasons on Koh Samui in Thailand, The Four Seasons Las Vegas and The Four Seasons Scottsdale Arizona so we have experienced luxury hotels at their best and there fore have an educated opinion on quality.

We have been to Egypt 6 or 7 times and stayed at several different resorts and hotels. Some were good some were ok some weren't so good but we have found somewhere we will continue to return to time after time. A big pull for us is the year long sunshine.

The first time we went to Sharm we stayed at the Savoys sister hotel The Sierra and had to walk through the Savoy to get to the beach. We were impressed with the grand appearance and said it would be nice to stay there but at the time they didn't do all inclusive.

We have been to Sharm a few times and also been to Taba and Marsa Alam at very good quality hotels and then decided to return to Sharm . At this time The Savoy had just started doing S Class which was their version of All Inclusive. We were so impressed with what was included within the package and almost didn't believe what was included and were slightly worried at check out we would be handed a large bill but instead we received a smile and a request for us to visit again soon.

Check in couldn't be easier and there was a gift for our daughter. You receive your pool towel cards which you need to keep safe and also your S class voucher book. This entitles you to lots of different thing eg one bowling or ice skating per person per stay, a half an hour massage in the spa, a water sport and lots more.

The bell boy was very good and showed us to our room and explained where everything was. There was a fresh fruit basket and a bottle of wine in the room and the mini bar was full but that is only done once during the stay unless you request it although there may be a charge. Rooms are comfortable. They were in the process of renovating some rooms which I would say the hotel is in desperate need of.


For us quality of food and drink is very important especially in Egypt when you hear of so many horror stories about people being poorly. We have been ill in Egypt before but never at the Savoy. The variety and quality of restaurants is impressive in comparrison to other Sharm hotels and is like going out for to fine dine every evening. Whilst looking at other reviews you have to understand how different peoples tastes are different and what they would say is good we may think is rubbish and vice versa. There is a choice of around 8 A-la-Carte restaurants and there is no limit to how many times you can eat there. From Steakhouse, Fish, Italiain, Chinese or Indian there is something for everyone.

Breakfast is buffet style with the usual things on offer. People forget that it is a muslim country so the bacon and sausage isn't the same as they substitute that with veal and chicken sausages and a sort of turkey bacon rasher. There are fresh waffles made in front of you and also an egg station where you can have a choice of eggs cooked different ways. There are lovely fresh juices and yoghurts, breads and pastries on offer and also fresh salad, fruit, meats and cheeses.

The Pool bar opens at 10am and there is waitor service as well as a swim up bar and nice relaxing bar area with water mist fans to keep you cool. Snacks such as icecreams and crisps and nuts are available from the bar. The bar staff are very friendly and the waitor service is excellent and always helped along with a few tips. We have learnt that a decent tip at the start of your holiday gets you fantastic service throughout your stay to the point you don't need to ask for drinks they appear just at the right time. Bottled water is a must because of the heat from try not to drink it ice cold as this is what causes people to get upset tummys not just the food. The international branded drinks makes a massive difference to our stay, There is the usual choices of Egyptian beers, wines and spirits but international brands are available to S Class at no extra charge. The beer is Hieniken and the wine is called Cape Bay which is a south african variety. There is a vaiety of cocktails and sofft drinks too.

At lunch time there is a choice of different places to eat. There is the Poolside Snack bar where there is a variety of burgers, salads and sandwiches on offer. There is also a buffet restaurant where there is always fresh salad, soup and hot meals on offer as well as a pasta station where the chef will cook what you want fresh in front of you. There is also a selection on Fruit and deserts. The Fish restaurant at the top of the beach offers fish dishes and pizzas and a lovely view of he sea. It does get very hot at lunchtime.

Snacks are available such as fresh fruit trays just in front of the Italian restaurant which are included in the S Class all inclusive.

There is a choice of different pools all with comfortable sun beds and umbrellas.

There is a kids club that runs at different times and they do things like bowling. It is a good way for the kids to make friends.

We generally start our evenings with a few drinks in the Safari bar in the hotel lobby which is a lovely relaxing place. There is a round bar with seating and also lovely lounge area with sofas and chairs. There is an extensive drinks menu and i am partial to a fresh Mojito made whilst you watch.

Out on Soho square there is a variety of bars and restaurants which are all included within your S Class although some are time restricted. You can drink in the English Pub upto 8pm and can enjoy the same varietys of beers and wine within the hotel and also Corona beer. They do bar snacks here but there is a supplement for these.

Evening dining is superb. After a few visits we have decided which are our favourites. You do have to book in advance but as S Class they will always try and accomodate you. Dining takes place within the hotel (Italian, Fish and Hot Rocks) and outside in Soho Square.

The Steakhouse offers a vaiety of delicious steaks and other meals cooked to your liking. The Steaks are from all over the world and for a small supplement you can even choose Japenese Wgyu Beef. We always visit at least twice during our stay.

At the back of the steakhouse there is a Sushi bar and Tapenyaki Barr which is a fabulous experience where you sit around the cooking station which the chef makes your choice of dinner.

The Italian back at the hotel is also nice and the setting is lovely under the stars with nice lighting and sometimes live entertainment.

Hot Rocks is a brilliant experience where you can choose to cook your own choice of meat or fish on a red hot volcanic rock. The theatre of the venu alone is brilliant as it is decorated almost like an old romas collaseum with nightly entertainment which can range from dancers to a saxaphone player. On our last stay we ate here twice cause we love the ambience and the staff remembered us from our previous visit to the Savoy which was a lovely touch.

There are plenty more restaurants to choose from and everyone will make their own opinion.

Soho square is a bustling place with shops and different entertaiment. It is nice strolling round as you don't get hassled from shop keepers trying to drag you in. It is clean and well kept. There is an ice skating rink, a movie theatre, a bowling alley and lots more. There is an HSBC bank which was a new addition last year.

In summary we love the Savoy. It is slightly more expensive than other 5 star hotels in Sharm but is well worth the extra and is actually the only true 5 star all inclusive. The other true 5 star hotel such as the Four Seasons don't do all inclusive. The bedrooms are in need of renovating but the other facilities and quality of food makes the difference. We stopped at the Tropicana Grand Azure and upgraded to the premium all inclusive and it still wasn't a patch on the Savoy for quality of food and drink, Al A Carte and overall experience. Everyone likes different things and has different tastes but we will continue to return as long as the standards stay the same.

Hope this review is helpful

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sassystoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We spent a wonderful week at this hotel. Best holiday we have ever had. Beautiful rooms, extremely clean and the staff were exceptionally courteous. We will definately go back and would strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: We found pool view perfect but I think all the rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Izzie1024017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
5.6 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#37 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,726 reviews
4.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#10 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
#20 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#3 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Address: SOHO Square | PO Box 169, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#18 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#18 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £49 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh is located near Ras Mohammed National Park inside SOHO SQUARE, the 5-star hotel offers 136 sea view rooms, 55 pool view rooms, 161 garden view rooms, 46 triple rooms, 2 special care rooms, 13 diplomatic suites, and 1 presidential suite. The hotel also features a private beach, 5 swimming pools 3 adult pools (2 heated in winter time) and 2 children's pools (1 heated in winter time) , 5 Bars (1 pool Bar) , and 6 restaurants Savoy hotel offers different types of meal plans that ensures you trying everything starting from the hotel’s main restaurant to Soho Square different restaurants and cuisines; standard Bed and breakfast, half board, full board, S-Class (ultra all-inclusive concept) , and half and full board dine around option (which SOHO Square restaurants as well) Diving or at least snorkeling with a PADI approved dive school on the beach. In the hotel we can find tennis, squash and beach volleyball courts as well as a modern gym facility . Sauna and Jacuzzis, as well as a range of beauty and spa treatments. Each room features adjustable air conditioning, WiFi access, mini-bar, en suite bathroom and hairdryer, and a private terrace overlooking our gardens , pools, or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing