We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Nearby Hotels
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$515
US$447
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
US$87
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tropitel Naama Bay(Sharm El Sheikh)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$76
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberotel Palace(Sharm El Sheikh)
US$131
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,915)
Filter reviews
4,915 results
Traveller rating
3,549
884
290
116
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,549
884
290
116
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewss classsoho squarehot rockrocky pool bartirana restaurantseafood islandseafood restaurantice skatinga garden view roomhalf boardrestaurants and barsall inclusive packagefishspecial thankskids clubprivate beachfour seasons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,033 - 2,038 of 4,915 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Visited in July for a week. Went S class which was definately worth it the food and choice of restaurants was very good. Breakfast was quite a disappointment, thought they were trying to cater to too many different tastes. Definitely recommend Hot Rocks, was great!! Thought our room was quite dated and wouldnt call them luxurious but was comfortable. We should have also have had a garden view room but instead we had a view of a roof, which wasnt great! Especially when kids from other rooms were out on it and peering into our room!! Thought the service at the pool bar for lunch was inconsistant but Atef around the pool was very good. Lunch at the Seafood restaurant was great and service amazing. The location of the hotel is great, with the airport only being 10 mins away and being in Soho Square. The pool was really lovely and really enjoyed our days spent sitting and relaxing by the pool. Overall had a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Ensure you dont get a roof view!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVOYHotelmanagement, General Manager at Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to the SAVOY Hotel and we thank you for the encouraging comments about our services.

We are also very pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience of our S-Class Concept, which is a unique concept in the destination, and very proud that the SAVOY team managed to send you home with great memories of your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again as one of our repeat guests and for any special requirements, please do not hesitate to contact our Guest Services Team.

Kind regards,

Jacques PETER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

we went S class for 10 nights and we were not disappointed. The staff are fantastic. The rooms are a little dated but still very comfortable. The food and restaurants were excellent too. It was great to be able to use the bars and restaurants at Soho square and not be confined to the hotel.
The sauna and gym were also very good and inclusive too. Backley and the lads around the pool were exceptional. The safari bar staff were briliant and the cocktails were fantastic. The only small thing was that the bar was quite dark.
Lunch times, you must go to the fish restaurent. It was the highlight of our day.
We never normally go back to the same hotel twice, but we will defintely return to the Savoy.
Fantastic holiday

Room Tip: A high room are good away from the pool
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Coventry12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVOYHotelmanagement, General Manager at Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting the Savoy Hotel Sharm El Sheikh on your recent vacation and for having taken the time to share your experience on this forum.

We do appreciate your positive review of the hotel and its facilities. The Savoy and Soho Square offer guests a unique experience. The luxury of a hotel and resort with its own private beach fronting the Red Sea and the buzz of a square mile of restaurants, bars, discos and shopping. By day, enjoy sunbathing, swimming or the best scuba diving in the world. In the evening, be part of the excitement in Soho Square, the centre of the town's nightlife.

Our colleagues will be very proud of themselves on hearing your kind comments about them. They do hear it a lot but they never get bored of hearing it again. They are well-trained and well-treated and they love to make our guests happy.

Once again, we would like to thank you for recommending our resort and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to sunny Sharm El Sheikh for another Fantastic stay.

Kind regards,

Jacques PETER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Spent 10 nights as S class guests at the Savoy in mid July. Never visited Sharm before but could not have chosen a more suitable hotel located in the heart of modern Soho Square. Located a 10 minute drive from the airport, we were given a professional and warm reception on arrival. This was to prove typical amongst all staff, be it poolside, beach, restaurants, spa, housekeeping, bar, front of house and maintenance men. Every member of staff made a real difference. Facilities throughout the hotel were excellent. Three pools, a beach and plenty of loungers & umbrellas provided the perfect opportunity to relax, meet other guests and enjoy the sun and poolside refreshment. Restaurants served appetising and well presented meals, whilst the opportunity to eat in one of Soho Square's many restaurants was too good to miss. Our garden view double room was perfectly adequate and superbly maintained by Romany. We would have preferred a walk in shower, but bathroom facilities were very good nevertheless. My only other niggles were smoking allowed in public areas like poolside and bars, and the unavailability of free wifi throughout the hotel. Having said that, the Savoy provided us with a truly relaxing and pleasurable experience - one that we very much hope to follow up in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GJW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVOYHotelmanagement, General Manager at Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your fantastic feedback and taking the time to place a nice review. The Savoy Team is very proud to deliver you an excellent hospitality in our Resort.

SAVOY Group complex is unique in the destination; in terms of hotels, resorts with its facilities and SOHO Square where our guests and visitors from all the hotels around in Sharm El Sheikh enjoy a high standard of recreational facilities. They include bowling, Ice Skating, Culturama, Tennis, and Squash and the special kids’ entertainment area, as well as daily live international entertainment on the SOHO stage.

A free access in the evening, in Soho Square “be part of the excitement the centre of the town's nightlife and the first musical fountain show & daily life international entertainment.

We appreciate so much your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Savoy Sharm el Sheikh

Kind regards,

Jacques PETER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from what can only be described as a perfect 11 night break in the Savoy Hotel. From the moment we arrived to the time we left there was nothing too much trouble for the staff who were always friendly, obliging and helpful to a fault. We arrived late on our first day and missed out on an evening meal at the hotel, not that it was a problem as with the S Class package many restaurants were available locally that fell within the truly extensive all inclusive package. The fact that we had arrived late was not lost on the reception and management of the hotel as without any problem they extended our all inclusive to include up to 3pm on our day of departure and for a small charge we could keep our room until 6pm that proved perfect for our pick up time of 6.30pm. The staff at the hotel were truly excellent from our poolside waiter Atef who was always ready with an ice bucket filled with ice cold drinks and a smile, Osama our smiling pool bar barman with a real skill with a cocktail shaker and Mohamed the Lifeguard who always ensured our every comfort was seen to starting with placing towels on our poolside loungers and bringing us ice cold towels to refresh us during the hottest part of the day. He ensured that we made the best of the snorkelling, with his extensive knowledge of the house reef he really made our holiday experience very special indeed, make sure you look him up when you go. We will certainly be returning to the Savoy next year and look forward to repeating the wonderful experience and meeting again the truly professional staff who we have come to know as friends.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the sea and pools and was quiet which made for a good nights sleep.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank andrew kenneth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVOYHotelmanagement, General Manager at Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I would like to cordially thank you for your very positive summary referring to your recent stay in our Resort. It’s nice to read that our S-Class concept was a perfect choice for you and you enjoyed the package concept. Everybody enjoys a high standard of recreational facilities, bowling alley, billiards, tennis and ice-skating access including a variety of international entertainment on the stage and in the Crystal Lounge plus hassle-free shopping in one safe, managed resort.

All those staff that you named will be delighted at the mention They love the nice comments and they work hard at their jobs to be the best and they will probably remember you when you come back to visit us again – soon we hope.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share it on this forum. The Savoy Team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards,

Jacques PETER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

February 2014 was our 3rd visit to the Savoy, having had a Trip Advisor 5x5 experience on our two previous visits we decided to take my 86 year old dad with us, confident in the fact that he would be well looked after.

I lost my mum last year and wanted to treat my dad to the holiday of a lifetime.

When we arrived the staff on reception were really good as normal, except we didn't get the complementary drink as a welcome (which I told my dad he would get)

My husband had emailed the hotel asking for rooms next door to each other on the same level we had last time and we got what we asked for – so a Big Thank you to Customer Relations - except that one room was booked in Mr & Mrs Gregory and one was booked in Mrs Borkett.

When we got to the rooms it was really upsetting to see everything addressed to Mr and Mrs Gregory considering I only lost my mum 8 months ago. We tried to change this record 3 times at Reception, in the end Customer Services did change the details but neglected to inform the Savoy Cub Members area.

Back to the Savoy review

On our first night at the resort we ate at the Italian (Rosmarino) in the hotel grounds -again I had told my dad how great it was. What a disappointment it was from start to finish, I actually walked out the restaurant in tears as I was so disappointed at the presentation, the taste and overall lack of customer service. We were put on a table just by the kitchen, we might as well had the food delivered to our room, at least we would have a good view from our balcony.

We all ordered steak which none of us were able to cut into, and an essential ingredient was missing, namely sauté potatoes. The staff had not recognised this and offered to bring them to us – why would we want them if the steak was inedible.

We put this down to an unusual occurrence in an otherwise perfect performance in previous years.

The manager was called to talk to us to review our problem which we did appreciate, he obviously could not offer us a free meal but expressed a genuine desire for us to return to use the restaurant once again.

As a frequent visitor to the Savoy we are also able to judge the performance of the 13 restaurants in Soho square compared to our earlier visits.

Our visit to Soho Square began with a booking made in the Mai Tai restaurants on Feb 14th Valentines night.

The customer service experience was no longer available, the Receptionist in the Square restaurants was telling the people in the queue that all restaurants were busy.

We were lucky to be shown into the Egyptian restaurant as an alternative to the Tai restaurant. We then could see that all restaurants were understaffed thus diluting the customer experience.

We had to wait ages for a drink and we could see that the staffing levels were 50% down compared to previous years.

Although we could not confirm the reason for the lack of staff, we know that the Savoy had offered special discounts on pricing and therefore the resort was much busier than a normal February. Although the Savoy had managed to fill more rooms, they forgot to ensure they had sufficient staff to cater for the increase in visitors to the restaurants

As a previous Trip Advisor reporter of a 5 x 5 experience, I decided to deal with problems on-site and not wait until we got home.

I mentioned our experiences to Guests services and the lady did a brilliant job of organising a meeting with the top management team from The Savoy Hotel and Soho Square.

The management team listened to our observations (not complaints) and from this moment on we were treated like Royalty every time we went to a restaurant.

My fear is that this was to ensure we received an excellent customer service experience – is this only because we complained?

One final thing that we explained to the management team is that whilst we marked the Savoy as a 5 X 5 on Trip Advisor in previous years those little attentions to details were lacking in:

• No room decorations such as towel sculptures.
• No ice buckets with water on the beach, we always had this on two previous visits
• Welcome drink missing on arrival
• The Fountain music has been the same every night for three years, gets a bit boring after a while.
• Services in restaurants in Soho Square was far below our experience in previous years.
• The Fountain bar staff were useless as they have been in previous years – poor understanding of English and total lack of customer care.

Now a serious word of WARNING to all new travelers to the Savoy. Before you use any on-site outlet such as the Beauty Salon on the 1st floor or the Well-being Spa, ask the staff if they are employed by the hotel or do they work for themselves in a Franchise.

If they are a Franchise and anything happens to you as it did with my husband, your insurance is not valid as the Hotel are quick to point out that anything that happens in these outlets is not under their control, so is not their responsibility.

During a visit to the Beauty salon my husband had a pedicure, during which the girl conducting the treatment cut a 5 inch gash in my husband’s foot causing a great deal of pain and suffering. The salon did not have adequate first aid facilities and made no recommendations to visit the on-site doctor -two floors below. In fact they made every effort to dissuade him from doing so by offering him complimentary shaves - daily.

After a couple of days of continued pain my husband mentioned the problem to the Savoy management team during our meeting to discuss the general poor service we had experienced on site.

When we told them of the problem caused by the beauty salon, the head of guest relations immediately contacted the on-site doctor to make him an appointment. My husband had to go to the on-site doctor for treatment and a course of antibiotics. He had to go back to the doctors every day of our holiday to have the bandage changed and the wound re-dressed and cleaned.

This totally ruined our holiday as my husband could not go swimming in the sea or the pools, he could also only walk a short distance because of the pain.

When we tried to claim for the ruined holiday, the Savoy pulled the Trump card and said it was nothing to do with them as the beauty salon was not under their control. As a good will gesture they said they had paid for the Doctors treatment – how generous of them.

Therefore this proved that the hotel was fully aware of the problem when the incident happened. The hotel made no effort to make our stay more comfortable by providing any form of mobility aids.

We could of course try to seek compensation from the Franchise organisation, but strangely enough their address is listed as being in the hotel. The cost of an Egyptian lawyer would be too great to try to pursue this case further.

So travelers beware - check the Savoy facilities to see if they are in control of the Savoy or not. I do not wish anyone to suffer what my husband suffered, and is still suffering in terms of pain and irritation.

Now for the good bits.

Best Restaurants in terms of food and service:
No 1 goes to Sea Food Island. Xxx and his team had an approach to service that is second to none. The food is always excellent served by friendly and welcoming staff, always have a smile – well done again.
No2 goes to Poolside bar – again great team of guys there, food is from a basic menu but is always excellent and nothing is too much trouble.
No 3 goes to Steak house in the square – excellent food and good service.
No 4 goes to Fusion 2, brilliant food, can be a little slow on service and should offer a drink if you are asked to wait for a table.

The other restaurants in the Square are good, but this year were let down by the lack of staff.

In previously years our favorite restaurant used to be the Rosmarino on-site. But our first visit this year was a disaster as described above. Not only was the steak tough (left on the pass too long), no potatoes but the presentation was far from what we were used to. The manager did ask us to come back, which we did, I am sorry to say the presentation was far from what we had experienced in previous years. During our past two visits we used to take pictures of our food to show people at home how brilliant this place was. I am sorry to say we did not regard the food as being worthy of any pictures being taken.

Conclusion.

Our rating of the Savoy has now dropped to an overall 2 – this has nothing to do with the staff, who are as always brilliant, it is awarded for the lack of attention to detail, the drop in the standard of food and presentation and the attitude of the Savoy in dealing with a ruined holiday.

We are not the type of people who complain just for the sake of it, in fact we have visited the Savoy enough times to make me a Savoy Platinum member and as such I could book a room in the Royal for several days with all the Royal facilities such as individual hotel transfers etc.

We did plan to return later in 2014 and beyond, but we are left with such a bad experience of our last visit and a lack of concern by the Savoy Management team, that we will with much regret be looking elsewhere for our future holiday experience



Happy to be contacted via Trip Advisor

Mrs Borkett

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Teena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews