We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luna Sharm hotel, poor”
Review of Luna Sharm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luna Sharm Hotel
Ranked #208 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We went on holiday to Sharm el Sheik, Egyp and stayed in the Luna Sharm hotel. The food was very poor and basic to say that it was all inclusive and we had to eat the food for a week. The hotel i stayed in last time (Sierra, Soho Square) had a wide range of selections and the food was different every night. The food at Luna was the same salad every day and there were about 4 different meals to choose from. The meat was cheap and fatty, the overall standard of the food was poor.
There was no night entertainment. The all inclusive drinks stopped at 10pm, the fizzy pops were cheap rola cola and the alcohol choices were limited....and tasted like paint stripper!!
The beach is a 20mins drive away (which is a tiny little private beach)
Naama Bay is about 20 mins away and Soho Square is about half an hour away.
I am very dissapointed with this hotel and i wouldn't recommend it to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnglandSarah_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabilsharm, Owner at Luna Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Sir,
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel although our hotel is one of the best in its category.
I just want to say tat it’s not fair to compare with another hotel which is totally not in the same category and sure the rate difference is huge.
Also I would like to say that we are in the middle of Sharm, you can walk for five minutes and you will find El Mercato shopping centre, also a ten minute walk you will be in Old Sharm.
Soho square is not a down town area its an area beside the airport and its very far from Old Sharm and Neaama Bay.
About the all inclusive concept you can check with your tour operator and it is from 10 AM to 10 PM but if you need more you can take ultra all inclusive which is 24/24 but you will pay extra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was no more than a 2* youth hostel, the food was of a very poor quality with little choice and yes it was pretty much rice & chicken, no fruit available and a canteen feel to the restaurant. the rooms were very shabby, we had dirty towels and a filthy bathroom with no hot water.there was no safe in the room and the one given to us behind reception did not lock properly and gave us no confidence in its security therefore we left money locked in our cases resulting in money being stolen twice, the reaction from the hotel manager was for us to keep quiet about it!! I have travelled far and wide in all standard of hotels and this was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I have never felt the need to make a complaint or write a review before. the only positive we had from this hotel was the staff who were very friendly and warm (with exception for the blonde woman who looked down her nose at you and never smiled) Samir and Toba deserve some recognition for their hard work and friendly helpful manner.

Room Tip: Do NOT leave any valuables or money in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolekettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

When you consider the price you've paid, this hotel is very good. Our room was spacious and had a nice balcony with pool view. The hotel has a nice vibe and the rooms are clean. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. There is only one restaurant and one bar, so the choices are limited, but the food was good. The only thing that could really use some improvement according to us, were the beds. We woke up with backpain every day. After complaining, they made an effort, but it only helped so much.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MalouM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed in luna sharm between 22 march 2012 to 29 march 2012. On the first night baggage man took luggage to room very friendly polite. Food was nice but nothing to stylish just basic food everyone can eat. It was very clean an tidy an pastry chef in particular very informative an reception staff were quick to respond to all my needs. Even though once they forgot to fill up shampoo. Regardless their response was quick an good. Hotel tacxi service was excellent. Overall a great hotel for price you pay

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellotherejob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

First of all be realistic, this is at the cheap end of the market so don't expect luxury. Overall the hotel itself is very clean and has lovely grounds. Rooms are spacious and comfortable although bathroom slightly dated but functional. Our room attendant was always superb and went out of his way to get us extra chairs/tables etc.
All the staff were brilliant and I struggle to understand previous reviews especially around the dining room service although it is true that plates are cleared very quickly. However I believe this is more an Egyptian trait rather than specific to the hotel. Food is basic but absolutely fine albeit a bit monotonous.We always left the dining room feeling we had been served decent food.
Use the hotel fixed price taxi to go to Naama Bay (50 Egyptian return) very reliable and Memo/Ali both very good.
Visit Marco in the goods shop. He is so helpful and the merchandise is good value. He will get you things in if he doesn't have it in stock and treats each customer as a long lost friend.

The assistant manager was great and sat down to talk to us but there the link between customers and Management stopped. Why oh why doesn't the general manager and guest relations manager ask people how things are? They stroll around and ignore the very life blood of their business!

I thoroughly recommend quad biking in the desert and the glass bottomed boat trip.

Overall very happy with our visit considering the price we paid.

Stayed: March 2012
5  Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Just back from a wonderful week at Luna and felt had to write a positive review after worrying about what I had booked with all the negative comments made on here.
The hotel is a small cosy basic one. Yes the rooms could do with freshening up but they are clean and adequate sufficient if like myself all you want is a place to sleep and shower (if you want luxury then go 5 star)
Food was lovely always a varied choice not just chicken and rice like so many say.
Service at bar was efficient and friendly at all times.
Pool was lovely and clean although this time of year it was cold when you first got in but then I expected that as it was not a heated pool.
All the staff work so hard with long shifts but they are always smiling and will do anything to help you.
A special mention for Sherif in restaurant and Reda behind bar these guys very polite and helpful you could not wish for 2 better people and are a credit to the hotel.

Only one real negative I feel I have to make is on one member of staff the Guest Relations woman (if that is what you can call her) complete waste of time and money never smiles just looks down her nose at you only thing she seems to do is walk around hotel so full of self importance. Many of the other guests all said she made them feel quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank cab2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

internet photos ignore to hi tec for this hotel proper con. rooms we had a very good room 257 room boy very good n helpful and did good job......gardens very well kept but stink in a morning when watering grass recycled water but you have to understand your in a dessert and water is gold....pool freezing you jump in a man and come out a women its cold ...staff are super rader behind bar is a diamond and a fairy but very effiecent...reception very good ...ur rep[aymen ]if you book with low cost holidays is a complete waster to times unless you are booking tours he is a complete waste of time you are better boking with african tours that are resident in the hotel foyer and will also help you any hotel problems
they are very helpful[gina] was a knowledge of info right to the bad parts catering the food is terrible no escuses it is bad chickin n eggs am to pm bar drinks bad dont go allinclusive to this hotel the catering is crap over the road picasso very good food also to the right t2 bar very good all ur sports n food but also opposite marcos wine shop stock up .again i do feel the need to stress dont book any tours with aymen he is a waste of time book with gina at african tours in the foyer also any problems they are there aymen isnt rememember the staff are great but there is no entertainment at night good luck

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.6 mi away
Desert View Hotel
Desert View Hotel
#151 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#153 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#83 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#173 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Viva Sharm Hotel
Viva Sharm Hotel
#215 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
787 reviews
2.7 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#109 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Sharm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Sharm Hotel

Address: City Council st, | Om El Sid Cliff, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £8 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luna Sharm Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Sharm Hotel is an attractive low rise hotel that is located amongst palm trees and beautiful scenery. This hotel offers comfort and great value for money and is ideal for families and couples. This elegantly designed hotel is located in heavenly place of Om El Sid Hill only in a few miles from Naama Bay the center of Sharm-El-Sheikh. The Old Market of Sharm and famous street "Il Mercato", where you can find a number of cafes, restaurants, shops and even an Aquapark are nearby. A cozy hotel is proud of its excellent service, spacious and comfortable rooms and good food. The convenient location of the Luna sharm Hotel allows to inspect the Sharm-El-Sheikh or to visit Naama Bay independently. In addition, the hotel is close to the bus station from where buses depart to Cairo and Dahab. The hotel complex is represented by two two-storey buildings, whose facades are decorated in typical Arabian style. The interior is without any frills: everything is very easy and very comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Sharm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Luna Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Luna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing