We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfection........just a few grumbles!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
Ranked #46 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Just returned from 11 days at this lovely hotel. Arrived after a great flight from Manchester and were dropped by private taxi at the main reception. As we'd booked a superior room we were whisked off to the Senses/Palms reception in a golf buggy, given a cocktail then walked across to our room.
We were given a room in the block 900's and were blown away by the look of the small blocks surrounded by 8 small, gorgeous looking pools.
I'll now try to give an opinion about each aspect of the hotel and its facilities, bear in mind it was a bit surreal as the hotel was only about a quarter full due to the troubles in the middle east...............

Food
Lunchtime we ate at the Patio bar. Food was cooked fresh and served to us at the table, choices included Fish & Chips, various Pasta dishes, Chicken Korma and toasties. They do a superb mixed meat sandwich with Lamb Koftas and chicken in a pitta......Mmmmmm.
We only ate once in Senses and this was our first night. It was a buffet and to be honest it was nothing spectacular. I thought there were way too many staff and they were really pushy trying to sell us wine. Shame as non of the other dining options were nearly as pushy!
The main restaurant was closed as they'd taken the lack of guests as a good opp to give it a good refurb. The other two restaurants we used were the Giaconda Italian and the BBQ next to the Rama pool. Both were buffet and we found the choices really varied and always hot. Ask the pizza chef to do you the Diavola Pizza with extra chillies!! Its lovely. The waiters in both these restaurants were superb especially Gaber in the Italian and Mohammed in the BBQ. Gaber - thankyou for setting up the Romance table for us (and for telling us your rubbish jokes!)

Hotel Facilities
As mentioned we upgraded to superior. Our room was lovely and spacious and was always kept clean by our cleaner. The only two gripes I had were that we should have had a flat screen TV (we didnt) and some of the drawers in the cupboard were broken with the fronts hanging off. The shower was good and always plenty of hot water.
The pools were lovely, it was that quiet we had all 8 small pools in and around Block 900 to ourselves for 11 days! Circa 80 sunbeds between 2 of us!!
The reception areas were nice, clean and always well staffed.

Staff
The staff in the main are this hotels biggest asset! I must say a special thank-you to the following..... Tarek aka the Rock & Mohammed in the Patio Bar. Gaber in the Italian. Mohammed in the BBQ. Tarek in the main bar and also Saher in the Aqua Park. All these guys worked tirelessly to make our stay enjoyable. They were chatty and they all took time to teach me Arabic and also wanted to know about England. Last but not least I want to say a special thanks to Ahmed aka Rambo & Mostafa who worked around our pool. Two nicer guys you couldnt wish to meet. I want the hotel to know that these guys worked extra hard in what must be very boring times for them. They always had a smile on their faces and their service was second to none. I'd love the hotel to recognise them for their efforts. There is an army of gardeners and cleaners who make sure the hotel looks great and is spotless! I was amazed one day when I saw a gardener looking across the sight line of 4 pools trying to make sure the large ornamental urns were lined up perfectly!

Entertainment
Well done to the entertainment team for again, working and smiling in challenging circumstances. Some nights they were playing to around 30 people. Can we all remember that these guys are professional in the respect that they get a wage but they are not stars of West End musicals and they do their best. The best guys were Joseph, Jollah, Lauren and Sally.......always smiling, laughing and approachable. Thanks for sorting out the Royal Wedding!!!

Did we have any complaints.....very few although we do feel we had been mislead by the tour operator and maybe the hotel in respect of facilities open. The whole of the middle part of the hotel was vitually closed. Also both of the nice restaurants on the beach were also closed which we werent told about! There's some shops halfway down the path to the beach. Here you will find a lovely display of lamps on a wall....the guy there told us that he wasnt allowed to switch the lights on to save electric! Sad really!
When we arrived we had guests of other nationalities staying in the rooms around us.....they were up drinking shouting and singing till 4am for our first two nights. It would have been good if the hotel security (who patrol the grounds) had told them to keep the noise down. It was totally unexpected given our surroundings and the money we had paid!
On two occasions I was given a quick nod and a wink by reception staff asking if I'd like to 'meet' some Egyptian women!!! This was whilst my wife was in ear shot! Now we're both pretty open minded but I just felt it was a bit inappropriate!!

So all in all a great holiday, I appreciate a lot of the facility closures have been forced on the hotel due to lack of guests and it would be great to return and see the hotel in full swing. If anyone has any questions then feel free to message me and ask.

I wish the hotel and the people of Egypt all the best for the future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ThornhillLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 3,122 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

Unfortuneately we flew with Monarch and it was 5 hours late. (The last time we vowed we'd never fly with them again, it was 12 hours late) this meant we arrived at 11 30pm tired with 4 children. The receptionist was unable to understand simple english and there was a confusion over the booking so it was 1. 15am before we got into our room. The next day we also had to change a room as we had not got our requested room. This took time until we saw the manager who dealt politely with our problem immediately! Advise that you always deal with the manager and it is better to go to main reception as they deal more efficiently than the superior reception with problems== which is not a good advertisment for paying more!! However the rooms were good and clean and the staff were amazingly helpful and did everything they could for us.We did a bit of tipping the first day and then at the end. they accept pound coins but they then will ask you for paper money in exchange for them. Watch out for euros given instead of pounds! the pool was heated and clean and the children enjoyed the 3 slides at the aqua pool. The hotel is very quiet at the moment with a lot of facillitites not available. It was disappointing that the beach restaurant was not open in the evening. However the barbecue and restaurant in our area was very good. The breakfasts were cooked sausages, eggs, vegetables but no bacon or pork of course.also there were cold meats cheese pastries fruit cereals and interesting juices. I recomend the beach restaurant for lunch with a wide variety of buffet food and fantastic views of the ocean. Yes! the best part was the sea. Fantastic snorkeling and diving. A pontoon takes you to the edge of the reef so you dont have to worry about swimming. Just slide into the water--like a big aquarium.The jellyfish may be there but they very quickly disappear and all seem to be harmless. We all swam amongst them and children were holding them in their hands!! Take your towel cards down to the beach. There is a place there and you can return the wet ones so you dont have to carry them back up the hill. There is a cart that can give you a lift though. There is a pharmacy in the resort which isn't 24 hour as it says! I had the tummy bug and it was closed but opened an hour later. The drugs worked well and only 2 out of ten of our party suffered. We ate the least and didn't do anything else different from the rest so I still can't tell you what the problem is there. A good holiday for adults and children.Plenty to do although entertainment was mostly enjoyed by the children. Warning ! Family rooms with 2 bedrooms are classed as superior so if you book a standard room and a family room you will be in different parts of the hotel! All inclusive means beer and reasonable house wine and soft drinks. the other offers were a little below standard

Room Tip: get a superior room poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Just returned from 11 days at the Reef Oasis Beach Resort where we had an excellent holiday with excellent weather. When we arrived it was very obvious that the resort was probably only half full, if that. Wasn't actually too bad as we had no problems with lougers on the beach (plenty there anyway so even if it was full i'm sure that there would be plenty) or around any of the pools. The resort is big and spread over a large area. It has all the facilities that you could want.

Overall we had an excellent time. There were more pluses than minuses.

On the plus side

Our room was large, well equiped and kept very clean and serviced by our cleaner, Nasir. All the staff were amazingly friendly (in fact we found all the Egptian people that we met were extremely friendly and keen that we should spread the word regarding Egypt and Sharm in particular). We must give a special mention to the Restaurant waiters, especially Mohamedd at breakfast and Samir at dinner (think that was his name but he drove into the Nile, so he told us). All the guys on the beach really look after you and kept the beach really clean (in fact we both noticed how little litter there was around (certainly none in the resort)). All the pools are well looked after and the on-site Aqua Park was a special favourite of ours. The waiter Shahir kept us well stocked up with cocktails and Akmed and Tamir always made sure that we were comfortable. Do take a snorkle and mask as the coral and fishes off the jetty are absolutely amazing. It must be good there as boats from other hotels come to this reef. It's just like swimming through a tropical fish tank!!!! The food at breakfast and lunch was very good with always a good selection. The grounds and gardens are very well tended thoughout the resort. The area outside the hotel is a little bit bare but if you walk to the right thre is a row of shops (bit of a bazzar really) with plenty to look at and a little further on is a proper shopping mall. Naama Bay is worth a visit on an evening as thre are plenty of bars and shops. The hotel does a bus service but we picked up a taxi just outside the hotel.

On the minus side.

They are rebuilding the main restaurant and although it didn't affect us directly it did mean that we couldn't really sit out on our balcony and it did mean that there was one less place to eat. We found that the best restaurant was around the Rama pool (very romantic) on an evening, which did BBQ food. The BBQ food was always well done, in fact, probaly too well done. Sometimes inedible. In both the Rama pool restaurant and the Italian restaurant the steamed vegatables,we found, could have done with a couple more minutes as they were usually practically raw (we know its modern to have them al dente but !!!) Having said all that we never ever felt hungry!!!

Overall we had a very good time and would definitely return to Sharm although probably at a different hotel if only for a change.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hood1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations_10, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Oasis Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your remarks. It is lovely to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We try to cater for all guests’ needs in our Resort which is why we have so much to offer – from Aqua Park, private beach with the popular Temple Reef, sports activities, business center, and numerous bars and swimming pools with different atmosphere to name but a few.
We appreciate your comments and hope you will decide to come back for another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

we visited last week for 3nights.the best beach ever but unfortunately rennovations(or at least they said so)meant that most of the recreation was closed . the kids club was closed (although they said it was working)which was disappointing really.the receptionists stink there(ahmed esp) and have no clue how to deal with guests and we sensed inferior treatment of egyptian guests.scenery and view of the temple reef was awesome.overeall the food was better than average.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramigharib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations_10, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Oasis Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

Dear Valued guest,
Thank you for your feedback. It is nice that you enjoyed our beach and the Temple Reef which we are happy to have. However we are sorry that the service you received from our Reception staff was not up to standard. We work hard to meet the requests of all guests in a timely and efficient manner.
We hope you will reconsider returning to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I stayed here last October with my mum, dad and sister. It was our first family holiday since me and my sister were in our teens (we are now in our 20's). When we got there because my parents had been before we were given the gold wrist bands which means you get treated even more specially. We had the new apartments which were amazing, outisde our rooms we had a variety of different pools. All you have to do is tip a waiter a £1 and they will look after you the whole stay. The beach is amazing and the coral reefs are beautiful. The resort is on the large side and you probably wont get to see much of it unless you decide to walk around the whole thing. The restaurants are all located centrally near the reception but there are pools and pool bars everywhere in this hotel. Would def recommend staying here :-)

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feefee696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations_10, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Oasis Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy to hear that you had a great holiday in our hotel and we hope that you decide to come back for another stay.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We travelled to Egypt with Thomas Cook in July last year. (35-40 degrees, so very hot) We have been to Reef Oasis Beach Resort three times and we cannot find any faults with this hotel except maybe the entertainment some nights, but they try their best. Oue rooms was spotless, cleaned every day. The hotel grounds are maintained very well and look beautiful. The staff are very friendly, they couldn't have done more for us,a tip goes a very long way, you will be looked after for the rest of your holiday. The food is amazing at this hotel, plenty of variety. There are three restaurants that are included in the all inclusive package - The main restaurant, the grill beach restaurant and the Italian restaurant. All of them are very good and have plenty of variety. I would recommend the Italian at night especially for the hand made pizzas and garlic bread. There are also snacks served around the beach and pools if you don't fancy going to the restaurants. There are so many activities at this hotel that you could never be bored. I would recommend booking to go on a scuba diving trip (book with thomas cook), it is amazing seeing all the coral and tropical fish close up, definately a must do.

Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is the best hotel we have ever been to.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0lidaymaker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations_10, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Oasis Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for your encouraging comments. It is wonderful to know that you stayed 3 times in our Resort and enjoyed your holiday here.
We are trying to do our best to satisfy different tastes of our guests and that is why we have various restaurants and bars on offer. Our staff are really working hard to make guests’ holiday a more memorable one.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you decide to visit our Resort again.
Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Myself and my partner booked to go the Reef Oasis last year and we were not disapointed..............Loved every minute of our stay!!

This hotel has everything you could ask for really, they really do work hard at this hotel to cater for everyone and to try and make sure you have an enjoyable holiday.

Food- They try to cater for everyone and different nationalaties, which is good because I got to try new foods and we always found something to eat that we liked. The homemade soups and bread are especially good. There is an italian, bar and grill, a'la carte, beach grill and then a main buffet area, so lots to choose from. Fresh pizza made to your liking on the beach is gorgeous!!

Drink- They provide cold beer/lager, local spirits and a few cocktails and wine is provided when in the restaurants which to be honest for house wine it isn't too bad. They serve until late on in the bars but there is also an onsite nightclub if you wish to carry on the partying. They have have their own shisa area where you can try out the traditional water pipes.

Pools- There are lots of pools situated around the hotel, we tried a few but stuck to two that we liked the most. they cater for everyone having shallow, deep, jaquzzi, heated and this hotel even has its own water park free of charge to all inc guests!!

Rooms- Very clean and tidy, we got clean towels everyday. My only disapointment is that the rooms dont have baths, which is just my personal prefernce really but to be honest after a hot day in the sun it was nice to cool down in the shower.

Beach- Absoluletly gorgeous, crystal clear waters and golden sand. We snorkelled off the jetty lots and saw some amazing fish, even stingrays and pufferfish. This hotel does have one of the best beaches in egypt, I have been to Egypt a few times and I love this one the most. At night time you can walk along the jetty and see lots of lion fish, this is an amazing thing to see.

Entertainment- I have been to lots of hotels and this is one of the best for night entertainment. They put on live shows every night varying from Michael Jackson tribute, Grease and karaoke. Although it does get very busy and if you turn up late you might not get a seat but at least this hotel does try to entertain their guests. If you want to do something then you can walk 10 mintutes from the hotel where you will find shops, outside bars and restaurants and even more things to do.

I did become ill for a day during my stay and I telephoned reception to see if they could bring any food to my room, which they did with lots of cold water free of charge, so they looked after me then. In Egypt you can become ill due to the intense heat, over indulging, being dehydrated or not washing your hands before you eat, so it is important to look after yourself whislt you are there, but I can guarantee it wont be this hotel that makes you ill.

We had an awesome time, and speaking to other people from different hotels when we went on excursions I really do believe that this is one of nicest hotels to go to for an all round enjoyable holiday.


We made quite a few friends and are hoping to go back again September this year :-)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickennuggetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations_10, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Oasis Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments. It is nice to hear that you had such an enjoyable holiday and were pleased with the staff service, food quality and selection, and the general standard of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in September.
Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#13 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#37 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,841 reviews
0.8 mi away
Veraclub Queen Sharm
Veraclub Queen Sharm
#111 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#44 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,422 reviews
5.4 mi away
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
#76 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Faraana Reef Resort
Faraana Reef Resort
#112 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Oasis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Oasis Beach Resort

Address: Marine Sports Club Street | Hadabet Um El Sied, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £60 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Oasis Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 718
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Oasis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Oasis Resort
Reef Oasis Egypt
Reef Oasis Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Reef Oasis Beach
Reef Oasis Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Reef Oasis Beach Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Reef Oasis Hotel Egypt
Reef Oasis Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing