We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food atrocious / not worth the extra money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domina Coral Bay Sultan
Ranked #101 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food atrocious / not worth the extra money”
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We have stayed at the Domina Coral Bay Aquamarine at least once, sometimes twice a year since 2007. This year we thought we treat ourselves and pay the extra and stay at the El Sultan, what a dissapointment.

Although the standard at the El Sultan is supposed to be superior, it was not, what a let down. Then the food, it was atrocious, not matter what time you went for a meal, the food was always cold, never cooked properly, same s--t, different day. My partner ended up spending four of the seven days in bed with food poisening.

To anyone thinking of staying at the El Sultan, my advice is DO NOT.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    226
    104
    53
    45
See reviews for
259
250
50
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

The accomodation was good, with a big bed, air conditioned, as well as your own terrace/balcony, there are many pools , bars and the private beach is gorgeous, that we hardly spent any time at all in the room. We found the staff to be very friendly, and once you got to know them they'd bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel gives you a sheet informing you where you can eat and drink on all inclusive. Snorkelling is a must, and the Desert dinner was a lovely thing to do as well. We will be returning this hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annice78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Terrible 2 weeks! First the food is horrible. You are served the same food from day to day and when I say the same food, I mean the exact same food. They obviously heat up food from previous meals. There is no shuttle service to the surrounding area but they will call a taxi for you. Oh, but the taxi guys have an office there and are never able to make change whether you pay in US, Egyptian or Euro's. On one trip my friend and I were let out about a mile from our destination so that we could be greeted by one the drivers friends who owned a shop could have first shot at us. (very dangerous situation) The do not have wifi service through out although we were promised it was in the rooms. You actually had to go to the beach to have service in most cases and it was very expensive. The pool at our hotel did not have water for the first week of our stay so we had to walk a good distance to one. Now the worst part, the Russians! This is almost exclusively Russian tourists and they are pigs. If you are in line for dinner, expect to be knocked over or pushed out of the way. They are loud, obnoxious and drunk most of the time. Although many brought their entire family, this did not seem to matter at all. Honestly I can not describe how bad this place really was for us. This was not my first time in Egypt so I am speaking as a seasoned traveler. Don't stay there.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jag9229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ismailia, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I stayed at the Sultan back in Sept 2008 which i did write a review for. Went back there last month and quite a few things have changed. The better changes are that the resort is less of a building site now! its still not fully completed but the area by the spa is done and there is a nice middle section with shops and bars near the coral restaurant that is all finished now. But the AI option is not great anymore. Gone are the free burgers at pool 57 and there is only one AI restaurant and i'm afraid Egyptians aren't known for their cooking (except kofta but El Mustaba restaurant was closed for refurbishment in March.. very disappointing indeed!!!!) so the fact that you have only one restaurant for your 3 meals is really boring. and again the restaurants that you have to pay for are really not worth it, you should just get a taxi into na'ama bay and try a nice local place to eat.
If you have been before then you will recognise familiar faces around the place, and yes some of the new workers are not as friendly and some of the old are tired as they work hard for very little money. but if you are english then they will treat you with love and respect as the russians can be so rude to them, even though most of the workers can speak very impressive russian!
overall the place is great if you want everything in one resort, the pools are great, the beach is fantastic (but get a sunbed quick in high season) but if you're english and like to get involved with the hotel and its entertainment then go somewhere else as Domina is an italian company and EVERYTHING is in italian... or russian!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

we stayed here 2 years ago and the atmosphere was friendly and standard quite high. but now it has gone so down, staff was rude,food hardly edable, rooms basic and dirty, had insects and not cleaned properly everyday even after request. you could not use all fasillities in the compound as before with being all inclusive only one resteraunt. food was basic over cooked meat and chewy pasta every day, no variety or choice for children. ice cream was served exactly on the dot and stopped 5minutes before time! the attitude and mentality of staff was just to rip you off. we paid alot more to up grade our room out of desperation, was better but no way 5 star and still had poor treatment! at check out, after sorting bill they literally told us to [--] off and leave the room now and left our luggage on the road and didn't pick it up like they said,and hotel car service tried to over charge us back to airport after quoting a different price! don't stay here please! sharm it self is great lots to do lovely weather, reccomend not going alinclusive, and trying their many great resteraunts!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seanheenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

the most attractive thing in this hotel for me is that you can se everything and do everything just staying inside the hotel territory. here is everything - more than 10 restaurants , nightlife , a market when you can buy all the souvenirs (those who ve been in egypt know thats sometimes bargainers from town marekets can spoil all impression of the trip) , everything for sports- playgrounds, kids programs, wonderful animation team and of course diving center. you havent dived- you havent seen the Red sea!!
ive stayed in Domina Sultan with two my friends and we went there for active vacation with lot of fun. and we totally got that. there are lot of young people generally from italy and russia, no need to go to naama bay for nightlife. there are two nightclubs on territory.
what about dinning- dont miss El Mastaba restaurant! still cant forget kebab and bahlava there.
personell is friendly , our room was clean and pretty cosy ( but generally we tried not to spend lot of time there)
ive heard many different oppinions on Domina, but here is what i think
dont go there if :
you want a realy calm silent relaxed vacation
used to luxury style
go there if:
you're travelling with friends
you wanna spend an active vacation full of fun

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mishka007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

I stayed at this hotel with 2 female friends. The resort is amazing, although it was full of Russians and Italians. The views of the red sea were great. We'd recommend this hotel to all our friends.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MusaratK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.6 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#24 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domina Coral Bay Elisir Hotel
Domina Coral Bay Elisir Hotel
#69 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domina King's Lake Resort
Domina King's Lake Resort
#122 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Domina Coral Bay Prestige Hotel
Domina Coral Bay Prestige Hotel
#45 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domina Coral Bay Oasis
Domina Coral Bay Oasis
#77 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domina Coral Bay Aquamarine Hotel
Domina Coral Bay Aquamarine Hote...
#74 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domina Coral Bay Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domina Coral Bay Sultan

Property: Domina Coral Bay Sultan
Address: Marsa El Dekhela | Building 6, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#94 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Domina Coral Bay Sultan 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Domina Coral Bay Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Coral Bay Sultan Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Domina Sultan Hotel
Domina Coral Bay Sultan Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing