We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
£89
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
£93
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
£94
Fully refundable before Wed, 24 Apr
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
benogley
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Great hotel, great staff, great value for money
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Feb 2013
Spent a week here with a 6 year old and 11 month old. Had a lovely time, doesn't look great from outside but it opens to a wonderful resort. Room is a little dated but comfortable, tv has 2 English movie channels and bbc world news.
4 nice pools and easy access to the man made beach below, this also has pockets of natural beach and a short walk to a natural bay.
Pools were cold but that's seasonal, sea was warm end of jan/early feb.
Food is varied and tasty, it is a middle eastern take on continental food so is slightly different but still good.
Beer is ok and rose wine not too bad but beware the spirits are super strength and unrecognisable from what you know!
Great for kids, staff are so helpful, especially Hosam in the restaurant!
Highly recommend this, although not much outside the hotel.
Date of stay: February 2013
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
9.7 miles from Albatros Sharm Resort - By Pickalbatros
Free Wifi
Free parking
30.9 miles from Albatros Sharm Resort - By Pickalbatros
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviews (2,604)
Filter reviews
2,607 results
Traveller rating
1,750
559
152
83
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,750
559
152
83
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team fish sea view hotel is situated main building at lunchtime private beach russian guests relaxing holiday every evening two weeks bar staff bottled water cleaned every day pasta big thanks albatross
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 2,607 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Hotel sits on the cliff overlooking a beautiful bay and the stunning Sinai mountains.Reception is small with a money exchange machine,they also change money at reception but use machine for a better exchange rate.
We were in rooms 3036 and 3037.They were small but clean with dressing table, flat screen tv with English film channels,big wardrobe ( but no coathangers) and fridge.There is a small safe in room also.Sliding doors lead out to a small seating area at back of room, at the front is the veranda bar.There is noise from 2 mosques in the early hours and throughout the day but didnt bother me and think it added to the atmosphere.
Had no problem with the food.It does cater more to European tastes but there was always something tasty to eat (think i tried everything!) Next door is an Italian doing fresh pizza and pasta at no extra charge if you prefer something more 'English'.Beach bar does pizza, hot dogs ect at lunch and cakes and pancakes mid afternoon. Never had an upset stomach in the whole two weeks even eating salad and rice.The alcohol is a bit hit and miss, Lager refreshing but doesnt seem to be very strong.Few of my party drank the vodka and orange but i found the white wine hit the spot (after the first glass it was very moreish lol )
Lift takes you down to the beach or there are steps if you are more energetic! Snorkelling fantastic. Can walk straight into the sea where you can see the fish. Under pier has lots more.I followed a previous reviewers tip and walked left along beach,past police hut onto public beach.Here is a coral bed where you can see lots of fish without going out of your depth if you're a nervous swimmer. Where the bed drops off there is a wall of coral which stretches the length of the beach,hundreds of fish,saw everything from manta rays to little clown fish!The submarine boats often stop alongside this reef.
Animation team work non stop to ensure you have a good time! Can join in on the beach with Yoga,belly dancing,water aerobics, volleyball,salsa dancing and more.They always had a smile on their face even with the long hours they work.
I enjoyed the entertainment but it might not be to everyones taste.Every night was something different.Had twirly skirt man and belly dancers,Fire eating and strong man show to Mr beach albatros ( go nick! ) and karaoke.This is shown in Le veranda bar that overlooks the bay and is outdoors. A couple of nights we were there the weather was chilly and it was moved to the clubhouse.You can smoke in the raised area at the back of the bar.
Would recommend a night out to Soho square which has some lovely metal statues,fountains and shopping and virtually no hassle from shopkeepers, although i found Namma bay wasn't too bad either.
Had a brilliant time at the Beach Albatros and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.Yes its a little 'tired' in places but kept beautifully clean and the views from veranda bar at sunset are just stunning
Big hello back to our 'special' friends (you know who you are) and thank you to ALL the staff at the Beach Albatros for a great holiday!

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraPincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hanyabdelshafy, Manager at Albatros Sharm Resort - By Pickalbatros, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our appreciation and thankfulness for your fantastic rewiew about your recent holiday at our hotel Beach Albatros Sharm El Sheikh and for recommending the same.

We are honored by your very praising comments regarding our service and it will be a great pleasure for us to be your host soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

After just comming back,I was very disapointedwith the food, Last year was first class but this year was bad. Although the service remains 5 star and the anamation team work very hard as do all members of staff. For the food I would not return

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DENISEt138
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hanyabdelshafy, Manager at Albatros Sharm Resort - By Pickalbatros, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Dear Guest, We would like to express our appreciation and thankfulness for your rewiew about your recent holiday at our hotel Beach Albatros Sharm El Sheikh. We would like to explain to you that the hotel's restaurants, each day of the week dedicated to a specific to National Kitchen (European, Italian, oriental and etc.). Also we have italian restaurant which work every evening, and in daily time - pizza and pasta coner. From you or other guests complaints about the quality or variety of food haven't been reported (apart from this review.) When our guests want something special, the chef is ready to cook it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Just got back from a week stay, whilst we seemed to have picked the only week were the weather wasnt great we still had an enjoyable holiday.
We were upgraded from 2 singles to a chalet no 3030 perfect location by lifts and veranda bar (which has spectacular views) Furniture dated but clean, functional and plenty of storage. Water temp and pressure a little hit and miss but nothing too dramatic.
On arrival we were worried by location and appearance but fear not-its only a 5min walk to old market (walk via the beach its quicker) and a short taxi ride to Naama bay.
Private beach is great with a lift down for those that find the steps daunting.
Spa was excellent we ended up booking 3 massages each!
Good selection of food with both late breakfast, afternoon tea and Late dinner included in AI. Staff as always were great-Tip your favourite waitor and he will LOOK AFTER YOU WELL!

BUT few points:
no table service for drinks in restaurants

reception staff we found were poor-cashier never had any change and often the staff didnt have answers to simple questions such as how much for late check-out with out asking 3 different people and youhaving to comeback "when my manager is back" really dissapointing and the only real negative-some of their housekeeping/waitors could teach them about customer service!

Animation team were enthusiaistic but there was definately a feel of "off season" malaise, however Annie's comic complaining and Toby's boundless energy were both great.

DONT BOOK THE MEGA SAFARI-THE ONLY DECENT PART IS THE QUAD-BIKING OTHERWISE THERE IS ALOT OF HANGING AROUND AND "SELLING" TIME

It can get windy-take some long trousers and a wrap/fleece/jacket for evenings.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritBash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hanyabdelshafy, Manager at Albatros Sharm Resort - By Pickalbatros, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our appreciation and thankfulness for your fantastic rewiew about your recent holiday at our hotel Beach Albatros Sharm El Sheikh and for recommending the same.

We are honored by your very praising comments regarding our service and it will be a great pleasure for us to be your host soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Wer'e just back from a month at Beach Albatross. We'd booked a garden view room, but on arrival got a upgrade to a seaview room without even asking for it.
We were more than happy with our room. It was 'L' shaped with a sofa & soft chairs in the first part & the beds & wardrobe in the other bit.
The beds were the comfiest wev'e slept in, in a hotel, and our shady terrace was frontline to the sea, with unspoilt views as you looked down upon the bay.
We were by the tennis courts in room 6002, in the quieter part of the hotel.

The staff were always busy, cleaning, mopping, sweeping & they kept the complex lovely & clean. Also our cleaner, Madgy who kept our apartment spotless.

During our 1st 2 weeks there were lots of Russians at the hotel & i have to say, they are far ruder than the Germans. Especially in the dining room. They didn't know the meaning of queuing up & they had no control over their kids who were running around in the restaurant.
They didnt believe in getting a little bit to eat, then going up for more if still hungry.
They fetched all their courses at once & filled their plates high, as if they were scared of running out of food.

The food in the 2 restaurants was pretty good, although it became repetative after a while.
There was usually always Fish, Chicken & Beef available, plus freshly cooked pizzas & spaghetti dishes.
Plenty of salad at all meals but there was never any onions but we got them if we asked.
There were a few little things that was a bit back to front withe the food that they could easily have changed.
For example: Cakes & Pastries were available on the breakfast buffett, also jelly, but we'd have enjoyed them more at lunchtime or with the evening meal.
Also, cooked meats & cheeses for brekky, but not available with the salads at lunchtime.

The two pools were both too cold to swim in january, but it was nice & relaxing just to chillax around them.

On our last day we arrived at airport to be told that our flight back to Birmingham had been cancelled.
We were all taken by coach to the 5 star Hilton Dreams Hotel in Naama Bay for a overnight stay. Our initial reaction was 'Great, we get to stay in a 5 star for a extra night'!
However, this hotel was not a patch on the Beach Albatross. The rooms were newer, but the mattresses were too hard & the food was disgusting.
We got talking to the other delayed passengers & from their descriptions of the hotels they'd been staying in & the food they'd had, we soon realised how lucky we'd been in choosing the Beach Albatross.

All in all, a wonderful relaxing holiday, for a really good price with amazing views.
Many thanks to all the staff.
Carol & Len, Bewdley.

Room tip: Rooms 6001 to 6010 are frontline to sea by tennis courts & quieter.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolandlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hanyabdelshafy, Manager at Albatros Sharm Resort - By Pickalbatros, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our appreciation and thankfulness for your fantastic rewiew about your recent holiday at our hotel Beach Albatros Sharm El Sheikh and for recommending the same.

We are honored by your very praising comments regarding our service and it will be a great pleasure for us to be your host soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are seasoned travellers to Egypt and selected this hotel to it's trip advisor ratings and to say we were sadly disappointed!.

Food:
Is the standard repetitive day in day out stuff but if your not fussy there is always something to find...like the rest of Egyptian hotels it caters more for the Eastern European,Russian dinners which is pretty bland.3/5

Rooms:
The rooms were a real surprise as they are the worst rooms I have stayed in,in the 7years I've visited Egypt.Beds were knackered and the furnishings were on there last legs....the toilet and shower are something u would expect in a 2star accommodation really disappointing.2/5

Complex:
Has no real grand reception which lets it down badly and the road upto the main entrance is something you would expect from Libya.Once past reception and through into the grounds they are maintained well and the gardens and pool areas are nice...now the view is awesome looking over the bay and beach.3/5

Beach:
The beach and bars are ace with plenty of water sports at hand...sandy beach and you can walk straight into the sea.4/5

Staff:
The staff are ace especially the entertainment team Mario,Toby,baboo...these guys were the best team I've met in Egypt to date they were awesome....and deserve more credit than any other staff!.....now the reception staff are easily the worst I've ever met they were awful and couldn't be bothered helping anyone worst I've ever seen by a country mile....Entertainment team 5/5....bar staff,cleaners 3/5....reception staff,bell boy 0/5.

I do hope this helps someone make there decision in regards to booking here...it's your choice at the end of the day...but apart from beach/outside grounds/entertainment team this place would only get 2/5...so I'm going to be generous and give a 3/5...but just be wary of the rating on trip advisor because this one rated highly which I find very strange!

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castlerankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hanyabdelshafy, Manager at Albatros Sharm Resort - By Pickalbatros, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our appreciation and thankfulness for your fantastic rewiew about your recent holiday at our hotel Beach Albatros Sharm El Sheikh and for recommending the same.

We are honored by your very praising comments regarding our service and it will be a great pleasure for us to be your host soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews