We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of Horrors”
Review of Halomy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Halomy Hotel
Ranked #156 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 7 September 2013

If you want cheap and only stay in the hotel to sleep then is for you. Otherwise avoid. Very dated, needs a serious revamp. We had ants and flies in the bathroom and room. Broken door handle and locks. Electricity cut off one night. AC stopped working on more than one occasion and it's very noisy when it's on. Cleaner didn't clean the whole room properly. No kids facility except the pool. 112 steps to the bay/beach which can be tough climbing up after a night out. The room I stayed in was really bad. I would not recommend staying there . Other guests had similar comments.

The plus side is the staff are friendly and the location is great. The hotel ground looks pleasant.

Room Tip: Great views from room and good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We arrived in Egypt with a open mind having never been there, first impressions were favourable, arrival went smoothly, the receptionist commented that we had the best room in the hotel,(open mind), but I am sure he spotted the trip advisor luggage tag on my suit case, because when we were shown to our room I spotted a few things wrong straight away, the door looked as if it had been forced open several times with paint peeling off, out seven light fittings only four worked, as for the plumbing, I agree with some of the other advisors, that it leaves a lot to be desired, the air conditioning was quiet noisy but tolerable after a few beers, the 3 star rating is not appropriate for the accommodation, I think her majesties prison service could have provided better rooms, on the plus side the room was clean but tired, in need of redecorating, the view was excellent we could view the whole of the bay, and spent several pleasant evenings on our balcony. The food was average for all inclusive, with a varied menu, drinks were local brews, but as usual 10pm you pay for drinks,(reasonable on par with uk ). Entertainment was, for the first week, music by the pool followed by music in the bar, they did make a effort the next week, we had dancers twice which were entertaining, with evening meal served on the terrace. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, So overall a good holiday but let down by the accommodation. To finish, I would just like to thank achmed , mano, kamel, alex, for making our holiday a enjoyable experience, and hi to dave(wrong email address)

Room Tip: no good rooms having talked to other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank migri222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The title speaks for itself , what a superb holiday . This was our 4th stay at the Halomy and as usual every box was ticked .Mr Hafiz and his loyal staff again made us feel like we are at our second home . Same again next year ? ABSOLUTELY!!!! We all meet up year after year and it just gets better each time , the food , drink , views across the bay the snorkeling and the laughs with the staff we couldnt ask for more and the same lovely people are there every year. Thanks to the nutty bunch who helped make our stay as memorable as the last , you know who you are !!!!

Room Tip: Familys of five use room 305 its got no sea/pool view but lots of space and the cabin beds are well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

just returned home after another fantastic holiday at Halomy, i have stayed at this hotel six times now and each time we have had a brilliant holiday, this year was like a big reunion as we meet up with friends we met at halomy four years ago, our group of friends gets bigger every year as everyone loves coming back, the staff are amazing they go above and beyond the call of duty, the food is good, rooms are cleaned daily, the view is amazing, i could not think of anywhere better to spend my holiday, THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN to all the staff and management, see you all soon, THE SUMNER FAMILY.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Get room 112 ready for us for the 17th september for 18nights pls were coming back!!!!!
Me and my fiancé stayed at the halomy for the first time last October, we were abit weary at first after reading reviews before our trip but don't listen to them!
Its Wat you make it. the halomy is in the best location in sharm over looking the whole of naama bay and right out to sea, the staff were great, foods basic but ok but the private beach and snorkelling area is fab! Mohammad - John is back haha :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank stacey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Reading the reviews given on here leads you to imagine Halomy is some sort of hell hole.. It is not!! We absolutely loved our stay here in August. Don't get me wrong there are bad points, but they are equally outweighed by the good points. The rooms are basic and a little tatty, the mattress is somewhat firm, but it is clean and the aircon worked a treat, which is all we was concerned about!! Yes the tap water is a little yellow at first but flush it for a good 10 mins, this isn't just Halomy water in general in Egypt isn't clean so just pack plenty of sanitizer. The views are out of this world both day and night, and the bar terrace overlooks the bay and town and you can spend many happy hours sitting and watching the world go by. Food is basic and repetitive, but as I've been told my a friend who stayed at 5* in Sharm, it was the same there. It's liveable, and neither of us experienced any tummy upset from it. Location is fantastic, walk down the steps and your in town, yes it is a lot of steps but better than paying for a taxi! The pool is lovely, nice and refreshing, they could do with a few more sunbeds at busy times, and the beach is lovely and has its own private coral reef, its amazing! The hotel staff were lovely and work round the clock for you, though the animation are useless - we didn't even know who they were for a week! Grounds are lovely, great budget hotel and we would definitely return :D

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lhebb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel was a serious let down for both myself and my husband the room was shabby to say the least and the bathroom was grubby, there was broken glass everywhere and broken tiles in the pool which a couple of people cut themselves on.To be fair the staff were great except for a few who were more in terested in getting tips, the food was extremely poor and the entertainment was non existent, the chairs in the bar area were all ripped or had no filling in them and lights were held together with tape, the only good thing about this hotel was the view that was secont to none but the pics on the i nternet do not show a true picture of this extremely dated and tired hotel we certainly would not return!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Eden Rock Hotel
Eden Rock Hotel
#203 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lido Sharm Hotel
Lido Sharm Hotel
#21 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
#88 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
#65 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halomy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halomy Hotel

Address: Halomy Street Naama Bay | Overlooking Nama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#91 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £19 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Halomy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the cliff top of Naama Bay, Halomy Hotel offers panoramic views of the Tiran Island. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, a diving centre and a buffet restaurant. The air-conditioned rooms feature a spacious seating area with a satellite TV and a minibar. Some rooms have a balcony or a terrace overlooking the Red Sea. A hairdryer is fitted in the bathroom. The buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy cocktails that are served at the Beach Bar. Oriental Café serves shisha as well. Guests have a variety of activities to do on site such as table tennis and volley ball. Rejuvenating massages are also available. Sounds and light show can be enjoyed at the evening. The old market is a 10-minute drive from Halomy Hotel. Sharm El Sheikh International Airport is a 15-minute drive away. Free private parking is possible on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halomy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halomy Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing