We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time to go to sharm because of lack of crowds.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sharm El Sheikh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ghazala Gardens Hotel
Ranked #79 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great time to go to sharm because of lack of crowds.”
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The service we received was great. Due to the current political situation the hotel had only about 80 guests. We found the waiters to be very attentive and our glasses were never empty! We were all inclusive and this was excellent value.There was a good choice of food,both the mexican and italian restaurants are to be recommended,and we had a superb valentines meal for a small extra charge of £10 in the a la carte restaurant,the steak was superb. The main restaurant had a good choice considering the lack of guests and the wine and beer were very good.Lovely bread and pasta and burgers available for lunch breakfast good also. Most of the staff were very friendly apart from the boy that used to come in to do the lobby bar at midnight!
Our room was good we were upgraded to a junior suite which was large with a big balcony .Bathrooms need a bit of updating but otherwise all good.
Lovely selection of pools but water very cold even in the heated pool.
The beach is just over the road which i think would be very busy in the main season.There is a man to guide you across,the lifeguard on the beach is excellent and loungers are free.We did eat in the Gazala beach one lunchtime but the quality was poor so we used our own hotel.There is a drinks cabin on the beach for all inclusive guests.
Naama Bay is a nice area,you do run the gauntlet of the sellers but it is all good fun!
We had no problems with upset stomachs despite eating salads and having ice in drinks.We only drank and cleaned our teeth in bottled water and constantly washed hand and used alcohol gel especially after handling money.
The airport is awful lack of seating and high prices!
We would go back to both this hotel and Sharm for the weather and the friendly people.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dizzytart1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    497
    213
    89
    58
See reviews for
451
802
57
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel, on the whole very good it;s a shame the bathroom's let the hotel down they require an update, otherwise the grounds, pools, reception areas are of a high standard and very clean. The staff were exceptional and couldn't do enough for you, it was a shame the hotel was less than 20 % full due to the political situation, so no problems queueing for food or getting a sunbed. Loads of mosquitoes so go prepared or buy 'OFF" from the local pharmacy when you arrive. We didn't have an upset stomach but avoided ice in our drinks and salads. All in all a pleasant week enjoying the winter sun.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The Ghazala Gardens Hotel was rebuilt after it was bombed in 2005 - the theme is Moorish and the finish is very attractive with metal lanterns festooning the ceilings, indoor palms and Arabian furnishings. The pools snake through the complex and provide a pretty splash of colour against the pale floors and walls of the hotel. It is well-kept, very pretty at night and an excellent choice of hotel in Sharm,
The rooms are a decent size with TV, fridge and hairdryer. The bathrooms need a bit of TLC but are basically OK - there is plenty of hot water and you are given bottled water with which to clean your teeth.
The staff at GG are very charming, very happy to help and try their best to understand the many accents foisted upon them. We cannot fault the staff at both Ghazala Gardens and its sister hotel Ghazala Beach, across the road. The waiters are very good with children, chat happily to older folk and are generally attentive to empty glasses! I appreciate they are working for their tips, but they do so with such a glad heart it is hard not be charmed by them.
The meals are perfectly good; there is always soup, a salad bar, the most fabulous array of fresh-baked bread and rolls and usually a fish, chicken and beef dish and a pasta station. The menus cater to a number of European tastes and while some people complain about the 'sameyness', for what one is paying, it is good value. There are three a la carte restaurants. We tried O Fogo, which was very good (the beef fillet was recommended by a diving instructor), twice and were not disappointed.
We went to the Valentine's Night dinner and the staff made such an effort.
Of course, the tourist numbers had plummeted following the unrest in Cairo, Alexandria and Luxor, so we were rattling around in this 280-room hotel - I don't think we saw more than 70 people there, and that was only at one dinner time.
Sharm was also very quiet, which was pleasant up to a point - but really Sharm is a bright-light resort and it did lack atmosphere. We also felt very sorry for the people who earn their living from tourism, the staff who rely on tips and the shop owners. Now is a great time to go if you dislike the crowds and don't mind being solitary diners in the beach-front restaurants.
We have stayed at the Ghazala Beach Hotel twice before but this was the first time we had stayed at the Gardens on the all-inclusive rate. We had noticed in the past that drinks could be quite expensive (you could easily spend £25 on three glasses of wine and two beers (not even pints) per night and another £30 on dinner for two) so we went AI this time, even though we did not have lunch there for four of our seven days as we were diving. We think the AI rate represents good value for money.
GG guests can also use the pools and beach over the road at Ghazala Beach Hotel.
We dived, as usual, with Emperor Divers, which is now based at the Bay View Hotel. We had the luxury of being on a boat with just five other divers (we heard of one diver and one instructor going out on a boat, which usually takes 20 divers out, that week).
The dive sites were pretty much deserted, which was good for us, but again, not good for the dive company and the boat crew. Emperor Divers cannot be faulted - the online booking, kit hire and check-out are all very swift and efficient and the dive guides/instructors are professional and never cut corners. We cannot recommend them highly enough.
Sharm airport continues to dismay and disgust - it is worth taking your own nuts/crisps etc because they are wildly over-priced and the queues can be terrible at times. If you have time, have a meal in Sharm before you leave for the airport because the choice once there is dire and again, ridiculously priced. I think £3 for a cup of hot water with a tea bag in is nudging London prices - and it was a very small cup. It is the principle that is so aggravating rather than the actual cost.
Sharm is really a little bubble all on its own where tourism is the lifeblood and those who work there really value your custom and want you to return.
It is a fabulous destination, especially if you are a diver, and now is the time to go.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DamselfishBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Cant recommend this hotel highly enough. We stayed for 14 days from 20/1/11 and we could have stayed longer. 1st time all inclusive and it was excellent. Food and presentation was 1st class. Staff done all they could to make our holiday memorable. From the reception staff through to the cleaners gave excellent service. Even beach was amazing, especially the lifeguard. Cant wait to go back. Thanks for brilliant time.
Jean and Tom Dcherty

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortGlasgowDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We had a first floor Junior Suite which was very roomy with large balcony overlooking the heated pool. Bathroom needs updating, preferably with shower cubicle. Some of the ground floor suites had a small patio which opened directly onto the heated pool, but these were totally undercover, therefore no sun at any time. Also there was no privacy from swimmers in the pool. Gardens very nice, but some narrow enclosed spaces and trees could necessitate shifting of sunbeds. The ' four-poster ' style cabanas by the main pool were stylish and well-used. No difficulty finding sunbeds, but the hotel was only 80% full apparently. Our Pool attendant very helpful. Ate in one of the three a la carte restaurants every night ; limited choice if you didn't want to pay extra, but the food very good in all of them. House wines included with the meals. Food at lunchtime in the two snack bars very limited, some of it not as hot as should have been. Free ice-cream all day from the Italian cafe. Short walk across the road to the small beach at sister hotel, and a short walk into the ' strip ' at Naama Bay. The in-house evening entertainment by the resident team was dire ; the visiting singers were ok. A big thank you to Maria, the Guest Relations lady who was most helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The hotel is in a prime location, is pretty and clean enough. The rooms are ok, we changed from block 1 to 5 which was better as the bathrooms in 5 had been modernised in comparison to block 1. The beds are firm and there are english movie channels on the room tv. The all inclusive is lacking, you will need extra money for decent drinks and to widen the variety of food. The buffets are perfectly edible but can be a bit samey. The other restaurants offer a minimal all inclusive menu and you will have to pay extra for most items. The drinks are a big let down. Rarely getting ice and the mixers either being flat and warm. If you want Malibu, JD etc you will have to pay, if you like magharitas etc you will also have to pay for those. They do have all inclusive cocktails but warm gin and lime or vodka and orange and lime does not a cocktail make!
Fresh orange juice is avaliable with breakfast but you will have to pay extra, there is nice warm "juice" which is free though! Some of the entertainment you will have to pay for and the service is also lacking. Sometimes you feel that you're really putting them out to the point you stop asking for things. Sadly me and my partner would say this is probably the worst all inclusive we've ever been to.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colley104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We arrived at the hotel on 12th December 2010, to celebrate my wifes 50th Birthday and our 12th Wedding anniversary. On the first night at the hotel we used the Fountain restaurant (self service), where we found the choice of food was very good, but in our opinion, could have been hotter. We had gone upstairs to the Olive Tree where we found out that the restaurant, had themed nights, but our first night, we thought the food looked better downstairs. We had a good choice of wines, and beers or soft drinks served to us, at NO extra Cost!
We used the Olive Tree the following morning for breakfast, again excellent choice of food, including freshly made waffles, or pancakes, and fried eggs, or omelettes. They did offer us Fresh Orange Juice, which we declined when we found that this was NOT included in the All inclusive, (we were going to try this later in the week, but never got around to it). We used the Olive Tree for all our meals on the first week, apart from some lunches where we had freshly made pizza at the Italian restaurant, where we were sunbathing. Our waiter in the Olive Tree was Shaban, who looked after us each day to the fact that our wine was waiting for us every night without fail!, we even went in Naama Bay for Coffee on night. The manager also spoke to us most days, and was happy with any comments we put to him.

We used ofogos for 1 night on 23rd December, using the all inclusive wine/beer etc , we were offered wine from a bottle that you had to pay for, but we had the house wine, which was very good (Rose), On christmas Eve we paid extra for Ofogo,s again had the house wine, so we only paid the etxra for the entertainment. On Christmas day we tried the Mexican, and this was also very good, and again we had the house wine/beer so again no extras to pay.
During our first week were approached and asked which of the restaurants we wanted to book into the the christmas meals, we advised them that if we did want to book, as we could have used the Olive tree at no extra charge, (but we would not have had the entertainment,), we would go to the desk located in reception to book. The only Hassle we had was from the gentleman from the Spa, who kept asking us to book massage sessions which we did not want to do, so again we advised Vicki in Guest relations, who got them to stop hassleing us, which they did.

Overall the holiday exceeded our expectations, such is we have rebooked to go back to the hotel, on 15th December 11, and we are really looking forward to meeting Old friends, and making some more friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartyMansfieldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghazala Beach Hotel
Ghazala Beach Hotel
#95 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
859 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lido Sharm Hotel
Lido Sharm Hotel
#15 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
#64 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,659 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sharm Plaza Hotel
Sharm Plaza Hotel
#81 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,404 reviews
6.0 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#86 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghazala Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghazala Gardens Hotel

Property: Ghazala Gardens Hotel
Address: El Salam Street | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly Ghazala Gardens)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghazala Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a five minute stroll from the centre of Naama Bay and five minutes to the beach it shares with The Ghazala Beach Hotel, the Ghazala Gardens offers a perfect balance of scale and facilities. The delightful gardens teem with exotic plants and a lagoon pool that give it a truly tropical feel. You can even swim right from your terrace with our poolside rooms! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ghazala Gardens Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ghazala Gardens Sharm El Sheikh
Ghazala Gardens Egypt
Ghazala Gardens Hotel Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing