We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #21 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at the Sierra from the 19th September for 11 nights. I emailed the hotel in advance for a refurbished room and my request was met. From check in the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. (Peter)
We were in block 3C which overlooked the gardens and was a very quiet block. - I would def recommend this block.
We spent most of our time at the pool nearest to this block and in fact only ventured into the other 'big' pool once. We were very settled there with Mina (pool bar attendant) serving our every needs. He is a massive asset to the hotel and we will be returning just to see Mina!!
Our poor attendant also made us feel welcome and put our towels out in the same place each day!
The staff are paid very poorly and welcome tips but work very hard for these (however small)
The food in the main restaurant is pretty much the same each day and we only ate here on the first two nights. We then discovered Cafe Chino (kebab type restaurant) and the Akuna Matata. There is so much choice here and all is cooked fresh to order. (some portions are a little too large also!)
We didn't really drink in the hotel of an evening either as the Queen Vic and Crystal Lounge were perfect places to sit back and watch the entertainment. Staff in the Crystal Lounge in particular were very attentive (the nuts and crisps were a bonus too!)
We had one drink at the Fontana bar but found staff to be less willing to serve the AI guests so didn't re-visit.
All of the above eating and drinking places are part of the AI and are a massive bonus for this hotel.
You can also eat in the Steak house Indian, Chinese and other restaurants with a 35% discount. We ate in the steak house which was very nice but a little expensive. The Indian (Bombay) was probably the nicest indian I have ever had. It was very cheap but the gentlemen have to wear trousers. (remember to pack some trousers because it's worth it!)
The gardeners are all so friendly and always have a smile for you. They were working in 40 degree heat and just carried on making the gardens look pretty.
To sum up - We had a great time and will definately be returning to this hotel. You can't beat the weather in Sharm and the service is second to none.
See you in a couple of years Sierra.

Room Tip: Block 3C is quiet and tucked away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna_and_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear guest,

We are delighted that we were able to get you the room that you wanted. We can’t always do it but we will always try. And as nearly all of our rooms have been refurbished now it does make it easier.

Our staff are actually quite well-paid be Egyptian standards. Many Egyptians do choose to move to Sharm to seek work as they can usually earn more and save more here than they can in their own region. On top of their basic salary they also get a percentage of the hotel revenue shard out between them all. This can often double their salary and sometimes more than double it. But don’t compare Egyptian wages with British wages.

Sometimes the Fontana Bar gets a little busy and these are the times when we call in extra staff to help out. I’m sorry for the inconvenience but it really has nothing to do with the AI. We have now put on extra staff to ensure that our guests are served promptly.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the Crystal Live Lounge. There is a live singer on every night and it’s just so nice to sit in the sophisticated ambiance and enjoy the laid back music.

L’Entrecôte is our flagship steak house and we are very proud of it. We serve only prime imported beef from the USA, Ireland, New Zealand and Australia and each dish will be cooked to perfection, just the way you like it and we are pleased that you enjoyed it.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and it’s lovely to read that you will definitely be returning soon, so we look forward to it.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,666 - 1,672 of 4,665 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

this is my fourth time there and it's still rockin it everything is great the animation team is joyful and friendly even the weather there is nice plus you get to go to Soho square whenever you like and its a great place by the way with its lovely designed shops and the nice shows on the stage there
they should just work on the food a little bit more but overall its a nice place

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank b0mb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very positive review of your stay with us at the Sierra. We always like to hear that we continue to impress and provide excellent hospitality for our repeater guests

The Sierra is so much more than just a hotel as it has Soho Square on its doorstep with all the facilities available to Sierra guests. You can enjoy the ten-pin bowling, Culturama, our panoramic screen history of Egypt or go ice-skating. For dining out there are the 5 main fine-dining restaurants in Soho – L’Entrecôte Steakhouse, Zen Chinese, Mai Thai, Bombay Indian and the excellent Luxor Egyptian restaurant. For something lighter and more casual, visit Café Chino, the Queen Vic, Akuna Matata, our food cellar offering hamburgers, pizza, noodles fajitas, fish ‘n’ chips and much, much more. Relax with a drink at the Fountain Bar and watch the dancing fountain burst into life every hour with a fire show and accompanying music. Have an English beer and a game of darts at the Queen Vic. Enjoy a sophisticated cocktail at the Crystal Live Lounge and listen to some top live vocalists through till the early hours. There’s so much to do here at the Sierra.

We are constantly assessing the food requirements and adjusting where necessary but your comment about the food is not clear or specific enough for us to be able to respond, except to say that we have so many choices of where to eat – perhaps more than any other hotel in Sharm.

Once again thank you very much for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sierra in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

A huge place with many pools,one really big,one filled with salty water and there's an indoor pool but for adults only.
Food wasn't ok on the first day but got much better from there on.Good snacks(all inclusive).
The older children enjoying playing billiard while the younger ones enjoyed the magic shows and face painting for children during the show times. Has a mini golf area and a big sized chess board with children sized chess pieces!
Spa is amazing!!!! Tried the jacuzzi,sauna,steam room and had a massage session a(couple massage for both my husband and myself)nd we were really pleased.Soho is a 1 minute walk away where our children enjoyed watching the dancing fountain,playing bowling and skating in the ice-rink.
We also enjoyed using the beach of its sister hotel(savoy) for free(10 minutes walk) and the children got to do some snorkelling there.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttaLouly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,

It’s always nice to receive such glowing reviews but most of all we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday.

We spend a lot of time and effort preparing good quality, varied food at all of our outlets and while we cater for over 700m guests on a daily basis, we cannot guarantee that everybody will like everything even though we try!

The Sierra is a great place for children as you say. Lots to do and plenty of activities to burn off all that energy.

We are delighted that you all had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

we stayed at sierra from 26 th sept to 10 oct party off 4 in rooms 6446 6438
rooms
room were ok we asked for double beds and got two singles but hotel did offer to move us but we had already un packed so we stayed room bit outdated with old t v and mini fridge is a extra charge which was quite annoying
food
to be honest its not gd id say ok two off our party was ill food seems to get used again again
staff
brilliant got to say many thanks to baaha at pool and mo who is life guard brilliant couldnt have done anymore for u made the hoilday really
soho square
this is very gd with shops brittish pub and more places to eat
overall
we will come bk to this hotel but food has to be better its the only thing that lets hotel down we done four trips safari tiran island quad bikes and ras mohamad all ok
many thanks to the pool bar staff at main pool brilliant we will see u soon

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazandlei20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Sierra and for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are well received and noted.

The process of refurbishing the rooms Is ongoing and a handful of the rooms, including your two, are yet to be completed. These are usually our least expensive rooms .

Your criticism of the food is not specific enough for me to comment except to say that we spend more money on food per person than most other hotels in Sharm and we are constantly updating our menus, preparation and presentation. I am sorry that two of your party were ill – there are many ways to get a tummy bug but our food is unlikely to be one of them. Everything is prepared under the strictest of hygiene controls and I can assure you that our food does not “get used again again”.

We do hope you will pay us another visit and enjoy the wide variety of cuisines that are available in the Sierra, Soho Square and the Savoy.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just returned from our second trip to the sierra sharm. Hotel was excellent with a varied choice of pools and room types. we stayed in a family room which was spacious and immaculate. The grounds were spotless and maintained to a very high standard with the added bonus of a modern mall called soho square close by which had a wide variety of shops, bars and free entertainment every night. The staff were particularly friendly and efficient and our local oasis pool bar guy, called Sameh, could not do enough for us. In addition, when any problems arose, Janel in guest relations sorted things out with a friendly smile and great efficiency. Just one big downside was the food. The main restaurant called the mountain view served lacklustre dishes which were often cold and over spiced. Breakfasts were average with juices which were synthetic and over sweet. large queues built up for eggs and omelettes and choice was extremely limited unless you liked egyptian dishes. The evening meal choices were supposed to be themed but it was very difficult to tell them apart. food was often cold were the warming burners had gone out and meat choices were limited. Since our previous visit in June the food has deteriorated considerably and overall quality was not what you would expect from a 4/5 star hotel. We had planned to return again in April 2014, but unless the restaurant steps up, sadly this won't be the case.

Room Tip: Family rooms tend to cost a little more but are located in quieter parts of the hotel, often with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your second visit to the Sierra. We are pleased that you had a very positive experience here with the exception of the food so we have passed your comments on to the Food and Beverage department for their attention. However, there are a few things which we should clarify.
Firstly, we are proud to say that we do serve Egyptian dishes. This is an Egyptian-owned hotel in Egypt and anyone coming to this country would be right to expect Egyptian food included in the selection at each meal. We also cater for British, Russians, Ukrainians, Scandinavians, Italians, Spanish, Germans and a few more nationalities so there is plenty of choice.
The orange juice is not synthetic but it is Egyptian, not English. We are sorry it wasn’t to you taste.
Our dishes are not overspiced. Perhaps you didn’t like some of the spices used but again, that is your taste and therefore subjective and we have to be objective in F&B.
If there were long queues for the egg station, please accept our apologies. We try to attend to people quickly and efficiently but at times of high occupancy, even with more staff on, there can occasionally be a rush on a particular item.
Hot food should be hot and we have a team at the Sierra whose sole objective is to check food safety and hygiene at all meals. You probably saw them checking temperatures of all the chafing dishes and fridges in all the restaurants. You would not have seen them in the kitchens but they are there too at all times of the day and night, whenever and wherever food is being prepared. It is unlikely that warming burners ‘go out’ but they are checked regularly.
We serve a lot of meat dishes at the Sierra. Please remember that in Egypt, pork products are not served in hotels, so the typical English breakfast cannot be truly reproduced here. However, we do serve beef bacon and beef or chicken sausages.
If you had mentioned your favourite dishes to our chefs, they would have been glad to create something for you. Please note also that this is why we have spread our all-inclusive program into Soho Square, so that our guests have the pleasure of dining in Akuna Matata and Café Chino too.
We do hope that you will return for a third stay at the resort in order to give us the opportunity to change your experience.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just got back from a week stay with my wife for our honeymoon and we had the most amazing time. While we were there a lot of people were complaining about the standard of food but we both found it more than suitable and if there was nothing in the hotel restaurant then you could just walk to soho and eat (and drink) in various places which were included in our all inclusive. A huge perk you dont get at other hotels. Felt safe at all times, from gardener's to life guards to bar staff, probably the most friendly people we have ever met. Special mention to mina (sunset bar) who is a credit to the hotel constantly bringing drinks and a smile to your sunbed. Ehab (lobby bar) who made us feel so welcome from day one. All the staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. we also met so wonderful people from britain as well which made the stay even better. Will certainly being booking up soon to return with our children as they would love it here. There is a pool (8 in total) to suit every mood and evey person. Snorkeling at the private beach is a must and life guards there are fantastic too. I'd like to thank everyone at the sierra for a wonderful honeymoon. (the towel and flower decorations in our bed was a great touch) id recommend anyone couple's, older generations young familys to visit this hotel. Thank you all once again. Kristian and sarah.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lurky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing the Sierra for your honeymoon and for the very positive review of your stay with us. We love to hear that our hotel lived up to expectations.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the bars and restaurants and we very much appreciate you confirming that you felt so safe in and around our resort – this sends a loud message to anybody hesitating about booking a holiday in Sharm.

All those staff that you mentioned will get points towards prizes but the main thing is that they really get a kick out of getting the mention. Although they enjoy some of the best working conditions in the region, they spend a huge part of the month on duty with us here and the positive feedback from our guests gives them an enormous boost.

Once again thank you very much for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sierra in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just back today after 10 days at the Sierra and it was a bit hit and miss. Having never been to Egypt before I had no expectations which is probably why my husband and I accepted more than we should have so here's an honest review

Arrival - quick and easy and welcoming.
Room - 6542 small, basic and tired looking. Old tv( not a big deal but others had the LCDs) dirty floors (my husband who is a plumber thought it was tile adhesive) but we soon learnt later on that it was dirt. But again we thought that since the hotel wasn't busy that this may have been an oversight. We tipped right away in the hope that we would get a proper cleaning service but we didn't. I went to see if we could get a room change but was advised no. No options for later in the week etc just an option to pay and extra £200 which was very annoying as other British people told us they stayed in our block ( they told us it was nicknamed cell block h) and requested a room change and got it free of charge!!! They said that once they had their new room that it was a different holiday which makes me think that these rooms are the ones with the rave reviews on trip advisor. This made me angry and sad as we don't like complaining but if we had kicked up more of a fuss then we would have had a better holiday in a bigger cleaner room. So our room wasn't properly cleaned daily. Floors not even brushed and cushions left on the table. We have photos of the bathroom floor which was filthy. One day we didn't get any hand towels. Not a big deal so I phoned housekeeping to ask for them and went for a siesta. We got a call to ask if we got them and my hubby said not yet but two mins later they came which was really good. I was sleeping when we got a chap at the door and the housekeeping supervisor wanted to check they had been brought so my hubby let him in, he didn't go to the bathroom but came straight into the room picked up the phone and had an argument with his boss. I got up put my robe on and politely asked him to go. He said now? I'm in bed! Of course now, with the weather so warm I could have been naked in bed! So inappropriate! Next day we had no towels at all! Lol even the chap at housekeeping laughed. The sheets weren't changed either. We were bitten to bits by Mosquitos and my hubby's leg was bleeding a bit during the night, on our last day I noticed that the blood was still on the sheets. Maybe if I'd complained we would have had no bed the next day lol.
Food - boring and repetitive. Barbecue night you got the tiniest bit of chicken. One of the other Brits was in the akhuna matata restaurant in soho square which is part of the all inclusive. The manager there is also in charge of food at the Sierra. When he told him about the food and showed him the pic of the "barbecue" he was very angry and said he would sort it.
Entertainment - if you want entertainment then this isn't the place for you as there is very little. Animation team look bored and don't really interact. A couple of the girls are nice and said hello to us but the guys didn't. In the one time that one of the guys did speak to us he asked us to go to the nightclub. We said thanks for asking us but no. He cheekily said " you maybe only want to go to kids mini disco!" And walked off!! So rude! I'm only 40 and not over the hill yet! The one night we did enjoy was the hotels 9th birthday party. Staff and frequent guests were given awards etc and it was a lovely night.
Soho square - thanks goodness for this place! Attached to the Sierra and savoy this was a godsend. Pubs are part of your all inclusive and two restaurants too. Free wifi, shows and lots of shops! It's lovely and the statues, fountains etc make it a must to see. We spent every night there and had a great time.
Staff - the saving grace for this resort is the waiting staff. They are outstanding and are a real credit to the hotel. The waiters including siobhy, Bahan, Elab and the main restaurant waiters made us feel so welcome and couldn't do enough for us. Thank you so much guys as you really went out of your way to make the guests feel special!

I wouldn't normally write such a detailed review but I was annoyed that since the hotel wasn't busy that they could have moved us like the others and our experience would have been different but because we didn't make a fuss we had to make do but as with any holiday you make the most of it and enjoy yourself and that's exactly what we did! On hearing (on the bus to the airport ) how other peoples 5* experience was I would definitely go back to Sharm and if there are improvements made at the Sierra then I may even go back there in the future.

Tips- we tried to get the reception to give us change to tip the waiters etc but again was met with a no so take plenty of smaller notes.
Plenty of mosquito spray as I don't normally get bitten but came away with over 30 bites on my legs and feet even after drenching in repellent.

Don't be put off going to Sharm with the troubles as you are perfectly safe here. Security is high but not invasive and we both felt really safe and relaxed.

Room Tip: Book a pool view. These are the higher quality rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear guest,

I read with some concern of all the various things that went wrong on your holiday. You have already remarked on how other reviews paint a glowing picture of the Sierra and I assure you that is the norm. But nearly all of your issues concern your room and the fact that ‘other people’ have said that they got a free upgrade. We very rarely upgrade rooms free of charge so these ‘other people’ may well be saying things just for effect.

These various housekeeping issues of which you complain should have and could have been dealt with to your satisfaction very quickly by the staff but I’m sure that many of these problems would not have occurred if we had managed to upgrade you. We will pass your comments on to Housekeeping for their attention.

With regard to the food on BBQ night, if you were not satisfied with the piece of chicken given to you, ask for another piece. It’s all-inclusive. Have as much as you want.

It would be impractical and illogical to view the Sierra without Soho Square which is an integral part of your holiday and your all inclusive deal. It is part of what you are entitled to as a guest at the Sierra or the Savoy. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

We do hope you will return to the Sierra – you have many positive things to say about it. Book the room type that you would like and you will enjoy your holiday just like all the others.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#24 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#38 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,646 reviews
5.6 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#66 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sharm El Sheikh

Address: SOHO Square, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#15 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#27 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#60 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £62 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sierra Sharm El Sheikh 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Sharm El Sheikh international airport and Na'ama Bay, the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh hotel is the perfect destination for those who want to explore the Red Sea and beyond or alternatively kick back and relax. The Sierra Sharm El Sheikh is superbly located next to Soho Square where you will find a variety of restaurants and bars, ten pin bowling, ice skating rink, the Ice Bar, daily entertainment shows and live bands. This is an exciting destination with enviable all year round temperatures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sierra Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing