We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great resort busting with things to do”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #20 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We said in the Sierra as a group of friends in March 2014. We had pool side rooms which were large, luxurious and very well kept. Pool side service was excellent. On an all-inclusive band there were several options for food. The buffet was available for 3 meals a day, had a great selection and was of good quality. The food hall, hakuna matata, offered a great variety of cuisine-based dinner options (egyptian, pizza, seafood etc..) and was very nice, the only downside being that the system for ordering was unnecessarily complicated. As Sierra guests we also got a good discount at Savoy and Soho restaurants which were very much of 5 star quality. Distance from the beach was easy using a golf car, or a nice walk through the grounds of Soho and Savoy. Service at the beach was great. The beach is very clean and well kept. The only thing I didn't like was the loud music that came on when activities started (volleyball etc). The nightlife in Soho Square was fantastic. There was so much to do - shopping, drinking, shisha, amusements, bazaar, singers, stage shows, bowling, ice skating, ice bar, and the club which stayed open til 4.30am and was really well designed with a great sound system. Or, you could just walk around taking it all in, in your stride. All in all a fantastic holiday where we felt that with so much on offer we could do whatever we wanted, more active or less, depending on how we felt.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turtleface000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,478 - 1,484 of 4,742 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to the delightful Sierra hotel so we knew what to expect and weren't disappointed. As many others have pointed out in their reviews it is the staff that really make this hotel so special. The hotel itself is lovely, rooms are clean and ok some may need a little updating but who goes to sharm to sit in their room anyway! The food is excellent regardless of others reviews, there is lots of choice at every meal and always the option of freshly cooked eggs at breakfast, pasta at lunch and dinner for the less adventurous who can't find something delicious from the many dishes provided. Different themed food each day, Loads of salad and fresh fruit, how anyone can complain suggests they are either incredibly fussy or unrealistic in their expectations from a 3-4 star hotel. There are several pool options for those who like peace and quiet or those who want to be in the middle of activities or have children. A special mention at this point must go to shenoda the life guard as he was a real star, so friendly and helpful, always there with a smile and an amusing story to tell. I realise this is the service industry but sometimes it's the small things that really make a holiday. Loads of evening entertainment options and bars/ restaurants to try out, most of which come under the all inclusive umbrella. The rockets cover band from South Africa were incredible too. All in all a great 7 day break, looking forward to next years trip

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear guest,
It’s always good to hear from our valued repeaters.
You mentioned that rooms need updating, please note that we have already updated the majority of rooms and we are sure you can read many positive reviews from our guests.
However we are still in the process
We are happy to know that you were satisfied with the food and with the possibility to dine around. As you know Sierra guests have 35% discount for all a la carte restaurants at the Soho Square and in the Savoy hotel.
We will make sure that we pass your compliments onto the staff mentioned, but they would much rather hear it from you so we look forward to the next time.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stopped here for a week in April and absolutely loved it.

Short drive from the airport. Check in was quick. Room was basic but clean.

Drinks and food was very good. Staff were amazing and really made our holiday. Bob, Sobby and Ehad you made our holiday you guys were fantastic.

We preferred to eat at soho square which was part of the al inclusive cafe chino was our fav but the akunna mata was very good.

Lots of hotel bars to choose from. All very good. But u also get three bars in soho square as part of the al inclusive.

Soho literally 2 min walk from hotel can't believe how close it was.

Not a lot of entertainment at hotel but lots at soho square.

Beach is beautiful shared with the savoy. Free bus that runs regularly. If walk takes about 10 mins.

As the sister hotel to the savoy it does seem like the poor relation. But for nearly a 3rd of the price can't complain.

Also the hotel had so much personality. Loved this hotel and will be back.

If u are thinking of booking do it won't regret it. This is my 4th visit to Egypt and definitely the best hotel by far and the only one I want to return too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pinky92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your 1st amazing holiday with us,
We are so pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that you were impressed by the services extended by our staff.
Sierra is under the umbrella of SAVOY Group’s management within same standard and level of service.
You paint a wonderful picture of your time here and all the staff will doubtless be hoping that you will return again soon for the second round. We look forward to it.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Sierra at end of March 2014. Its a good hotel and the staff are very friendly and helpful, but its definitely not a 5* rating as sold to us, its more like a 3 or 4*. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable, but it was tired and in need of some serious redecoration (especially in bathroom), the addition of proper drawers would have been appreciated too. We could have asked for a better room, but the location in block 6 was good and the fact that we arrived late and were exhausted, we couldn't be bothered. Little luxuries are really needed to make it a 5*, for example the poolside drinks service could be better, the sun loungers could be a lot more comfortable and not so basic, furniture generally everywhere needs to be upgraded, the quality and choice of food could be a lot better. But once we got our heads round the fact the hotel is a 3 or 4* and we bagged a bargain, then our stay was acceptable and enjoyable. The staff are welcoming and helpful and happy, a big plus. We would recommend this hotel, but it needs to loose the "Superior Upgrade to 5*" tag to be an honest representation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 690PennyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We holidayed here in February.
We were excited on arrival, the hotel and grounds looked wonderful.
We were shown our room which was an upgraded room, and we were delighted fresh looking lovely decor and little patio area with table and two chairs,
Yes we were going to enjoy ourselves here.
Unpacked, and showered, dressed for dinner and out we went.. 'The Hub' as we called it was the only dining room.
The noise was deafening the talking, crockery, seemed to hit you the minute you got in, didn't know at first what to do, no one seated you, it was a free for all.
Get your food find a table. Find a waiter to get your cutlery and eat.
NOT what I wanted on a holiday. We ended up eating outside, but people were dressed in jogging pants and some in hoodies with them up over their heads, and the men at the table next to us, removed their shoes and had them on spare chairs. It was awful.
Next morning Breakfast was the same, and trying to find a waiter to get cutlery and some coffee was no easy feat. By this time your breakfast was warm or cold,
You could leave to find someone or the flies would have be on your food, plus no napkins to cover it anyhow.
And this was how meals were at The Sierra.
After a few days we spoke to the catering manager and guest services at a small meeting and put our points across.
Wonderful they did listen and we were told to come back that evening and see the changes.
We did tables were now set.
We were of to a better start, also in the morning tables were laid up and coffee and tea were in flasks on the tables.
They did try but still reminded us of a cafe. 10 out 10 for listening and trying though.
Cafe Nero was used by us but again tasty food but it's a cafe.
And Komamattara's was again cafe style with locals, so lots in coats and plenty of pushchairs. We did walk out the first time in here as they got our order totally wrong.
But we're invited back, not to be disappointed again.
Mr Mohammad was charming, remembered our name, hotel, and even our room number.
This gentleman will go far, and is a credit to the Savoy group.
The day time was spent at the adults pool were the waiter and the lifeguard chaps were great.
And nothing was to much trouble.
The entertainment was good, but in a small area, as the bar and sitting area was loud, to loud, we could hear it in our room til midnight.
Highlight of our stay was Mr Mohamid and a fabulous evening at the Savoy which we paid for.
Wish we maybe had stayed there.
As dining was brilliant, entertainment, the whole package.
Plus people who liked to dress for the evening meal.
In lovely surroundings.
Hotel is across the road from the runway to the a
Airport, my husband did enjoy sitting in an area on the roof terrace, but nothing apart from sitting went on up there.
Be great for another dining area to be served properly and be able to dress up.
Soho square is just a short walk away, just be careful as steps and slopes, saw a few accidents.
Would we go back ... Don't think so, not to this hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy2915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

we have just returned from a week at the sierra and had a great time the staff make this hotel what it is soby ,ehab, and Raphael were especially good not to say the others were not all fantastic , the rooms are ok not 5 star but clean and have all you need , the food was good and plenty of choice you could also use two soho square restaurants and the queen vic and crystal lounge as part of your deal so this made a nice walk at night for a drink , we had a meal at the steak house which was also very good . the beach area was also very good plenty of sun beds food and drinks there and good snorkelling so couldn't ask for more . on the whole a very good holiday if I had to find fault it would be with the alcohol which was watered down and tasted the same which ever spirit you had and the real bad point the evening entertainment this was the worst I have ever seen but that's two points in my opinion others may not agree . we will be going back to this hotel again for some winter sun

Room Tip: sunset pool is ideal as near to everything but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,
The sierra resort has been awarded 5 stars according to its international high standard of service and facilities, we invite our guests to enjoy their holiday with us.
We have already updated the majority of rooms in the Resort. We do have more work to do in the resort and we put in great planning and investments to succeed , however it is no secret what the Egyptian tourism industry has suffered a great blow over the last few years, as many businesses in the field it has been a great struggle financially, even through these difficult times we have not stopped our efforts an investments to provide the best for our guests.
The sun beds are not basic as you mentioned, they are however metal framed with a super quality mesh to lie on with adjustable back and sun shade to cover your head and face, a luxury that you will not find everywhere.
Your comment regarding the service will be passed to the related department in order to improve.
However, your comment about the quality and choice of food is not clear enough as you didn’t mention specifically what type of dishes you prefer and so on. We always try to do our best to make sure that our guests are happy during the stay and in case of any comments or suggestions from them during the stay in highly appreciated. We would be happy to hear all your comments in details from you while you stay with us in order to meet you expectations, at least most of it.
We will pass your kind words on to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Spent 1weeks early March .The weather was exceptional at 80 deg every day except 1. Stayed in block 6 which was near Andiamo pool and snack bar but to be honest we used to use Sunset pool and swim up bar. That was where most of British were as it was an adult only pool and was very peacefull. The main pool was for families and was a bit loud at times . Food was basic nothing special but never went hungry. Staff were very friendly and chatty even down to the gardeners, a very happy bunch. I think that's what made the hotel special as nothing was too much trouble. The plus side was the proximity to Soho Square which was just at the back of the hotel. If it wasn't for that would think a very mundane boring holiday only because we like to walk about. The queen Vic British pub was very welcoming and part of the all inclusive as was Crystal Lounge next door. All in all really enjoyed and would return

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LYNDAPortTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is very important.
You mentioned that the food was basic and nothing special, we do have to cater for a wide range of different cultures and tastes, though we do maintain a high quality of ingredients. It is never a problem for our chefs to create something special for you if on occasion you had not been able to find anything you liked.
We are so glad that you enjoyed Soho Square and we hope you got a chance to try one of the many restaurants, as there is something for all tastes and price rangers. From the Entrecote steak house to the Akuna Matata food court, all of which are subject to a 35% discount as a Sierra guest.
We will make sure that we pass your compliments onto the staff mentioned but I am sure they would much rather hear it from your good self, so please do come again soon.
We do hope that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#23 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#36 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,720 reviews
4.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#9 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#67 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sharm El Sheikh

Address: SOHO Square, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#14 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#27 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#60 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £56 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sierra Sharm El Sheikh 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Sharm El Sheikh international airport and Na'ama Bay, the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh hotel is the perfect destination for those who want to explore the Red Sea and beyond or alternatively kick back and relax. The Sierra Sharm El Sheikh is superbly located next to Soho Square where you will find a variety of restaurants and bars, ten pin bowling, ice skating rink, the Ice Bar, daily entertainment shows and live bands. This is an exciting destination with enviable all year round temperatures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sierra Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing