We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mosquito ridden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #50 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
poppycat28
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mosquito ridden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

1, This resort is full of mosquitos, loads of them in the rooms and corridors - if you ask at reception they get somone to spray your room with Insect Killer and they give you a plug in, but these dont really work. - there was always about 10 in the bathroom at one time and hundreds in the corridors.

2, Food was rubbish - No English food, i lived on Chips and a Cheese Sandwiches all week and i normally eat anything, by the last few days everyone realised that you can order Mc Donalds, KFC to the hotel from Narma Bay and this was what nearly everyone was doing.

3, Quad Bikes - the ride through the desert was Great - would recommend, paid about £33 each from the man who sells the excursions near the pool.

4, Weather - You cant fault egyptian weather, red hot but very windy all week.

5, Pool - this was one of the coldest pool i have ever been in - normally am never out of the pool but this holiday i could only dip in for a few minutes - far too cold.

I would not come back to this hotel or even egypt again, not my cup of tea - but every one is different.

Not 4 star - more like - 2 and a half.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppycat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Dear poppycat28

Thank you for choosing the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh and for posting your valuable review.

In regards to the mosquitoes this is now the season for the as the weather has just started to get very warm. The hotel fumigates the hotel at sunrise and sunset, has insect killing machines in certain areas and sprays the rooms to prevent them

Concerning the food at the Sierra we have to cater for all nationalities and all food tastes. We have a different theme night everyday to help with this including an English night on Wednesdays. Should you have made us aware whilst you were in resort that you did not like to eat the food then we could have found something suitable for yourself.

Regarding the pool, this is not heated during the summer time. As the temperature is so warm outside once you are in the pool some people will notice a temperature drop which makes the pool seem cold as your body is over heated.

Once again thank you for staying at the Sierra Resort.

Kind Regards

Sierra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,244
    1,094
    362
    146
    101
See reviews for
1,154
1,594
99
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

Hotel appears clean and spacious, staff all friendly and first imperssions good, however whilst eight of us drank on the restaurant patio we were bitten to death by, we presumme mosquito's. My wife had 100's of small blisters on her legs the next morning, other members of our group also had infected bites. A trip to the pharmacy was needed twice to try and clear with an injection necessary. The food in the restaurant wasn't to a very good standard. Main swimming pool area loud and noisy, safety of pool area questionable as large slabs of concrete all around pool and spa pool had hidden step in centre. Six of the eight also suffered from diahoria, seeking medical advice from the pharmacy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easilypleased69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Dear easilypleased69

Thank you for choosing the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh and for posting your valuable review.

Regarding the mosquitoes whilst the hotel takes measures against them such as fumigating the hotel twice daily, insect killing machines in certain areas and providing sprays for the rooms

At the Sierra we have two areas of swimming pool therefore catering for all needs. The first is by the Spa Centre which is quiet and relaxed with minimal music playing. The other area is the main swimming pool which is where you will find the animation team and lots of activity and music throughout the day.

Diarrhoea in Egypt can result from a many number of things including the climate change, going from hot places such as around the pool to air-conditioned rooms and ice in the drinks etc.

Once again thank you for staying at the Sierra resort.

Kind Regards

Sierra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Hotel - Buffet restaurant, lobby bar (open till 1am) and pool bar (open till 12pm).

Pools - large freeform main pool with waterfall features (one end with slope for easy access), small pool for volleyball, kids pool, outside spa pool (quiet relaxing pool with quiet music coming from the spa), indoor spa pool & sea salt pool.

Spa - Great Spa. jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. Had several massages which were fab. lookout for Massage of the day which is slightly cheaper. Prices in Euros.

Snacks - Pizza, Burgers, chips & paninis -made to order 12-5pm

Rooms - We paid extra for a family room with pool view. it was very large, plenty of storage and kept very clean. The patio was overlooking the Spa pool. Had fridge but no kettle or iron.
Bathroom - large room, bath with shower, hairdryer and toiletries. separate toilet

Beach - Smallish beach with jetty into the sea. Fab snorkelling. Ask life guard if you want lifejacket. All inclusive Bar & snack bar (burgers,chips, paninis -nicer than the hotel) towels & toilet in Savoy section. Bus goes every 30mins from bowling alley in Soho square or 15 min walk.

Food

Breakfast 6.30-10.30am
cooked breakfast - eggs, sausage, tomatoes, omlettes (made to order)
breads, croissants, pastries
fruit, yogurt, cereal, & continental

Lunch 1.00-3.00pm & Dinner 7.00-10.30pm
Different theme every night - English, Italian, Russian, Asian, BBQ etc
Salad, pasta, soup, various types of rice, potatoes, chicken, beef, turkey, Veal, pakora, chilli, curry, fish, mixed veg etc

NIce food but can be a bit repetative.

Entertainment -
Russian singers sing in Russian & English
Cuban Band
Phipino Band

Various "hotel lounge" music. Too loud couldnt talk but got better after a week, after an impromto performance from hotel guest (Mathew) who performed and got the crowd going.

Soho Square
5mins walk from hotel. Purpose built entertainment street with bars, restaurants, shops, bowling alley, ice rink and musical fountain. Cinerama worth a visit if you want to learn a bit about Egypt. All inc at fountain bar 4pm-10pm.
35% discount in restaurants - went to Zen which was vey nice (£40 for 2 for 3 course with drinks). Some shops prices LE some Euros!!

Staff - friendliest most helpful staff I have ever met, from housekeeping, barmen, room attentants, waiters, gardeners, security and touist police.
staff to look out for;-
Emad - Spa pool barman (hope you had a great holiday Mr Smiler)
Mina - Spa Pool Attentant (Great talking to you,/ best English speaker in the hotel)
Said/Ahmed- beach (thanks for treating Sandy like a "Queen" and for your help snorkeling
Emad, Eid "Mini Mina" - (all the conceirge for their friendly greetings )
I wish I could have tipped everyone!!

On the whole great hotel. Will deffinately be back.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

on reading the other reviews i cant believe that we have stayed in the same hotel! everyday people were complaining about the food- how repetitive it was, the best night being friday night as it was bbq night, which we thoroughly enjoyed. room service was poor, the childrens facilites were disgusting- grubby dirty and out dated,. i asked for some paper for my grandaughter to draw on and she was given a piece of paper that another child had used ! one of the reps even called one of the children a liar, a comment i certainly wouldnt have been happy with had the child been mine. fair enough the mini disco was enjoyed by the little ones but we never stayed past ten pm as then we we would be charged for drinks. if you wish to visit the restaurants you are also charged. we paid for an all inclusive holiday -and i have never on any other all inclusive holiday had to pay for any drinks or the use of the restaurants- this should all included in your package. despite having three people in our room we were only allowed two bottles of water and when i asked about this we were told this was the standard thing. to cap it all on the final day of our holiday we had to check out by 12pm, our wrist bands were cut off- we could pay for a room up until three pm. we were told we could have lunch up until three pm but then we had to pay. we wernt being picked up till nine pm and had to wait in the lobby.i think they seriously need to look at what an allinclusive holiday is as we have paid for our meals, drinks up until we are picked up. i will be looking on this site as everyone we spoke to a the hotel are going to complain as none of us enjoyed our stay as much as we should have. i know that you cant wxpect to go on holiday and be happy with everything but i have had all inclusive holidays before and this was the worst ever and has put us off coming back to egypt ever again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 30 May 2010
Dear mel86338

Thank you for choosing the Sierra and posting your valuable review.

In regards to your comment about the children’s club we are constantly supplying new materials for the use of guests.

Regarding the All Inclusive this is inside of the hotel grounds including the Mountain View restaurant, snack bars and 5 bars. In addition to this we extend the concept to the Queen Vic and Fountain Bar in Soho Square during certain hours of the day. There is also a discount offered for the restaurants in Soho Square and the Savoy hotel.

The All Inclusive runs from mid-day on the day of arrival until mid-day on the day of departure. Should lunch be missed on arrival then it can be taken on departure.

Had you made voice your concerns whilst in resort then we would have been able to show you our quick response time.

Once again thank you for choosing the Sierra Sharm el Sheikh.

Kind Regards

Sierra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Brelade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed here twice arriving very late on 16th May going to Cairo for 3 days in between and returning again from 22nd-26th. On arrival our details were taken and we were sent straight to dinner which given the late hour was very welcome. Then we were shown to our room which was a garden view 6529. The room was very clean with plenty of storage and a balcony, a great shower. Watch out for the mossies at night though we asked the conceirge who were only to happy to give us a zapper plug. The room did back on to the Soho Square stage and entertainment could be heard which didn't bother us it finishes early. The 2nd room we stayed in was a ground floor garden room and even bigger and better than the 1st. The staff were great always calling the room to check we were o.k and had gotten anything requested. The pools were great we opted for the quieter ones at the back no kids and a swim up bar ideal. Soho square was nice to wander round in the evening and the all inclusive drink is available in the Queen Vic and Fountain bar as well. When we returned from Cairo my partner was very ill the next morning nothing to do with the Sierra as we didn't have dinner there in the evening they were very good and had a doctor to the room in 20mins injections and tablets sorted him out. The food was very good with a variety of each meals it did get a bit repetitive for us but only because we missed a few nights inbetween and came back to the same themes we'd had before. It is obviously not the same as home but that is to be expected. We went on Ras Mohammed snorkelling trip was amazing. Watch out for Reps as they seem to overinflate price and insist their trip is best to take. We did look round the Savoy but far apreciated the friendliness and Smaller Sierra complex.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitch050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

My partner and I travelled to Sharm el Sheikh on 15th May for one week and both had a wonderful time. As we stepped out of the plane on arrival we were greeted by the sheer heat of the desert. As it was our first time in Sharm, we had booked our airport transfer in advance and were taken on a mini bus to the hotel which is only around 10 minutes away. (Would recommend as taxi are notorious for overcharging)

Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted and served a welcome drink of Karkadeh (hibiscus drink.) We were apprehensive at first after reading the negative reviews about this hotel but could not believe how brilliantly we were treated throughout the whole stay. The staff were very friendly and willing to help you with any problems if you just asked. The room (our room was 4406) was kept very clean and tidy and we often had a visit from the cleaner to check everything was satisfactory. Never once did we feel pressurised to tip. We had a garden view room near to Soho Square which was surprisingly quiet despite the bowling alley and Queen Vic pub being next door.

The private stretch of White Knight Beach was a very close walk and the bus left from outside our room every half hour. We often tried to get down there as early as possible (9am) before the midday sun; it was also nice and breezy under the umbrellas and peaceful until the Russian entertainment began around 10/11 ish which we couldn’t understand a word of what was being said! The sea was warm and inviting for swimming and snorkelling and was incredibly clear enabling you to see the fish and corals beneath.

The themes of the buffet dinner changed each night from oriental to BBQ to International to Russian etc and there was a lot of variety if you’re not too much of a fussy eater, as there were always new things to try. We didn’t find anyone pushing in front of us to grab the food or anything like that either. No dress code as such just no swimming shorts allowed.

We both did suffer from Pharaoh’s Revenge but a short trip to the pharmacy (antibiotics- ciprofloxacin and intestinal antiseptics such as Antinal and Drotazide) and after drinking lots of water we were feeling back to normal. We knew we were only there for the week and were determined that this wouldn’t stop us from enjoying our holiday hence we went to Cairo by Bus and climbed Mount Sinai both trips booked with Sharm Club and were fantastic and great value for money –you wouldn’t be able to get anything like this in the UK for such a good price and you won’t be disappointed! These are the most reasonably priced trips- MTS were charging at least twice the prices for their excursions.

Shops at Soho Square were in general overpriced and would advise travelling to Naa’ma Bay to buy gifts. In the evening you can visit the markets and haggle. We managed to get a beautiful silk rug for £30 even though the inital asking price was £150. Would also recommend going to Culturama the panoramic cinema to learn a little about Egyptian history.

All in all we both agreed this to be the best trip we’d ever been on and we didn’t want to leave, only wish we had booked 2 weeks rather than 1! Would definitely return sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shiraz_00_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Booked last minute about 5 weeks before, checked out trip advisor before went and seemed like good reviews. Hotel was better than expected, great food, great service, amazing pool! and all round great holiday. Would definatley go back. Only negatives would be take mosquito spray they are everywhere! and watch out for dodgey stomach me and partner both had upset stomach for 2 days but didn't put us off. Recommend meal out for a change one night in Hot Rock restauraunt Savoy hotel - most amazing meal i've ever had and you get a 50% off voucher staying at Sierra. Wish i was back there now!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kayleigh_and_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#40 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,970 reviews
0.4 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#65 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#72 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#63 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,053 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#19 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Address: SOHO Square, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#28 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#37 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#62 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sierra Sharm El Sheikh 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Sharm El Sheikh international airport and Na'ama Bay, the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh hotel is the perfect destination for those who want to explore the Red Sea and beyond or alternatively kick back and relax. The Sierra Sharm El Sheikh is superbly located next to Soho Square where you will find a variety of restaurants and bars, ten pin bowling, ice skating rink, the Ice Bar, daily entertainment shows and live bands. This is an exciting destination with enviable all year round temperatures.For more details please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sierra Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing