We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a place to return to.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #53 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a place to return to.”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Excellent friendly staff at all levels, clean well laid out complex, very good facilities, well organised and clean dinning room with a wide variety of food available at every meal, being an all the year round hotel some of the rooms could now do with re-furbishing in particular all woodwork could do with re-varnishing and bathrooms re grouting, in saying that the rooms are kept very very clean by the cleaning staff and cannot fault them in there efforts to maintain a high standard throughout the complex.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEN084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,269
    1,107
    367
    146
    105
See reviews for
1,174
1,605
101
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We've just got back from a two week stay at the Sierra, and we loved it. This trip was our second time at this hotel, and our third stay in Sharm. The staff are always so polite, helpful, and work so hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, its hard not to love the place.
The food can get a little repetative, however, they have to cater for different nationalities and tastes, and you cant please everyone. But there are so many places to eat outside the hotel complex that you can always find something you enjoy. Soho Square has a good choice from Indian food to Chinese, and if you really want, you can even have take away delivered to the hotel. We were a little disappointed that the Foutain bar in Soho now only accepts your all inclusive band until 10p.m, after that you have to pay and it can get a little expensive if you have a large family group as we did.

We did notice that the mosquitos were quite bad this year but the pharmacy in the square can supply a great repellent called OFF. Once we used this we had no more problems, but if you have young kids i would advise to take a plug in mossie killer for you room, just as a precaution. Also, if you ask the guys that clean the rooms, they will happily spray your room when they clean it which should sort the problem. They are always really helpful and polite so dont be shy to ask. The rooms are kept spotless and the cleaners are honest guys, sometimes visiting twice a day just to check you are happy with the room and to see if you need anything else. Ive never had this in any other place i've stayed.

The animation team leaves alot to be desired to be honest. They seem very uninterested in what they are doing, very half hearted entertainment team, who are still using the same material as they did last year. The only time they seem to wake up is if they are organising a drinking night. These guys need a shake up!

Trips can be organised yourself through the hotel, at very reasonable prices too. You could book them through your holiday rep but you will find yourself paying slightly more, as the rep makes a commission on each booking. The Sharm diving club in the hotel grounds are a great bunch who are very fair and a great laugh, and they will be able to help with anything you fancy doing ie diving, boat trips, quad biking etc. I booked for my wife to swim with dolphins for our anniversary this year, and she came back absoloutley ecstatic with the experience. They also helped us arrange a private speed boat on the day which allowed to snorkel privately and the captain even took us to Tiram Island before all the other boats arrived.

I have to mention a few staff members who really went the extra mile to make the stay so good. In the main bar areas Lois, Mina, Adel, Mena, Botros, George and Amand. The restaurant staff are great, the reception staff and the spa guys.

Make sure you go visit Narma Bay too, the Hard Rock Cafe is excellent! Plenty of bars, the Camel and Rooftop bars are best, and loads of shops for those girlies who like to spend too. If the shop owners try to hassle you, say no and mean it, just keep walking.

We just want to say a massive thankyou to the Sierra for a fantastic holiday, and we look forward to staying with you again next year. We just love it and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, hassle free holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We returned from the Hotel Sierra two weeks ago. We got to the computer and decided to share our impressions. They are only positive. It all began with the settlement in the room. Everything went quickly and efficiently. Although it was already night, managers reacted very hospitable. Get a good number in villa 3, a beautiful view and white robes and slippers added in pleasure
Breakfast is normal for hotels. Fruit salad, cheese, a lot of cakes, eggs, tea, coffee, meats and sausages.
Beach 5 minutes walk. Take a walk through the morning sun is not difficult. Clean and well maintained. The magnificent coral reef and the enchanting underwater world beckons and draws. It is necessary to take flippers and mask for scuba diving
I recommend to buy a camera for underwater photography.
Lunch and dinner are in main restaurant. The choice of dishes is for every taste. Every one day offer ethnic dishes from around the world. Twice were even sushi)))
Swimming pool is clean, water is controlled several times a day.
Caring waiters constantly running around the pool, bring drinks, tea and coffee. Magnificent and well-kept garden!!!
Evenings wasn't boring. Beautiful singing fountains, shows, Latin dances.
Holiday was very good, I'll go to Sierra again!!!
Join us in our group on Facebook "The Official Sierra Sharm El Sheikh Resort" and welcome to the Official Page!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_LOVE_SIERRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We returned early this morning from the Sierra hotel in Sharm el Sheikh having spent the last 2 weeks enjoying the beautiful surroundings and fantastic hospitality. The hotel is well situated in the Sharks Bay area of Sharm i.e. not to close to Naama Bay but close enough to jump on one of the regular shuttle buses which run until round about midnight every day. The bus takes about 30 minutes to Naama and we visited 3 times during our stay. Naama is an experience but absolutley worth visiting, a good tip is to smile and stay relaxed and unfazed by the bombardment from the shop owners who can be in your face. We found that by simply telling them we were 'just looking' they backed straight off and allowed us to do just that. The hotel is really laid back and I loved the attention to detail and the luxurious quality of everything from the every half hourly fine water spray out of the parasols to cool you down to the fantastic pool bar. The staff are genuinley friendly, no resentment or attitude towards us as tourists (I have a strong radar for this as it's a pet hate!) in particular we found Louis, Emad, George and Malak really smiley, funny and consistently accomodating. There is a shuttle bus every half hour down to the beach which is gorgeaous although like most Sharm beaches, you aren't able to just walk into the sea because of the coral. This is a pain in the heat and when you just want to wade in to cool off. The area for development at the Sierra is the entertainment. The daytime entertainment is ok but the evenings were sorely lacking. The hotel is a stones throw from Soho square which is basically a good retail outlet with average entertainment thrown in at night. The hotel itself has minimal entertainment at night and we found this a let down. In essence though, we loved the holiday and would go back. I'd recomend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

stayed here for 2 weeks hotel was very nice and so was most the staff except the animation team they was a waste of time they did hardley anything but play the same cd all day the food was the same most nights rice chicken and pasta weather was gorgous the resort was a bit boring not a lot to do but pools beach and soho square and thats it not a lot for kids and entertainment poor was a bit fed up after a week

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debs091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We arrived back from 10 days in Sharm after an amazing holiday. Me and my girlfriend stayed in the Sierra hotel. Always clean, staff were always happy to help and very friendly. TIPS go a very long way for the holiday, we usually 10 egyptian pound (£1.20) every so often and got great attentative service and they remembered your face, bit "in it for the money" but if ou consider them only getting £100 a month for the work they actually do (12 hour shifts in the 40+ degree heat!) then you can't be suprised.

Food was great, there was a different theme each night, some were ok but just depends what you like. Breakfast was the same each morning but there was a lot to choose from. You recieve a free 50% off voucher for two restaurants in Savoy, we tried the Hot Rock, Bascially cooked your own stake on a...hot rock! It was real posh to the point of putting my beer in a champagne ice bucket, although i wouldnt go back to the restaurant without the 50% off, bit expensive, but worth it.

Entertainment in the hotel isnt the greatest but there is Soho square out the back of the hotel. Animation team are a bit forward/much.
Soho square is really good, Queen Vic and Fontana bar are all inclusive between certain times which s really good for chage of scenery from hotel bar.

Beach is a free bus ride from back of hotel, all inclusive bands used there, food and drinks. Water is GREAT for snorkelling off the jeti.

Pools, explore the grounds, there are 4 pools plus one indoor. Well worth looking round first day. Also there is always plenty of sunbeds so dont worry if you get up a bit late.

We did get a bit of the runs but was expected being in a foreign country with foreign food and 40+ degree heat. TIP: Drink LOTS of bottled or filtered water ALL day, dont get ice in your drink outside of the hotel, brush your teeth with bottled water (which two are suppied each day in your room).

Room: Fridge, tv, bottled water supplied daily, safe and very clean, cleaned every day.
Only thing missing (as my girlfriend says) is a full length mirror.

Thomas cook excursions are a bit pricey, but well worth it, Ras Mohammed snorkelling was very good but if you haven't got the money, buy snorkel from the shop in Soho square and go the beach, there is enough fish to see.

If you have a late flight going home, (miss your tea) then make sure you get some snacks for the airport as it is REALLY expensive, i.e. £9 for microwaved burger, chips and drink!!!

LISTEN very carefully to the staff on the plane and buses because it can be a bit confusing and scary when you get into the airport on arrival. If you want to go travelling outside of sharm (cairo) go left when entering the ternminal and obtain a visa, £10, if not turn right and go straight through passport control. If you change your mind you can get it from your rep, don't listen to them when they say it is difficult.

You are close to the airport but don't worry, we only hear the planes when they landed mainly and NEVER heard them in the room when the door was shut.

Take lots of insect bite repellant and afterbite, fumigation is done sunrie and sunset.

We will be going back soon so might see you there :o)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Ok so where shall I start?

We looked at tons of reviews to find the best hotel to stay in, Sierra had some great ones so thats where we went for, paying 600 quid each for all inclusive and flights for just under a week, booked through a travel agent 'best at egypt'.

We arrived at 6am! After being awake all night on the plane. And were told we couldnt check in til 2pm. Meaning we would have to sit around for 8 hours without being allowed any of the inclusive deals and therefore no sleep OR food until 2pm. Basically wasting one of our 5 days. After sitting around for an hour in the boiling sun (even at 7am) still in our travelling clothes, we asked if there was anything else we could do. They said we could pay an EXTRA 360 Egyption pounds for half a day (where we were only offered a 2 bedroom room instead of three and where we would have to move at 2pm) We agreed because there was literally nothing else we could really do.

It was a very annoying situation to be in and not a good start to the holiday. The member of staff on the desk was not very helpful with it and spoke quite bad English so was a difficult problem to resolve.

The rest of that day was brilliant. The main pool and the pool bar is really good and there were always plently of sun loungers so that was no problem at all.

When it came to the night, we were quite bored. Soho square is not particularly lively, and as 3 friends in our early 20's we were looking for some good nightlife to enjoy. But unless you have the money to spend, this isnt reeally an option. There were clubs we could go to and get a bus to Naama bay but this would cost an extra £20 english money plus drinks which were apparently very expensive, and we were just really broke so didnt have that to spend (Hense why we went all inclusive)

Despite what people say, Soho Square is not a lively nightlife kind of place. It is more of a quiet family entertainment place.

2 days in... we all got ill. My boyfriend got the least of it with just some diorreah and stomach cramps, our friend Andy got it quite bad in that we missed a snorkelling trip due to his stomach cramps which lasted 2 or 3 days which also made him feel quite sick, and I probably got it the worst. I got diarrhea on the Thursday (We arrived on the Monday) and I STILL have it now (After arriving home yesterday which was Sunday) I also had a headache, vomited once and felt very naucious as well as the awfully painful stomach cramps!!!

This could have been due to dehydration... and I was appauled that when in the middle of the night my friend Andy in a very ill and thirsty state went down to get some water from the fountins which they had turned off!! So he had to order some from reception which they said he would have to pay for as room service rates... even though they didnt even deliver it to the room. So we ended up paying 20 egyption pounds for a bottle of water (about £3 sterling) which to be honest was ridiculous considering its an all inclusive hotel, and he was really ill!!!!!! Plus in a three bedroomed room, they supply 2 small bottles of water a day. Which is clearly not enough.

Also, as a girl with two boys, I found a lot of the men quite rude and very leering, even some of the hotel staff, and my boyfriend got quite irritated once when one of the staff ignored him entirely and then said hello to me, because it was just very rude.

Overall, the hotel is very nice. The pool is great and the beach is really really good!!

But, illness was a huge problem, some of the men were a little over friendly, especially seeing as my boyfriend was stood next to me!!! The hotel did not supply enough water and check in was just a shambles!!!

Also, no free WiFi!! Which is a little behind the times.

To be honest, I'd go somewhere else. A country less likely to make you ill and where they rip tourists off a little less money wise.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorcha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Dear Sorcha88

Thank you for choosing the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh and posting your valuable review.

In regards to the entertainment there is live bands, singers, Tanora dancers and belly dancers etc inside the hotel. In Soho Square there is also evening shows on the stage. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle bus to Na’ama Bay which runs 5 times a day.

Regarding the sickness this can be caused by many factors : going from hot outdoors into a cold air-conditioned room, taking ice in the drinks or even just eating food that is different than what you normally have.

Concerning the water had you informed a member of staff that the water tank was empty then they would have been happy to refill it for your friend.

Once again thank you for staying at the Sierra Resort.

Kind Regards

Sierra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#44 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#65 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#73 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#68 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,098 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#19 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Address: SOHO Square, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#28 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#62 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sierra Sharm El Sheikh 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Sharm El Sheikh international airport and Na'ama Bay, the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh hotel is the perfect destination for those who want to explore the Red Sea and beyond or alternatively kick back and relax. The Sierra Sharm El Sheikh is superbly located next to Soho Square where you will find a variety of restaurants and bars, ten pin bowling, ice skating rink, the Ice Bar, daily entertainment shows and live bands. This is an exciting destination with enviable all year round temperatures.For more details please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sierra Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing