We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay at the Melia Sharm hotel”
Review of Melia Sinai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Sinai
Ranked #125 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our stay at the Melia Sharm hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had 2 weeks at this hotel Jan 2012 and have got to say the staff were absolutely fantastic couldn't do enough for you, the room was tidy but the bathroom was not to a high standard, The beds are very hard there's no spring in them at all and the grime round the bath had been there for sometime and the bathroom tended to flood when you had a shower or a bath from a plug on the floor under the sink we had to use towels to mop it up !! and also the heater on the air con didnt work even when the maintenance man had been to sort it !!! we ended up watching tv in bed to keep warm in the evenings, as the entertainment was zero apart from the Animation team performing for an hour and that was very amateur. The food on the buffet wasnt very good as we discovered we ended up with mild food poisoning which antibiotics rectified but it spoilt the first 4 days of our holiday, we ended up having our lunch at the O Grill and our evening meal at the Italian A La Carte which you have to pay for but at least we didnt get any tummy upsets!!. The towel attendants were superb and very funny which made our holiday and also Mohammed who worked for the Hotel organised all our ventures like quad biking, speed boat etc as the one day out we booked to go to St Catherines with the Thomas Cook rep got cancelled for some reason? Taxis arent that cheap and your better booking the taxi through your hotel as the taxis on the streets cost the earth and do get very angry if you question the price. All in all it was a pleasant holiday but not one that i would go to again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sinai, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Sheila,
Thank you for taking time to share your opinion about stay at Melia Sharm.
Please, accept my sincere apologize for some unexpected moments during your stay.
Unfortunatly, our A/C system haven't got heater as average temperature in the city is high.
Regarding entertainment we have alive music at the Lobby Bar 4 times per week and 40 min shows at the Disco Lounge also 4 times per week + one Karaoke evening.
Also in the main restaurant we offer buffet menu with 14 days rotation. Quality of the food is under regular control of special hygiene companies. Sometime some guests feel not comfortable with stomach due to change home country and taste local food, water, milk and ect.
Thank you once again for the feedback.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    286
    124
    71
    51
See reviews for
218
359
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

visited this resort for xmas and new year hotel is very nice in itself but the service was very poor around most of the hotel unless u tipped the staff, the food was of poor quality and very repetative and the birds visited the restaurant feeding on the salads and cakes mostly in the mornings and nobody bothers to do anything about it, the drinks were available 24 hrs but they all tasted the same, the mini bar in room only got filled if u paid and the tea and coffee facilities in the room had no milk and also never got replaced after use, the brouchure tells a different story to the hotel itself . this hotel has just been upgraded to a 5 star by thomas cook this is a joke no way is this hotel 5 star. there is a man who offers trips around the pool which are cheap but they are not worth the money u dont get what he says u do. big tip if u complain all the time u get better treatment we never complained officially to anyone in the hotel and its as if u not there best bit of the holiday was the fish in the sea

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sinai, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the not expected experience during your stay at Melia Sinai.
Your comments are very important to us, the positive comments give us motivation to keep up with the good work and the negative comments give us guidelines on how to improve our quality.
We took notes of your comments as these are very important points.
We will take necessary actions.
Regarding Birds, it's a common problem of the area. We are trying to find solution to solve the issue.
As per Mini Bar and Tea/Coffee Facilities refilling-according all inclusive formula we serve it one time upon arrival. If guest would like to refill mini bar, Room Service is available 24 hours.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistnat Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taranto, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

i was in melia in december i like this hotel and i will suggest to everybody ...we never fall alone everytime animators around us with games,and nice smile thanks all,the food is good,room very familiar and nice i love you all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugenia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sinai, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
Feedback of our customers is very important for us.
The positive comments give us motivation to keep up with the good work.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future,
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We went to this hotel 8/12/2011 for our 30th wedding anniversary. Disabled facilities are quite good. My wife took her electric scooter and she could go anywhere in the hotel on her own, However you would struggle with a self propelled wheelchair. There are two lifts that access all floors. We went out of the hotel and down to the local pharmacy with no problem. We had a disabled room. It had a good sized wet room although there was No! antislip flooring. We used damp hand towels on the floors to stand on for safety. The bed was very hard and a major fault with this room was an internal door to the next room that was occupied by a very energetic polish couple. (quite hard to sleep at times with the certain activities that were going on) The staff were very polite and the hotel was well maintained although some area's could do with a lick of paint or varnish. The food was quite good but was repeated over the holiday. Outside was stunning Swimming pools were excellent. Night time entertainment was done by the reps with the exception of the elusive Thomas Cook rep, She had been asked by the other reps if she would get involved but said she was not interested. I think this was very poor due to the occupancy that Thomas Cook had in the hotel. The only problem we had on this holiday was Thomas Cook we never saw the rep (ashleigh) for four days, Although she lives in the hotel and when we did she was completely useless and even quite rude. A letter of complaint longer than War and Peace has been sent but I will not hold my breath for a reply. From arrival to departure Thomas Cook were very very poor and it will be a very very long time before we use the services of Thomas Cook again, no wonder they are in trouble. I would go back to this hotel but only with another tour operator

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sinai, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Guest,
As I see from your comments you have been visited Melia Sharm Hotel.
Thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback.
From 1st of February we will implement new buffet menu with 14 days rotation and I hope you will notice more food variety at your next stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the near future,
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We were intrigued by the low prices this year because of the riots, so we decided to go at Melia Sinai. While I'm not discussing the price, this hotel pretends to have four stars, and let me say that is absolutely not the case. I will mention few things. We stayed for 11 days and twice during that time, when we returned at noon at our room, they had not cleaned it at all. They had not been there at all. But even when they "cleaned the room", they only made the bed and changed only towels, not the sheets. We complained but still no changing of sheets. Than we made a big fuss about it. They acted really really surprised, as if we were lying, and asked about our nationalities, which was completely irrelevant. I guess that was because german or british guests would be treated with much more care. Later that day we returned to the room, it was cleaned and for the first time we saw a towel sculpture. Needless to say it was too late for that. And than the guy who cleaned it, knocked at the door (even if the sign was "do not disturb") to say sorry for what happened and that he always changed sheets. He also said he was the only one in charge of cleaning, and sometimes he could not manage to clean all the rooms before noon.
We had a tour for Cairo from which we were to return at the hotel late in the evening, when the restaurant was closed. They knew they had to prepare something for dinner for us waiting at our room. They knew we were comming from a 6 hour long and very tiring drive. But they did nothing and their excuse was that the tour angecy didn't tell them specifically to do so. And they didn't want to do nothing about that. Only after a big fuss with the tour agency and threatening to complain harder, they managed to bring two lousy sandwiches.
Animation was also lousy. I only enjoyed the yoga class. I didn't try the beauty center but some guys with offers and catalogs bugged me every day. I was extremely irritated by them touching my nails or hair so as to explain their treatmens although I specifically told I was not interested. I guess they considered us europians "easy". The room was ok, but the furniture was old. The remote control of the tv was broken. They replaced it after our second complain.The food was ok, but too repetitive. The tried to cook some pasta but that was horrible.
As they lowered prices, many locals were now comming to this hotel, and they made such a big noise at the pool, but no one told them to be careful and to respect other people. The pools were too small and although they had one only for kids, they used the big pool instead.
So my advice, don't go to this hotel. It is not worthy. The only good thing about it was the location, the corals were breathtaking. I must mention their doctor also. Very polite and understanding, he assisted us on a little accident my husband had.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sinai, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and
I had sent a private email to you to show our commitment to guest satisfaction.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Great Hotel with Friendly staff and good facilities... Recommend All inclusive since there are no real restaurant or shopping facilities close by...
Great Snorkling and diving from Jetty

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
3 Thank LenanaOuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Very nice maintainance of our rooms, nice staff. Bad info on what was included in all inclusive and where we could get the different services. Lot of birds in restaurant. espesially at breakfast.
They were feeding on the wegetables and cakes. and you could see their dumpings on some tables. This should the hotel make an effort to get rid off.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
2 Thank Eikemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Melia Sinai, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Comments of our guests are very important for us and we take it very seriously.
I have shared your comments with management team. We will take necessary action in the restaurant, to ensure birds will not occur again in the future to any of our guests.
I look forward to welcome you back at Meliá Sinai,
Sincerely,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharm Resort & Spa
Sharm Resort & Spa
#85 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiran Island Hotel
Tiran Island Hotel
#103 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Shei...
#15 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Montazah
Coral Beach Resort Montazah
#137 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#87 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#7 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Sinai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sinai

Property: Melia Sinai
Address: Pob 154 - Montazah , Ras Nasrani, Sharm El Sheikh 154, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#107 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#110 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Sinai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Sinai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sharm El Sheikh
Melia Hotel Sinai
Melia Sinai Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing