We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Ranked #130 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Have just return from 11 days at the Mexicana. I loved it there.Staff very friendly, Good rooms i had no problems. Cleanliness was great. I was a bit quite at the hotel but to be honest i like it, at least i could get a sunbed. Food was good dont expect cordon bleu there was always plenty of choice. There was not much entertainment but was not a problem. Everyone must try the Spa. Was fabulous. Very reasonable prices and they are so friendly make you feel special. I have already booked to go again in March. I loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your warm review. It certainly was our pleasure to have you here in our resort your second home
Awaiting your return in December so that you may once again relax at the Mexicana Resort. Please contact us any time for assistance or any special request as it will be our pleasure to meet you again,

Regards
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    375
    198
    145
    115
See reviews for
244
459
71
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Good hotel and pleasant stay (not so disturbing "staff" like in other bigger Egyptian hotels). 10 minute walk from market - why do you need taxi? :-)

I can understand, that somebody who pays 1000 pounds for two people and for one week, is not so happy like we. We book Mexicana via Egyptian agent, so it was cheap (half board). It was enough.

Shuttle to beach - I recommend coral beach, the other one is bad, very bad - maybe only good for small children.

Shower in the room - not good working, but we were there only couple of days...

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarthyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your warm review. It certainly was our pleasure to have you here in our resort your second home
Awaiting your return in December so that you may once again relax at the Mexicana Resort. Please contact us any time for assistance or any special request as it will be our pleasure to meet you again,

Regards
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay, as usual, and will come back again to Mexicana.
It was so nice being back and seing familiar faces again: the staff is always welcoming and friendly.
They do try hard but you know what it's like: when there is a problem we want it fixed straight away... I've never had any problems before but this time my safety box only needed new batteries to work but it took days to get it sorted out!!
Still didn't change anything.
Love Mexicana

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your warm review. It certainly was our pleasure to have you here in our resort.
Awaiting your return so that you may once again relax at the Mexicana Resort. Please contact us any time for assistance in booking your next vacation as it will be our pleasure to meet you again,

Regards
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.c
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamsa, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

There must be something wrong (fishy) with all those 4 or 5 star ratings.It simply can not be that someone gives 5 or 4 stars for hotel liike this. THAT IS NOT POSSIBLE !!!

The food is bad, just bad. I have no other words for it. Not only the taste but also concidering the fact that my partner and I were sick for a couple of days. After we recovered we concidered that eating elsewhere was the best option, at whatever restaurant, as the risk could not be worse.

Mold in the bathroom, taps not working, sometimes no hot water, very unpolite reception, outside the hotel it looks like El Alamein was not that longtime ago. The area looks the same as 6 years ago when we also stayed there.

This hotel changed some time ago its name from Creative Mexicana to Mexicana Sharm Resort, I can gues why.

Actually it is a pitty, as the acomodation itself easily could be made a 4 star hotel (as it once was), if there were proper management , proper maintenance, proper..... everything.(gardens are lovely)

On the other hand I only can blame myself as I didn't check the reviews before I left.


DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS HOTEL !!

Room Tip: Book an other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IvSa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

Teignmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

we were there at the same time as kev and raine kent we had a fantastic holiday no problems with cleanliness in our room the staff were fantastic very polite and couldnt do enough for you and would make sure that you were ok outside of the hotel and i thought i would write as the horror stories we saw before we went and found not to be true on our vacation i have been to alot of places and had my best holiday to date at the mexicana hotel the breakfast and dinner was good the evening meal a bit ropey but thats to my personal taste and i will definately be using thi hotel in the future :)

Room Tip: by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at this hotel, and have to say it was brilliant.
Some reviewers on here seem to expect 5 star facilities at a 3 star price, but as far as this hotel is concerned it is definitely the staff that make it so warm and welcoming.

The food, without being to Gordon Ramsay standards is varied, and absolutely fine. At breakfast you wont get your bacon, beans, and sausages, but there is plenty of choice. I have a very English palette where breakfast is concerned and I was very happy with the scrambled egg, omelette, pancakes etc.

The hotel might need a lick of paint here and there, but the rooms are very clean. The other great thing was free aircon, and a mini bar/fridge.

We loved our stay at this hotel and left with heavy hearts, but we will definitely be returning when possible :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

In the past ten years I have stayed at hotels all over Sharm. My wife and I are keen scuba divers, we also like to go on excursions and see local towns and markets. In between these we love to spend relaxing times in a beautiful hotel, with stunning pool and well kept gardens, surrounded by polite, helpful staff who do everything they can to make you have an excellent holiday.
Of all the hotels we have stayed in, the Mexicana is the best and we have already booked to go back in 2014. The hotel is well placed for a 10 LE (£1!!) taxi ride to the old market or a 20 LE taxi ride to Naama Bay for busy shopping areas, nightlife and restuarants. You can get to Soho square for unde £5. The hotel is in a quiet safe street with supermarkets, chemists and off licences nearby. Avoid the trips from your travel reps at all costs. Use the hotels own trip organiser but haggle hard. The food in the hotel is different each day and there are always good thinngs to eat. Great omlettes, fried eggs at breakfast, cereals, toast, fruit etc, good soups and sandwich making mateials at lunch, in addition to local dishes. Pasta dishes are made fresh while you watch at lunch and dinner. There is barbequed food every evening as well as a roast of the day and many other things. The deserts need more sugar for western tastes, but we cured this by taking some caramel and chocolate auces toppings to dinner on our last visit. They make the lgihtest fluffiest cakes though.
The rooms were big, clean and ours has always had a lovely balcony. The soft drinks and beers are fine, but we weren't too fond of the low quality local spirits from the bar. The wine was ok if you mixed red and white to give a palatable rosey.
What really makes this hotel are the staff, the beautiful pool areas (there are two pools) and the location (quiet when you want peace but near to the beaches, shops and nightlife and waterparks and excursions). For the best watersports and diving, call Rami at Action Sports. actionsportsharm@gmail.com +20126562227.
The Mexicana is not 5 star and it does not charge five star prices. In our opinion this is the very best hotel for the money in the area. Friends of ours who have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels say it is better than many hotels that are MUCH more expensive. We cant wait to go back next July.

Room Tip: Go for rooms near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AliHudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#79 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#161 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amar Sina Village
Amar Sina Village
#134 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#109 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xperience St. George Homestay
Xperience St. George Homestay
#49 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,478 reviews
10.1 mi away
Aurora Cyrene Resort
Aurora Cyrene Resort
#84 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexicana Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexicana Sharm Resort

Property: Mexicana Sharm Resort
Address: Om El-Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#79 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mexicana Sharm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mexicana Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexicana Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Mexicana Sharm El Sheikh
Creative Mexicana Egypt
Creative Mexicana Sharm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing