We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An "okay" resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Sharm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Delta Sharm Resort
Ranked #193 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An "okay" resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you're used to 4 star hotels in the Gulf region, then this hotel would be the equivalent of a 2.5 star. Some of the staff are helpful while others are in the main, ambivalent.
Our room was 'okay' and despite being set up as self catering, there were no cutleries, cups, plates etc provided in the room.
Meals are included in the rate, but depending on where you're placed, it can be as much as half an hour's walk to the reception....buggies are provided, but you may have to walk for a while.
Service at the reception is quite slow and one gets the feeling the staff aren't quite quite incompetent.

All in all, the hotel it isn't a location I would care to stay again, although Sharm all sheikh is beautiful city with loads to see / do and we definitely intend to go back there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception / restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AzDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    276
    141
    91
    100
See reviews for
250
344
35
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I liked the style of the streets inside delta sharm, flowers everywhere and well organized, yet the accommodations weren't that good. It's just moderate in everything, the rooms are simple not luxurious, the service isn't that good, house keeping's response is not fast at all, the curtains were half taken off, the chairs in the balcony were broken. Yet the view from the balcony is awesome. The guys at the club house is friendly, you have to know Chef Sami, he's a decent chef and makes awesome pasta (just tell him i'm Dr.Bahaa's friend ;) ).. The food is good taking in consideration the low prices of the hotel.

A very important advice, you have to go to friends cafe at night, the awesome Oud play starts at 9 everyday. Fish restaurant is cheap, when i was there it would cost only 10$ to get a good meal.

If you're looking for awesome luxurious stay in Sharm, don't go for Delta. If you want a moderate service, quality and prices, it would be a good choice.

Enjoy your vacation :)

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a good air conditioner, make sure it's not noisy. And pick the rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahaa_Shaaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

2012 year. It was trouble time for travelling to Egypt but anyway we were there. The staff of egyptian hotels are always too much friendly and reliable but at the same time lazy unfortunately. We enjoyed the tour excursions and swimming in Red Sea.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lezzete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at Delta Sharm for 10 days (April 19th-29th) 3 adults booking a 2bed Suite, All Inclusive.
We arrived and checked in and were offered a soft drink in reception, swiftly dealt with, and upgraded free to a 3bed Delux Suite, we were driven in a golf buggy to our apartment, where Mohammed was lovely, showing us all around and putting the air con on in every room.. The apartment was huge! Master bedroom had an ensuite bathroom, it's own balcony, and very spacious, then there were 2 other bedrooms with twin beds in each, and a separate bathroom. A large living room with open plan kitchen (although nothing in the cupboards except one glass and 4 small cups?!) A fridge freezer, a broken kettle, and an oven (that didn't work). There were also 2 tv's, one in the master bedroom, and one in the living room, that had over 100 channels, many English speaking, and plenty of movie channels to choose from. Thank goodness, as we ended up watching about 2 films a night! Not much else to do!

Our first mornings impressions were great. The grounds and gardens were impeccable, gardeners constantly working in very hot sun, for no doubt very little pay. Amazing.

The impressive 12 swimming pools seemed to be at every turn..all very clean and very appealing. Our apartment was in block N1, which overlooked a lovely pool area and had a swim up bar, serving drinks from 10am - 5pm. Alcohol only from 11am, very strict rules to that.
The animation team brought life to the pool, with music and games, aerobics, morning yoga, darts etc.. Jessie & Tash are lovely girls, who both took time to chat with us every day. Also the guy who took the yoga was so energetic and a good teacher.

The towel guy Walid, was so lovely, nothing was too much trouble to make us happy, we moved sunbeds 3 times one morning, each time he came over and moved our towels and umbrella for us.. also reserved our beds for us each day, he was a gods send. Well done Walid, I hope the Manager reads my comments!

The bar staff at N1 pool, really made our holiday fantastic.

Ehab & Aleem, were so friendly, really trying hard to speak English, taking time to chat every day, always smiling, even after working 12 hour shifts..and dealing with the many rude Russians that didn't know the meaning of please or thank you! They are a credit to the hotel, and will remain good friends. Thanks guys!

We were on All Inclusive, so we had food in the main restaurant, which was fine, obviously you are in a Middle East country, you pick and choose the food you like out of what is offered. There was usually something for everyone, breakfast was 'interesting' I've never had mash potato for breakfast, always a first time apparently! The Danish pastries and croissants were lovely and fresh though, honey & jam with them was nice. Juice, tea & coffee etc. it was sufficient enough to start your day. They also did fresh omelettes at the cook station.
Staff in the restaurant were all lovely, always a hello and a smile, would pull out your chair, carry your coffee over.. Nothing too much trouble. Well done.

We usually waited until the 3pm-4pm time slot for the all inclusive snacks for lunch, which are now served in the newly opened Fish House. A choice of around 6 small portioned lunches, including pizzas, spaghetti, burger, hotdogs, with chips, one snack per person only.

We absolutely loved the food there, and always looked forward to it. Table service, and drinks in proper glasses! What a luxury! The staff as always on the complex, were outstanding. Anything to please. The front of house waiter was lovely (sorry I forget his name) but we built quite a rapport and always had a chat and a joke with him. Hope he does well in his new position at Fish House.

We tended to eat in the Friends Bar restaurant in the evenings, although it isn't all inclusive, it's so cheap, and really nice food there, the pasta dishes are lovely! Eating while overlooking the main pool was great. Free wifi there too, and the bar to sit in afterwards. Again, staff.. excellent. Always friendly, always happy to do anything to make you comfortable. Only slight criticism would be the tiny plastic cups for the drinks, I understand for hygiene reasons, it's better to have disposable glasses, but please, we are adults, just make them bigger! Two mouthfuls of beer, and you find yourself queuing up again 10 minutes later, slightly annoying!

There wasn't much going on at night, we tended to eat early, the sun set by 6:30pm anyway.. and the mossies come out to play! That's if they escape their nightly gassing, which would almost extinguish life itself! We were caught in the clouds of daily pesticide a couple of times, which was not a nice experience. I'm sure health & safety in the UK would have something to say if it happened here! It can't be good for humans to breath that in I'm sure!

We ventured out to Delta Beach once. Once was enough.
You are literally not allowed to bring any outside food or drinks with you, and are rammed onto sunbeds which are closely in rows, even sardines would likely complain for room! There is a small stretch of beach belonging to your hotel and the sea is roped off leaving not a lot of swimming room.. Meanwhile as nearly the only English people that day, we were constantly stared at by what seemed like gangs of Egyptian men everywhere. It was very odd, and slightly uncomfortable. We bought a couple of bottles of beer, as there was no alcohol for AI guests there, although it came in an ice bucket to keep cool, which was a nice touch. We only stayed a couple of hours before heading back poolside.

I didn't feel entirely at ease out of the hotel grounds, there were a lot of check points with armed policemen, reminding you that you're in an unstable country, and all it's recent problems. The rest of the area looked like a ghost town.

We enjoyed our 10 days, lazing in the sun, swimming, eating & drinking, and resting, which in my case was what the Dr ordered! Then came our time to leave... that's another story!

Cases packed, the rules were to vacate your apartment by 12 noon, we rang reception for a golf buggy to transfer us and our luggage, sat and waited.
A tall guy came in, took the room key, towel cards, and said in very broken English, "I check room". Ok fair enough, we had left if clean and tidy, as you do.

What happened next was beyond belief. He started literally pulling all the sheets off every single bed. He called my husband into the master bedroom and was examining the pillow cases!? I followed, asked what the hell he was doing! He kept pointing at a couple of marks on one pillow case saying "here and here.." I said yes? Wash.. it's laundry! I think there was a slight mark from some mascara not being completely removed, but our bedding hadn't been changed in the whole 10 days, so if course they would need washing! Very very odd.

He continued into my Mother in laws room, examined the mattress, every sheet and pillow case. She was extremely embarrassed. It was totally out of order to do that to an elderly lady.

He continued his spree of investigations, and collected all the towels from both bathrooms, dumped them on the floor and proceeded to examine each one! We had had showers that morning and they were wet towels, I wasn't sure what he was trying to find?

At that point I had had enough. I got very angry, he kept saying "no problem, no problem" I said, yes! Big problem!!! It's disgusting that you're examining our laundry, but he couldn't even understand a word I was saying, and worse, didn't care!

I got on the phone and rang reception. I demanded he was told to take us and our luggage there immediately.

I was completely mortified, humiliated and extremely angry at what had just happened to my family. And demanded to see the General Manager.

We were asked into his office, where he could not believe what I was telling him! He got very angry, calling the guy stupid and that it should not of happened, and apologising profusely. He also said the guy would be sacked for his behaviour. He offered us a lift in the hotels private car to the airport, and we then left. We accepted his apology, and reassurances that the guy would be dealt with.

However. I have read through quite a lot of reviews of this hotel since my return yesterday, and have found evidence of this before. January 4th 2014, there is a review that the people involved were taken into a room with 4 male staff members to explain marks on their bedding, and a cigarette burn on a duvet, which they didn't do. They also felt threatened.

So I'm assuming this was not a one off experience. Is this hotel procedure?! I would like to know!
Was the General Manager already aware of this practise? Did he really sack the guy?
Hmm. I wonder.

We won't let the one incident cloud our holiday at Delta Sharm, we had a lovely time, met some lovely people.

Would we go back? I'd have to say no.

Sorry Delta Sharm, treatment like that does not entice customers to return!
And in the days of 50% less tourism, I should think you'd do anything to keep up coming back!

Room Tip: Block N1 is next to a lovely pool with swim up bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rockchic65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I love freedom, this is what Delta Sharm is all about. You rent your appartamento for 1 week or whatever time you want it and then you are free to do as you please. You can take a 'tuf' to Naama Bay or Old Market or wherever and eat out in a lot of delicious places as El Masrien or wherever. This is not a hotel, you rent an appartment and only get bed sheets. You have a bed room and kitchen, big nice swimming pool, you can prepare your breakfast at home or eat out. Try the cappuccino and brioche at Napoli Cafe one of the shops at the front entrance, delicious!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Yves D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at this resort as a family of 4, our room was comfy, clean and housekeeping were great. Our air-con didn't work effectively when we arrived, however within 1/2 hr it was fixed. The animation team were fab and involved everyone who wanted to join in - whether they were adults or children. They couldn't do enough to ensure that we all had a fab time - we 'oldies' even went to the beach foam party and didn't feel,out of place!! They made our girls' holiday, thank you guys!!
The resort is well maintained and friendly, they are in the process of tidying it up, having recently had flooding due to rain. The family restaurant offers a selection of foods for every meal, and the staff are friendly, polite and very helpful. The fish restaurant, which will be opening in the next few day will be a great asset to the resort, and Mokhtar will be great as front of house. The supermarket is within the resort and you can pick up bits you might need. Having read reviews before our holiday, we were bemused that some people felt it too far to walk to the shop, etc, this we believe would only be true if you were the kind of person who needs to get in the car to drive 5 minutes down the road! Get out and walk in the beautiful resort and sunshine. Would recommend this resort, excursions are easy to arrange with reps, we thoroughly had a relaxing and enjoyable time.

Room Tip: We requested a sea view, which we got. We had a suite with 2 bedrooms, ideal for a family with older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagnshoes2match
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

When I go to sharm if I want to go self catering I always chose delta, the complex is like a little village with beautiful gardens that are well kept and everything is so clean and tidy.,everything is there that you need cafe,supermarket,chemist, hairdressers, taxi and gym and security guards that makes you feel safe .the staff are so friendly and make you feel welcome.
the apartments are nice too with everything you need with lovely pool views on your doorstep.
I would definitely recommend to friends .

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Macaroo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.1 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#80 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
2.0 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#100 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Xperience St. George Homestay
Xperience St. George Homestay
#45 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sharming Inn Hotel
Sharming Inn Hotel
#144 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amar Sina Village
Amar Sina Village
#134 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
1.5 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#4 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Sharm Resort

Property: Delta Sharm Resort
Address: Um El seed Cliff Crossing Main Rd & Tower Rd | Hay El Nour, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#103 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#132 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Sharm Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on extensive lush, landscaped grounds, Delta Sharm Resort offers apartments with a TV and a sitting area. Facilities include an outdoor pool with a waterfall and water slides. The air-conditioned studios and apartments of Delta Sharm are decorated with elegant wooden furniture and large windows. All studios and apartments have a private bathroom. Room service is available. Guests can enjoy traditional Egyptian dishes as well as international dishes at Delta Sharm Resort’s restaurant. The bar serves a variety of drinks and refreshments, including freshly prepared cocktails. Delta Sharm Resort’s spa offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments, including massage services. The resort also has a sauna, a gym, and a children’s playground. The Sharm el-Sheikh International Airport is 10 miles from Delta Sharm Resort, and Naama Bay is only 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Delta Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Delta Sharm Egypt
Delta Sharm El-Sheikh
Sharm El-Sheikh Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing