We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top marks”
Review of Island View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island View Resort
Ranked #73 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“top marks”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel is amazing, i've been there two times & enjoyed both visits! The food is great 5/5, the general hotel aspects 5/5! Staff are very welcoming especially the staff in the Victoria bar, there always there to help. After your friends with them there great, you can sit around with them like there family. The hotel is seconds away from soho square, the dancing water is great' a must see. The rooms are lovely, everything is always so clean! My favorite thing was the cocktails they were very creative, they sounded weird but when you taste them there lush & sweet\! The hotel is maintained in a good standard mostly because everyone pitches in on cleaning. The maids are great & friendly like everyone else & they keep your room clean alllll the time... The daily entertainment has always kept its standards, the animation team always make sure no one is left out. \This is what i would do in One day, have breakfast then go to the pool then do darts & go on the slides then have pizza & chips at 11am(i think it was that time) then go back in the pool then have lunch, then go on the slides, then go & get icecream(all flavours includes mango!) then go back to my room to get changed then go for tea at 7 then go for a bit of shopping then come back & watch the entertainment then sit in the victoria bar or reception have drinks & talking!!! all that in one day but beleve me there is more then that to do at the sunrise island view! THIS IS FOR THE PERSON WHO WAS ASKING ABOUT WIFI, I DONT THINK IT HAS WIFI BUT YOU AN BUY INTERNET CARDS! HOPE THIS HELPED<3

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear Emma,

Thankyou for your delightful review. We're glad you like the hotel and your description of a standard day gives a great idea for future guests as to what is available.

The only question is.................when will you return?

As always, those with questions, please contact me directly on rachel.glennerster@islandview-egypt.com

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,271
    748
    292
    127
    68
See reviews for
932
842
48
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We ( husband wife and 2 kids aged 9 and 6 ) travelled to island view at beginning of August and this review is our opinion. Good things first.
1) animation team, brilliant activities that went in through the day and night and the amphitheatre made the evenings entertainment great, and as a bonus me and Mrs D were best couple of the resort. Special mentions to Abbie and Mykey. They were great and contributed to a great holiday.
2) staff and waiters. meals times weren't the best as you will read later, however the staff could not do enough for the English. We are very very complimentary and special thanks to Saad who made sure we didn't have to get a drink ourselves.
3) The beach and Snorkling, Snorkling in the red sea is brill, so much to see and Island Views beach was great, kids can build sandcastles and splash around in the sea. I mention this as we went to Sharm a few years ago and the resort had a beach but you couldn't walk in as it only had a pontoon.
4) Soho square, this was just outside the resort and if you wanted to walk round at nights shopping you did not get harassed by the locals, great shops, musical fountains and bargains.
5) People we met, when we arrived the English population was pretty much none existent so the few that we're there we all made sure we stayed together. The friends we met made the holiday great

BAD THINGS

1) Food, we found the food to be catered more for the Europeans and certainly not for children, our diet for the 2 weeks consisted of rice, bread and pasta.
2) Russians, what a set of rude people, not all of them just 99%. Food times ended up at times becoming very aggressive as they pushed in, had no manners. my wife and I lost our patience on more than 4 occasions which isn't ideal on a family holiday. Like I say, some were ok.
3) the hotel was ok, but it's currently going through lots of renovation, we didn't see\hear any of it so they are doing a good Job to carry the work out whilst guests are there.

I think this is it for now. When more English operators have access to Island and when renovations are complete it will be a fantastic resort.

Please don't think that with the negative comments we didn't enjoy ourselves, the two weeks was one of the best holidays we have had, great for kids, Abbie was great and Mykey too.

Our opinion only, would recommend

Mr and Mrs D
t dog
Leah
Leeds

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank waynedyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs D,

Kindest regards from the Island View Resort.

We're glad overall you enjoyed your stay with us. You'll be glad to hear the British market is picking up for the winter and Abbie continues to introduce couples and families to each other to ensure the kids always have someone to play with!

I will pass on you comments about Saad (truly the opposite of his name!) and Abbie and Mykey and we hope to see you back soon.

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Me and my friend Keely came here for a ten day holiday on the 10th of July! We were both really impressed from the impressions we got as soon as we got of the coach, the staff were brilliant they greeted us as soon as and shown us the reception to check in etc.. They shown us to our room, which was lovely and clean, it was really nice, big and spacious.. The food buffet, was really nice and none of us ever got ill off any of the foods! The buffet area was bigger than I expected tbh, they had good varietys too.. Although they catered alot for the russians and ukranians! The pool bar staff were really nice, there were a few other bars a 24 hour bar upstairs near the reception and there was one called hollywood cafe aswell, which was near the aphitheatre where the entertainment was.. All in all the hotel was brilliant, and there is so many things to do morning until night the animation team love to keep you busy whether its playing darts, table tennis, doing aqua gym! They love to see a smile on your face.. The night time entertainment was also good too! We loved the comedy shows, The animation team love to take you out with them, me and my friend didnt really go out as we only went for a relaxing holiday but i promise you guys next time we're back we will paint naama bay red ;) I would like to say a big special thanks to Shiko the animation DJ who was really nice to speak too, we spoke to him quite alot.. Abbie (the essex girl) Shes brilliant, she loves getting you up to do her aqua gym and waterpolo.. And gigiiiiii I would like to say a big thankyou to you for making our holiday one to remember! A big thankyou to you all.. We will definatly be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stace_OX_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Greetings from Egypt,

Thank you for leaving a Tripadvisor review for us, we are happy to see you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to helping you paint the town red on your next stay!

I will pass all your comments onto the concerned heads of department and mentioned staff including our animation team who really are working hard every day to ensure our guests are kept busy and have a good stay.

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
accrington
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Firstly, i would like to start by saying the hotel was fantastic!!! A big, big thank you goes to Rachel and Tracey for helping us out when we had a few problems. You are both stars!!! Abbie, what a gem, always making sure we were happy!! The staff at the hotel were fantastic and looked after us so well. In particular Mohammed ( who worked in the small restaurant) Amhr, Mamoud, Said and Rabee. They certainly put a smile on our faces and we put a smile on their faces too. The food was good and always lots of it. We enjoyed our time at the a la carte restaurants Famtimas, the fish was excellent. The Italian was amazing, especially as it was our Anniversary and they came out with a big cake for us. Thank you!!
The rooms were alittle outdated but we were happy with them. The pools were excellent, especially the adult pool, always a sunlounger!! The hotel grounds were idilic. The jetties on our beach were out of this world. The fish, WOW!! We went snorkling nearly every day.
Soho Square was amazing, especially the fountain. It was right on our door step, which we often visited,especially at the nightly enteratinment around the pool catered for Russians.
Lastly, what spolit the hotel was the RUSSIANS. I cannot believe how rude, ingorant and full of themselves they are. They jump queues, have NO manners, don't smile and have no manners for the staff!!!!! Unfortunately, this has not put us off returing to the hotel, but PLEASE make this a British hotel again. Dev ( hotel manager) you a star, please bring back a British contract.
All in all, we had an amazing holiday, weather, hotel, staff, trips were unforgettable. We will be back, BUT maybe in a couple of years.
Thank you Island View Resort for everything.
Love Gaynor and Danny ( Accrington)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Gaynor and Danny,

Many many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us and for the nice comments you have left.

It was our pleasure to have you in the hotel and we're glad you had a good anniversary and we managed to make it special for you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed here back in 2010, fantastic hotel, can anyone tell me if the hotel now has wi-fi, I want to go back this year but I need wi-fi, internet access is very important, if a member of staff can answer this question it would be helpful.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Lee,

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. I have sent you a private message with the requested information.

Please email me on rachel.glennerster@islandview-egypt.com if you have any further questions.

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I visited egypt with my mum in Sept 2010 i was that pleased with the holiday that i took my boyfriend the following year (sept 2011). The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The animation team were fantastic the 1st year, not as good the 2nd year but was still pleased. The setting was lovely, really clean, always doing the gardens. Fantastic aminities own beach and jetty out to the sea., Resturants were fantastic too. Rooms lovely we upgraded to a suite! Only problem on our last stay (sept 2011) the water was cold but it seemed a problem accross alot of rooms and there were trying to fix the problem. Tried to rebook again for this year but you are remodernising so are closed. But will definitly visit again when you reopen? Which is when? Thank you for a fantastic holiday 2 years running!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19xxxx22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Hello from Egypt and many thanks for your kind review regarding your last stay.

We very much look forward to greeting you once again in the hotel under our new management and name.

The hotel is in fact open and running business as usual (we're full) and we are awaiting further plans for our renovation.

Those with questions are welcome to contact me on rachel.glennerster@islandview-egypt.com

Many thanks again
Rachel Glennerster
Quality manager
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

Hi, well i shall start by saying the facilities in this hotel are excellent and the staff are also awesome...(thanks to all the staff they were great) also many thanks to tracey, rachel and abbie for all your help, you made are holiday great, thanks! Animation team were great throughout are stay, they are always doing something :) going to miss abbie she's one to get you playing waterpolo...great fun!
The food was good, there is something for everybody. One night we had a meal at fatima's restaurant down by the beach and what can i say the food was excellent here, very nice setting but make sure you get by a fan because jeez its too hot, but that should not deter you from eating here!
The rooms are ok, they are having a major refurb at the end of this year so that will surely see the rooms upgraded a little, but your only there to sleep anyway so its not like its a major problem.
Lastly, i cant actually get over how rude, ignorant and disrespectful the russians are in this hotel..they jump ques, pile food on plates like there is no tomorrow, and then just leave it...they dont have any manners! No please/thankyou, so disrespectful, i had a run in with 2 russian people having to tell them to get to the back of the que and wait like everybody else.
On the whole this hotel is fantastic, all the staff, the food, animation team....I will not let the rude, ignorant russians deter me from returning to this hotel.
We all had a great stay, thanks everyone
Danny, wendy, john and ellie-may from liverpool
See you all next year x

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Danny and family,

Thanks for youre review. Im glad you had a good time with us and hope you got home safe and sound.

I will pass your comments onto all concerned and we look forward to seeing you for your next stay.

P.S - Abbie says hello

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#62 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#44 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,064 reviews
8.6 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#56 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Look Hotels International
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Lo...
#104 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Garden Resort
Island Garden Resort
#111 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
#48 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Property: Island View Resort
Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#71 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Island View Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the splendid Shark Bay with its own house reef you will find in this "Ultra All - Inclusive" 5 star (country category) Resort everything you wish. The four large pool areas, the splendid arranged garden, with water falls and canals, the spaciously designed rooms and junior suites are the ideal venues for your family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Island View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Island View Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sunrise Island View Egypt
Hotel Sunrise Island View
Sunrise Island View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing