We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Island View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island View Resort
Ranked #72 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Feltham, Middlesex United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was my 3rd visit to Sharm and although not the best layout, certainly the best staff.

Lovely views and beach, although an up-hill struggle to get back, could do with a shuttle bus to beach. The gardens are beautiful and tended by dedicated gardeners.

Pools clean with no problems getting sunbeds or umbrellas, they also have the added bonus of life guards.

Eco friendly with the bed linen and towels, as in you leave a card on your bed if you do not want your linen changed every day and lets face it, who needs a daily change of bed linen?
Air conditioning very good, hair dryer in the bathroom and bottled water left in your room each day.

Would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room, however, there was a supermarket opposite so was able to buy orange juice etc to start the day.

Our only gripe was the spa (which is not run by the hotel), my friend and I bought a salt and chocolate skin treatment followed by a massage. The treatment left our skin feeling years younger ( and still does 2 weeks later) and the massage was fabulous, courtesy of Rusha and Marwa. Our gripe is that men were strolling around when we were expected to walk around in our pants. I found this particularly offensive and very nearly left half way through.

We were invited to a cocktail hour to share our views with management regarding our impression of the hotel. They obviously have plans to improve where they can and are not complacent.

All staff were friendly, polite and could not do enough for us, however, the staff who we had the most contact with and made our holiday complete are as follows...

Pool bar staff...Walid, Mahmoud and all the boys who kept us supplied with our favourite drinks.

Pool 1...Mustafa looked after us for the first few days until he went for a well earned rest to Cairo, nothing was too much trouble, lovely chap. As he left, came the arrival of Ali and his whistle, again, nothing was too much trouble keeping everyone amused. Mohamed was the lunch time relief and again, nothing was too much trouble.

Cleaner...Mahmoud kept our room fresh and clean and was available if we needed anything.

Entertainment... If you have children, you won't find a better person than Kash to entertain them, lovely man, so kind and gentle with them. Vicky, Charlene and Mido also provide great entertainment and a chat during the day with information if needed, they really tried hard to make us feel welcome (which we did)

Restaurant... The food is amazing, if you cannot find something that you like, there is something wrong with you. Extensive choice of freshly cooked/prepared food with senior staff on the floor making sure that all is well.
Mohamed (on the kids side) looked after us with such care, we saw him at every meal time, he brought our drinks including a lovely mint tea when my friend was struggling with her asthma and lemon tea for her hay fever, what a lovely man. Islam had our tea and coffee ready for us after every meal time on the patio, again, such a lovely man. Abdel who made our omelettes was a delight to see each morning and not forgetting Essam (manager) who was keen to care for our London sparrows who have gone on a permanent holiday to Egypt (David Attenborough would be proud).

Overall, a lovely stay, the hotel has a wonderfully friendly feeling and all staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    756
    295
    127
    70
See reviews for
945
846
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Have been to Sharm many times and have always been sad to leave. This year was no exception. We spent 11 nights at the Island View and hope my honesty will help anyone deciding whether or not to stay here. The hotel grounds are kept immaculate by a hard working group of happy, grinning gardeners who deserve a big thank you. The rooms are tired but once again kept beautifully clean by courteous cleaners who asked each day if the room was good - thanks guys! The pools are also kept clean and inviting with happy smiley Life Guards - we were looked after by Mostafa and Ali at pool 1 - both fantastic guys who took their responsibilities seriously but were always able to have a bit of fun. I am certain the other Life Guards were exactly the same but we tended to stay around pool 1 during the day. The beach and pontoons offered the amazing experience of snorkelling in the Red Sea - once done never forgotten! ( Maybe the Russian lady vomiting into the sea was something to avoid though...!!) The food is great and ALL the chefs and kitchen workers work tirelessly to produce a good variety of fresh, tasty dishes day after day. The egg men who made me delicious omelettes daily were always cheerful and fun. Our visits to Fatimas and the Italian were both incredible - fabulous food and brilliant service. The animation team deserve a big thank you - all of you work exceptionally long hours with big smiles, thank you especially to Charlene and Vicky who went out of their way to ensure we had the best experience possible.
I guess no review of this resort is complete without mentioning the Russians .... they didn't spoil our stay but to be blunt need to learn some manners. I felt some treated the staff as servants - especially the bar and waiting staff. My son held the main restaurant door open for about 10 of them without even a nod or smile from one of them!! Having said that we made some good Russian friends despite the huge language barrier. Their culture is so very different to ours, we shouldn't tar them all with the same brush - after all we all have seen embarrassing rude Brits abroad!
I hope the Island View manages to continue to appeal to UK travellers, it would be a shame if it became a preserve of the Russians.
Would I return? Yes - says it all really!

Room Tip: If you have specific requests email Shellie Wilson prior to travelling. She made sure we had rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flygal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was my 5th time in egypt and 4th in Sharm- also the best holiday ive ever had in sharm. The hotel is wonderful with great views and landscaping and the staff are all charming and friendly, i especially rate the cooks, in particular the omlete, pasta and pancake men as they always make friendly conversation and recognise you over rude russians who push and shove to the front of ques. Although it is a mainly russian filled resort you never feel out numbered or of less importance due to the outstanding animation team -the only real reason im on trip advisor is because they are so good. Vicky, Charlene, Dennis, Mido, Cash and Dee- who is from the sister hotel Island Garden- all make so much effort with guests and despite long working hours continue to make you giggle and have an excellent time well after working hours in the clubs around the resort. cannot rate them highly enough, wonderful bunch of people. Charlene, je n'ai pas oublié de vous écrire un petite message française- J'espère qu'il n'est pas trop chaud,prendre bien soin de vous. Tu nous manques beaucoup x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2016
Dear Ruby L,
Thank you for choosing the Island View Resort for your recent holiday and for your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you well.
Once again thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor and we sincerely hope to welcome you back.
Best Regards,
Tatiana Sayfutdinova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Seventh time in sharm, mainly due to sun, smiling hotel staff giving very good service, pretty fishies, distance to fly etc,
Overall this place is reasonably good vfm, the staff are ace (ok one or two need a kick) but if you were paid what they are and you could do the hours you would need a kick too!!
Only real problem is the Ruskies, some real rude ones too, Puking into the sea around the pontoons, pushing and shoving in restaurant ques etc, not all though there are a few that are good as gold.
Rooms and general hotel getting a bit shabby here and there but some areas rebuilt and looking very good.
Staff all look for you to put their names on tripadvisor as it keeps them employed, this seems quite unfair as it does not sing the praises of some of the quieter crew that make this place good ( gardeners, omelet makers housekeeping etc)
My summary, Probably will return to sharm if its not a totally Ruskie resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about you stay with us here in sunny Sharm.

I am sad to see that you rated us only average especially as the staff worked so hard to ensure you had a good stay. However your points will be taken on board in order to improve our services and facilities in the future.

With regards to staff losing their jobs if they are not mentioned on the internet this is not true at all. However, we do ask out staff to promote the internet review sites in order for you to help us reach our target of being one of the most popular hotels in Sharm El Sheikh!

We would love to welcome you back again to our resort in the near future in order to see any changes and improvements we have made.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was the second time we had visited Island View hotel and it was just as good this year as last year, probably better! The weather was amazing and all the staff in the hotel are so lovely and nothing is too much for them. The bar staff and restaurant staff make sure you have a good service and always make you smile. The animation staff make our holiday one to remember, they are all so lovely and go out of their way to make sure you have a good time and join in with fun activities. Vicky, Dennis, Charlene, Cash and Mido went out of their way to ensure we always had a smile on our faces, and always asked us to go out with them to the clubs in Sharm which made the holiday more memorable. Can't wait to go back next year! Very nice x x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is the 7th hotel I've stayed in in sharm so let's get the bad bits out of the way rooms are tired and need modernising but as we spent very little time in our room except for sleeping it wasn't a problem for us as the beds were changed every day along with clean towels etc , evening meals in the buffet restaurant could have more choice but always something to eat .
People mention the Russians and yes they do outnumber Brits by about 20 to 1 but no problem they don't smile or try to communicate much but accept it it's their culture what I will say they do keep the pool areas spotlessly clean and wherever you go on holiday there are many Russians because like us they enjoy the sun also the fact that there were so many Russians brought the Brits together and made some good friends and had some laughs in what the Egyptians called the English corners
Now the good bits the British are treated like royalty in this hotel nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff who always have a smile for you and cannot do enough to help ,the location is brilliant with fantastic views of Tiran island and the Red Sea and right next door to soho square for hassle free shopping and live entertainment , pools are clean with plenty of umbrellas and sun beds , snorkelling is great with short pontoons , the Italian and fatimas restaurants are excellent
Time to mention some names cash , Vicky and Charleen in the animation team for their great rapport , fareed and Mohamed at pools 2 and 4 for their helpfulness , Mohamed for keeping our room clean , ibrihim for excellent service in the main restaurant , all the staff in fatimas and Italian restaurants including the chefs for serving excellent food and making those meals special , thanks to the concierge team for running me about and giving excellent service with special mention to beep beep for his smile and lastly for the guest relations team for being proactive if you had a problem or request
Will definitely return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from a sunny Sharm El Sheikh!

Firstly thank you for taking the time to share your comments abuot your stay with us. All your thoughts and suggestions are listened to and taken carefully in to consideration in order for us to improve our facilities where possible.

I read with interest the experiences you have mentioned and think potential travellers will find them most useful.

Its great to see that you made many friends here with both the staff and with other guests. I will of course pass on your appreciation to the staff members you have mentioned to thank them for their efforts in helping to make your holiday a memorable one. The fact you mentioned that you were treated like royalty is a good indication that our staff are receiving the correct training from our Learning & Development Department.

Its great to see that you have mentioned all departments which means we are working well as a team and you received a good service throughout the resort. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our food and managed to find the time to visit our A La Carte restaurants in addition to the main restaurant. The Ala Carte restaurants give you a completely different dining experience to the main restaurant with our Italian terrace offering a quiet and relaxed ambience and our Fatima & Barracuda restaurants having amzing views out to sea by moonlight.

I know you are looking to return so we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Island View Resort 18th March - 28th March. We had a wonderful time at a brilliant hotel. Everything was perfect - from the staff, the good, the beautiful gardens and the beach. The staff in the restaurant were so helpful - Mr. Hazem ensured that the quality and cleanliness of the restuarants were A1. This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel and have found it faultless. As we are in Egypt, problems with mosquitos are something we have to accept but when I asked reception to spray our room this was carried out immediately.
The Beach and pools.... no problems gettings sunbeds and umbrellas. The pools were pristine and well cared for. We spent our holiday on the beach - I cannot praise highly enough the beach staff.... Mohammed the young gentleman who worked so hard to give us a wonderful experience, Jamal and also Mohammed the Lifeguard who is so knowledgeable about the wonderful coral and fish. A new member of animation Charlene spoke to us every day - a nice young lady and a great asset for the hotel. Fresh towels every day for the beach.... in the room.... evening entertainment excellent - good delicious. We will be back at this hotel in the autumn - it delivered in every respect and at a very good price. The only hiccup was that our transfers Resorthoppa did not come - but the lovely Russian lady receptionist made several calls and finally got us a lift to the airport with another company. Very well done - Island View Resort - and thankyou for the birthday cake for my husband who was 65 when we were there.

Room Tip: Had a sea view - didn't ask for it - I'll know next time to ask for a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hazelellen1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Vaued Guest,

Sunny greetings from Island View Resort!

It was a great pleasure to receive such a lovely review about your stay with us. It appears we managed to meet all your expectations and that you found our staff and services to be friendly and acceptable.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your days at our beach, We really do have a lovely coral reef and of course, this beautiful underwater water world is free to explore and right on our door step!

Its also great to hear that although you encountered an issue with mosquitoes, your request was dealt with quickly and efficiently.

I will of course pass on your appreciation to all those staff members you have mentioned to thank them for their efforts in making your holiday such a memorable one.

We look forward to your return in the Autumn and if you have any requests we may be able to help with then please send me an email to shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#65 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#35 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,147 reviews
8.6 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#55 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Look Hotels International
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Lo...
#100 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Garden Resort
Island Garden Resort
#109 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#67 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Property: Island View Resort
Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Island View Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the splendid Shark Bay with its own house reef you will find in this "Ultra All - Inclusive" 5 star (country category) Resort everything you wish. The four large pool areas, the splendid arranged garden, with water falls and canals, the spaciously designed rooms and junior suites are the ideal venues for your family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Island View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Island View Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sunrise Island View Egypt
Hotel Sunrise Island View
Sunrise Island View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing