We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vicky, charlene, Dee and Mido made the holiday!”
Review of Island View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island View Resort
Ranked #56 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Beautiful hotel but what really made the holiday was the animation team, always smiling!
The rooms were very dated however nobody really spends slot of time in the rooms on holiday ! Gardens were kept very well and pool staff worked hard to not only watch out but entertain as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozrlno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Island View Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am happy to read you had a great time with us and that it was made all the more enjoyable by our Animation and Rereation staff. I will certainly pass on your thanks to the team members.

Our Agriculture Team work hard to ensure our extensive gardens are kept well manicured and in good condition and form pleasant surroundings for our guests to walk around day & night.

We would love to welcome you back again in the near future so if you decide to return please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & GR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 2,736 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I found the hotel very nice and friendly. The hotel also exceeded in many ways, one being the friendly rep's -Vicky, Charlene, Dee(from island gardens), Dennis and DJ kash. The entire animation team was absolutely amazing! The overall holiday was excellent. The staff were also very good, Adel omelette man, Musafa the pancake man and Mohammed the pasta man were all lovey and made excellent food! The life guard Ali was also brilliant. As well as Whalid the pool bar 1 was also extremely nice. The combination of both animation and staff made the holiday very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from island View Resort!

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us here in sunny Sharm El Sheikh!

I am very happy to see that our staff helped to ensure you had a most memorable stay. I will pass on your appreciation to those you have mentioned in order to acknowledge their hardwork and efforts. We have a strong Learning & Develop Department and all our staff do complete regular and thorough training sessions to keep up the high standards our guests have come to expect from Island View Resort.

We would love to welcome you again soon so if you do decide to return please do not hesitate to contact me with any requests you might have at shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I really do not know where to start with this review as there is so many good things about the hotel!

This was our 5th visit to the hotel and our 3rd since September. Upon arrival we were recognised straight away and greeted by first name and treat like old friends. They remembered all of our preferences even down to preferring an upstairs suite! The checking in process is so simple and the receptionists work so hard ensuring everything is dealt with quickly and efficiently.

We had a couple of issues with our room (broken light and air con not working fully) and they were dealt with immediately. No sooner had we reported the issue, there was an engineer at our door ready to fix the problem.

Farid looked after us around pool 4 and did an excellent job even remembering where we liked to sit from our last trip there! A lot of people decided to use the water feature in the Jacuzzi as a way of relieving their sunburn which was very annoying! Surely they could see they were covering the nearby TV with water as everyone else could! The pool attendants constantly had to ask guests to stop doing this!

We were looked after at the restaurant by Khalid and Saied and they were always on hand making us laugh and teaching us more Arabic! The food in the hotel is amazing and I really struggle to believe that someone could not find something that they liked! The tahini is amazing and i am missing it already!

We always made a point of visiting Victoria bar on a night time for our cocktails and had a lot of fun and laughs with Tamer, Osama and Mohammed. The bar is very cool and doesn't get too busy or loud.

Vicky and Charlene always made an effort to come and see us on a night time and always checked that we had no issues! Mido really does have a fantastic animation team and does such a good job.

The management team at the hotel is the best I have ever come across! Special thanks to Selmy, Ahmed, Tamer, Essam and Shellie who made our trip what it was! They really are the friendliest people I have met and there always is a management presence around the hotel. I had a couple of issues whilst I was over there and they wouldn't have been resolved without their help!

Soho square is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and has some great bars and restaurants! We frequently visited the Oxygen bar and enjoyed their great cocktails. The area feels so safe and there is a strong security presence at all times.

A few people mentioned in conversation that they did not know how "safe" Sharm was going to be because of the conflict in Cairo. I can honestly say I felt just as if not safer walking around in Sharm than I do in England. It is such a wonderful place and it would be such a shame to see it loose tourists for a reason that is far from the truth! Afterall the distance from Cairo to Sharm is like the distance from Edinburgh to London. Would someone leave London if there was an issue in Edinburgh?

A lot of people complain on Trip Advisor about the Russian guests but personally I thoroughly enjoy them being there. They all seem to be tarred with the same brush and I am sure when people give them a chance they will see how friendly they really are!

My cousin and I always enjoy our trips "home" and this time was no exception. It was a very emotional goodbye but we will be back as soon as possible and cannot wait for trip number 6 :)

We have made some friends for life in this hotel and look forward to seeing everyone soon!

Room Tip: I always request an upstairs suite as you get two balconies and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Sunny Greetings from Sharm El Sheikh!

I would just like to say how delighted I am that on each visit we are still meeting and exceeding your expectations. We especially like to hear comments from our returning guests as you are the ones who can tell us about our improvements and changes from the last time you visited.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all our cuisine and that you felt you received a good service from our Food & Beverage Team in the restaurants. It seems you visited most of our outlets and found our service consistent throughout.

Whilst sad to learn that you had a couple of issues regarding maintenance in your room I am pleased that your problems were recitifed immediately once reported.

I will certainly pass on your appreciation to those staff members you have mentioned for their efforts in making sure your stay was a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and please, as always, don't hesitate to drop me an email with any request we might be able to help with.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just returned from three weeks at the Island View, this was our fourth visit and can't wait to go back. Ok the rooms are a bit tired but comfortable and kept very clean and you don't go to Egypt to spend hours in your room! The staff really make it something special, they go out of their way to please and help with any problems. Ashraf and his team at Fatimas make an evening meal something special with their excellent service. The Italian restaurant team are the same, very friendly and attentive to your needs. Pool 4 is the most relaxing area with amazing views over the beach and sea, Mohammed does a great job, as do the rest of the staff working there. Must mention Vicky and Chantelle (animation) always smiling and up for a laugh!!! Tamer is such a friendly man who also made us feel special and Shellie is a gem, we had a slight problem which she sorted very quickly, and with a smile of course. The rooms that are being refurbed will be amazing, but maybe a bit 'over the top', a new bath and shower and a coat of paint throughout would improve the rooms adequately. On the whole a fantastic stay, thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

A warm & sunny welcome from Sharm El Sheikh!

I am very happy to read that we appeared to exceed your expectations once again and that you had another wonderful time with us.

Its nice to see that you visited our Fatima and Italian Restaurants and that you had great service there as well as enjoyed our cuisine.

I will of course pass on your appreciation to all those have mentioned who helped to make your stay what it was. Its nice to see that so many people made an impact on your holiday.

When you are looking to return again please do not hesitate to contact me on shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.co with any requests we may be able to help you with.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & GR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Good: nice grounds, beautiful sea view in the moonlight, food is OK.
Bad: Shockingly rude staff at the shisha bar near the reception, moldy shower cabin in the room, lots of mosquitoes everywhere.
Would hardly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetinfs from sunny Egypt!

Thank you for your review. Although it was short I can gage from your comments that we did not entirley meet your expectations however as there are no specific details I cannot comment wholey on the issues which you feel let the holiday down.

All complaints of staff behaviour are taken very seriously and are dealt with directly once reported.

Mosquitoes can be a problem this tie of year however we do take precautionary measures including fogging at sunrise and sunset in order to reduce the amount of mosquitoes and flies to a minimum. We will explain your conecern to our pest control company and ask to increase the practices where possible.

If you would like to discuss your points further please do contact me at shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com,

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & GR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just to say how wonderful MOHAMMED runs pool 4.Nothing is too much trouble for him and always finds time to talk with the people round the pool.Position of the pool overlooks the beach and views out towards TIRAN ISLAND are very good and watch the boats going past.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room which has a better outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was my 3rd visit to Sharm and although not the best layout, certainly the best staff.

Lovely views and beach, although an up-hill struggle to get back, could do with a shuttle bus to beach. The gardens are beautiful and tended by dedicated gardeners.

Pools clean with no problems getting sunbeds or umbrellas, they also have the added bonus of life guards.

Eco friendly with the bed linen and towels, as in you leave a card on your bed if you do not want your linen changed every day and lets face it, who needs a daily change of bed linen?
Air conditioning very good, hair dryer in the bathroom and bottled water left in your room each day.

Would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room, however, there was a supermarket opposite so was able to buy orange juice etc to start the day.

Our only gripe was the spa (which is not run by the hotel), my friend and I bought a salt and chocolate skin treatment followed by a massage. The treatment left our skin feeling years younger ( and still does 2 weeks later) and the massage was fabulous, courtesy of Rusha and Marwa. Our gripe is that men were strolling around when we were expected to walk around in our pants. I found this particularly offensive and very nearly left half way through.

We were invited to a cocktail hour to share our views with management regarding our impression of the hotel. They obviously have plans to improve where they can and are not complacent.

All staff were friendly, polite and could not do enough for us, however, the staff who we had the most contact with and made our holiday complete are as follows...

Pool bar staff...Walid, Mahmoud and all the boys who kept us supplied with our favourite drinks.

Pool 1...Mustafa looked after us for the first few days until he went for a well earned rest to Cairo, nothing was too much trouble, lovely chap. As he left, came the arrival of Ali and his whistle, again, nothing was too much trouble keeping everyone amused. Mohamed was the lunch time relief and again, nothing was too much trouble.

Cleaner...Mahmoud kept our room fresh and clean and was available if we needed anything.

Entertainment... If you have children, you won't find a better person than Kash to entertain them, lovely man, so kind and gentle with them. Vicky, Charlene and Mido also provide great entertainment and a chat during the day with information if needed, they really tried hard to make us feel welcome (which we did)

Restaurant... The food is amazing, if you cannot find something that you like, there is something wrong with you. Extensive choice of freshly cooked/prepared food with senior staff on the floor making sure that all is well.
Mohamed (on the kids side) looked after us with such care, we saw him at every meal time, he brought our drinks including a lovely mint tea when my friend was struggling with her asthma and lemon tea for her hay fever, what a lovely man. Islam had our tea and coffee ready for us after every meal time on the patio, again, such a lovely man. Abdel who made our omelettes was a delight to see each morning and not forgetting Essam (manager) who was keen to care for our London sparrows who have gone on a permanent holiday to Egypt (David Attenborough would be proud).

Overall, a lovely stay, the hotel has a wonderfully friendly feeling and all staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#38 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#24 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,708 reviews
8.5 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#51 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#50 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#66 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#33 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £45 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island View Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the splendid Shark Bay with its own house reef you will find in this "Ultra All - Inclusive" 5 star (country category) Resort everything you wish. The four large pool areas, the splendid arranged garden, with water falls and canals, the spaciously designed rooms and junior suites are the ideal venues for your family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Island View Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sunrise Island View Egypt
Hotel Sunrise Island View
Sunrise Island View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing