We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LOVELY RETURN VISIT”
Review of Island View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island View Resort
Ranked #59 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Having been back a couple of days now I am reminding myself of this visit
Arrived in the evening to a warm welcome. Room tho' still looking a little tired as from last visit was clean and in a nice position. The highlight of the visit was still how charming and efficient all the staff are there and the hotel should be very proud of them. Am going to mention a few of them but believe me all are "stars".
Achmed brought our tea/coffee to us by the pool every morning and always had a drink ready for us at the other mealtimes so a big thank you to him.
Mohammed at the pool had a smile and cheery hello so that also made for a good start to the day. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
Sami was also a very cheerful happy chappie and had a chat to most people every day.
Sarif in Hollywood bar and restaurant was also a very hard working guy and deserves a mention.
Ashraf as from last visit was kind, very welcoming and does a superb job. Sorry you are leaving them.
Shellie, thanks for all you did for us too and hope all going well.
To everyone else sorry if I have forgotten you
The hotel has and Italian restaurant and Fatimas on the beach and both are worth a visit as the food is very good in both and does make a change from having to battle for a plate of food with the Russians as they are waiter service.
My only 2 "gripes" are the vast amount of Russians in the hotel and the fact that wine is only served at meals (tho' I was aware of this one before I went)
This hotel is well worth a visit and is in a lovely location . Pool areas and gardens are kept very clean and tidy and they do have a good "mosquito killing" machine around the grounds most evenings.
Not sure if we will return for a 3rd visit but never say never
Thank you Island View for a lovely holiday

Room Tip: Junior suite rooms are well worth a try. Bigger and better positioned . 116 to 140's by main po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROS881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 2,749 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Island View Resort pluses and minuses....as everywhere.

Apartments clean but dated...although there some new one being built with beautiful view of the sea and the Tiran Island .
Main building where is the main restaurant , reception and bar (u have to pay there for drinks even if you are all inclussive) is very nice.
Quite a difficulty and disadvantage is that hotel has just wifi in the main looby (reception) but again you have to pay extra for access to the internet as well as for phone (even in emergency situations or when you want to confirm your trips etc). Hotel has nice facility play ground for kids. We loved the access to the beach, and coral reef!!! perfect for snorkel!!
Apart main buffet restaurant there another three (italian, fish and something else) but u have to book the table in few days advance and be careful, there are two types of menu, for one (set menu) you don't have to pay if u are all inclusive and the other if for extra charge staff more likely WILL NOT tell you about it.

And staff....well, if you have lots of money and you tip them every day, for every thing they are all over you, you will have you favourite table in restaurant always waiting for you, drinks will come every 10 minutes if you want but if don't tip forget all about it. Another very annoying thing is that all staff speak Russian to you, they even don't try speak English first, on the one hand I understand because majority of guest are Russians but on the other hand it can drive u mad..

So generally speaking we were satisfied with the hotel .We got what we paid for. I would recommend this hotel for holiday, specially it is just few meters from Soho Square where you will find nice shops, bars , restaurant ect.

Room Tip: ask for new apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonJ8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just returned from our 3rd holiday at Island View and it was like coming home. All the staff helped make the holiday however there are certain staff that made the extra effort as they remembered us from previous stays. Special thanks to Shellie in guest relations nothing is it much trouble and always there with a smile and a chat. Also special thanks to Sabry and Abdual in pool 1 bar always happy see us and remembered our drinks from previous visits nothing was to much trouble for these guys thanks guys.Mostafa,Ahmed and Mohammed life guards by pool one were fab always ready to put up or take down umberallas and thanks to Mohammed for teaching us a few phrases in Arabic to help with our future stays. Special thanks to Islam in the main restaurant who always had a smile and was very helpful with drinks during our meals. Thanks also to Elhady in Fatamas who helped make our meal there special. Five star animation should be renamed ten star as this is what they are they are all fantastic but special thanks to Vicky,Mido,Charlene,Kash and Jamaica nothing was to much trouble even getting new music round pool one during the day thanks guys. As I said before the staff really make this hotel the amazing place that it is and why we keep coming back. This also includes managers, gardeners, cleaners and everyone else who we have not mentioned. The rooms may be a little dated however they are being refurbished and looking forward to seeing them when they are all done. Our room was always clean and fresh towels every day even if we did not want them. The food in the main restraunt could be a little repetitive but was well cooked and plenty of it with different themed nights. Fatamas was fabulous and will definitely go there again when we return in September. As mentioned before this is our 3rd visit and we are already booked for September as the staff and location 5 mins from SOHO make this the place that we want to spend our holidays. We have normally gone to Spain for a week in the summer but have decided to have two two week holidays a year here instead due to the staff and value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear Fran1011,
It’s lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write a review.
It is of immense satisfaction to us when we receive such a glowing review from our guests. We read with great delight that our team made your stay so enjoyable and we appreciate the praise for our team members.
Once again, we thank you very much for your report and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely,
Tatiana Sayfutdinova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is my 3rd visit to the Island View and I can honestly say I love it just as much if not more than ever. I have had an amazing time again, the staff in the resort really make my holidays there special, they are all friendly and can't do enough for you. The Management, waiters, chefs, bar men, lifeguards, animation and any I have forgotten all make my holidays special. There are certain staff that deserve a special mention as they did go that extra mile to make it so great, Shellie in Guest relations, Islam in the main restaurant, Mostafa, Ahmed and Mohammed life guards at pool 1, Sabry and Abdul at the pool bar, Elhady in Fatimas restaurant, Vicky, Mido, Jamaica, Kash and Charlene from Animation, also a mention for Samy who always had a smile and a bit of banter with us in the mornings, thank you to all mentioned for welcoming us back and making us feel like part of a big family. We can't wait to return in September to see you all again.
The resort itself is lovely, there is refurbishment that is ongoing and from what I have seen from the outside the new rooms will be lovely. We tend to stay at pool 1, always been our favourite spot with the swim up bar! The pools are kept clean with the pool guys working hard for long hours to keep it that way. We did go and look at the refurbished pool 4, looks fantastic. We ate in Fatimas on 2 occasions, gorgeous food with excellent service, lovely view before dark, looking out onto the sea with Tiran island in view, also the beach just below, recommend booking in for anyone going to the resort. We didn't book into the Italian this time, but hear good reviews from fellow guests. The main restaurant has a good choice of food at mealtimes, however it could be a little repetitive, this wasn't a problem as there was always something for me, in fact it was better than before as I hardly ate any chips. Reception and Concierge staff were very welcoming and always friendly, the reception area is a lovely area. There are a few little shops in the hotel with very friendly staff in and handy for buying little gifts or everyday items. The rooms are a little dated, however as previously mentioned there is refurbishments going on, I personally don't have a problem with the rooms they have everything I need for sleeping, showering, changing, cooling down and housing my clothes, very little time spent in there.
I would absolutely encourage anyone to visit here, as mentioned before the staff are amazing and make you feel very welcome, when they greet you with Welcome Home, that is exactly how it feels because of the staff, from Management down and this is why we will continue to return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear Eileen R,
It is of immense satisfaction to us when we receive such a glowing review from our guests. We always like to hear that our hotel lived up to expectations and that the guests feel that they made the right choices.
We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards,
Tatiana Sayfutdinova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Recently got back from our trip to Sharm! It was our second time there, and I cant help saying how great was that! Staff is very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Rooms are cosy, spacious and clean. Room service works every day. Dont forget to leave some tips to see some towel decorations!
Food is incredibly tasty, even though it was repetetive. All the waiters in the restaurants are so nice and lovely. When there are lots of people esp in the evenings they will always help you to find a free table, with pleasure!
Beach and underwater life is amazing and unbelievable. You can find free dech-chairs whenever you want. There is also a snack-bar where you can have a meal betwwen breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant.
Animation team is on fire!!! Guys are so energetic and positive. I have never had so much fun as I had with that team. Animation chief Mido is madly talented with his belly dance, comedy show and fire&fakir show, aqua-aerobic with Charlene is always fun and catching. Thumbs up for dj Cash for his music. Got to say a big Thanks to this great team!!!
I thoroughly recommend Island View Resort to everybody who wants to have safe, interesting and not boring vacation. To be honest, I am looking forward to going there again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear Ira V,
What a lovely, comprehensive review of our resort! Thank you for taking the time to make such a wonderful recommendation.
It has been our pleasure to host you and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Best Regards,
Tatiana Sayfutdinova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just returned from our 5th visit,super holiday it's like visiting our family,the staff make this hotel, the team work is wonderful,nothing is to much trouble if you ask for something they will do their very best to see you get it the staff are so friendly .the rooms are looking very tired now we went and saw one of the new rooms wonderful is the key word we only hope the other rooms will be done quickly as that is the only thing letting this hotel down,the food was great,as was the towel and bedding first class.We had man called Khaleed he was brilliant our room was cleaned first class well done Khaleed,we have a head waiter called Ibrahem who we think of him as a brother super man,Abdul from the pool bar,the concierge where all excellent as where all the staff also thank you Shellie who comes from near our town in England for all your help,the animation team are really good Vicky is first class and Mido great,and a big thank you to all the staff you are Island Resort .

Room Tip: We had a great room right next to pool 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derwen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Well where do I begin......

Arriving at Island View Resort is like arriving home.. We (me & my cousin) were greeted by the most friendly staff who recognised us from our previous trip only in January... They couldn't make you feel more welcome...

We chose to have a few drinks by Pool 1 before checkin into our room.... We had 2 minor issues which we reported to Reception and they were fixed immediately.. (Light in Bedroom / Shower cubicle door not returning) This did not in any way spoil our time...

Bar staff and restaurant staff also recognised us and gave us the warmest of welcomes... This was the same throughout our whole stay... We ate at the same table every morning, lunch & dinner.. Waiters Saied & Khalid made our meal times very enjoyable... Even helping us to expand on our Arabic speaking..

We sunbathed round Pool 4 as always and Farid was very attentive.. He remembered the spot we like to sunbathe in and always had our beds ready each morning not forgetting our table....

Members of the animation team were always so friendly especially Charléne & Vicky.. Mido you & your team are fantastic..... For all we chose not to go to any shows we were always updated with what they were and times etc.. When we return however we promise to have a night at HardRock or something...

We frequented the Oxygen Bar in Soho Square nearly every night, which we would definitely recommend.. On returning back to the hotel we would have a night cap in The Victoria Bar where Tamer, Osama & Mohammed always made us feel welcome - remembering our tipple from last time!!

The management team at Island View really are the best. Special mention to Selmy, Tamer, Ahmed, Essam & Shellie... Your always around and always so friendly!!

My cousin and I have definitely made friends for life in Island View and wouldn't dream of going anywhere else... Can't wait to see everyone again on our 6th trip which we are planning for October.... :) xx

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbug17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear Dbug17,
We are delighted that you had such a great time. Our aim is to ensure that our guests feel special from arrival to departure and it looks like we succeeded with you.
We are proud of our staff and without them perhaps the hotel would be like any other 5* hotel in Sharm. But they do give the extra something and that’s why so many of our guests keep coming back.
Thanks for taking the time to write this and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards,
Tatiana Sayfutdinova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#36 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#23 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,782 reviews
8.5 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#50 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#51 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#67 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Address: Shark's Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £44 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island View Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the splendid Shark's Bay with its own house reef you will find in this "Ultra All - Inclusive" 5 star (country category) resort everything you wish. The four large pool areas, the splendid arranged garden, with waterfalls and canals, the spaciously designed rooms and junior suites are the ideal venues for your family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Island View Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sunrise Island View Egypt
Hotel Sunrise Island View
Sunrise Island View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing