We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”
Review of Island View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island View Resort
Ranked #72 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Location: at SOHO center, not far from airport. Naama is better in terms of center and shore side.

Rooms: Hotel is old and all rooms need renovation in all aspects!!!

Food: Is ok, may be poor for 5* hotel, but we were ok for 14 days. Main restaurant is much better than two, arabic and seafood restaurants that should be reserved in advance. Italian is ok.

Area, pools, green, gardens, kids playground, outdoor: great!

Beach: great! Just beware -- tourists have bad habit to steal beach towels :(

Diving club "Pyramids": great prices, great service, great staff.

Hotel staff: just great. Responsive, helpful, attentive. Special thanks to high managements, Hazem from restaurant management, Samy from beach area, recipient staff and Rimma!!

Animations: super! Guys are so energetic and positive! Mido, Taya, Rita, Charlene <3 we won't forget you and hope to see you all again :) Great entertainment and shows, thank you :)

Concierge and room service: very good, prompt, responsive, clean!

Overall hotel staff was very attentive to us. Most likely we will go there again.
Have fun, enjoy your vacations here and DIVE MORE ;)

Feel free to ask questions :)

With regards,
--Hayk

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xTimewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    756
    295
    127
    70
See reviews for
945
846
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Having been back a couple of days now I am reminding myself of this visit
Arrived in the evening to a warm welcome. Room tho' still looking a little tired as from last visit was clean and in a nice position. The highlight of the visit was still how charming and efficient all the staff are there and the hotel should be very proud of them. Am going to mention a few of them but believe me all are "stars".
Achmed brought our tea/coffee to us by the pool every morning and always had a drink ready for us at the other mealtimes so a big thank you to him.
Mohammed at the pool had a smile and cheery hello so that also made for a good start to the day. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
Sami was also a very cheerful happy chappie and had a chat to most people every day.
Sarif in Hollywood bar and restaurant was also a very hard working guy and deserves a mention.
Ashraf as from last visit was kind, very welcoming and does a superb job. Sorry you are leaving them.
Shellie, thanks for all you did for us too and hope all going well.
To everyone else sorry if I have forgotten you
The hotel has and Italian restaurant and Fatimas on the beach and both are worth a visit as the food is very good in both and does make a change from having to battle for a plate of food with the Russians as they are waiter service.
My only 2 "gripes" are the vast amount of Russians in the hotel and the fact that wine is only served at meals (tho' I was aware of this one before I went)
This hotel is well worth a visit and is in a lovely location . Pool areas and gardens are kept very clean and tidy and they do have a good "mosquito killing" machine around the grounds most evenings.
Not sure if we will return for a 3rd visit but never say never
Thank you Island View for a lovely holiday

Room Tip: Junior suite rooms are well worth a try. Bigger and better positioned . 116 to 140's by main po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROS881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Island View Resort pluses and minuses....as everywhere.

Apartments clean but dated...although there some new one being built with beautiful view of the sea and the Tiran Island .
Main building where is the main restaurant , reception and bar (u have to pay there for drinks even if you are all inclussive) is very nice.
Quite a difficulty and disadvantage is that hotel has just wifi in the main looby (reception) but again you have to pay extra for access to the internet as well as for phone (even in emergency situations or when you want to confirm your trips etc). Hotel has nice facility play ground for kids. We loved the access to the beach, and coral reef!!! perfect for snorkel!!
Apart main buffet restaurant there another three (italian, fish and something else) but u have to book the table in few days advance and be careful, there are two types of menu, for one (set menu) you don't have to pay if u are all inclusive and the other if for extra charge staff more likely WILL NOT tell you about it.

And staff....well, if you have lots of money and you tip them every day, for every thing they are all over you, you will have you favourite table in restaurant always waiting for you, drinks will come every 10 minutes if you want but if don't tip forget all about it. Another very annoying thing is that all staff speak Russian to you, they even don't try speak English first, on the one hand I understand because majority of guest are Russians but on the other hand it can drive u mad..

So generally speaking we were satisfied with the hotel .We got what we paid for. I would recommend this hotel for holiday, specially it is just few meters from Soho Square where you will find nice shops, bars , restaurant ect.

Room Tip: ask for new apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonJ8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just returned from our 3rd holiday at Island View and it was like coming home. All the staff helped make the holiday however there are certain staff that made the extra effort as they remembered us from previous stays. Special thanks to Shellie in guest relations nothing is it much trouble and always there with a smile and a chat. Also special thanks to Sabry and Abdual in pool 1 bar always happy see us and remembered our drinks from previous visits nothing was to much trouble for these guys thanks guys.Mostafa,Ahmed and Mohammed life guards by pool one were fab always ready to put up or take down umberallas and thanks to Mohammed for teaching us a few phrases in Arabic to help with our future stays. Special thanks to Islam in the main restaurant who always had a smile and was very helpful with drinks during our meals. Thanks also to Elhady in Fatamas who helped make our meal there special. Five star animation should be renamed ten star as this is what they are they are all fantastic but special thanks to Vicky,Mido,Charlene,Kash and Jamaica nothing was to much trouble even getting new music round pool one during the day thanks guys. As I said before the staff really make this hotel the amazing place that it is and why we keep coming back. This also includes managers, gardeners, cleaners and everyone else who we have not mentioned. The rooms may be a little dated however they are being refurbished and looking forward to seeing them when they are all done. Our room was always clean and fresh towels every day even if we did not want them. The food in the main restraunt could be a little repetitive but was well cooked and plenty of it with different themed nights. Fatamas was fabulous and will definitely go there again when we return in September. As mentioned before this is our 3rd visit and we are already booked for September as the staff and location 5 mins from SOHO make this the place that we want to spend our holidays. We have normally gone to Spain for a week in the summer but have decided to have two two week holidays a year here instead due to the staff and value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2016
Dear Fran1011,
It’s lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write a review.
It is of immense satisfaction to us when we receive such a glowing review from our guests. We read with great delight that our team made your stay so enjoyable and we appreciate the praise for our team members.
Once again, we thank you very much for your report and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely,
Tatiana Sayfutdinova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is my 3rd visit to the Island View and I can honestly say I love it just as much if not more than ever. I have had an amazing time again, the staff in the resort really make my holidays there special, they are all friendly and can't do enough for you. The Management, waiters, chefs, bar men, lifeguards, animation and any I have forgotten all make my holidays special. There are certain staff that deserve a special mention as they did go that extra mile to make it so great, Shellie in Guest relations, Islam in the main restaurant, Mostafa, Ahmed and Mohammed life guards at pool 1, Sabry and Abdul at the pool bar, Elhady in Fatimas restaurant, Vicky, Mido, Jamaica, Kash and Charlene from Animation, also a mention for Samy who always had a smile and a bit of banter with us in the mornings, thank you to all mentioned for welcoming us back and making us feel like part of a big family. We can't wait to return in September to see you all again.
The resort itself is lovely, there is refurbishment that is ongoing and from what I have seen from the outside the new rooms will be lovely. We tend to stay at pool 1, always been our favourite spot with the swim up bar! The pools are kept clean with the pool guys working hard for long hours to keep it that way. We did go and look at the refurbished pool 4, looks fantastic. We ate in Fatimas on 2 occasions, gorgeous food with excellent service, lovely view before dark, looking out onto the sea with Tiran island in view, also the beach just below, recommend booking in for anyone going to the resort. We didn't book into the Italian this time, but hear good reviews from fellow guests. The main restaurant has a good choice of food at mealtimes, however it could be a little repetitive, this wasn't a problem as there was always something for me, in fact it was better than before as I hardly ate any chips. Reception and Concierge staff were very welcoming and always friendly, the reception area is a lovely area. There are a few little shops in the hotel with very friendly staff in and handy for buying little gifts or everyday items. The rooms are a little dated, however as previously mentioned there is refurbishments going on, I personally don't have a problem with the rooms they have everything I need for sleeping, showering, changing, cooling down and housing my clothes, very little time spent in there.
I would absolutely encourage anyone to visit here, as mentioned before the staff are amazing and make you feel very welcome, when they greet you with Welcome Home, that is exactly how it feels because of the staff, from Management down and this is why we will continue to return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2016
Dear Eileen R,
It is of immense satisfaction to us when we receive such a glowing review from our guests. We always like to hear that our hotel lived up to expectations and that the guests feel that they made the right choices.
We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards,
Tatiana Sayfutdinova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Recently got back from our trip to Sharm! It was our second time there, and I cant help saying how great was that! Staff is very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Rooms are cosy, spacious and clean. Room service works every day. Dont forget to leave some tips to see some towel decorations!
Food is incredibly tasty, even though it was repetetive. All the waiters in the restaurants are so nice and lovely. When there are lots of people esp in the evenings they will always help you to find a free table, with pleasure!
Beach and underwater life is amazing and unbelievable. You can find free dech-chairs whenever you want. There is also a snack-bar where you can have a meal betwwen breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant.
Animation team is on fire!!! Guys are so energetic and positive. I have never had so much fun as I had with that team. Animation chief Mido is madly talented with his belly dance, comedy show and fire&fakir show, aqua-aerobic with Charlene is always fun and catching. Thumbs up for dj Cash for his music. Got to say a big Thanks to this great team!!!
I thoroughly recommend Island View Resort to everybody who wants to have safe, interesting and not boring vacation. To be honest, I am looking forward to going there again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2016
Dear Ira V,
What a lovely, comprehensive review of our resort! Thank you for taking the time to make such a wonderful recommendation.
It has been our pleasure to host you and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Best Regards,
Tatiana Sayfutdinova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just returned from our 5th visit,super holiday it's like visiting our family,the staff make this hotel, the team work is wonderful,nothing is to much trouble if you ask for something they will do their very best to see you get it the staff are so friendly .the rooms are looking very tired now we went and saw one of the new rooms wonderful is the key word we only hope the other rooms will be done quickly as that is the only thing letting this hotel down,the food was great,as was the towel and bedding first class.We had man called Khaleed he was brilliant our room was cleaned first class well done Khaleed,we have a head waiter called Ibrahem who we think of him as a brother super man,Abdul from the pool bar,the concierge where all excellent as where all the staff also thank you Shellie who comes from near our town in England for all your help,the animation team are really good Vicky is first class and Mido great,and a big thank you to all the staff you are Island Resort .

Room Tip: We had a great room right next to pool 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derwen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#65 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#35 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,149 reviews
8.6 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#55 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Look Hotels International
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Lo...
#100 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Garden Resort
Island Garden Resort
#109 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#67 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Property: Island View Resort
Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Island View Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the splendid Shark Bay with its own house reef you will find in this "Ultra All - Inclusive" 5 star (country category) Resort everything you wish. The four large pool areas, the splendid arranged garden, with water falls and canals, the spaciously designed rooms and junior suites are the ideal venues for your family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Island View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Island View Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sunrise Island View Egypt
Hotel Sunrise Island View
Sunrise Island View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing