We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Island View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island View Resort
Ranked #72 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I writing this review very late as I didn't have chance to do it when we arrive a back from holiday in May . We have absolutely amazing time.All staff worked very well and went the extra mile to give us extra service. I was that time 4 months pregnant and worried about hygiene and food safety. I am catering manger and this was really important for me. I didn't have any problems at all. Seen hygiene audit done in front of me as well to confirm not to worried about anything. Food was mostly average but you can always find something what you like. 3 more restaurants are available to you as well. Mostly enjoyed Italian and Sea food one. Restaurant manager Hazem was helpful all the time. Very good and organize service. Downfall was only lots of birds mainly in outside restaurant area and people feeding them. Enjoyed bar near reception as all staff was really nice, polite and helpful.
Cleanliness was really good standard even the hotel its with old furniture and need updating. Beach was lovely with 2 jetty to get in to a sea and great Recreation manager to help every time you need it . 3 pools open. We was mostly using pool 4 ( near sea) where I found I could relax mostly.
Receptionists are very helpful. If you have any health problem, use doctor on side. Don't go to pharmacy a cross the road without seen doctor first if you don't want to be ripped off. I make that mistake.
We couldn't do many trips as I wasn't allowed as pregnant but we done glass boat trip booked on beach. Guys there are very helpful and have a good price for trips.
Its too many Russian tourists, some of them very polite and nice but some of them very rude and arrogant not just other holiday makers but mostly staff who trying do they best and working long hard hours.
Been in Egypt and listening Russian music was driving me mad.If I wish to go to Russia I would buy different ticket!! I spoke with staff and it was great they change music for Arabic for me. I am in Egypt ( Arabic country) and would like to listen Arabic music and experience this culture.
If you enjoying massage you will need to haggle your price down to get good deal. I can't fault mine:)
Hotel have few problems with internet connection in end of our trip and couldn't always relay on it.
We have great help before arriving and thou part of our stay by Shellie Wilson - Quality and guest manager. Unfortunately she left hotel before we did. She was massive help and it shame to loosing her.
Over all we have fantastic time. I would definitely come back after our daughter its born.
Thank you all staff for hard work and we will be back .

Room Tip: I choose room in middle between main restaurant and reception. Didn't have as far to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reda A, Quality Control Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Our Dear Guest,
It is such a pleasure reading through your review and knowing how much you have enjoyed your holiday. Thanks for visiting us at Island View and many thanks for giving us the chance to be part of your holiday experience.
we all hope that you have had a nice flight home and we will be seeing you again in the soon future.
Before your next holiday drop me an email with any requests you might have and I will see to that.
Till next time, have a wonderful time.
Reda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    727
    288
    126
    67
See reviews for
907
833
43
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I read many reviews before I made the decision to visit this particular hotel. This was our first trip to Sharm el Shiekh and I wanted to make sure we went to the right place. One thing kept coming back to me from everything I read and that was the staff in this hotel made your holiday special. I read that the hotel was tired and in need of modernisation and yes, parts of it are. However, with the hotels close proximity to Soho Square, its private beach, three available pools on offer and various restaurants to choose from, I decided that this was probably the right hotel for us. Well I can quite honestly share that I have never received such amazing customer service from any hotel anywhere, ever. From cleaner to manager, pool lifeguards to restaurant waiters and barmen to animation team members; what a fantastic bunch of hardworking employees this hotel has. The rooms are large and cleaned daily with towel sculptures to return to if you are lucky which delighted my daughter and I. The restaurants have varied food and something for everyone, you just need to explore them all and although our favorite was the Italian restaurant, the staff at the Barracuda Fish restaurant went above and beyond for my husband’s birthday producing a cake and lots of singing at the end of our meal! The snorkeling from the jetty on the beach is addictive with huge amounts of different fish to see. We went on a boat trip with the company on the Beach, Pyramids, to Ras Mohammed which was a great day out with snorkeling and diving and I would recommend them. We didn’t do a trip with the other company on the beach, Falcon but when I go again I will try them. We came to look forward to seeing Ottoman (from Falcon) round the pool to tell us about what he had on offer! A great character! I have to name some of the other people who work at the hotel who particularly stood out and made our holiday special, Sabry at pool 1 bar, Moustafa from pool 2, Sayed, Mohamed and Attia from the restaurants and most importantly of all, Mido, Jamaica and Vicky from the Animation Team who made us laugh daily, included us when we wanted and didn’t hassle when we didn’t, provided really fun entertainment in the evenings and during the days and mostly just for being such fantastically lovely people who genuinely enjoy their job and like people. Thank you to you all.

Room Tip: 622 - Family room, with two bedrooms, looks out over the childrens play area one side and pool 2 on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicci2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reda A, Quality Control Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Our Dear Guest,
It is such a pleasure reading through your review and knowing how much you have enjoyed your holiday. Thanks for visiting us at Island View and many thanks for giving us the chance to be part of your holiday experience.
we all hope that you have had a nice flight home and we will be seeing you again in the soon future.
Before your next holiday drop me an email with any requests you might have and I will see to that.
Till next time, have a wonderful time.
Reda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Island View Resort It is a very good place .
Needs to give attention to the main restaurant.
The italian restaurant " La Trattoria " is amazing.
Recommend more in winter
Hope to be in again soon
Keep it up .

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reda A, Quality Control Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Our Dear Guest,
It is such a pleasure reading through your review and knowing how much you have enjoyed your holiday. Thanks for visiting us at Island View and many thanks for giving us the chance to be part of your holiday experience.
we all hope that you have had a nice flight home and we will be seeing you again in the soon future.
Before your next holiday drop me an email with any requests you might have and I will see to that.
Till next time, have a wonderful time.
Reda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Our second visit to this lovely hotel , we stayed for three weeks in March ,yes rooms are a bit tired ,but nothing's to much trouble if you had a problem it's sorted pronto , the rooms are clean & beds are comfy what more do you want , the restaurants staff are so obliging & kind fantastic stay & guess what we are coming back next March already booked , see you all again xxxx

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scoopy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reda A, Quality Control Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Our Dear Guest,
It is such a pleasure reading through your review and knowing how much you have enjoyed your holiday. Thanks for visiting us at Island View and many thanks for giving us the chance to be part of your holiday experience.
we all hope that you have had a nice flight home and we will be seeing you again in the soon future.
Before your next holiday drop me an email with any requests you might have and I will see to that.
Till next time, have a wonderful time.
Reda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Well where do I start... If your the type of people who will find fault with bits of broken tiles and rust spots in the bathroom then this hotel is probably not for you as the bathrooms could definitely do with a bit of TLC. But let's talk about what really makes a holiday special as let's face it how long do you spend in your hotel room.
The staff are without doubt what makes this a hotel that is worth returning to time after time. Special mentions have to go to the following people.
JAMAICA - he totally epitomises what hotel animation teams should be, he was a delight from morning until night and totally lived and breathed his job, whilst showing true enthusiasm and interest in all the guests! Probably one of the best iv ever encountered.
HASSAN (Restaurant if unsure in case there's more than one he had amazingly long eyelashes)
What can I say about him that really speaks volumes about the levels of service he showed us. He kept our table for us for every meal and looked after us like he was our personal butler, credit to the hotel!
MOHAMMED (lifeguard) delightful! Every morning he would spot me approaching the pool and always dashed over to take my towels off me and sort the sunbeds out, he was a lovely guy who always offered a smile and a welcome.
Another huge thank you must go to Mahmoud Selmy. We had a slight issue on arrival with the dates which was no fault of the hotel, but it was handled by two gentleman on reception who were excellent, but having had a six hour flight to have to deal and with this on top we weren't best pleased but a hand on My partners shoulder from Mahmoud reassuring us that it would be taken care of meant an awful lot. He then acknowledged us every day and took time to chat and get to know us. On our last day he did everything in his power to make sure we had a room to get showered in and thoroughly helped us finish off our time in the hotel in a very special and caring way. I can totally understand why he is front office manager.
Location is superb on the doorstep to soho square plus the private beach is a bonus. One gripe is the wifi in reception areas should be complimentary.
Many thanks again to all the staff for making it a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reda A, Quality Control Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Our Dear Guest,
It is such a pleasure reading through your review and knowing how much you have enjoyed your holiday. Thanks for visiting us at Island View and many thanks for giving us the chance to be part of your holiday experience.
we all hope that you have had a nice flight home and we will be seeing you again in the soon future.
Before your next holiday drop me an email with any requests you might have and I will see to that.
Till next time, have a wonderful time.
Reda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Failsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

this is the 2nd time at this hotel, the room's are very tired, no up date from out last visit which was 4 year's, but the grounds and pool's are kept very very clean, the staff are friendly and help full, there was 4 in our party, my husband, son and granddaughter and my self, the animation team were also good, but Vicky and Alix 2 english girl's on the animation team were brill, warm helpful made you feel family alway's asking if every thing was alright, and making a point of coming to speak to us every day, alway's telling us what was going on for that day, both girl's were brill. Jenn and Jimmy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reda A, Quality Control Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your holiday and big thank you for your review. We just hope that all is fine with you. I also, want to assure you that your comments have been noted and we will be acting on them (sooner than later). For your next visit, just drop me an email with any requests and I will make sure that they are sorted for you. we are looking forward to seeing you again in the soon future.
Till we see you again, have a very nice time.
Reda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I booked a last minute deal with my boyfriend and was weary about the hotel as we've always stayed in the royal albatross moderna which is also beautiful. On arrival to the hotel we had cold drinks waiting for us and was shown to our hotel room which is massive! Like other peoples reviews have said the bathroom could do with a new suite, however saying that it was still very clean. I am a very fussy eater and I always found something to eat, the food was beautiful! We never had a bad belly until we ate out at tgis in strada!!! It was awful I would not recommend! People have also said that this hotel is 5 mins away from soho square, that's not true at all you walk out the hotel and your are in soho! Which is brilliant! They have free wifi which we enjoyed as the hotel prices were 30 le for half an hour... The hotel grounds and pools are beautiful! We had a very good time up until getting ill from tgis. The hotel staff were brilliant we had free room service as we were too ill to sit in the restaurant :( don't listen to the bad reviews, we wasn't expecting much from this hotel as the photos don't really do it justice, but we were so shocked at how nice it was! you won't be disappointed! We wasn't! Also book your excursions through 'ottoman' he had great prices and made the trips brilliant!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 230 and could see the sea even though we didn't pay for a sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kendell o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reda A, Quality Control Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Our Dear Guest,
It is such a pleasure reading through your review and knowing how much you have enjoyed your holiday. Thanks for visiting us at Island View and many thanks for giving us the chance to be part of your holiday experience.
we all hope that you have had a nice flight home and we will be seeing you again in the soon future.
Before your next holiday drop me an email with any requests you might have and I will see to that.
Till next time, have a wonderful time.
Reda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#65 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#40 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,966 reviews
8.6 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#23 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sharm Resort & Spa
Sharm Resort & Spa
#82 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Garden Resort
Island Garden Resort
#111 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
#50 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Property: Island View Resort
Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#71 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Island View Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the splendid Shark Bay with its own house reef you will find in this "Ultra All - Inclusive" 5 star (country category) Resort everything you wish. The four large pool areas, the splendid arranged garden, with water falls and canals, the spaciously designed rooms and junior suites are the ideal venues for your family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Island View Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sunrise Island View Egypt
Hotel Sunrise Island View
Sunrise Island View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing