We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,301)
Filter reviews
5,303 results
Traveller rating
3,493
1,171
363
168
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,493
1,171
363
168
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet pool animation team naama bay old market great holiday bar staff hotel beach shuttle bus kids club pasta pool bar cleaned every day great fun evening entertainment meal times come home big thanks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,727 - 2,732 of 5,303 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel, the first being a year ago. We were welcomed as return guests with a letter from the manager and a plate of fruit. We were also brought three plates of food each as we arrived after the restaurant had closed. I agree with some previous comments about a big change in staff, there were only two members of staff we remembered from last week - Ehab who worked at the quiet pool / mermaid bar and Ibrahim who worked at the beach bar. The staff were polite but generally not quite as friendly as those last year. We thought the food was pretty good overall and in fact a wider choice than last year. We visited Nathan's for a meal which was worth a visit! We tended to go and get our own drinks in the restaurant, last year orders were taken and drinks were brought to the table instead. The room was kept very clean throughout our stay. The animation team were really friendly and often stopped for a chat. Another difference this year was having to put your name down on a list to go to the beach, save yourself hassle and get a taxi for about £2.50 , well worth it. This year we visited Soho Square which was great for a couple of hours out. The boat trip booked with the man by the hotel shops is also a nice day out. We also flew to Cairo and booked prior to going through 'Sharm life' via the internet - excellent and much cheaper than Thomsons! We enjoyed our time at the St George and would return, however I think I'd like to try somewhere different next time, the hotel could do with a little TLC.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Welshies594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Me, my hubby, my 17 month old son and our mate have just returned from this hotel. We had a good time but feel overall there could be some improvements made. Carry on reading for more details:

LOCATION - Good Location, you cant really walk anywhere but there are various free shuttle buses to the beach and other places. Naama bay is only a 5 minute taxi journey away and only costs 40LE (Around GBP 4.00) each way, you can order these through the hotel and arrange a pick up time, payment on return. In Naama Bay there is a pub called The Tavern - Owned by an English man, it shows all premiership football games amongst other sporting events, we went twice and had a great time both times.

ROOMS / CLEANLINESS - The room is a decent size for an all inclusive hotel and is very well air conditioned (You do NOT have to leave your room key in it for it to work which is a bonus). There are plenty of draws and wardrobe space as well as a safety deposit box. There are various channels on the TV is English aswell as other languages. We had a few small issues such as a broken sink plug and constantly running toilet, although this wasn't the end of the world we never got them fixed the whole time we were there despite asking reception and the cleaners. We had a cot, again it took us 2 hours to get this on arrival but was safe and comfortable for my son once we had got it into the room.

POOLS - There are 3 pools available. All of which are clean both in the pool and the surrounding area. Plenty of sun beds, although we did put our towels out at around 0830-0900 each morning just in case. The pool never seemed over crowded. The towells you could get on the towel card were decent quality and there was always a staff member to help with the brolly's etc. Plenty of choice for sun worshippers or shade wallowers :)

BEACH - The hotel does have its own private beach that also has a snack bar available serving drinks and a buffet restaurant that opens during lunch hours thats includes in your all inclusive. You do have to get a shuttle bus to the beach but these run every 30 minutes in the morning and start their return journeys from just before 3.

FOOD - The buffet restaurant. Which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We found the food in here was cooked well and everything tasted fine however it did become a little repetitive, however this is the same at all all inclusive restaurants.

There is also an A La Carte Steak Restaurant - Nathans - However this is NOT included in the all inclusive deal. The food is well priced and is very nice, you do get your all inclusive drinks in this restaurant aswell.

ENTERTAINMENT - During the day the active pool always seemed to have something going on, there was local entertainment each night but I cant really comment on this as we spent our nights on the balcony as out little boy went to bed at around 2000hrs each night.

STAFF - We found all the staff to be friendly, approachable and helpful during our stay.

EXCURSIONS - We went on a couple of excurisions one to Havanna and one on the Catamaran being the main 2 and they were both well organised and worth the money and I would reccomend you look at these and go on a couple during your stay,

TIPPING - We tipped when we wanted to. We tipped the cleaner the end of the holiday and also left our smellies etc. Waiters etc we tipped when we felt we wanted to, normally around 10LE (Approx GBP 1.00) at a time.

GENERAL - There are various shops located inside and just outside the hotel, all have good deals on various items. They have an english newspaper delivery each day (1 day behind) but get in quick, they fly of the shelves! lol!

Bottled water is available however we drank the water from the various purfiers located round the hotel and had no issues.

Ciagrettes - These can be purchased from the shop and are around GBP 1.80 a pack.

Changing Money - We changed out money in little bits as and when we needed it at the hotel ATM machine that changes money. You can also use this machine as a cash point with both credit and debit cards if needed

Drinks - There are a variety of both alchoholic and non alchoholic drinks available including beer, red wine, white wine, various cocktails and soft drinks such as Coke and fizzy Orange. All drinks are pleasant and we found we didnt need to avoid anything.

OVERALL - We all really enjoyed this holiday, however the response speed to issues / requirements could've been better. Also although the hotel does cater to children, it wasn't great for babies / toddlers in terms of entertainment. That said we would return in the future if the price was right.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EMMQUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We have just return from this hotel which is badly let down by its poor housekeeping standards, tables in reception bar not cleaned. the stairwells need to be swept correctly very noticable the amount of dirt and debris under the banister rails. maintenance does not seem to be done for some time by the state of the walls and doors.
The rooms although having a daily service was not mopped or wiped down and lacked some of the comforts you would expect of this standard of hotel.The meals are limited in chioce and staff would clear off plates from tabels whilst you were still having your meal. The bar staff were more interested in showing off their skills of tossing bottles around rather than serving. Took us 2 days to get our safe unlocked and then only after having visited reception to remind them we still had a problem. Plenty of cockroaches around the pool bar areas, fumigation was done in the evening to surpress the mosquitos, no warning of this in the room so you have to be quick to close balcony doors and remove any items from the balcony before they end up smelling of the insect spray
Its is such a pity that this hotel suffers from this type of poor standards as it is a lovely place that could offer so much.The management need to get a grip fast before its to late.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamb126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Dear oh Dear...what has happened to this hotel.Just returned from our 3 rd visit,the first two being excellent as I have posted on here but this time was a major letdown.I would not advise anyone to go this hotel just now.There has been a change of management and a lot of the staff have left.The standards have dropped dramatically.When we arrived there was no safe in the room and it took 3 days to get one. Repeated visits to reception but all we got were promises.
Also as a returning guest you are supposed to get a bottle of water in you room everyday.It was 4 days before we got one and then no more again !Reception staff were inadequate !
We were mortified to find the corridor near our room littered with COCKROACHES and woke up one morning to find one in our room.This is UNACCEPTABLE and told reception but nothing happened.
The dining room is disorganized and has become more of a canteen.Food is ok but seems to be lesser choice.We spoke to many returning guests and they also indicated that the hotel had gone downhill fast.We did not find one repeat guest who would return !
Thomson and Thomas Cook need to put pressure on this hotel quickly to get standards back up to where they were.But I fear Thomson might pull out of this property.It is a shame because we loved this hotel but the reality is...don't go here.It is past its sell by date and needs a complete makeover. We would like to return some day but only when we see that something has been done but in the meantime we will now look at other hotels.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

just lettin all that have read my review on this hotel,that im going again on the 3rd jan because we enjoyed it this year .Will keep u in loop to see if it is still as good,food was good but only warm most times u would never go hungry no matter how fussy ur,if ur a lover of brown sauce or mayo take ur owm=n iwill when i go,apart from that an flies everthink was fine have a good time

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lexielou6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews