We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When dream change to nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ghazala Beach Hotel
Ranked #96 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Due to political instability during last one and half year started by Islamic radical parties control country ending by violence in Egypt and TRAVEL WARNINGto Egypt , collapse the tourist industry most of experience personnel left the work in Shrm El Sheiek and resorts run with minimum staff .
To just running , a very cheap offer about 40 $ per night in half board during the 5 days greater Bairam holiday ( it’s dream ) I book with all my family to spend the holiday there away from curfew in Alexandria , suddenly the restriction for travel to Egypt red sea resorts was cancelled
When arrived to resort the situation was catastrophic due to shortage of skill staff , getting room continue to 7:00 Pm with a lot of problems , the room smelly due to unused for few months , old TV was out of order , sanitary in room was another problem without hope to change the room , simply the hotel was full with European come with very low package price ,but when dinner( consider it dinner in 4 star hotel ) the dream change to nightmare no place to sit not enough dishes , quality of food was out forget about food contamination or hygiene with these workers considered as staff
When complained to management they say no problem and no body complain except you !!!( we came as group 0f 150 persons from Alexandria )- the travel agent face a lot of problems but the excuse that these few untrained staff working in unbelievable condition , most of the FOOD like half baked FOOD, dry pcs of chicken are left on tables to be dropped in garbage .
But the charm of Sharm was unbeatable, and I hope the quality level for the lovely resort to be retrieved even with the normal price

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
There are newer reviews for Ghazala Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

I spent four days and three nights in Ghazala Beach Hotel on half board. While the hotel is in a good location in Naama Bay and right by the beach as well as smack in the middle of town near all the restaurants and nightlife, the reason I am giving it a "poor" rating is the food.

It was awful. Not only the food, but also the restaurant service.
For one thing there was almost no variety in the three nights we were there. The same food was served over and over, and it wasn't even good. The food was obviously rushed through the kitchens and not prepared thoroughly.
The rice consistently tasted gritty, like gravel. The chicken was dry as leather.
They had a problem with labeling too. In one incident, my wife put what was supposed to be sugar in her porridge to later find out that they had put a pot of salt instead.
The mango juice was mislabeled "orange" more than once.
The service was dead slow in the restaurant, probably because they were understaffed (despite being fully booked!). We would have to wait for a long time to find a clean table. There were lots of vacant tables, but they weren't clean and still had the dirty plates and cutlery, which waiters were slow to clean.
One time we sat at a supposedly clean table only to find that the cutlery was used and had not been replaced.

The guests had to walk around other tables asking if they had extra forks and knives.
Most of the food was bland. My wife, who isn't even that good a cook, is a much better cook than whoever they had in the hotel.

When once questioning the reason for the lack of variety of soups (there was only one kind), one of the cooks' reasoning was that he could not provide more variety when the restaurant was so full (I was under the impression that restaurants should provide MORE variety when there were more guests).

When we mentioned the poor quality of the rice to the restaurant manager, his weird response was that "we were the first people to complain". Upon hearing this I refrained from further discussion and told him I'd write my experience online.

If you must book in this hotel, by all means do, but book bed and breakfast and have dinner elsewhere. Don't let the poor quality food ruin your holiday.

Another criticism is of the rooms. If one person is a bit loud in the hallway, everyone hears him. I found this annoying when trying to go to bed.

Room Tip: Insist on a chalet near the beach, in the 200s, not the rooms in the 600s, which are quite a walk fr...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egypttraveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

we have recently returned from egypt after staying at this hotel for two weeks and in all honesty my husband and i can not fault it and are already planning a return trip from the hotel reception room boys gardeners you could not wish for a more friendly and helpfull bunch of peaple not to mention the bar manager youssry he was allways on hand for a cold bottle of water at the pool or an interesting chat before we went out for the evenning all the restaurants were cheap but the food fantastic and service brilliant i cant wait to return i can not fault this hotel or any of lts staff

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffice, Guest Relation at Ghazala Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Sue.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent holiday here with us at Ghazala Beach.
It was our upmost pleasure to serve you, and your kind words will be passed onto all the team members.
We very much look forward to you coming back to see us again very soon.
Our Warmest Regards Sue
Your Ghazala Beach Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Ghazala beach: great hotel location, within short walking distance of its own beach and only a few minutes walk to the main strip in naama bay. Hotel staff were very accomodating. We had breakfast which was great but not all inclusive so had the freedom to try local restaurants. The excursions are well worth booking, great value for money and the tour guides are very helpful and friendly always making you feel safe, especially the best guide in the resort Mohamed El Shahawy! Take the advice of the guides they know what they are talking about such as best places to go, taxi rates, avoiding the camel men etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have stayed in sharm 5 times , the ghazala beach is by far the best location of all our trips.
We stayed in a bungalow ,which was quite adequate for our needs.
Quite small but comfortable.
House keeping staff are really good and friendly.
Bar and restaurant staff are good
No at the beach bar is really nice, as are the staff at the pizza bar.
All in all ,a good place to stay on a budget .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darreneves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

we arrived at the hotel late on a Saturday night around 11pm, and were given a room in the main building when the room was made up of 2 single beds and crawling with ants.. we asked for another room and was given the option of a bungalow which was nice but the whole shower room and toilet was covered in ants and insects..so we were given a third room which was in a bit of a better state and had a double bed!..we are not normally fussy but i was worried about being bitten and it made me nervous with that many insects (think being pregnant didn't help).

the hotel only seemed like ti was at 25% capacity which made the whole resort feel quiet but this was the way for nearly all hotels.

the rooms are a bit tired they could all do with a upgrade, our TV kept breaking out in fuzziness, bathroom was very old and worn, the AC unit kept turning itself off, the bed was on its last legs. the cleaners for the hotel did the best for the rooms and were amazing! getting fresh beach towels every day at 5pm and cleaning the room thoroughly.

the pool area is very clean and lots of sun beds and a bar that you can order snack from, the pool would get warm so it was nice to get into and cool down.

the dining hall was very worn as well and we had breakfast included in our package but i found it hard to find anything to eat, i would normally have toast and that's it. the food is made up of pastry s and watery fruit they had their own version of a fry up which my husband had a few times but was very watery and bland.

the beach is a stone throw away from the pool area and a lot of people seemed to spend their time there so was a bit busier the water was amazingly warm and clear so could see a lot of fish really close the the beach front. there are the hotel rep people (not sure what you would call them) which come around every 30 minutes and ask if you want a massage/trips/photos which can become a bit annoying.

the ghazala beach bar was more of a football bar, they played football from morning to night and that was your entertainment. they had a good happy hour with a wide selection of drinks and good food. there is a Chinese,Lebanese,italian,and the bar as options for food which i think are part of the hotel.make sure you get the discount card from the hotel lobby saved a lot of money with getting 10%,20%30%40% and 50% for the last meal.
there are a lot of food options further up and in naama bay but i found the food all quite the same and no taste.

naama bay is around a 4 minute walk from the hotel with shops/shisha/bars and restaurants open till late worth having a look, but bear in mind a lot of hagglers around and they can become very forceful a lot are very friendly but there are the odd few.

overall i did find the hotel a bit boring we normally found ourselfs going in the room around 10pm and watching a film there is no entertainment there are 2 girls that do a few things on the beach during the day but it is lacking entertainment they sometimes had nights with foam party and beach artists but this all started at 10pm but often ran late due to lack of organization, happy hour finished at 9pm it would of been great for it to start around 8pm the bar normally for empty by9pm.

we did 2 excursions which was the sharm secrets (visit the old mosque and the beautiful church and then to the old town for some shopping) and soho square a must see! (which we had bowling,ice bar, shopping included in our ticket)

i cant tell you how amazing the staff are at the hotel! always happy and there to help in the boiling heat they are working in! fady (red sea rep) was with us on all our excursions and is amazing he was so helpful and seemed to really care! and islam (red sea rep in hotel) always there to help.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Visited Naama Bay Sharm El Sheikh for the 8th time in 20 years. We visited this hotel many years ago and it has seen better days and is beginning to look in need of re-decoration especially in the dining room. The layout of the breakfast buffet was not very appealing in my view compared to other hotels of the same standard and had a limited choice. The bedrooms were a good size with plenty cupboards and hanging space, kept very clean and the housekeeping staff extremely polite and efficient. The only negatives would be the bath and shower which were in need of an upgrade. However all the staff were polite especially the Beach Recreation Manager Hassan who was brilliant when my husband had an accident in the sea whilst snorkelling and injured his right hand with coral. Hassan immediately alerted the reception and the medic in the clinic at the hotel who were waiting to assist us as we rushed off the beach. The care and attention we received were first class and we were immediately taken to South Sinai hospital where we were met at the entrance by the Red Sea Hotels rep Islam Khaily (who had also been alerted unknown to us) who helped my husband who was by this time bleeding profusely, and stayed with me translating and helping with form filling. This young man then called a taxi for us to take us back quickly to the hotel as our flight was in 4 hours time and we needed to pack and check out in time. Bianca at the hotel also assisted us until we left for the airport later in the afternoon which was very re-assuring. Be sure to visit the Beach Bar at happy hour they make great gin and tonics!!! Tam Tam restaurant is a must for the oriental buffet. All in all a great location needing a bit of money spent on an upgrade. We will certainly return to Ghazala as we had a great holiday despite our last minute mishap!

Room Tip: quieter rooms on first floor were good overlooking the gardens.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffice, Guest Relation at Ghazala Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Pauline.
Thank you very much for your review. Your positive comments are highly appreciated and please rest assured that we will certainly act on your feedback.It is a pleasure to see that in general you were happy with the services you received during your stay with us.Thank you especially for the lovely, praising words regarding our team members who were on hand to assist you.
Once again, I would like to thank you for the time spent to write to us and we really are looking forward to seeing you again.
Many Thanks Pauline
Warmest Regards
Your Ghazala Beach Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Helnan Marina Sharm
Helnan Marina Sharm
#99 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lido Sharm Hotel
Lido Sharm Hotel
#17 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
#82 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#15 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
#72 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh
Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Cas...
#123 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghazala Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghazala Beach Hotel

Address: El Salam Street | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#70 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#89 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £30 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghazala Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on its own beautiful private beach, in possibly the best location in Naama Bay, the Ghazala Beach's bustling atmosphere comes from its extensive range of activities and its location just five minutes' walk along the promenade to the bars, cafes, restaurants, shops and nightclubs of Naama Bay. A great value hotel, in a great location, it even boasts its own dive centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ghazala Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ghazala Beach
Ghazala Beach Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing