We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For undemanding travellers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sonesta Club
Ranked #114 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Lviv, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For undemanding travellers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The resort looks lovely, yet the rooms are worse than shown in the photos, furniture and bathrooms are a bir wornout. Rooms are not cleaned regularly, Quite often there are some disorders. The canteen is not spacious enough to place all the guests if the hotel is completely booked, sometimes you can hardly find a table. There may be not clean or fresh vegetables available. During our stay a few people had a stomack disoder on the last day of stay.
The animamators were friendly and hardworking.
The food was rich and various, the restaurant not very clean, suffering a lack of waiters and dishes, cutlery.
The hotel staff are selective in their treatment of guests, often unfriendly and unprofessional. It feels that the hotel lacks employees to cope with the flow of guests in high season.
Compared to the previous years the quality of rest you are offered here has deteriorated.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Club, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Helen,

Thank you for your review and for expressing your opinion about the hotel and its facilities. I am sorry you felt that the holiday you had this year was any less enjoyable than last year’s holiday.

However, I must point out a couple of things. We have plenty of room for everybody to eat at the same time even when we are at full occupancy and we have a selection fresh fruit and vegetables every day. Your room will be cleaned every day unless you have the “Do Not Disturb” sign on the handle. All of our staff are trained to be courteous and respectful to all the guests all the time and if they behave any differently from this, I would want to know.

I apologise if things were not as they should be but if you had mentioned these points to Guest Relations they would have resolved them very quickly and improved your holiday experience.

Thank you for your comments.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    505
    194
    93
    52
See reviews for
365
559
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this Hotel all inclusive for a week from the 24th July 2014. We stayed as two young couples and really enjoyed our stay. Please see below for honest review:

Rooms:
We stayed in rooms 1017 and 1018. They were two adjoining rooms which was great for us as majority of the time we left the doors open and had the use of both rooms. Rooms were spacious and clean. We had a king size bed, balcony, shower, bath and plenty of wardrobe space. The rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels were left. Our cleaner also left different designs each day using our towels and clothes which was nice. There is air con in the rooms and a hair dryer, but the hair dryer is not that great so you may want to take your own. There is a safety deposit box in every room, just don't lose the key otherwise you will be charged $100. There is a TV with some English channels if you want to use it and a mini bar which is an additional cost.

We were quite a walk from the main reception and restaurant, but we didn't mind as it was quieter and near the bars and pools :-)
The hotel give you towel cards that you exchange your towels for each day-these need to be returned when you check out.

Food and drink:
The food and drink were good-there was a good selection everyday that catered for all nationalities. We always found something to eat that we liked, but we are not fussy and wanted to try the more traditional Egyptian food as well as usual chips etc.
Every night in the buffet is a themed night-for example Italian, BBQ Etc. Breakfast you can get omelettes and eggs made fresh, toast, fresh fruit, cereal etc. At lunch you have the option of either eating in the buffet restaurant or going to one of the bars that serve burgers, chips, wraps. We did this a few days and ate around the pool-which was nice.
We also paid extra to have a meal in the Italian restaurant. This isn't part of the all inclusive deal-but we had starter, main and bottles of wine for four people for £12 each. So it is well worth a visit-very cheap and lovely food.
Drinks are available all day until 12pm each day at all the bars-we didn't find the bars to be that busy-but try to stock up on bottles of water at breakfast, lunch and dinner in the buffet restaurant as you can only get water by the cup at the bars.
Warning-only drink bottled water in Egypt as you will get a very dodgy stomach-even use bottled water to clean your teeth and try not to have ice in your drinks.

Pools:
The pools are cleaned daily and are immaculate-the whole hotel is really well looked after and very very clean. There are quite a few different pools including a kids pool with small slides and a bigger pool with three very rapid slides (very good fun)
There is also a net and goals that are used daily to play water volleyball and water polo if you want to join in (again great fun)

Spa/gym:
We visited the gym once during our stay and it was very good-lots of equipment and free weights. We also had an Egyptian massage whilst there and this too was very good. The spa facilities are lovely and very professional- a lovely way to relax. The massage worked out about £30pp so not overly expensive and this included a sauna and jacuzzi (Haggle with the price-they will give you a deal)

Staff:
The staff couldn't be more helpful at this hotel. The restaurant staff, bar staff, reception staff, managers-everyone is so friendly and helpful. We had an incident whilst on hol and the reception and security staff went out of their way to help us resolve it and gave us a free late check out as we were so late to bed. My boyfriend also hurt his ear whilst at the hotel and the medical centre sorted him out and arranged follow up appt with the doc throughout the holiday.

Entertainment:
This was pretty rubbish to be honest, but we didn't stay in the hotel that much of an evening so we weren't really that bothered. It was very catered to the Russian audience and most of it was in Russian. They did things like: disco, miss hotel, game show, fire show etc.
In the day they had activities such as volleyball, football (there is a massive grass football pitch at the hotel) darts, yoga, water aerobics etc. There was also a kids club but we didn't really see any of that.

Additional facilities:
You can get a courtesy bus from Sonesta club to Sonesta beach and use the beach facilities there-but to be honest-if you can't be bothered to wait for the bus it is literally a five min walk up the road. The beach is lovely-we brought some snorkels and saw some amazing fish including a sting ray. The beach had a jetty that you can walk out onto and then get into the deeper waters past the coral. This is definitely worth a visit if you want to see some amazing fish. You can also go on banana boats, glass bottom boats and pedalos here, but we didn't do that. There is a beach bar on the beach that is part of the all inclusive-so you can still get drinks/snacks whilst at the beach.

Inside the hotel there is a small parade of shops selling various things-but you will probably get everything cheaper in naama bay. However if you don't want any hassle these shops are pretty good.

Wifi is only available in the reception area, but it is fairly cheap to buy for the week-about £7.

There is an ATM inside the hotel which you can get Egyptian money from using UK cards, but it is also handy to know that it changes £ and $ into Egyptian pounds if you need to.

Negatives:
The only thing that spoilt it a little bit was the Russians as the hotel is dominated by them and they are so so rude!! This didn't bother us too much as we just gave as good as we got and stayed out of their way. To be honest the whole of sharm was full of Russians so I don't think it would make a difference what hotel you are in-the Russians will still be there. One good thing about sonesta is the staff know what the Russians are like and go out of their way to help the English guests.

Overall this is a good hotel and in a great location. We had a lovely time and will hopefully return soon.

Thanks to the staff at Sonesta Club.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank VickyFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Club, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Vicky,

Thank you for this detailed and comprehensive review of your stay with us. I’m delighted that you all had such a wonderful time and enjoyed the food and the activities and also that you were well looked after by the staff. We have a variety of nationalities staying with us at any one time and at the moment, Sharm does indeed seem to be full of British and Russians but this changes with the seasons and the public holidays in the various countries.

It has been a pleasure to host you on this occasion and we look forward to hosting you once again in the not-too-distant future.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is quite dated & in need of a refurb but is clean all round & all the staff are fantastic & absolutely love the British which means they can't do enough for you!
One major problem here is the Russians! This was our 5th time to Egypt & never have we experienced this! We arrived back to England on 7/8/2014 having stayed two weeks here! During our stay there was a maximum of 30 British people, yes 30 that is not a mistake I've made!
Meal times are like feeding time at the Zoo and you really do fear for your life going up to the food stations 3x a day! They are the rudest, arrogant people we have ever come across and are horrible to the staff!
Entertainment is appalling to which children's films are in Russian with no British subtitles, adult entertainment is going back to the 80s! I know it's like that most places but it would not have been so bad if we understood what was going on!
We knew There would be some Russians but not as many as this!
Like I said earlier hotel & staff were very good but we will not be returning here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Club, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Joanne,

Sharm El Sheikh has a lot of British and Russians at certain times of the year and at other times there may well be more of other nationalities. It depends on seasons and public holidays.

However, as we cater for a multi-national clientele we try to provide a range of entertainment and cuisines to keep everybody happy but, unfortunately, not you on this occasion. I apologise that we were not able to meet your expectations. Perhaps at another time of year we could have done so very well.

Thank you for the review and for choosing the Sonesta Club for your holiday.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We went to the Sonesta Club last December for the 1st time to Egypt and the hotel was really good.
There was plenty of food with a range to suit everyone. The chefs couldn't do enough for us while we were there.
The bar staff were good with drinks ready for us whilst walking to the bar.
The animation team were really good throughout the day and evening.
We have booked again to the same hotel for this year and hopefully there is still the same bar staff and waiters in the dining hall and also the same animation team especially D.j Adri who is an amazing person and one of the main reasons for us returning to the same hotel. We will be very disappointed if Adri is not at the Sonesta Club on our return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiterosesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Club, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you had a wonderful time with us last December and that you have booked a return trip. If you have any queries or any special requirements please do not hesitate to email us and we’ll do our best to comply with your wishes.

Thank you fo the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sana, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed with my wife for one week.
It is comfortable.
Swimming pools are great.
I had nice days. Price is reasonable comparing to services.
Only one thing bothred me, I had to walk about 5 minutes to reach my room 701. So ask for a room near from gate.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbadyAbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the short-but-sweet review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. By all means, if anybody has mobility issues and would like to be in a particular place, please do let us know well in advance and we’ll do our very best to accommodate you accordingly.

Thank you for choosing the Sonesta Club and we hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

we have recently returned from yet anouther fantastic trip to the sonesta club,i booked the trip for my partners birthday and the management and staff didnt let us down! they made the birthday special with a cake and many other little suprises. brilliant.especially because we spent it with our friends (the staff and management) we have been to the sonesta club many times over the last 6 years and would recomend the hotel most highly.The staff are amazing and cannot do enough for you.The accomadation is great, the grounds and 7 pools are kept immaculate. you could never feel home sick in eygpt if you stayed at the sonesta club because the staff wont let you.THANK YOU TO ALL MANAGEMENT AND STAFF OF SONESTA CLUB. Our Home from Home.See you very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geosue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Club, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Sue,

How wonderful that you refer to our hotel as your home from home. Praise at the highest level. It’s a delight to have you with us and we do value your feedback as it sends such a strong message out to the other readers on this forum.

So thank you for your review and for choosing the Sonesta Club time and time again and we can’t wait for the next time.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from another great stay (our 8th) at the Sonesta Club. Been going here for years now and have loved it every time we go however, this time we were disappointed to learn, if rumours are to be believed, that the management want to turn it into all Russian hotel. We were looked after very well by Essam Ahmed in the restaurant who had our table ready and waiting for us every morning. All the boys in both bars are great Mohamed Samir and Mohamed Ismail (our gentle giant) from the Tropical bar and bar manager Zakaria were brilliant! Mahmoud in the towel hut is also a brilliant guy and with his two young sidekicks both called Mohamed had us in stitches all the time. The only thing we were disappointed in this time was all the animation staff were all Russian and once they found out we weren't Russian they didn't speak to us for the rest of the holiday. Other than that you cannot go wrong with the Sonesta Club. Hotel is spotless, food good, and most of all the people great.

Room Tip: We always have the same room 605 which is a twin which is right beside the Jacuzzi and big pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelM578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Sonesta Club, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Hazel,

Thanks for the lovely review and for choosing the Sonesta Club for your holiday. I can assure you that we have absolutely no plans to turn this into a Russians only hotel and I thank you for checking that with us. Furthermore, if all of our animation team are Russian, this is purely coincidental as they are hired according to their animation skills and their range of languages, not their nationality or main language. It could well be that next time you come there will be some British animators, it just depends on their skills.

However, I am delighted to note that everything else went so well and you had a marvelous time with us and we can’t wait to see you again.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 mi away
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
#83 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Son...
#78 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#56 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#14 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
#76 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Royal Holiday Resort
Le Royal Holiday Resort
#34 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Club

Property: Sonesta Club
Address: Naama Bay | 2 Sonesta Club Drive, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#71 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#72 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#99 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#101 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Club 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fashionable Naama Bay, the Sonesta Club Sharm El Sheikh overlooks the Red Sea and the South Sinai peninsula's desert and mountains. A traditional Nubian-style resort, the property is surrounded by landscaped gardens and dramatic pool areas. Known as one of the best Red Sea Resorts, Sonesta Club Sharm El Sheikh with 409 unique guest rooms, the hotel is located in Naama Bay and shares its beach with Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino. Sonesta Club has one of the largest aqua parks in Sharm El Sheikh; in addition, it has two great main pools divided into seven pools and a Diving Center. The hotel also offers an open air jacuzzi for the relaxation of its guests. There is also a children's program for the younger guests. Guests can pamper themselves with a sauna, steam bath or Jacuzzi, work out in the Club's fitness center or relax with massage treatments in the health spa. The Club offers several fine dining options! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sonesta Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Club Sharm El Sheikh - Naama Bay Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sonesta Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sonesta Sharm El-Sheikh
Sharm El-Sheikh Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing