We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful week in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nubian Island Hotel
Ranked #46 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful week in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We're a family of five, with three kids under the age of seven (twins aged 4 and a six year old), so our week away for half term is important to us. We had an amazing time during our stay here. The hotel itself is immaculate, the staff friendly and the facilities are superb. We stayed in one of the many bungalow style properties that are in the beautifully kept gardens. The accommodation was clean and comfortable with the biggest bed we've ever stayed in, though the mattress didn't quite match the comfort of our mattress at home! The beauty of staying in a bungalow away from the hotel was that we felt quite secluded. There are two pools: the main pool being the 'quiet' pool right by the rear of the hotel which was excellent for the kids as within it, there were also two other pools, one paddling pool and a jacuzzi style pool (without the jets), all of which are kids jumped in and out of all day. There's a second pool at the far end towards the beach, though there's often a fair bit of noise going on here, so if you like to listen to blaring music while you relax on a sunbed, this is the pool for you. The beach is less than five mins walk from the hotel and there are tonnes of sunbeds to choose from. You need rubber shoes for swimming. The tide gets low and there's coral which is great for snorkelling though you will inevitably need to do some walking out in the sea and we heard of someone who tore open their feet because they weren't wearing appropriate footwear, so make sure you're wearing something on your feet!

Going back to pools, you also have access to the sister hotel next door, Nubian Village where there are two more brilliant pools, one of which has water slides. We spent two whole days with the kids playing here. Amazing facilities.

Food was pretty good in the restaurants though not five star quality. The food is much better at Club Med. A huge variety of food on offer, and though we are foodies, we wouldn't be interested in eating half of it. The main restaurant is quite big and catering for a large volume of guests can be challenging and we found it a bit samey. Lots of boiled beef type dishes and we thought the ensemble of foods on offer was often a bit random and dated. A bit like the sort of food you grandparents were cooking in the 1970's. To be fair, there was always a large selection of very fresh salads and vegetables and whoever is in charge of pastries should be snapped up by The Ritz. The pastries on offer were varied and delicious.

However, there are two other restaurants which you can use for free which stood out head and shoulders above the main restaurant, and they were the seafood restaurant (Barricuda) at lunchtime and the Italian restaurant in the evening. The food at both of these places was immeasurably better than the main restaurant and for some reason, these restaurants were always quiet. They were the best kept secret. Though, while you can eat at Barricuda for free at lunchtime, there are charges to eat here in the evening. The Italian place supposedly placed restrictions on eating there too, though we ate here twice and they seemed happy with that.

The staff here were all very helpful and accommodating. The animation team are always bright and cheerful and we all thought a lot of Kate who always made time to have a quick chat and find out what we'd been up to.

Overall we were incredibly happy with our time here, though there were two things that I thought were worth a mention, the first of which was the Russians. We'd read about Russians coming to Sharm El Sheikh on holiday and don't underestimate them. There are loads of them!!! To be honest, their presence didn't really bother us, despite their large numbers and the fact that they tend to barge about the place, especially in the restaurants. We were told that in the hotel the Russians account for 80-90% of all guests. They keep themselves to themselves and we didn't have any issues with them. In fact we ended up making a few Russian friends while we were here, in spite of the language difficulties. Though in the evening, the entertainment is highly geared (inevitably I suppose) towards our Russian friends. Russian songs, Russian singing, Russian dances etc. Our 4 year old little girl was desperate to get on stage and get involved, though of course she didn't have the foggiest idea what she was being asked to do and was completely out of step with her Russian contemporaries!! That didn't stop her from having a great time up there, though one of our British friends made a complaint about the lack of English language songs, so a couple of token English songs were eventually played before it reverted to Russian again. That didn't bother us at all, though I could see that some British people would find this slightly annoying.

The other minor issue for me and I realise it's only a minor point but it is worth a mention....was the selling that went on round the pool. On our first day, we'd been approached by five different guys with clipboards trying to sell us things BEFORE 11am!!! A trip on a glass bottom boat, hair braiding, massage, scuba diving, an island trip, an evening trip to a traditional village in the mountains, a snorkelling day trip, henna tattoos. Leave me alone, please. The list of activities was endless and the interruptions to my peace around the pool was unrelenting. On day three, I noticed that the towel guy had a 'Shhhh, Do Not Disturb' sign which could be hung from umbrellas and that worked a treat. They left us alone after that. Incredibly, within half an hour EVERYONE followed suit and had that sign hanging from their umbrella, so it was apparent that it wasn't just me being curmudgeonly. These guys were a nuisance.

All things told we had an excellent stay here and would highly recommend with the two caveats mentioned above.

Room Tip: You could ask for a bungalow close to the beach, though don't forget it's a five minute walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayrowdendotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests!
Thank you for a substantial review. We will follow up sellers' attitude around the pool.
Nice to hear that you enjoyed intercultural events together with Russian guests.
Wait for your coming again.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,440
    388
    104
    42
    19
See reviews for
735
731
90
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Myself and two teenage children have just returned from a wonderful, relaxing week at Nubian Island Hotel. This was our second visit to Egypt, much preferring the more laid back atmosphere of Nabq Bay to Naama Bay.
The hotel itself is beautiful, well laid out with pretty gardens, walkways and streams. We stayed in a bungalow near the quiet pool and found this to be the perfect location. The room was spacious and cleaned to a high standard daily. As mentioned in previous reviews the beds are very hard but after a few nights we adjusted to this, we also found our air-conditioning to be rather noisy, that said we all slept pretty well.
The food in the main buffet restaurant was varied and plentiful, as with all buffet style restaurants it does become a little repetitive after a while but we made full use of the other restaurants on site, particularly enjoying the Italian, Napoletano as well as eating at the Hard Rock Café down the road. Service throughout the hotel was efficient and friendly, special mention to Morsy in the Island pool bar who looked after us all week.
My kids made use of the water slides at the sister hotel next door which proved popular as well as participating in the various sports and activities organised by the tireless animation team, including water-polo, volleyball, darts, and other beach games. My boys have asked me to thank them all, in particular; Anna, Tony and Zino.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our week at Nubian Island, we would definitely consider returning in the future. Its a shame so many people have been put off travelling to Egypt due to recent trouble in Cairo, we hope it settles down soon as would love to visit the Pyramids at Giza on our next trip.

Room Tip: Bungalows near quiet pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mavis88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests!
Many thanks for your time to write a comment. We believe next stay you will enjoy again with us and could go to Giza - a sightseeing must visit.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Family of 2 adults and 2 kids (13 & 10), we stayed at Nubian Island for Christmas and New Year last December. We booked for a week at October Half Term as soon as we got back, but were a bit worried that the atmosphere, food and brilliant staff were down to the time of the year.

Having just returned we had absolutely nothing to worry about. Starting with staff in the bars and restaurants recognising our faces as returning guests, to the free meal in the Barracuda restaurant and fruit, wine, beer and soft drinks in the fridge, we were again made to feel extremely welcome.

We had a bungalow in the same block as last time, so had the same cleaner, who recognised us and was just as happy as he was 10 months ago.

Maged in the Activity Pool bar is still an absolute star and Hany who manages the Dome Lobby bar is still so friendly and happy.

The hotel's Animation Team had completely changed since December. However, just like the last Team, they were all extremely hard working and enthusiastic. Zino, Toni, Anna and all the others led by Willy the boss were all brilliant.

A special mention goes to Kate as the lone British representative in this hotel's Animation Team, who despite working long hours keeping us all entertained, was always happy and welcoming. They are all a credit to the hotel.

The food was just as good as Christmas and New Year. There was a drinks reception just for British guests one evening, followed by a Gala Drinks Reception and Dinner the next. They did this last time, but we were not expecting it again.

George, the General Manager, and his senior staff hosted both Receptions and they all truly care that the guests have a good time and this shows in all the staff.

Finally, Mr Diver, the scuba diving centre based at the hotel were again professional and fun to dive with. My son, having done his Open Water with them in December, completed his Advanced course this time. Thanks to Ronald and his team, especially Ahmed, Abdu and Adil.

Whilst we were away we spoke about going back next year, but had no spare holiday, having already booked a trip to Italy at Easter 2014. Our second visit to Nubian Island was so good we decided to cancel Italy and are now going back for our 3rd holiday at Easter, this time for 2 weeks.

Says it all really!

Room Tip: Ask for a topper for the beds as mattresses are hard and take mosquito repellent as they seem to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricjas0170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests!
Thanks for choosing our hotel again. Also we appreciate your terrific review providing meticulous description of all our infrastructure.
Looking forward to meeting from you on Easter.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Accommodation marvellous with the room cleaned everyday. Such a variety of food in the restaurant even though we are vegetarians no problems the best hotel we have stayed at. The staff so friendly and helpful from waiters, cleaners, Samuel always taking our towel for us down to the beach to put on our sunbed. The only thing we didn't like was the loud musci played at the Lagoon pool at certain times of the day.Well worth he money. We loved be able to snorkel everyday from the hotel beach by walking on their pier to the reef. You must go in and see the amazing colourful fish unbelievable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pamelas394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Pamela,
We believe that you have got an unforgettable experience snorkeling along the reef from the jetty. Could you be so kind to upload some photos of our attractive seascape? Our Nabq area is a National Park and visitors who are going to us could be aware about the beauty of the Red Sea.
Management and all our staff are waiting for your next visit.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

2nd Time to the Nubian Island. Didn't Think it would be as good as the 1st Time, It Wasn't it was better.
If you don't like this Hotel you really shouldn't bother going on holiday.

The Hotel is amazing and the Staff are second to None you couldn't name individual staff for special praise as they are all amazing.

Book this Hotel and go and Experience it for yourself s you will not be Disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, General Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Carl,
An amazing comparison of your stay as a repeated guest! Surely, we will try your 3d visit is the best one!
Best Regards,
Georges Salama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Have spent an amazing week at the Nubian, Next time I hope to go back for 2 weeks, We went with friends who have been before, The Hotel staff are Fantastic, from grounds workers, Chefs, Waiters, Cleaners, all the way up to the general manager, everyone was so friendly and polite, My favorites Mohammed and Tamer in the lounge bar, Maged in the pool bar,

The room was always cleaned with some fantastic towel art made by the wonderful Mohamed,

The food is plentiful well presented with a selection to tempt the palate, and there is always a few dishes to suit the unadventurous ,ie pizza ,chips etc, but i say if you can try all the options available, im defiantly having to go on a diet for the next couple of weeks,,

The animation team are probably the best I have ever experienced,, Toni you are a star, Zino Mr smiley, Kate. always happy and little anna you all work so hard and always have a smile , you helped us have the most fantastic time,and we totally appreciate It

Room Tip: Next time I will take insect repellent , as although they fog the grounds, we got bitten .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scanny2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests!
Appreciate your comments and fantastic photos! May all your dreams come true - and you are with us again next year!
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My friend Paula and I spent 10 days at this hotel and were both very impressed! We were originally booked in at the Tamra Beach hotel (through Low Cost Holidays) which had to close due to low occupancy levels as a result from the uprising in Cairo. We were therefore relocated to "Nubian Village"..... What a result!

Room 552 :
Our first impressions were : nice size room and bathroom but a little dated. Lighting quite poor in the main bedroom so not great for 'making up'. Great lighting in the bathroom but although a massive mirror sits behind the sink, it is impossible to get close enough to 'make up'....all you women out there that simply go bare faced with a touch of bronzer - no problem!!!
BED was extremely HARD and lumpy pillows but we found out 4 days into our holiday they can supply a mattress topper, which does make it a little softer.
Towels were changed daily and bed linen every 3 days and the room was always kept immaculate and cleaned to a very high standard, "Big Thanks to Mohammed' for maintaining our room, you really do an excellent job.

Three pools at this hotel, the quieter one being at the top end near the entrance (including a baby pool) and an action / music pool nearest to the beach. We mainly stayed at the quiter pool to chill out with some amazing friends we made along the way and went down to the other pool to take part in water aerobics which was great fun. Normally run by 'ZINO' part of the animation team who was AMAZING...what a lovely, friendly, genuine guy. He made us feel so welcome right from the beginning and even lent us some snorkelling shoes. DANNY also deserves a mention (animation team) regularly came over to chat with us and gave us a laugh!

There are beautiful well maintained gardens with small bridges to cross to reach the other pool, spa, a la carte restaurants and beach.
It was quite windy for the first 4 days of our arrival so the red flag was flying on the jetty so unable to snorkel but once it dropped the snorkelling was amazing, clear blue sea and an amazing array of fish.

Food was very good and varied (the best I have known on an 'all inclusive' holiday) with an occasional outside barbecue set up which was yummy! Bottle of water and drinks supplied each meal in the main dining room which again was very clean and very well staffed, some of which definitely deserve a mention : RAMY, EVAN, ABRAHAM, SAMY and MOHAMMED all were so friendly, efficient and made our stay much more enjoyable....thank you!!

'Neopoletano' Restaurant - run by MOHAMMED was definitely worth a visit. A five course a La Carte meal which was of a very good standard and a nice change to be waited on by Mohammed who was absolutely charming where nothing was too much trouble.

Evening entertainment was ok. Some of the fire and light shows were exceptional but some of the shows laid on by the animation team were quite poor and childish. There is a disco and lounge bar and quiz nights / karaoke etc arranged which were all fun. A BIG shout out to HANY manager of lounge bar who was super, funny and friendly and very entertaining in his own right.

WIFI : £20 for 1 week which really is extravagant as the signal is soooo poor we had to sit outside the front of the hotel to enable us to skype family members at home and got cut off several times in one call....really frustrating!!

Reception staff were not always very friendly or particularly helpful which was a minus. If you want to keep the room on should you have a late flight they will charge you, which is ok but they asked us to pay £50 for this service and others had been charged £20 & £30 so I assume they just make it up as they go along....hence we didn't take them up on their offer.

Ruslana Sayenko : Guest relations manager was extremely helpful and friendly. We asked her advise on various excursions etc as we would get conflicting reports on prices etc from the excursion reps that wander around all day trying to sell their trips. Ruslana was informative and honest. We decided to go swimming with the dolphins and WOW what an experience!!

Would I return again to this hotel ......Most Definately!!! :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Alison!
Nice to hear from you! First of all, thanks a lot for your thorough comments and remarks.
Definitely, we have projects to soften the beds and improve Wi-Fi. Hope next your visit you could be completely satisfied.
Concerning the late check out: hotel acts according to memo from 21.11.2012 that day use for all companies is 60 Euro per room from 12 noon till 19:00, lunch is 20 EURO and 50% discount for a child and dinner is 24 EURO and 50% discount for a child.
Send greetings to Paula. Now more guests swim with dolphins - and I tell them about your experience.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Nubian Village Hotel
Nubian Village Hotel
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.6 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
8.1 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#22 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#42 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nubian Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Island Hotel

Property: Nubian Island Hotel
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 41231, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#47 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Nubian Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Nabq Bay, overlooking Tiran Island, the Nubian Island Resort Hotel is unique in its architectural Nubian elegance embraced by the spectacular land and seascapes of Egypt Sinai Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nubian Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nubian Island Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Nubian Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing