We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel great weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nubian Island Hotel
Ranked #30 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 28 May 2014

just back from week at Nubian island.1st time here and we really enjoyed it.hotel very clean better than expected on our 1st trip to Egypt.food good with plenty of variety but if you like full English for breakfast its not for you.all.staff very friendly and attentive especially staff round quiet pool near hotel.beach area very good and the snorkelling is superb.only gripe is the beds are hard and aircon very noisey .all in all great holiday great weather would recommend to anyone and hope to go back next year,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HullDantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 2,087 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an 11 night stay at this excellent hotel. Have to to say nothing is too much for the staff at this place. From the moment you get there they help you with any issue that you may have. We had no luggage for 26 hours, an offer from Maged who works the lower pool bar was made to lend some clothes to us. This guy is worth his weight and more in gold, every day he could not do enough for us. He is a credit to himself, the hotel and the management, speaking of which, there was a problem with the cold water in our room, however this was rectified quickly and the following day, a manager (Mr) Wassam, came to find us by the pool, apologising for the matter and promptly upgraded us to a bungalow. He filled the fridge, arranged the mattress topper to be on ready, arranged late check out and then checked whenever he saw us, that all was okay. Talk about going the extra mile. The lounge bar is open 24 hours although A I finished at 12.00 (you could pay for drinks after this time) all the staff were again friendly and service was excellent a special mention to Abdi, how he remembers your drinks after the first round beats mean and he always said goodnight when he was leaving, regardless of where we were sat. Food was plentiful and something for everyone, however I have to say a downside was the vast amount of Russian guests who were very rude and pushed their way in front of you. How the chefs and waiters did not say anything beats me, "manners cost nothing". Due to the time of year we went, you could go to the pool at 11 o clock and still there were plenty of sun beds in prime locations. Entertainment is not good, the animation team lacked in a lot of areas, however a couple did try to get the atmosphere going especially Tisha who was a right laugh an seemed to dance everywhere. All in all this hotel is a great place to unwind, become lazy and be treated with excellent manners, would I go back ..... Most defiantly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've booked an All Inclusive to this hotel and I have a few questions.
What are the drinks like? I.e. Beer, Wine, Spirits, etc... and Are these included in the All Inclusive?
Also, are there weight lifting facilities in the Gym? Also, does access to the gym come at an extra charge?

Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We returned from the hotel on 25th May. This place is made by the staff who are the best we have come across in Egypt, especially Maged bartender at the Lagoon Pool who is a credit to the hotel, his happy smiling face and good humour made the holiday during the day. The hotel main restaurant is functional in a cafeteria sort of way lacking slightly in atmosphere. The Barracuda restaurant by the Lagoon Pool can be used during the day for lunch and doubles up as the fish restaurant in the evening at a supplementary charge, which we did not use, but lunches here were excellent with a good choice and outside BBQ daily. We stayed in a bungalow overlooking the Island Pool ( top pool by the hotel main building), ask for a mattress topper if you don't like very firm beds, and enjoyed the walk through the fantastic gardens every morning after breakfast down to the lower Lagoon Pool, we have never seen a running stream in all our holidays in Egypt, the gardens are exceptional and tended by a small army of gardeners from 7am till dusk. During the last few days of our holiday there was a repainting project being undertaken to the outside of the buildings and bungalows and around the 2 pool areas, which was welcome as they did need a bit of TLC. The shops in the hotel do offer reasonable goods especially the T shirt shop run by Sam , and the watch / handbag shop.
There is a downside to the mix of guests at the hotel as 60% are Russian and unfortunately do not have any manners or know how to behave ,they can be obnoxious at times , and don't expect them to abide by the dress code in the restaurant in the evening because they won't. However this did not spoil our holiday and we met some really great friends during our stay. I would recommend this hotel for couples out of UK school holidays , or families during UK school holidays. We may well look to return in November.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasider2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked two weeks at nubian island. First impressions were grand decor and very well maintained pool, beach and gardens. The entertainment was very Russian favoured as they are the majority of guests. A barman offered to take us to a cinema show which resulted in us getting ripped off however he was reprimanded and we got part of our money back. Masry from four waves was the least pushy salesman and he did his best to match us with other english couples on excursions. We tipped to have the barmen bring you drinks to your lounger. Beachfront had some amazing aquatic life. We spent £500 in two weeks but if you wanted a budget holiday there is plenty to do. Jo and darnel from animation were most helpful during our stay

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leewakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned after two weeks at the Nubian Island.great welcome cold drink cases to room straight into restaurant for a meal.clean restaurant,good choice of food, our room no 458 groud floor terrace, just walk out onto the quite pool, towel lad Hsham rearly looked after us.beds are hard ,just ask for a bed topper, this helps..pool/towel lad at the activity pool Wyhid, always happy, great memory, had our towels ready for us ,coming of beach,the restaurant here was also clean with a good choice, of fresh cooked food,and cold beer. the beach barman always brought your cold beer, to your beach bed ,swimming or just standing in the red sea, with beautifull coloured fish all around you..Thomson rep, Mahomad the best,, we have ever had..Amination team great, Joe was amazing ,very friendly, and, full of helpful information.. A great hotel with excellent ,staff, everybody...cleaners,,pool lads,,all bar staff,,waiters,,and reception staff,could not do, enough for us .Great holiday in Egypt hope to return..

Room Tip: try to choose room with terrace..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob/lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Nubian Island Hotel for two weeks from the 11th May.

Rooms - Were very clean, could do with updating as they are slightly dated, but overall great!
Food - Fantastic, always a huge choice of food, always hot.
Animation - Joe, Cookie & Daniel were great, they always checked in to make sure we were ok around the pool in the day. At night the animation team put on a show in the village hotel next door, slightly intimidating for non-russians! They did get the English involved but still very Russian orientated!
Beach - Always kept clean, Bar staff at the beach bar were always happy to help! We did alot of snorkelling in the shallow part of the sea, which was great!
Staff - Mostly very friendly, one member of staff (No names) ripped 6 of us off one night. He took us out to nabq bay to a 9D cinema that his friend owned (There was nothing 9D about it) it was a shed at the back of a bar! We watched the film and then he charged us 100 Egyptian each (£8-9), we paid his friend as we didnt really have an option! The member of staff was then called back by his friend as we walked away and given a wedge of notes (Obviously his commision). All of the staff back at the hotel were shocked when we told them the next day what had happened and they made the particular guy give us half of the money back. We did not see him around the hotel again for the rest of the holiday! (Moral of the story is, dont get TOO friendly with the Egyptian staff as 9 times out of 10 they are going to try and make abit of money out of you!

All around a great hotel, we will be back next year!

Thanks again to Joe, Daniel & Cookie!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B89Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
350 mi away
Nubian Village Hotel
Nubian Village Hotel
#15 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
10.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Charmillion Club Resorts
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#12 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parrotel Beach Resort
Parrotel Beach Resort
#7 of 33 in Nabq Bay
3,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nubian Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Island Hotel

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 41231, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#45 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £47 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nubian Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Nabq Bay, overlooking Tiran Island, the Nubian Island Resort Hotel is unique in its architectural Nubian elegance embraced by the spectacular land and seascapes of Egypt Sinai Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, IATI Turizm Ticaret A.S, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nubian Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nubian Island Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Nubian Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing