We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Holiday Ignore the bad reviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nubian Island Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nubian Island Hotel
Ranked #48 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday Ignore the bad reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I traveled to Egypt 8th July 214-15th July with my partner. We are a youngish couple late 20s. On arrival we were welcomed in reception by the staff and given drinks.We were then shown to our room by one of the staff who carried all of our luggage for us. We arrived late at night around 10.30pm which meant the buffet was closed but there was snacks in the Dome Lobby Bar.

Room- our room was fine. We were second floor overlooking the pool. It was clean and had water in the fridge which was stocked daily. The air conditioning worked however a little noisy at night time. The shower was very good, powerful and not too hot or too cold.

Hotel grounds- these are beautiful. The gardeners do a fantastic job to maintain the grounds as there is a lot of them. We walked down to the beach most evenings and loved the wander around the grounds. Very pretty plants and trees.

Pool area- we stayed up the pool just outside the reception. The beach pool was more lively with music playing , games etc but we liked just chilling at this one as it was quieter. You get people that come around selling trips/massages etc. If you do not want to be disturbed you can get a DND sign to hang off your parasol. The pool has a swim up bar where you can get decent size drinks and snacks of crisps, sandwiches , ice cream. George the bar man is very good there. We always managed to get a sunbed however people do put their towels out very early so in the busy time i can imagine this being annoying.

Food- We ate in the main buffet restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We didnt have a problem with the food. Ok it is a bit repetitive but theres always something to eat. Chicken, beef, pasta, salad, etc. People said not to eat the salad but i did and i was fine. The waiters are very good they have excellent table service. Said served us mainly he was a lovely man who always got us a table and drinks straight away. We ate in the Italain restaurant also. This is a 4 course meal which was lovely. The setting is beautiful overlooking the beach. Food was great and the service was fab! I have forgotten his name but the gentleman who works in the Italian tall with dark hair was great.

Entertainment- we came away for a relaxing break in the sun and thats what we got. We didnt do any evening things like bar crawls etc but if you want these are available. There are trips to the Hard Rock Cafe, Tequila Parties, Cocktail Parties , Beach Party , Bingo etc. We found that after dinner and a walk around we were tired and wanted to go to our room to chill out and watch films.

Internet- you can buy a day pass/week pass for wi-fi. There is an internet cafe that I used to check emails etc. I also connected my iphone up . The signal anywhere outside reception is poor.

Other guests- there are ALOT of Russians at this hotel. However we didnt have any problems with any of them. We didnt go to dinner for 7pm as the second night was chaos . Try to go for 8pm when its a bit quieter.


Gym/spa- Not many people on here mention the fitness centre but it is the BEST i have seen in any hotel i have ever stayed at . There are your usual treadmills, cross trainers etc but also a smiths machine/squat rack, leg press, dumbells up to 22kg, Olympic bar, EZ bar, upright row machine, leg extension, shoulder press, ab machine, lat pull down machine, exercise mats and space to do exercises such as walking lunges. The man who works in the gym is great!

I had a manicure and pedicure done also. This cost me £20 or 200 egyptian pounds. I haggled the price LOTS!! The lady did a wonderful job of both hands and feet. Adam was the rep who sorted it out for us he is a great guy, He speaks 5 languages and you can have a proper conversation with him which is nice. He wasnt pushy and gave me a free nail colour for the day i came back home. he is a good guy!



The staff here were fantastic especially Abbie, Jo and Joey. They do a wonderful job here to keep the guests happy. My partner wanted another pillow and within 4hours we had a man at the door with one for him! They really can't do enough for you, so thank you for that. I know we didnt go on any of your excursions with you but we enjoyed talking with you around the pool. Also Jo LOVES cuppa soups and if you go to this hotel please take her a few she will love you forever :)

If you have any questions about this hotel just ask me. I think I have tried to cover everything. We had a wonderful stay and are gutted to be home in rainy England.

Room Tip: We liked our pool view room but the bungalows looked cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jes_d12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
What a wonderful comment! Thank you for posting your experience at our hotel.
It makes us happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our high service standard.
We would also like to thank you awarding our entire staff and we do hope that next time you visit Egypt, it will be once again Nubian Island Hotel.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,439
    388
    104
    42
    19
See reviews for
735
731
90
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was our first time in Egypt and wasn't sure what to expect after everything I'd heard about the dodgy stomachs people had experienced whilst in Egypt. We arrived late on the evening of the 22nd June and we were greeted by the reception staff who were really friendly and we were given a complimentary drink on arrival. When the porter showed us to our room he also told us where the dining room and bar were and where to go for the beach. Our room was clean and we were surprised to find a super king size bed ( we were expecting twins pushed together). There was fresh water in the fridge and they had even plated up some food for us which was really great as we hadn't eaten since we left England at 2pm. We spend the first few days on the beach which was really clean and even better no body trying to sell you any gifts the only sellers on the beach were those linked to resort. Emed was the gentleman who served us our drinks at the beach side bar, he was really lovely so polite and friendly. We booked a snorkelling boat trip though The Diver shop linked to the hotel fabulous boat trip the only thing was we were the only English on the boat the rest were Russians. The rest of the two weeks we spent around the pool that's where we met the wonderful fabulous amazing Jo from the animation team. She took care of our every need asked us every morning if everything was ok with our room. The mattress and pillows are very hard so we asked Jo if we could have a mattress topper and softer pillows which were in the room on the same day we asked her for them when we get back from the pool. On two occasions our air conditioning stopped working but no fear Jo was on the ball and quickly got this sorted for us. The animation team work really hard and are all very polite and friendly but I have to say Jo is amazing at what she does nothing is to much trouble for her she really does care for the guests. I would also like to say that Ahmed who ran the relaxation pool he was really very good too very pleasant very polite and again cared for the guests. Always smiling and happy to help with finding you a bed. I would also like to thank the the P.A Slatvana (apologies if that's not correct or spelt wrong) for also helping us with our air conditioning issues we had when Jo was on her day off. Jo thank you for everything you did for us and hopefully we'll see you again later this year. All in all a fabulous and relaxing holiday and we will defiantly return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Thank you for your input and nice comments about our staff.
Please accept our apologies regarding mattress and pillows, air conditioning - this has also been shared with the relevant Management.
Your comments have also been shared with the staff members mentioned.
We are looking forward to meeting you again.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Nubian Island at the end of June 2014 as our first visit to Egypt. It's never ideal when you arrive as late as the flights do into Sharm airport however despite arriving at 9.30 check-in was quick, we were offered a meal and settled in quickly.

The room, we had a bungalow, was clean but average in terms of modernity & appearance. Fundamentally looking a bit tired and in need of TLC. The air conditioning was a bit hit & miss working the majority of the time but prone to stopping and needing to be coaxed back into action.

The main body of the hotel was smart. Tidy and appeared clean. Bar area, restaurant (Il Mondo) and the shopping mall all spacious and modern.

The staff were ridiculously friendly.... Nothing was too much trouble. They're very attentive and friendly and accommodating. The animation team were great and seemed to keep everyone up to date with activities if they wanted.

What let this hotel down for us was expectations not being met. This was advertised by Thomas Cook as a 4Tplus property & as such our expectation was high but not met. The food choices were limited, tasteless, pappy and aimed for non British palettes. So much pickled veg, strange salads and unusual meat dishes like braised kidneys that I can only think appeal to the Russian clientele. We got so bored of the food it was depressing! Think motorway service station buffet kept warm under heated lights. Not good.

I can't complete this review without mentioning the Russians. We noticed the balance was 70/30 split Russian speakers to others. Entertainment geared towards Russian music, dancing etc and culturally their behaviour, manners and expectations are different to ours. I wouldn't chose to spend time in this environment in future.

Our holiday here was marred in the main by contracting a horrible stomach bug/upset. We have been back in the uk for 7 days now & our GP is testing samples to establish what infection we have. Delightful.

So, if I had to summarise:

Hotel nice enough.
Rooms tired but fine.
Not 4T plus.
Food questionable.
Staff and animation excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.
We are delighted to read you liked staff and animation.
Your comments regarding Food Quality/Variety have been shared with the relevant Managers and will help us to improve our service in the future.
Unfortunately during the summer months - a few guests are prone to a few tummy problems due to the change in climate - we do try to assist as much as possible and our hotel doctor does helps a lot.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotels grounds as a whole is paradise, beautiful flowers palm trees and the cleanliness is excellent, not too mention the rooms spotless every day with the most beautiful towel decorations. The staff, where too begin from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart you couldn't be more satisfied, the food is delicious with a massive variety breakfast/ lunch/ dinner the desserts are unreal the chefs and waitrons will do anything to satisfy your every need, don't even get me started with the animation, personally they made my holiday best people and memories will be held forever, I'm booking another stay at the end off the year with my partner and have never wanted to go back somewhere like the beautiful Nubian Island. No matter what age, single, couple, family, or even going alone it's 5 star quality by a long shot, and am very happy with my stay and can't wait too get back, thank you nubian for making my holiday so memorable, everyone off you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank -hvv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest!
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.
We are pleased you were satisfied with your room and cleanliness - we do encourage all our guests to speak with us during the stay in particular we like to receive feedback regarding our food quality/variety as we are always looking to improve.
We are long for your return to us again in the future.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Thank you
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Another fantastic holiday at the Nubian Island, such a pretty hotel with wonderful staff who are so helpful and accommodating we have stayed there 7 times now and are never disappointed and can't wait for our next visit. We have been to Egypt at least 14 times and this is our favorite hotel it feels like going home because of the way we are received and welcomed back I would recommend this hotel to families, couples of any age and i am positive that once tried you will return.

Room Tip: The bungalows are lovey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharrie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Our Repeaters!
Thank you once again for another lovely review - your comments and loyalty are highly appreciated.
We are looking forward to meeting from you after New Year celebration with your family as you promised. And photos we would like also to see.
Your Egyptian Home is waiting for you!
The Warmest and Kindest Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Myself and my Husband had a weeks stay from 26th - 3rd july. A cheeky week away without the children, we had a fab time. Arriving on a late flight being only 10 minutes from the airport was defiantly a plus. The inside of the hotel was just wow marble everywhere very grand. We were given a nice refreshing cold drink on arrival while checking in which was very quick at efficient. We were shown to our bungalow which was about half way between the main hotel and the bottom pool. The gardens and pathways around all the bungalows were beautiful but were quite dark at night and myself being as clumbsy as I am our phone torches worked a treat. The bungalows were great spacious with a big bed and room in the shower for both of us. As we did arrive late and they had stopped serving in the restaurant they had sent food to our room, bread rolls, ham and cheeses and plenty of fruit what a lovely touch. Breakfast buffet plenty of food to choose from loads of pastries which was great for me. A full English is not on the menu but shouldn't be expected In a Muslim country. The two pools were great we tended to spend most of our time at the bottom pool as there was music and activities and more atmosphere than the other pool but that was just our choice. Now Maged the poolbarman was one of the nicest people you could meet was sad to leave him. He really could not do enough for you even sunbathing he would see our glass was empty and bring us another one Amazing guy,as was a lot of the other staff nothing was to much trouble for them. Restaurant food was really good now for two really fussy eaters there was always something to eat, in all 3 restautants. The animation team work really hard, long days in really hot sun. Jo is great she really takes the time to chat to you and checks that everything is OK we didn't have any problems with any aspect of our holiday but I did hear from other people that it gets sorted straight away if you asked Jo. I was worried after reading other peoples reviews about the Russians as we wanted a chilled holiday with no stress. Yes there are a lot of them in fact prob about 65% they are rude to the staff but not shouting or swearing they just don't say please and thankyou. We had no problem what so ever. I'm guessing that some people are that picky that nothing but their own home woule please them, if that's the case don't go on holiday and stay at home. This is a great hotel and 98% of the trip advisor reviews show how good it is. Go and see for yourself you won't be disappointed. Thanks Nubian island we will deffo be back.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louanna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Thank you for your input and nice comments about our staff. As you mentioned yourself, the hotel is well located and offers different services to create the atmosphere to relax and enjoy the stay.
We would also like to thank you awarding our entire staff and we do hope that next time you visit Egypt, it will be once again Nubian Island Hotel.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Nubian Island for one week from the 27th of June. The hotel was beautifully decorated and the staff could not have done more to make sure we were comfortable. The grounds of this hotel are beautiful, especially when they are lit up at night. The shops onsite make it much easier to buy souvenirs as when we went outside the grounds we found it very unpleasant to shop due to being hassled.
We were impressed at how easy it was to get a sun lounger by either of the pools or the beach although we much preferred the quieter pool and spent most of our time there with friends we had made. The only complaint I would have is that once we sat on some sun loungers and the pool guy moved us on saying they were 'reserved' even when no one sat on them all day! The jetties at the beach make it easier to get to the deeper water which is clear and a great place to go snorkeling. The Il Mondo restaurant had a range of food but we played it quite safe. The best food we ate by far was in the Italian restaurant on the beach where the food was of an excellent standard and service was very quick. The evening entertainment was not always the best but there are places to go to get away from it, for example, there are many English pubs outside the hotel with free Wifi as you have to pay in the hotel. Many reviews say about people coming up to you trying to sell you excursions but we found they were very friendly and did not hassle when you said no. We even booked Quad Biking and Parasailing which were excellent and definitely worth spending the money on- Masry was also really friendly and would come and chat to us everyday, if we had more time we definitely would have done more. If you do not want people talking to you, you can get a do not disturb sign. The animation team provided excellent nights out (we went clubbing in Hard Rock Cafe, all inclusive club for £20). In particular, Jo always made sure we were happy, in fact, I have never felt so looked after at any hotel I have stayed in, particularly as it was our first time in Egypt. We did have one or two problems but they were sorted out straight away. Overall Nubian Island Hotel is a beautiful hotel with a 5* team of staff and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: There are no lifts in this hotel so be prepared for a lot of stairs if on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
What a wonderful detailed comment! Thank you for posting your experience at our hotel.
It makes us happy that you enjoyed your first stay and appreciated our high service standard.
Chefs are delighted that the food prepared was up to your expectations.
We would also like to thank you awarding our entire staff and we do hope that next time you visit Egypt, it will be once again Nubian Island Hotel.
We are pleased that you have had a good experience outside with our animation team.
Thank you for recommending us on your review.
Yours Sincerely,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Nubian Village Hotel
Nubian Village Hotel
#21 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
1.4 mi away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
7.9 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#24 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
10.3 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nubian Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Island Hotel

Property: Nubian Island Hotel
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 41231, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#36 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#47 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Nubian Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Nabq Bay, overlooking Tiran Island, the Nubian Island Resort Hotel is unique in its architectural Nubian elegance embraced by the spectacular land and seascapes of Egypt Sinai Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Nubian Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nubian Island Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Nubian Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing