We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff and location take your scrum cap if you want to eat at 7.30”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nubian Island Hotel
Ranked #46 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely staff and location take your scrum cap if you want to eat at 7.30”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Staff and bungalow were great food was nice but f you want to eat at 7.30 take your scrum cap as it more like a contact sport than fine dinning, as the Russians are very aggressive. but if you go a bit later it is fine. We spent most of the time at the beach if you want to snorkel of the jetty take flippers as the current was very strong also depending on the sea their were red flag to stop people going in to the water off the jetty until about 3pm they are very strict on going near the corral reefs and also swimming to far away from the jetty. The hotel should make you more aware of the does and dont's in the sea. The grounds are lovely we had a lovely time and will be returning just wish we had booked for longer

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest!
Thank you for your input and nice comments about our staff.
First and for most we are happy to read that you enjoyed the sea and spent most of the time on the beach. Really we have a strong currant, daily ebbs and tides, the first part of the day could be stormy that is why the flag is red. But sometimes the sea is complete still but flag is red, why? Again, it could be an extremely strong currant. All these nature phenomena depends on the Moon and its phases (so the timing and depth of tides and ebbs vary).
Coral reefs are very productive ecosystems and among the most biologically diverse regions on Earth. They are not only supporting biodiversity, they are also of immense value to humankind.
These extracts from the octocoral native Pacific Sarcophyton glaucum, were found to possess characteristics also anti-tumor.
Studies show that calcium from coral could help fight against forms of cancer, against the effects of diabetes, arthritis, Cardiac diseases, osteoporosis, eczema, Alzheimer's disease , fibromyalgia, a high cholesterol, muscle cramps, kidney stones, gallstones, gout, indigestion, chronic fatigue syndrome, lupus, hiatal hernia, the hypertension, headaches.
In addition to being inherently boundless natural wealth and essential to life on our planête ecosystem, the reefs are able to provide our present and perhaps our future.
They represent both a World Natural Heritage by the age of reefs but also a human World Heritage because of the existence of these cultures. They are our heritage and to pass on to the generations to come.
Their impact is so effective that the man mimics immersing concrete structures along some of our fragile coasts.
Without this protective role, some countries in atolls, such as the Maldives, Kiribati, Tuvalu and the Marshall Islands are literally built on coral reefs and would not exist and without the protective fringe.
The reefs are often essential element in the economy of tropical regions they inhabit. They attract divers in effect, free divers, recreational fishermen and lovers of white sand beaches. More than 100 countries benefit from tourism related to reefs and it contributes more than 30 percent of export earnings in more than 20 countries.
Local economies benefit from visitors to reefs with their companies exploiting reef ecosystems. By their massive formation between the surface and the first few tens of meters deep, coral reefs are a very effective for absorbing elements coming from the ocean. They absorb waves energy and contribute to the reduction of coastal erosion. They reduce the damage in case of storms, hurricanes, and in some way, the energy of tsunamis. In doing so, they protect both ecosystems located between the reefs and coasts, such as seagrass and lagoon for example, and human settlements located by the sea.
Coral reefs also contribute to the advancement of research.
Being deprived in a great measure of all possible movements, corals have developed a very effective arsenal of chemical weapons to defend themselves and to make war in the conquest of the reef area. Their weapons are so effective that it has a wide distribution area and therefore a greater number of potentially hostile species. Many of these chemical compounds have molecules that have the potential of our drug discovery.
Reef organisms are used in the treatment of diseases such as certain cancers including leukemia, HIV, cardiovascular diseases, ulcers. In addition, long coral skeleton, because of its very close similarity to our bones nature, served as material for bone grafts.
Because only an infinitesimal part of the reef organisms were sampled, analyzed and tested, the potential for new drug discovery is simply enormous.
Millions of people around the world depend on coral reefs for food, protection and employment. These figures are even more impressive than the reefs cover less than one percent of the earth's surface.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,440
    388
    104
    42
    19
See reviews for
735
731
90
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Had yet another fantastic holiday at nu isn island for the 3rd time in a row!!! Great bungalow very spacious had everything i needed!! Staff very helpfull and friendly nothing too muvh trouble! From the minute u arrive untill the moment u leave the staff always go out of thier way to make sure u have a fantastic holiday!! Food is amazing something for everyone animation work very hard and always smiling and greeting u in the mornings one lady in particular deserves a mention thats jojo wints bless her always on the go!!! Ahmed the towel man provided fresh towels and always cleaning pool etc look forward to my return in 8 weeks time gor holiday number 4!! Thank you nubian island see u soon!!! X amanda

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Amanda!
Thank you for your nice review which is very motivating for our team. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our place and we also do appreciate your note about hotel staff.
As you mentioned yourself, the hotel is well located and offers different services to create the atmosphere to relax and enjoy the stay.
Thank you once again for another lovely review - your comments and loyalty are highly appreciated.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Nubian Island Resort Hotel, booked through Thomson Holidays, for the last two weeks of June 2014. We really loved it. We had read through all of the reviews for the hotel on Trip Advisor and were really crossing our fingers that we loved it just as much, and we did!! We went as a family, parents, grandparents, 7 year old - everyone was equally happy. We had no complaints about the food. One tip would be to go later to eat for breakfast and dinner....there are less people and it is a completely different experience. We normally had a slow start to the day and went to the buffet restaurant at around 9:30am and there were only a handful of people there....perfect! No queue for a freshly prepared omelette or anything else you fancied. The same for dinner, we made the mistake one night of going to eat at around 7/7:30pm and it was stressful. It was extremely busy and of course everyone was moving around and in each other's way. For the other night's we went at 8/8:30pm and it was fantastic! Really try to eat later, it will be worth it!
We had read so many reports about the Russians being terrible holiday companions, but we can honestly say we had no bad experiences. Perhaps because we avoided meal times when the buffet was at its busiest, but all the Russians we saw said hello and smiled when they were smiled at and we even got invited for some Vodka! We felt it was a case of making an effort, even if you couldn't understand one another. A smile and a nod translates into all languages.
The staff at the hotel were superb! Everybody....the waiters, restaurant managers, towel guys, cleaners, barmen....we were really impressed!
Your towel man at the pool will ask if you want the same beds reserved each day, which we did. That took the stress away from wondering if we would be able to get beds together....each morning, whatever time we had finished breakfast our beds were all ready next to the pool. We sat by the animation pool, nearest the beach. Although we didn't do many of the activities, we enjoyed having a little more action around us, people watching! Plus I think this pool might be a little more comfortable being closer to the sea.
One word of warning for anyone going not just to this hotel but any resort in Egypt....do NOT get a temporary henna tattoo done! My 7 year old and I had one done via a poolside service at the hotel in a designated tented area. You get offered a second one for free just before your departure. I declined the second one but my 7 year old had his done to go home with after no reaction to the first one. By the time we got home he had a terrible reaction to it and required hospital treatment. The tattoos are NOT made of henna....henna is brown or orange......a black tattoo is NOT henna, it is made up of coal-tar dye, used in hair dye and can scar your skin for life. The first tattoo sensitized him to the PPD in the dye. Please google it for more information and DO NOT get this done. I wish I had known about this. My son now has a scarred leg as a result.
That aside, we would recommend the Nubian Island resort, and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireO1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Thank you for your input and nice comments about our premises and staff. Great that your expectations have been matched and even palatal were satisfied as well. We do appreciate your tips concerning dining times and smile - hope it will help others.
Also would like to thank you for recommending us.
Regarding tattoo we bring our apologies and actions would be taken.
Looking forward to meeting you in the nearest future.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

First impression of the hotel was very good,cool cocktail on arrival as we checked in .Check in was very smooth and we were in our room in minutes,rooms are large and spotlees clean wich siad cleaned every day great job.We lay at the quiet pool this is where most of the brits lay alaa the pool guy was brilliant always got u a bed and kept the place clean top bloke also georgis the barman at the swim up pool bar kept you topped up with drinks and snacks whether it was alcoholic or soft always smiling could not do enough for you credit to the hotel.Guys in lobby bar also look after you very well especially ibrahim,food in the restuarant is good quality with plenty of choice found there was always something to eat,chicken kebabs were nice as was the beef pie.Second week of our holiday was the end of rammadan and hotel became very busy,service in restuarant dipped ,we complained to rep who spoke to the manager who came over to speak to us and appoligise and things were soon back to normal.All in all avery good holiday although hotel is full of russians you just have to play them at there own game no queing and push them out the way.Shops outside hotel ok further along you will find 1 jive bar with free wifi and cold beer also does lovely food unon jack bar further on again does the same

Room Tip: Ground floor quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lang1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.
We are pleased you were satisfied with your room and cleanliness - we do encourage all our guests to speak with us during the stay in particular we like to receive feedback regarding our food quality/variety as we are always looking to improve.
We hope you will return to us again in the future and see the changes we continue to make.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed for two weeks in July and the weather was lovely.

When you first arrive into the hotel the staff are very welcoming and friendly, the waiters give you a cold drink while you are checking in. The reception staff tell you everything you need to know and provide you with a room key and towel cards for use by the beach and pool. You then get escorted to the room with your luggage brought down with you and the staff are always happy to help.

The rooms are spacious and have nice beds. They are cleaned everyday and never look dirty. The air con is great and easy to use. A safe is available to keep all expensive goods and money in and it's quite large. A mini fridge is also in the room and is useful for keeping water cool in the day. The balcony is lovely and we didn't find a problem with ants.

The bars and the restaurant are lovely and the staff are so friendly and always make sure everything is okay. Shout out to George in the quiet pool bar, and Alaa the towel man for making sure we were always okay. At the pool you could get a Do Not Disturb sign so the workers in the spa's and day trips wouldn't bother you, this was handy.

The food is very nice and the best we have come across in all the hotels we have stayed in Egypt. There is always a wide selection available and a different theme every night. Lunch time was never that busy as you could also go to the barracuda restaurant by the noisy pool.

The animation team in the hotel were absolutely fab! They are so friendly and are always happy to help. They offer a range of activities through the day, even if you say no thanks they wont hassle you at all. There is always entertainment on in the night and its different every night. Special mention on the team goes to: Kola, JoJo B, Tisha, Sveta and JoJo W. All the team are friendly but these five are always friendly, always smiling and making us laugh.

I love this hotel personally and is suitable for anyone at all. Really can not wait to go back for a 4th time next February!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charl_jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
We are delighted to read we met your expectations and you were impressed with the facilities and services we had to offer.
First and for most we would like to thank you for patronizing the Nubian Island and for returning to the Nubian Island.
Thank you for sharing your comments concerning different hotel departments and we look forward to seeing you for the 4th time.
Yours sincerely,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a fantastic weeks holiday at the Hotel the staff were great ,friendly and helpful and too mention a few who stood out.Alea the Pool guy was lovely ,Mohamid Ali and the chef in the Baracuda restaurant where we had lunch every day with a view over the sea.Georges in the Pool bar and Ibrahim chatted and served daily with a smile.Jo in animation who couldn't do enough to help and loves "Cup a soup" if you want to make her day.We enjoyed our time good food with lots of choice and the Russians provided some good people watching.We would go again and spent our week relaxing and being spoilt, Thanks.

Room Tip: We had room 705 right next to pool and it felt like it was ours as so close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsbuttercup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Nubian Island.
First of all we would like to thank you for your first effort concerning the Nubian Island.
We are truly happy that you have enjoyed the communication with our staff and have mentioned their names.
Thank you for sharing your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Nubian Island in July for two weeks. We was shown to our room on arrival the room was in need of some tender loving care and looked like it belonged in the 80s but was clean.
The food: yes there is a wide selection of food but quite a bit of the selection is the same under a different name the food was also bland in taste. The chef on the pasta section is not very friendly or help full if asked a question about the food that he serves.

Animation team well what can I write always walking around asking if every thing is ok even if you are a sleep on your sun bed they will wake you up but if you say no mmmm .

The Animation also ask you to go on nights out but if you say no to them the first response from them you get is why not? do you have to give a reason if you have budgeted for an all inclusive Holliday. And they do not give up easily.

After the same food for a couple of days we had to go to MacDonald's or you can order it to be delivered, along with KFC and Burger King.

The Thomson Rep at the welcome meeting went through all the trips on offer but nothing about the hotel and surrounding area, we were told that the hotel had no problems with mosquito's woke up next morning had eighteen bites on my legs and the day after another person woke up with the same problem after spraying OFF inside the bed and over the curtains was not bite again I wonder where they were hiding.

After the third day we got the dreaded Sharm Belly after taking advice from the Rep we went to the Pharmacy over the road for medication that cost us 100 Egyptian was told it would take up to three days but gradually got worse until we got home all the British people around eight couples that were staying there all had the same.

Only one bar for night time entertainment bar staff really nice and helpful.

all in all would we return to this Hotel NO would we advise anyone to stay at this Hotel NO

We have stayed at lower Trip Advisor rated hotel's in Sharm that have been a lot better quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. So we thank you sincerely for sharing your honest feedback which is deemed invaluable to us, which will certainly be considered as areas of improvement.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Nubian Village Hotel
Nubian Village Hotel
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.6 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
8.1 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#22 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,254 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#40 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nubian Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Island Hotel

Property: Nubian Island Hotel
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 41231, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#47 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Nubian Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Nabq Bay, overlooking Tiran Island, the Nubian Island Resort Hotel is unique in its architectural Nubian elegance embraced by the spectacular land and seascapes of Egypt Sinai Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nubian Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nubian Island Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Nubian Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing