We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shock”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nubian Island Hotel
Ranked #46 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Shock”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

As a returning guest I was shocked at the state of the quiet pool.It needs total refurbishment!The steps are in a dangerous condition and there were nails protruding through the wooden flooring next to the pool bar.The staff at this hotel are fantastic and that is perhaps why people return regardless of the outdated rooms.I have mobility problems and this is not the best hotel if you have these problems.Having been here before I still came back because I made so many friends among the staff.The food is of a high quality and plentiful,however,it is repetitive if you are there for two weeks.The main restaurant can be hectic at peak times,especially with the Russian guests pushing and shoving.Sadly they do not know how to say please or thank you even though those words do appear in their dictionary.Most of the entertainment is directed to the Russians but there is a Brit pub quiz organised by the hard working animation team,Jo,Stephanie and Jo-Jo.While you are here you must try the Italian restaurant,Neapolitana.If you have a special celebration while there they will make it a great night.Again the food is good and the service is great.You need to order your food at the restaurant the morning of the evening you want to dine.The Barracuda restaurant is the one for guests who like seafood,at extra cost.It also does lunch and is a much quieter alternative to the main restaurant.The Italian also has sandwiches and burgers each afternoon from three o'clock.Maghed at the activity pool bar is an absolute diamond,he is the jewel in the crown of this hotel.The staff work so hard and they are eager to ensure that you have a great holiday.The hotel has two pools.The activity pool is nearest to the beach and can be very boisterous and loud.The quiet pool,or the British pool as it some times called,is nearest reception,the main dining room,lobby bar,uptown bar and the few shops in the arcade.In all of their publicity they stress the fact that there is a QUIET POOL.Unhappily that is not the case.As I wrote earlier I am a returning guest and I was aware that there was a quiet pool and that was one of the main reasons I returned.This year that was not the case!There were British families running around screaming,diving into the pool,bombing and throwing each other in.After complaints to the animation team,Thomsons rep and management they were given a letter regarding their behaviour.It stopped for a few hours and then they returned to their rowdy ism.Unfortunately the Russian guests took their lead from the Brits and the quiet pool was anything but quiet.The offending families were told that we complained and they made the second week of our holiday very uncomfortable with their dirty looks and whispering.Be aware that the hotel cannot guarantee the pool will be quiet.To top our holiday off our autistic son had his collectors item Star Wars t shirt stolen from our room.The fact that he paid for it himself made it seem worse.We complained to the hotel and they eventually got back to us two days later.They said that they had spent two days looking through the laundry as they felt it had been wrapped in the sheets as they stripped it but the pyjama bottoms it was with didn't.They said they would continue to look but after five days it didn't reappear.I am left with the assumption that the t shirt was stolen by the room cleaner.This holiday has been the worst experience ever whilst abroad.One of the highlights is a visit to see Minaret in the handbag shop in the hotel arcade.He will help you with Arabic phrases as will most staff.If you can learn to say please..min fadlak and thank you...Shokran,the staff will be so pleased.It pains me to write this review as I have made many friends at this hotel over the last two years but I must be honest about my experiences in order for other travellers to read prior to making their choice of hotel.Other guests at this hotel may not have had the same experiences as me but this is all true.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank cockneymagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Repeaters!
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us. First of all we would like to thank you for patronizing the Nubian Island and for returning to the Nubian Island with your family for the second time.
Please accept our apologies regarding relaxing pool, T-Shirt and be assured this has also been shared with the relevant Management and we have spoken with you already while you had been checked in.
We hope you will return to us again in the future and see the changes we continue to make.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Thank you
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,440
    388
    104
    42
    19
See reviews for
735
731
90
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from our stay at Nubian Island and overall we had a great experience. On arrival we were given a cocktail and check in was very speedy. We arrived late at night and had missed the dinner but was later brought complimentary room service to our room. We mostly spent our day at the animation pool as it was the most lively of the two and was nearest to the beach. There were various things going on at this pool throughout the day and although we didn't really get involved in any of the activities, it was still nice to have a bit of entertainment. The beach was also lovely with its own bar and was also brilliant for snorkelling!

Our room was cleaned daily and was absolutely spotless! We were given fresh towels and bed linen every day. The bed was massive and the room was also a great size. Our room overlooked the pool which was also lovely. The staff at this hotel were very nice and a special mention has to go out to the barman at the animation pool bar. He was incredible. Not only did he make us feel welcome when we came up to the bar, nothing was too much trouble for him and he even came round to our sun loungers with drinks. The animation team also work incredibly hard particularly the young boys! The English ladies on the animation team particularly the two jojos always made sure that we were okay and checking that we didn't have any problems.

Although the food at this hotel was good, after staying for two weeks it did get a little repetitive. By our second week my boyfriend and I were eating out. Union Jack bar which was walking distance from the hotel is an English bar which serves traditional English food. Although the food wasn't great it was nice to feel like we had had a proper meal. We also got McDonald delivered to our hotel a couple of times and ate at the Hard Rock Cafe which was lovely!!

A downside to this holiday which was nothing to do with the hotel, was the area. Apart from the Union Jack bar which I have mentioned, there wasn't anything else really which was walking distance to go at night. We took a taxi into naama bay a few times but this was very much for the Egyptians and wasn't really anything for the English. It was mainly full of shisha bars which was of no interest to me and my boyfriend. The best place in naama bay was the Hard Rock Cafe but we also later discovered that there is a Hard Rock Cafe up the road from the hotel. There are also a few shops opposite the hotel but they weren't of interest to us. It was a pain having to get taxis everywhere as they rip you off massively if you are unsure of how much you have to pay. Once we worked out how much we should pay to places we told them the price and then refused to get in if they wanted more. They soon lower their price to match yours once they think you are going to get another taxi. Also make sure that you have the right money for the taxis because they will tell you that they don't have change!

The entertainment of an evening in the hotel was pretty basic. There was a singer in the lobby bar most nights who was okay. There was also a beach part which we had to pay extra for but this was more geared to the Russians. There was also bingo and an English pub quiz which we took part in for a laugh.

I've read many reviews where people were moaning about the Russians. They were not a problem to us and kept themselves to themselves. We preferred to eat later at meal times anyway and it was less busy so we didn't experience any problems with the Russians at meal times.

If you are looking for a holiday where you stay in the hotel for most of the time then this is great but if like us, you like to go out, particularly in the evenings then I wouldn't recommend coming to Sharm El Sheikh. The hotel was incredible but we are used to being on top of a strip when we go away and having different choices of what we want to do in the evenings. This was not the case here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Nubian Island.
We are truly happy that you have enjoyed all walks of life in the evenings.
Thank you for sharing your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindleys45
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 week stay and had a good time
The staff are what makes this hotel they are so helpful and friendly a special mention to maghed at the pool bar he is an absolute star and sincerely hope comments are passed on to him by hotel so pank you Magi !!
Food is good and varied and always hot, desserts are wonderful !
Grounds are fab and very well tended
Beach is lovely and good snorkelling

The bungalows are ok but they need updating sooner rather than later as looking very tired now but saying that your not on holiday to sit in your room !
The downsides of this hotel are the entertainment which is pretty awful and is the same each week so if your there for 2 weeks it's repetitive also the kids club is poor unless you
speak Russian the same with mini disco having 3 young children with us it was disappointing to say the least
Water slides next door can be used but take bottles of water with you as you can't get any drinks there which I think the hotel needs to address especially for kids who dehydrate quickly in the heat also safety is not a great priority at slides many people adults and kids alike were injured due to people coming down slides too quickly after each other .
I would go back again as good outweigh the bad on the whole

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindleys45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Thank you for your input and authentic comments about our premises and staff. Great that your expectations have been matched and even palatal were satisfied as well.
We hope you will return to us again in the future and see the changes we continue to make.
Also would like to thank you for recommending us.
Looking forward to meeting you in the nearest future.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from two weeks at Nubian Island hotel travelling though Thomson with our three teenagers. The hotel is pretty and has beautiful gardens meandering down to the picturesque beach and pier which stretches out into the beautiful Red Sea.
The staff and service offered by the hotel vary as does the food. We were all inclusive which apparently only means between 9.30 - 12 midnight. We ate out most evenings as the food was Sammy at best and poor at worst. The kids also ordered takeaways which were delivered to the hotel and room service, at an extra charge, was good.
The hotel does not colour coordinate wrist bands for under 18s and ours were able to order as much alcohol as they wanted, even though the animation team were fully aware of their ages Tequila Party tickets were sold to our 14 and 15 year old! Jojo - (the blonde one) one of the animation team however deserves a special mention as she is lovely and was very supportive throughout our stay.
Our rooms were average not really 4* in our experience, though they were cleaned daily. We had problems with our patio door which refused to lock and it took 6 complaints to finally be repaired properly. We asked for coffee making facilities (something we would have expected as the norm as there was no access to drinks at night) but this never materialised.
The pools are beautiful, especially the one nearest the beach and the atmosphere is very relaxed. Ahmed the pool man was lovely and worked, like the rest of the staff, very long hours. Unfortunately there seems to be no proper system for cleaning the pool or the pool area and although we complained these areas were never hosed down during our two week stay.
Our teenagers took advantage of the water slides as the Nubian Village hotel which apparently were good fun and got involved in various activities including weekly beach parties at an extra cost.
There seemed to be very few Brits at the hotel which caters primarily for Russian guests many of whom were completely charming, however, queuing does not come naturally and meal times were sometimes a bit of a challenge.
We enjoyed many trips out including Soho Square where males need long trousers, and a private speed boat trip with our own captain and camera man to Tiran Island. This was fantastic - especially the snorkelling. The boys also went quad biking and we really enjoyed our evenings at the Hard Rock Café where the atmosphere and food were amazing.
Unfortunately 4 of us became ill during our stay which put a real dampener on our holiday and we were all pestered by mosquitos. The pharmacy onsite was helpful though they prescribed antibiotics without any hesitation and without warning that they are very dangerous if taken with alcohol.
A mixed holiday overall with lots of inconsistencies in the hotel which if improved would make this the 4*+ it could easily be.

Room Tip: We had a room by the quiet pool which was very convenient for the hotel though quite a walk to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hettylongstoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us. Also on Monday I have already put your comments, which were written in hotel upon departure. Your comments have also been shared with the Management immediately.
We completely agree that alcohol should not be served under 18 and all that is mentioned in all our price lists in all bars.
Please accept our apologies regarding slow service and be assured this has also been shared with the relevant Management.
Unfortunately during the summer months - a few guests are prone to a few tummy problems due to the change in climate - we do try to assist as much as possible and we are pleased to read you were well looked after.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again to observe the improvements we are going to be done.
Thank you,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hi, I am looking to book this hotel for our holiday travelling towards the end of September but I need some advice regarding rooms as I have a specific requirement but I am unsure how to get in touch with hotel management before we arrive, so any advice would be great please, many thanks Lisa x

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisaxlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Lisa!
You are welcome to our hotel. Waiting for your kind details on our mails I have provided to you.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Having returned from our holiday on Thursday last week, I felt that I needed to make comment.
The bungalow we stayed in had 2 bedrooms and was very spacious and cleaned daily.The hotel was fantastic and in a superb location. All of the staff and animation team had been so welcoming and helpful throughout our stay and provided us with excellent service. The food was also very varied and extremely good quality.

Maghed at the lower pool bar always looked after us extremely well and was very friendly and welcoming. The barmen at the Lobby bar were also brilliant, always remembering what we drank and brought the drinks over to us as soon as we walked in. The chef cooking the pasta in the main restaurant was extremely happy and helpful, always smiling and he also prepared great pasta. The animation team were so friendly and easy to talk to especially, JoJo B, JoJo W, Steph & Tisha. The poolmen, cleaners etc were all great.

The only negative comment would be about the lower pool, as the floor was very rough, so much so that our son had to wear beach shoes to play water polo or you'd sore feet. Also be careful of the paint coming off on your swimwear when sat on poolside.

Overall, one of the best holidays we've had and will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Thank you for your input and nice comments about our staff. Your excellent evaluation is very motivating for our team. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our place and we also do appreciate your note about family bungalow, which consists of 2 rooms - brilliant variant for a family of 4 people.
Professionalism of the barmen is to remember the guests' preference - we are delighted to read we met your expectations.
Our Italian Chef Gamal lived many years in Italy, so naturally he knows the secrets of Italian cuisine!
Thank you once again for another lovely review - your comments and loyalty are highly appreciated.
Your comments have also been shared with the staff members mentioned.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Hi im staying here in March 2015 for my honeymoon. I would love some photographs taking on the beach and in the hotel gardens. Could anyone please recommend a photographer I could book before I fly out. I know I have loads of time but I like to l be organised l. Thanks in advance

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisyflower28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Welcome to Nubian Island to celebrate your honeymoon!
Definitely we have professional photographers who on a daily basis make fantastic photo-shootings.
If you would like you may contact either me or Ahmed Anter.
Probably for further correspondence and negotiation of all details you may send a message to me on this portal.
Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Nubian Village Hotel
Nubian Village Hotel
#11 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.6 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
8.1 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#22 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#44 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nubian Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Island Hotel

Property: Nubian Island Hotel
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 41231, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#47 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Nubian Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Nabq Bay, overlooking Tiran Island, the Nubian Island Resort Hotel is unique in its architectural Nubian elegance embraced by the spectacular land and seascapes of Egypt Sinai Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nubian Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nubian Island Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Nubian Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing