We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and staff, food not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nubian Island Hotel
Ranked #46 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Torquay, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff, food not good”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Haver just returned from 10 days at Nubian Island Hotel. Very short transfer time from airport, and staff on arrival very nice and helpful. I travelled with my 83 year old mother, who has mobility problems. The first problem we encountered was that the reception and bars were at street level, which was 2 floors higher than the pool/restaurant/accommodation level. There are no lifts. When we explained my mother could not walk down two flights of stairs, the management were extremely helpful and took us to our bungalow in the golf buggy. The bungalow was beautiful, and we had been upgraded to a 2-bedroomed one, but unfortunately it was at the far end of the complex and too far for my mother to walk to the restaurant and pool every day. Again the management were extremely helpful and moved us to a smaller, but still very nice bungalow much closer to the pool and restaurant. We still had the problem every evening that after dinner the only bars were on the 2nd floor reception level.

The pool area was very nice, although the pool itself was very cold. The towel attendant was very helpful and moved a chair for my mother each day as the loungers were too low for her to use. A small tip added to his helpfulness, but to be fair the first time he did this without any tip. The pool barman was also very cheerful and friendly.

And now to the food. The only time the food was hot was when there was a live cooking station. Everything already cooked was either cold or tepid, and this included the soup. A good variety of food, but just never hot. I was ill on the 2nd day, and remained so for 4 days until I obtained antibiotics from the pharmacy over the road. The food in the Barracuda restaurant down near the beach was no better, and in the evening this is not included in your all-inclusive. The effort all the staff put into the restaurant displays on Christmeas Eve was amazing.

The entertainment team are mostly Italian - a very energetic and friendly team who worked extrmely hard. Unfortunately most of the entertainment was held in the Theatre, which you accessed down a long flight of stairs from outside the reception area, so we were unable to go to any of this due to my mothers mobility problems.

Went out to Soho Square one evening, by taxi organised in the hotel. Very good service, and arrangements made to pick us up from the accommodation level - paid 100 Egyptian pounds return, and didn't pay until we got back (their idea, not ours). Just phoned him when we were ready to return and he was there very quickly. Soho Square was very nice, no pressure from shopholders to go and look around, very nice musical fountain, and some nice restaurants where we finally had a hot meal. Not an enormous area, but a nice trip out of the hotel.

All in all, we had a nice holiday, great weather, but wouldn't return to this hotel mostly because of the food, but also the mobility issues.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiHewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,440
    388
    104
    42
    19
See reviews for
735
731
90
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Russian
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2010

I arrived to Sharm on 14/12 and was dropped to hotel very quickly. In hotel I met kind and friendly staff and they offered me the room even higher category then it was mentioned in my voucher.
Room indeed was very comfortable and big for me as I was there alone. Housekeeping cleaned my room every day. Once I had a problem with water and this problem was solved in 15 minutes.
All staff makes you laughing always, even if you do not want it! I would like to say thanks to Kerim (he works in Lobby bar) who was very friendly and helpful.
I was very impressed with the food in this hotel: meat, fish, vegetables, big variety of desserts.
Generally I can say that it worth to come here not only once and it is better to come for 14 days (not less). It is perfect place and perfect holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irina141210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaluga, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Hotel is perfect. Our stay here with kids was great, we liked everything: heated kid’s pool, animation for children, food, service. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanja68_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We had very good time in Nubian. Territory of hotel is wonderful: beautiful flowers, trees. There is heated pool there. Also wonderful beach where you can swim in natural lagoons. Very beautiful fishes and corals. Everything is done in this hotel for convenience of guests. Coffee is wonderful! You will not find such a good coffee in other places here!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filipp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We have just best memories after 1 week staying at Nubian Island hotel. Very friendly staff, almost everybody speaks Russian. Everybody smiles.
We would like to thank all staff of hotel for such wonderful holiday!!! Service is very good. In next 2011 year we will come to this hotel again definitely.
Also we would like to say that the sea here is very beautiful and exotic.
Especially we liked food (breakfast is super)! Very tasty sea food, many fruits, good variety of food.
Animators are funny. Cleaning of room every day. We can not find any negative point.
Guest relation Ruslana is very friendly, professional and helpful.
We want to come back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family_0f_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliningrad, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Everything was perfect and great. We liked service in this hotel, especially guest relation Ruslana was very good, she helped us a lot. Food and room were also good. The only one thing we would like to be improved – more animation in Russian language. We will recommend this hotel to our friends and probably will come back soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 298500Kalinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

we loved the hotel, just hated the planes! Every 10mins at weekends. I had no idea it was so near the airport, great for a 10 min transfer but you pay for that all holiday.I can only think that most people that have reviewed this hotel live under the Heathrow flight path as no one mentioned it!!!!
Great staff,food to salty, and rock hard beds but great sun which is why we went. The beach is like the sweepings from a builders yard, but didnt expect any more.
I know this sounds like a bad review but we really did enjoy our week doing nothing .

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo_kent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Nubian Village Hotel
Nubian Village Hotel
#12 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.6 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
8.1 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#23 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#44 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nubian Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Island Hotel

Property: Nubian Island Hotel
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 41231, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#47 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Nubian Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Nabq Bay, overlooking Tiran Island, the Nubian Island Resort Hotel is unique in its architectural Nubian elegance embraced by the spectacular land and seascapes of Egypt Sinai Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nubian Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nubian Island Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Nubian Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing