We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, few minor issues”
Review of Viva Sharm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viva Sharm Hotel
Ranked #213 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 8 October 2013

For the price we paid we couldn't really complain.

The rooms where basic (we were in the un refurbished part by the main pool) our first room we were in had a broken door and no hot water so we requested to be moved which they did after three vists to reception. I would personally request to go in the newer part near the quiet pool as many people got moved over there and said it was better. It had air conditioning, a fridge, a tv and wardobe. No hair dryer or safe in either rooms.

The pools where clean although it was a struggle to get a sun bed as the pool guy seemed to only reserve them for certain people.

The food is basic, breakfast you can have a omelette with what you wanted (cheese,tomatoes,onion) which was nice or toast (the toaster was broken and needed tongs to get the bread out which is dangerous), beans, cereal etc. Lunch was pizza, chips, hotdogs, salad, burgers or pasta made with what you want. Dinner was the worst meal it was raw chicken (which my partner got ill from) beef, pototoes, veg. All the meals were repeated daily and it got very boring.

The drinks where served from bigger bottles and if they were supposed to be fizzy they were always flat and warm. They cups weren't washed properly but it didn't bother us to much. All inclusive finished early at 10 which is a shame as the entertainment didn't start till 9. The vodka was undrinkable so I stuck to the beer which was nice.

The animation team where excellent they always made us feel welcome and was never pushy! They tried there hardest to get everyone involved with darts, water volley ball, games in the evening and nights out. We went with them on two nights out and enjoyed them both and felt very safe. Also the shisha tent was nice to go to, the guy there was very nice and helpful. There wasn't a table tennis table which it says in the description which we was gutted about! If you do go to Naama bay go with the hotel taxi as a few guests got ripped off by taxi drivers.

Excursions we only booked with our rep Ahmed who was very helpful and trustworthy. We went quad biking and on a boat trip an we enjoyed both. He also sorted us out with the doctor as we had quite bad mosquito bites so if you do get bitten go to the doctor!

All in all it's a good basic hotel for what we paid we are more than happy with our holiday. The only major problem is the food! The staff where very helpful and so friendly and they do work so hard but are always smiling.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank getawayfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Director of Sales at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Lovely Guest,

Really i don't know or the way to thank you so much for your review ,,, it's really so nice to feel that you saw closely how we improving day after day to let our guests more and more satisfy ,, i appreciate each word you mentioned and hopping that you will keep your promise to be with us again when you will decide to visit Sharm again, on behalf of Viva Sharm Management and staff i would like to thank you so much and regarding the small issues we are working on and what you mentioned will be solved soon ,,, thanks so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have returned from a two week holiday from Viva Sharm 14/09/13 - 28/09/13.

We had an amazing holiday and cannotfault the hotel.

Ehab who works at the quiet pool is one of the most amazing men that work at viva sharm, he places towels on your sun loungers and there was never ever a problem getting them throughout our entire stay there, he looked after us every day and always had a laugh with us, He works so so hard and does such long days he deserves a pay rise!

Hassan (Frodo) was on the pool bar during our stay and again was such a nice person to be around, he was so helpful and like Ehab went out of his way to make you feel welcome and join in with the banter around the pool, he again works so hard and i feel should also be recognised for his hard work.

One thing that does need to be changed for the workers is their uniform in the blistering heat, they are expected to wear black trousers and long sleeve shirts in 40 plus degree heat and they get very uncomfortable, so please, who ever is in charge of that please give them alternative clothing for hot months.

Ahmed in the restaurant is an absolute character and had us laughing so mich during meal times, he also needs to be recognised for his work, along with both Mohammeds. The staff are amazing at this hotel.

The food is ok at the hotel, could be better but could be a whole lot worse and i am a really fussy eater but i still managed to eat everyday so that says something.

The entertainment at the hotel is ok, however, at the start of our second week Veedo had to go elsewhere, he is the DJ and it went downhill, this is no fault of the hotels or of Veedo's but he was awesome and always got you involved. Meemo was great and who stood in whilst Veedo was away and it soon picked back up. Veedo was great and really lovely so i hope he returns soon.

Amir who is one of the managers at the hotel was amazing and always spoke to you and asked if you had any issues, and if you did he would sort them out really quickly. For example, a really rude animation guy called ali was at the hotel for one day and spoke to guests and other staff memebers really rudely and was so abrupt, needless to say he was at the hotel for one day and Amir got rid. Well done Amir for that!!

There is a lovely place just near the hotel if you come out and turn left that has fairy lights outside that has free wifi and food is gorgeous and so cheap, i highly recommed there too.

McDonald's and KFC delivery untill four in the morning if you fancy that.

Sam who sells water sports excursions is awesome and his trips were great, parasailing was amazing along with other water sports, he is trust worthy and highly recommened him.

Farsha beach is wonderful for snorkeling and is a must however there are around 100 steps to get to beach so should be avoided by those with mobility problems.

An amazing place with such an amazing bunch of staff at location.

We have made some wonderful friends with other holiday makers who we will continue to keep in contact with.

Thank you Viva Sharm for our stay and making our holiday as two people so great before we come three in April :-) xx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gizmo_22_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Director of Sales at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Lovely Guest,

Really i don't know or the way to thank you so much for your review ,,, it's really so nice to feel that you saw closely how we improving day after day to let our guests more and more satisfy ,, i appreciate each word you mentioned and hopping that you will keep your promise to be with us again when you will decide to visit Sharm again, on behalf of Viva Sharm Management and staff i would like to thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

clair r
the viva sharm ls a nice hotel, if you are looking for peace and quiet, there is a quiet pool & a noisy pool so you have a choice, you do get the sales men, few times a day selling boat trip, newspaper ect, there is activity going on throw the day eg,darts, stretching, vollyball, night enternament is average. the staff/ manager are very fiendly,helpfull, the room clean just need a little touch up which they are doing, there is no all inclusive gym,sauna as they stated, food was good, the down fall to the holiday is the myscator biting you, its best to get advise from the chemist/doctor before traveling,& i would go back to the viva sharm.

Room Tip: all room are good view & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clair r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Director of Sales at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Lovely Guest,

First i would like to thank you so much for finding time to review Viva Sharm Hotel with a honest eye from your opinion and hope soon in your next visit you will find more and more improvment in our services and facilities and the management and the owning company trying to give all the best to our dear guests...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

during our 10 day stay at viva sharm we could not fault it,there was a couple of hiccups on our first 2 days due to poor entertainment that was quickly ironed out and became a fabulous holiday with a new animation team.there is a quiet pool and a livelier pool.suits all kinds of different personalities,we tryed both and stayed around the liveliest one.The pool men moman and bob are fantastic and using your cards they place your towels on your sun lounger every day without any hassle.very relaxing in that repesct.There is music animation teams doing volley ball.lilo races,darts,and being very friendly without being pushy.We tryed the pool party..wow what a GREAT night.sounds a bit dangerous but is not at all.great laugh with all the animation team and staff .best night of our holiday :))The all inclusive is 10 am till 10pm.(we did think this was a little early finishing as the entertainment did not start till 9.30 pm).all in all we still enjoyed it,a big bottle of beer for £2.50.not that much to complain about really.All the staff are very welcoming,helpull,and are very pleasent to have around whilst on holiday,AHMED,great laugh with his english slang :).haha. The rooms are very nice too,always clean towels,spotlessly clean and lovely seeing there towel displays on your bed.nothing is to much work for any of the staff to help you,weather its animation team,bar staff,chefs or management.we are missing them all already.the food is a bit repetative but still good.plenty of choices and certainly didnt starve at meal times.there is mcdonalds that you can have delivered cheap and way much bigger than the uk if you fancied fast food. all in all we had an EXCELLENT,holiday met some great people from the uk and vivas staff were a pleasure to meet,and will defianatly be returning,hopefully in january .

Room Tip: use the cards they give you at reception on arrival to ensure your towels are put out in the same pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzanne329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Director of Sales at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Lovely Guest,

Really i don't know or the way to thank you so much for your review ,,, it's really so nice to feel that you saw closely how we improving day after day to let our guests more and more satisfy ,, i appreciate each word you mentioned and hopping that you will keep your promise to be with us again when you will decide to visit Sharm again, on behalf of Viva Sharm Management and staff i would like to thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Viva Sharm is a great 3* hotel it just needs a few tweaks here and there. The main downside for me was that there wasn't enough sunbeds to go around. Basically if you weren't putting a towel out before 6am you had no chance, supposedly reserving sunbeds was not allowed! Tell that to the people who were reserving them and going back to bed til late morning or going to the beach. Who wants to get up earlier on holiday than they have to for work at home? On my second morning i was in reception at 6.45am complaining as not one sunbed was available, yet there was only a handful of people around the pool. After myself and at least a dozen other people complained about it that day we were told that any sunbeds that were not in use at 8am would get the towels removed so others could use them, needless to say this was an empty promise. Hatem the night manager was very helpful and pleasant but his hands were tied by upper management.
The food for the first few days was barely edible, tepid potatoes, pasta or rice with overcooked meat, not a drop of moisture in sight. On the third day a manager came round and asked for comments, the next day the food was greatly improved and there was gravy to have with the meat and sauce for the pasta or rice. A pasta station was opened and the deserts were appetising.
The all inclusive was 10am til 10pm except 10am-11am when the restaurant closed and the pool bar opened and 5pm-6pm when the pool bar closed and the evening bar opened, so too bad if you get thirsty at those times. The drinks were served in small plastic cups which were not washed properly inbetween customers and there was more often then not a queue at the bar due to glasses running out. The beer and fizzy drinks were out of a bottle not on draught so were often not cold. The spirits were disgusting aka paint stripper/nail varnish remover, i think this is the standard in Egypt and not really the hotel's fault though. I ended up drinking dilute orange all holiday that they made up for me and kept in the fridge, which was nice of the staff. After the manager's visit for customer comments the glasses started to get washed a little better.
The room we had was spacious and clean, could not fault it. Our room was one around the quiet pool which have been refurbished and are of a far better standard then those around the noisy pool. We had clean towels every day and these were usually arranged in a lovely animal shape.
Hassan the barman was absolutely fantastic, never without a smile on his face and nothing was too much trouble for him (he deserves a pay rise Mr Viva Sharm manager), i cannot praise him enough.

The management and staff at the hotel are listening to their customers and are really trying to sort out any problems that have been brought up. Judging what i have heard from others and read about other 3* Sharm hotels, this is one of the better ones. The management need to sort the sunbed situation out, get draught drinks and keep the food at a decent standard and this hotel will be top notch.

Room Tip: Rooms around the quiet pool have been refurbished and are of a better standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Director of Sales at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Lovely Guest,

Really i don't know or the way to thank you so much for your review ,,, it's really so nice to feel that you saw closely how we improving day after day to let our guests more and more satisfy ,, i appreciate each word you mentioned and hopping that you will keep your promise to be with us again when you will decide to visit Sharm again, on behalf of Viva Sharm Management and staff i would like to thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

If you are thinking of staying at the Viva Sharm Hotel please read my review before making a choice. Some people just like to find fault and complain about anything and everything and they are the ones who would find fault with everything they do in life. Other people just get on with life and see the good and the bad.
I have stayed in Sharm El Sheikh three times now, and this is the friendliest hotel I have stayed at. The hotel staff are absolutely amazing, and are a real credit the hotel and the Egyptian people. The entertainment team are really friendly and outgoing and encourage (not pester) you to join in and have a good time. The hotel is not on the beach, but they run a free shuttle bus to two beaches twice a day, morning and afternoon, Farsha Beach was my favourite, where there were plenty of sun loungers, a clean sandy beach, clear waters where you could walk out about 40 metres and the brightly coloured fish would swim around you. There was a jetty at the far end of the beach to take you out over the coral where you could snorkel and swim with even more fish. The only downside to this beach is the steps you have to go down to get to it. There is an excellent public beach where you pay to go onto it within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has a doctor on site that seemed to deal mainly with mosquito bites, luckily I didn’t need to see him, but he always said hello to everyone. The all-inclusive started at 10am and finished and 10pm, it would have been better if it went from 11am to 11pm. The prices for drinks after 10pm were reasonable, £2.50 for a large bottle of beer. The beer was drinkable and so to were the spirits, not too sure I could say that about the whisky though.

RECEPTION: Clean, staff helpful, quick easy check-in.

ROOM: I was in the old side of the hotel and the room was in desperate need of modernising, furniture was a bit shabby and falling apart. But as I only use the room to sleep and shower, the bed was comfortable and sheets clean; the shower was hot and the towels changed daily, the room was cleaned every day, and the air conditioning worked, which is all I wanted.

RESTAURANT: Good choice of food and well cooked. I never had an upset stomach all holiday.
Breakfast: They had an egg station where they would make omelettes of your choice or do fried or scrambled eggs. They also had sausages, beans, boiled eggs, pancakes, cheese, ham, breads and cakes and sometimes a strange choice for breakfast of potatoes with cheese.
Lunch: A good selection of breads; soup; vegetables; chips, rice, either chicken or beef; and either burgers or hotdogs. If you didn’t fancy any of those there was a pasta chef who would make you a mixed pasta of your choice you just chose the ingredients to go with the pasta. There was also a good choice of sweets and melon and oranges.
Dinner: Similar choice to the lunch menu but there would a choice of two of either, beef, chicken or fish, and the pasta was usually a lasagne type. Wine was also available, the red was very drinkable, but the white was a bit hit and miss.
The waiters in the restaurant were very friendly and efficient, usually when they saw you come into the restaurant they would go and get your drinks and bring them to your table without you needing to ask for them, HASSAN (Frodo) and AHMED were especially helpful and would a have a chat with you asking how your day was.
Snacks: The only time snacks were available, were at the pool bars between 5-6pm and these were cakes and pastries.

POOLS: Three of them with plenty of sun loungers, and if you wanted the same ones each day the pool/towel attendants would have them with a towel on ready for you (thank you MOMEN and EHAB). There were a few broken slats around the pool drainage but Momen would go around and replace them when he spotted broken ones. The volume on the music did tend to creep up a little in the afternoon, but if you asked them to lower it, it was done.

POOL BARS: Excellent service from WALID, beer was sometimes a little warm, but if you asked he would get a bottle from the back of the fridge and pour you a cold one. When he went round the pool collecting the empty glasses he would always ask if you wanted another one and bring it over to you, at times he didn’t need to be asked he just brought them when he saw your glass was empty.

MAIN BAR: Again excellent service from the staff. The only time they ran out of glasses was when the guests were stockpiling the drinks towards the end of the evening or not bringing glasses back to the bar when ordering more drinks, but the staff would always be going round collecting empty glasses.

MANAGEMENT: All the management team could be seen walking around the hotel during the day and night time asking if everything was alright and if they could do anything to help. Mr. Amir, the Operations Manager, went out of his way to introduce himself to everyone and take feedback on the hotel whether good or bad. I spent a very pleasant evening with him and the General Manager, Mr. Mustapha, and three other guests just talking and drinking the night away.

STAFF: All the staff at the hotel were really friendly and did their best to make sure you had a great holiday and were always ready to help in any way they could. The staff are the biggest asset to the hotel and make it what it is.

ENTERTAINMENT: At first I was a little unsure about the entertainment team, but after getting to know them and joining in they were absolutely brilliant and would come over and have a chat when they saw you. If you didn’t want to join in they didn’t keep pestering you to do so. OLIVIA was a really friendly person and had a great personality, ADAM and VITO also came round and chatted with you. Yes they did come around asking if you wanted to go to the BBQ and Pool Party, but then again so did the waiters and bar staff, but they were only collecting names and you had to pay the management at the reception desk. The entertainment at night was the usual you get at hotel complexes, Mr Hotel, Hotel Couple, Egyptian Evening, Karaoke Night, etc., but again if you didn’t want to join in you didn’t have to. The Pool Party was an excellent night where the hotel waiters and bar staff were encouraged by the management to join in and mix with the guests and have a good time, which made for a great party atmosphere.

OVERALL: I had a fantastic holiday which I thoroughly enjoyed. The staff and the people around the pool and the hotel who I met were absolutely fantastic and everybody would chat and make you feel welcome. (I was there for three weeks on my own, so I got to meet a lot of great people, some of whom I will definitely keep in touch with). I feel as though I have left another family back at the hotel.
Would I go back to Sharm El Sheikh? Yes. Would I go back to the Viva Sharm Hotel? Definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room around the quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Director of Sales at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Lovely Guest,

Really i don't know or the way to thank you so much for your review ,,, it's really so nice to feel that you saw closely how we improving day after day to let our guests more and more satisfy ,, i appreciate each word you mentioned and hopping that you will keep your promise to be with us again when you will decide to visit Sharm again, on behalf of Viva Sharm Management and staff i would like to thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

After returning from another great trip to Sharm el Sheikh we are happy that we booked into the Viva sharm hotel again. This was our second time staying there and understand they are now under new management and it shows. Mr Amir is a fantastic manager who is always at hand to sort out any probelms there and then withiout hesitation. He is a good man and went out of his way to ask us everyday if there was anything we needed and if we were happy. On our arrival we had a problem and with the help of Mr Amir this was swiflty solved and the rest of our stay was good.
The entertainment this time around was much better and the pool party was fantastic we didnt want the night to end! The food was good and the staff in the dining room were always happy to greet you and the chefs did a good job too. We noticed a lot of changes from our last trip and the hotel was busy with a mix of Egyptians and British. Was nice to see the mix of cultures coming together in the evening enjoying the music and dancing. All the changes in this hotel are deifinetely for the better! Mr Amir is an asset to the Viva Sharm..
"Bob" who looks after the guests in the quiet pool is a lovely person who makes sure we have everything we need throughout the day by the pool, always greeting us with a smile and a song having our sunbeds & towels all ready for us when we are all set for a day of sunbathing.
All in all we had a good trip and are now planning on returning in the near future for yet another lovely stay at the Viva Sharm!.
Norah & Amr

Room Tip: Bedrooms at the smaller pool seem to be a little more up to date than the ones at the larger activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Front Office Manager at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear viva sharm Guest,
Thank you for your taking the time to post your comments regarding to your stay at viva Sharm hotel

Your feedback is too much valuable for us, as we always gain new experience from others perceptions and that help us to correct and improve our services, that we aim to provide to our valued guests such as yourself.

thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to viva sharm hotel,

On Behalf of the Management & Staff
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#78 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amar Sina Village
Amar Sina Village
#133 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
841 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#177 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#110 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,429 reviews
2.6 mi away
Naama Inn
Naama Inn
#201 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#148 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Sharm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Sharm Hotel

Address: Motels St. | 500 Meter from El Mercato Street, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £10 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Sharm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Sharm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Viva Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Falcon Hotel Viva Sharm
Falcon Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Falcon Inn Viva Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing