We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for and I paid for a nice time...”
Review of Viva Sharm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viva Sharm Hotel
Ranked #214 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for and I paid for a nice time...”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have just returned from a fortnight at Viva Sharm. We were two adults and three kids aged 10, 12 and 12.
We booked a cheap and cheerful holiday and thats what we got.
I really cant knock it.
On the plus side the rooms were clean and refreshed every day (we had two interconnecting which was great) and the pool area was very clean and comfortable. Bob was by far the most helpful member of staff and a credit to the team, we left our towel cards with hiom and he organised our spot for us every day. Awesome :)
On the not so great (although still cant really knock it) side was the entertainment and the food.
On the entertainment side its relatively basic with the odd outside entertainer brought in but otherwise the local animation team give it a go but its a bit like a trip back to the 70's / 80's :)
The food I ate every day but I am not fusy and quite partial to beef stew and rice to be honest. If your not then there isnt much else although the did do fasta to order alot of the time which is palatable to most. For breakfast there was always fresh omelettes which were really nice.
All inclusive drinks were fine for the kids but I am partial to a beer or three and I ended up buying these from a second fridge most nights as the ones I was served were invariably on the warm side which doesnt really cut it in 35 degree heat.
Oh, and last, DO NOT change your money at reception, they offered a paltry 9.5 top the UK Pound as opposed to 12 in town.
All in all we paid so little to stay here that I really cant complain, I just thought I would be honest in what I thought of the place. If you need a place thats clean and tidy, a comfy bed and a spot by the pool then honestly you cant go wrong, just know that you cant pay budget and get 5*.

On another note, what we did with the money we saved on accomodation was entertain the children with various activities. For this you should definately go and see Ibrahim at Angel Tours which is accross the street from the front entrance to the hotel.
We booked the following for 5 people for @ £500 English : Tiran Island Boat Trip, Parasailing, Go Carting, Aqua Park, Swimming with dolphins. Compared to the reps and most other places we looked, this was a bargain. What made it better though is its literally 1 minute from the Hotel and they cant do enough for you. Ibrahim took us personally on some of the trips and other made all the arrangements as you would expect. Aside from that though he helped us top up our phones and internet, went to the supermarket and got us some drinks, helped with a mildly sunburnt child etc etc. All above and beyond but means we will be going to see him again in November when we return to Sharm.
Hope you found this useful and have a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Front Office Manager at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Greg G,

Thank you for your nice comments, your feedback is very valuable for us as it is the only way to correct and improve our services.

and please be assured that we will discuss all the negative issues you mentioned with each department individually in order to improve our services to meet our guest expectations.

Thank you again and again and again.

Kind Regards.

Abdel Wahab Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    238
    109
    78
    89
See reviews for
139
264
81
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My boyfriend and I went to Viva Sharm from the 5th of august until the 15th of august.
Our flight was delayed which meant that we didnt arrive at the hotel until about 22:00. We checked in and were told that they would bring some dinner to our room; this didnt happen.
Hotel
The hotel itself needs major renovations; although the 'entertainment' pool has been recently tiled, it been done poorly and like most things needs to be replaced.
Room
It was okay, the rug needs replacing as it is fraying and I kept tripping over it. Be wary about the plugs because many of them are falling out the wall. We were by the quiet pool in room 310 in the newer rooms, on our final day we used a room by the activities pool to shower in before which were horrible and im glad we didnt have one of those rooms.
The cleaner was lovely and made us animals out of towels.
Food
This was the worst part of the holiday. There were about 5 different dishes to chose from at lunch and dinner which were mostly the same for both meals. The breakfast was the worst meal with most of the food catering for the Egyptians and the Russians. You can get ommlettes and friend eggs but for some reason you have to outside to the pool to get them. We skipped breakfast most days, mostly due to the fact that breakfast finished at 10 which was too early considering you're on holiday and want to be able to have a lie in. The best meal we had on holiday was a McDonalds which says something about how bad the food at the hotel was.
The only drinks they offered at meal times were orange or apple squash and the only other drinks you could get were spirits, if you wanted fresh juice or cocktails or any food from the lobby bar you had to pay more - therefore, its not all inclusive.
Staff
Animation staff were lovely, although with there only being 3 of them the evening entertainment wasnt amazing. The management didnt decide what they wanted the entertainment to be until the last minute so the animation team didnt have long to prepare anything. The bar staff were lovely, especially TokTok.
We went 3 excursions whilst in Sharm - quad biking in the desert, aqua park and also snorkelling at Ras Mohammed. All 3 excursions were amazing, especially the quad biking as its something that you dont get to experience everyday.

Overall, I wouldn't return to Viva Sharm; even though it is a cheapish holiday, its still not worth the money you pay seeing as you have to eat out and have to pay for the extras. We would go to sharm again but not in August as it far too hot - about 45 degrees most days.

Room Tip: Get a room by the quiet pool as they are the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jasmine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Front Office Manager at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear jasmine k,

Thank you for choosing viva Sharm hotel for your holiday and thank you for submitting a Trip Advisor review,

The negative points mentioned in your comment will be addressed to the concerned to take the necessary action towards it

Your praises for the animation staff will be shared with them and they will be grateful for that

Hopefully we can get another chance to welcome you once again.

Yours Faithfully.

Abdel Wahab Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here beginning of August, after reading the reviews nearly cancelled but glad we didn't.
Some of the comments are warranted but the hotel for us was completely acceptable, I'm not to sure if people expect 5* hotels at 3* prices?

Rooms were spacious and cleaned every day with even a bit of towel art added!

Meals were basic and a bit repetitive but always something there to eat and really the biggest downfall for Viva

Drinks are on a glass by glass basis from 11am to 11pm with the pool bars shutting at 5pm but the inside one opened at 5pm so no downtime!!

Hotel lays on transport during the day to 2 beaches and at night to Naama Bay returning at midnight.

Staff are this hotels main stay, they are so friendly and con not do enough for you, from Hatem on front desk, Doc Doc and Mohammed on the bars Mr Ramadam the chef etc

Entertainment team Chivo, Hannah and Nikola give there all and try to include you in activities but don't hassle you if you want to chill, and with I suspect a limited budget try their best.

Improvements that I would suggest which are quite simple would be,
1. Replace the ping pong table and paddles for new
2. Bring the bar football table out as its stuck upstairs in reception never used
3. Get chilled draught beer on instead of bottles and make it self-service
4. Replace the shower curtains
5. Keep up the improvements and listen to customer feedback

All in all would we go back - YES as I think the new management are trying extremely hard to improve what must have been a tired hotel,

Room Tip: Room 304 is on the quite pool side ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManchesterRed64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Front Office Manager at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear ManchesterRed64,

I would like to thank you for your very positive summary referring to your recent stay at the Viva Sharm Hotel Sharm-el-Sheikh.

Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and most of all the hospitality of our Staff.
your recognition is very important to us and we hope to always be up to your expectations!

We hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Yours Sincerely.
Abdel Wahab Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Hotel

The hotel is definitely over due for a renovation in some parts. Lots of little things need repairing that get over looked like paint peeling on the banisters, plug sockets hanging off the walls and floor tiles broken etc. The hotel grounds are not disabled friendly as there are quite a few steps with no slops for wheel chairs. Some of the paths leading to the apartments are in desperate need off repair.

All Inclusive

The all inclusive runs from 11am to 11pm. Meal times are: Breakfast 7am to 10am - Lunch 1pm to 3pm - Dinner 7pm to 9:30pm. in our opinion it would of been better to start the all inclusive from 10am as the hour between breakfast and the bars opening can be a very thirsty time especially in the Egyptian heat. The two pool bars offer the usual run of the mill locally produced alcohol and soft drinks, but no ice cream for the kids which is strange. All the soft drinks and beer are from the bottle as there is no draft facility's. The beer in the fridge during the day gets warmer and warmer, because each bar area has only one fridge. So you can imagine the more the door opens the warmer it gets.

The Rooms

The rooms are very basic as you can imagine for a Egyptian 3 Star hotel. The beds are clean and moderately comfortable. The bathrooms are also clean and tidy, but the downside is the water in the bathroom comes out brown when you have the hot tap on. I can only assume it's down to the sandy environment, but even so it's a bit off putting when you have a shave. The male maid replaces the towels and changes the beds every day and tidies up for you. The rooms have a tv, fridge and hair dryer which is good. Air conditioning is ok. All rooms have a safe, but it's pot luck if yours works in your room. All in all we can't grumble at the rooms, because your not in them long enough.

The Swimming Pools

Viva Sharm has 2 pools. One is fairly shallow and the other is a bit deeper. The shallow pool is were you can chill out and the other is where you play volley ball and water aerobics etc. The shallow pool has been poorly relined or built with a plastic lining. Lots of places under feet are bulging, which is a bit off putting.

The Food

The food is this hotels biggest downfall. Breakfast has a very very limited choice. They seem to cater more for the Egyptians and Russians then they do the English. If you require eggs you have to go outside the restaurant to the pool area for them to be cooked. Here they will cook for you fried eggs or omelettes, but this can be time consuming if there's a queue. The lunch and dinner to be brutally honest is 9 times out of 10 unacceptable. The food is cold a lot of the time and the choice is not good at all. We spent more time eating Mcdonalds, KFC and other options to avoid lunch and dinner, which defeats the object of the All Inclusive. Twice in the 2 week stay they put on burgers and chips which people in the hotel were over the moon about. Says a lot when your happy for a hotel burger and chips.

The Staff

This hotel has the best bunch of staff i have had the pleasure to meet, from the male maids to the catering staff they will do anything for you. The animation team team as well are fantastic considering the low budget they have to work on.

Summery

All in all we as a family had a good time in Egypt, but we would not return to this hotel. This hotel in our opinion should not be rated 3 Star. If they got their act together and tarted up the place and gave more choice of food we would consider coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poyntons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Front Office Manager at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Egypt. we are sad to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your stay with us and we are apologize for the inconvenience caused , as we are doing our best to satisfy our variable guests , we already run fully renovation some of our rooms and our swimming pool last week, our ALL INCLUSIVE was from 10:00 till 10:00 and we changed to be from 11:00 till 11:00 as per suggestions from our guests.

your feedback is very important to us as it gives us the ability to correct and improve our services provided to our valued guests such as yourself.

Once again thank you for your review, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel, promising to serve you better next time.

Yours Sincerely.

Abdel Wahab Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

4 of us have just returned 9th August from a week at viva Sharm. I have to say after reading some of the recent reviews I was quite nervous about our trip to viva Sharm. However, we had a lovely holiday. The staff were all extremely friendly especially Nikola and Mauro with the animation team. The " mini disco" was loved by our kids 7 and 8. The food was "OK", all edible and we didn't get bored of it. The pools were lovely, we spent most days by the quiet pool and most afternoons we took the punctual free bus to the Farshi coral Beach which had lovely snorkelling and a beautiful view.
The room was cleaned daily and we had a lovely " towel crocodile" on our last day. Air con was fab in room, which was needed as most days hit 45 degrees!!

I would probably class this hotel 2-3 stars by British standards.

My only complaint was the drinks, they were not ice cold and quite often flat, but luckily for me I was too hot to want to get drunk so I stuck to water which was always cold. I would consider coming back here but will try and look for a 4 star hotel next time right by the beach.

Gwawr and Bec, Cardiff. August 2014

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welove W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Front Office Manager at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Viva Sharm Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments, your feedback is very valuable for us as it is the only way to correct and improve our services.

I am very happy to know that our services did exceed your expectations that are our aim to provide the maximum service to our valued guests such as yourself.

And we ensure to deliver your gratitude and thanking to our colleagues whom we are proud of them. As your sweet words will be such as a good motivation for them to show more professional services..

and please be assured that we will discuss the negative issues you mentioned about the ice with the food & beverage department in order to improve our services to meet our guest expectations.

Thank you again and again and again.

Yours Faithfully,
Abdel Wahab Ahmed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at Viva Sharm for a week in October with a friend of mine and we had a lovely time. We didn't pay much at all for this hotel which I think may be due to the problems Egypt was having when we travelled. The staff were really helpful and our towels were always on our favourite sun loungers each morning. The food was great-always an amazing variety of salad which we loved-plus a few different hot options each time too. There wasn't a lot to do around the hotel-we went to the beach once using the free minibus and went snorkelling which was good as there were loads of fish! We also took a day trip to Petra in Jordan which meant that we were gone for 24 hours-the hotel provided us with breakfast boxes and we returned to find snacks in our room on our return. Overall we were really happy with the hotel and would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Front Office Manager at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sasha D,

we would like to thank you for your honest review, and for talking the time to share your experience for your recent stay on the trip Advisor,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and most of all the hospitality of our Staff. and we ensure to deliver your gratitude to our colleagues that will be a good motivation for them..

Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel, and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon ,

with my best regards.
Abdel Wahab Ahmed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent the holiday of July 29, 2014 to August 1, 2014 at the Hotel Viva Sharm. Had a fabulous time. Hotel staff very friendly, especially the reception Mr. Mohammed and Mr. Hatem and also the food was good and I like to thank Chef Ramadan is cooking dish omelet in the morning is very tasty it was the main dish to my kids. But it was an existing problem of electricity outages and air conditioning for the room for long periods of time and also there was a complaint from the bus, which goes to beach is not enough for the large numbers people in feast .and animation staff is wonderful .at all it was an amazing holiday in viva sharm and i want to repeat again thanks viva sharm hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHMED551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva_Sharm_12, Front Office Manager at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mr Ahmed,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding to your stay at viva Sharm hotel.

Your feedback is too much valuable for us, as we always gain new experience from others perceptions and that help us to improve our services, that we aim to provide to our valued guests such as yourself.

and please be assured that we will discuss the negative issues you mentioned even it was a force majeure with each department individually in order to improve our services to meet our guest expectations.

Thank you again and again....

Yours Sincerely.
Abdel Wahab Ahmed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#79 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amar Sina Village
Amar Sina Village
#132 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
829 reviews
2.7 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#107 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Luna Sharm Hotel
Luna Sharm Hotel
#207 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Golden
Otium Hotel Golden
#137 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert View Hotel
Desert View Hotel
#154 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Sharm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Sharm Hotel

Property: Viva Sharm Hotel
Address: Motels St., Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Sharm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Sharm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Viva Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Falcon Hotel Viva Sharm
Falcon Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Falcon Inn Viva Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing