We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$426
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Rotana Resort & Spa(Sharm El Sheikh)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,497)
Filter reviews
2,497 results
Traveller rating
1,274
707
299
127
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,274
707
299
127
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamfishmain restaurantpastapanorama barspecial thanksbeach bargreat holidaycoral reefbig thanksmini discovisited this hotelaqua parktiran islandentertainmentseapools
Filter
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 2,497 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I have just come back from a 10 nights stay, and found the hotel great! As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome, the hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. The entertainment was great and especially the Animation team who were fantastic! A special thankyou to Frances, Mohamed and Lito! you were fantastic!! had such a great time and loved it, would defenitely go back!.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aralvarez, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Good morning and thank you for your review....... I am sure that the Animation Team will be motivated when they read it....:)

We are glad that you had a good time and we hope you, will choose again Shores Amphoras for your next vacation..

Have a lovely day!!

Tony R. Alvarez
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We had a 2 week stay in the Shores Amphoras at the end of April, begining of May.This was our first trip to Egypt and our first experiance of all inclusive and I can only echo what the majority of people have already said.
The gardens are kept very well by an army of staff. The pools are well maintained and there are plenty of sun beds around the pools and on the beach area, beach towels are provided. The beach is rocky and gravely rather than sandy, the water is crystal clear and full of fish. The rooms are cleaned every day.
The staff are fantastic - special thanks to Faddy who worked for most of our stay at the splash bar and looked after us very well and Frances (and the other guys from the palm pool) from the animation team who kept us laughing and entertained. My girlfriend hurt her leg at the start of the second week and the staff could not have been more helpfull.
As I've said this was the first time we have gone all inclusive and on the whole, the food was very good, a wide selection and there was always something being bbq'd in the evening. Personally though, after 2 weeks it was a bit 'samey' and I prefer to wander around and find different restaurants.
Not all the bars are free to all inclusive guests all the time, although you can get inclusive drinks in the coco-loco bar till 11.00pm, other bars close at 10.00pm (splashbar), or charge from 7.00pm (oriental cafe?).
The hotel is a little way out of Namma Bay, but there is a free shuttle service provided by the hotel and I believe, if you want clubbing, the animation team can organised that for you after the coco-loco bar closes - at a cost, so you might want to get the free shuttle there and get a cab back.
On the whole, a good holiday, a good hotel and great staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aralvarez, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Thank you for your review....... your comments are much appreciated by all of us and we hope to have the pleasure to host you once again in Shores Amphoras.

Thank you and have a good day!!;)

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Ampahoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We spent two weeks over Easter at the Shores Amphorus and had a great holiday. We had read many reviews and agree with most of the posts - bottom line is you get what you pay for! The grounds are lovely and well kept. The beach is good as you can wade unlike other Sharm resorts and the reef is beautiful, teaming with fish. There is a pool for everyone - if you want perfect peace choose one of the smaller plunge pools, Italian frolics by the beach or cheesy music and games at the main pool. We generally went for cheesy games as we have two 8 year olds who were kept entertained by the lovely Frances (the only English member of the animation team) Mohammed and even Mahmoud whose day job was towels and saving lives! Hello to Tarek and the bartender from the Splashbar where we ended most evenings. The ups were the friendly staff, the sunshine, the friends we made. Not many English speaking families when we were there but we didn't really expect there to be. Hi josh!
The entertainment is in two camps - high energy Mediterranean pulp delivered by the Eden team or tired 'international' fodder by the other animation team - Mr Amphorus - Miss Amphorus - Best Couple - you get the idea. There is a belly dancing show once a week but this is in the bar where the all inclusive finishes at 7pm. The Italian shows are outside in the amphitheatre but the 'international' shows are in the Coco Loco which is a dingy, smelly cellar where the drinks are absolutely undrinkable with the wine poured from fanta bottles. The chairs are broken and we only ever stayed for the mini disco. The 'international' animation team is mostly Eastern European but they speak much better English than I do Russian or Polish and try really hard. Frances was a darling and made a special effort with our twins who fell head over heels for her.
The food was what we expected - excellent omelettes and not bad queues but monotonous. The all inclusive was a bit bizarre but the different times drinks and food were available didn't bother us too much. The all inclusive alcohol was fairly dire. The beer wasn't too bad but it was hit and miss whether you could get a plastic glass or had to settle for a paper cup. Ice and diet coke were often a luxury. The wine was awful and tonic was extra.
The 'dine around' option is very limited and you have to choose your meals from a very limited choice when you book. I would advise not to bother with the dine around as we enjoyed eating in the Bella Vista and the prices are really low anyway.
The major down side to the Amphorus is the rooms. We arrived late at night and were allocated a one bedroom first floor 'chalet' which was filthy. We were quickly moved but the second room wasn't much better. We decided to upgrade to a two bedroom chalet next to the Palm pool which was a great size but as dated as the other rooms and not much cleaner. I felt for the cleaners as the rooms are so old and grimy they must be difficult to keep clean. Apparently there is a refurbishment programme underway but much of the hotel could do with a good scrub.
To sum up the Shores Amphorus is cheap and cheerful but appears to be aspiring to better things.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aralvarez, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your review...... and for the help you are giving to us, all comments are been noticed, in reference to the renovation plan ,very soon we will have the pilot room finish and inmediatelly we will start the proyect we estimated to have all 300 standards rooms in area 7-6-5-and 4 between 3-5 months and this will not required any noisely work only ,painting,and decoration plus new pictures, new carpet, light fitting and new plasma TV 27".

We are glad that in general you did enjoy your holiday and we wish to have you back in Shores Amphoras in your next holidays!!!!:)

Thank you and have a lovely day.

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We really like this hotel because it was been 11 time.Like everytime we enjoyed our holiday very much!!!!From the first day till the last day we had a great time., 30-36 degrees, The room was wonderful with a very nice view.
The quality is always the usual, excellent, always fresh and tasty. Every night where the chefs cook various things - chicken, turkey, kebab, pizza, grilled tuna, burgers etc. and there is always pasta on offer inside, with a choice of sauces, plenty of salad, other meats and vegetables, and a huge variety of desserts and plenty of fruit.
The coast is very beautiful,The fish are exotic and beautiful, the beach staff is very helpful.
The only criticism, a very small beer glasses,in the beach bar.
The staff couldn't be more helpful and polite.So thank you very much for all.(Hussen Mourad, Youssef Gebril, Ahmed Haredy, Ahmed Elaref, Tharwat Ali, Saber, Mohamed Talaat,Waleed from the beach,Gamal(cook), Nasser Ali) and everyone else !!!!!!
This is a hotel I would highly recommend to everybody.!!!sunshine, snorkelling, service and overall satisfaction, five stars.
Special thanks to:
-Mr.Tony Alvarez

Ps:and we hope we meet again in November...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katika1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aralvarez, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you very much for your review!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I already posted in the staff areas and all are very happy!!!!!:) we hope that we will see you on the 12th time here in the Hotel as all staff love that guest comeback to us!!! this show that all our training and team work is giving us good results, but we do know, however that as humans we do not achieve sometimes good reviews such as your , but comments like yours make us work even harder!!!! for all future Guest visits!!

Thanks from everyone here at " Your Home Away from Home" and have a lovely day !!!!!

Congratulation also as Real Madrid is the Spanish League Champion!!:)

See you again in November!!:)

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I took my wife son and his girlfriend to celebrate my 60th birthday and i found the resort to be more then reasonable both in the hospitality of the Egyptian hosts and the one and only? English entertainments officer by the name of Frances,she put herself out to help us feel at ease and was more then entertaining in her role,just a pity there were not more Brits for her to make feel at home.

The resort itself was excellent although could do with a few more loos around the pool areas,food was very good and the waiters were second to none in their politeness and eagerness to make sure that we were looked after.

Mainly catering for the Italians we never felt alienated and had a very enjoyable 7 days except for the bites the other 3 in the party suffered from the mossies.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aralvarez, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

We really happy that you enjoyed your 60th birthday and i found our resort to be more then reasonable both in the hospitality and the Egyptian staff!!!:)

Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to host you again in your next Birthday!!!!!!!

Have a lovely day and best regards from all of us:)

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews