We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, friendly staff and enjoyable enterntainment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otium Hotel Amphoras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Ranked #98 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, friendly staff and enjoyable enterntainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We were reading reviews before holiday in internet regarding this hotel and what we saw and experienced was heavely above our expectations. Indeed our travel agency also strongly recommended and said, that no claims from people afterwards and lot of people will travel to same hotel year after year again. After being there I totally understand why they do so. The pictures available are showing only half of the beauty of this hotel and the reality is far more beautiful. Very big area with lot of activities to children also. The rooms were clean and cozy. Service staff was friendly and helpful. To be honest, the shows and activities at the evenings in hotel bars were more interesting to enjoy then offered at special locations in Naama Bay and etc. The animation team with beautiful russian girls was very active and friendly and was organising lots of activities also to all children. The food was normal and varied. Hotel and rooms were clean. Small Spa in separate building was the thing we liked least, but the massage on the beach was great and relaxing. The all area was at nights quiet and we could sleep very well. Thanks to all staff, we really enjoyed our vacation and will return next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuuno11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Thank you for your honest review........

You really describe our Hotel in a few words.... thank you!!!! some times when I read other comments me and my team we get very worried , and we have it very clear in our mind that we need to improve all our resort operations every day but this review make us happy because looks like we are going through the right track.

Thank you and Happy 2011

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    652
    282
    118
    86
See reviews for
640
617
104
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Returned today after 2 weeks at this hotel,was ill with stomach problems from day 2.despite visits to the doctor for injection and meds.The food was awful , the hot food was mainly luke warm and every british family had the same problem with members of thier family.Hot food needs to be kept piping hot especially meats and rice otherwise they are a breeding ground for bacteria.
There is no mini bar in the rooms, just a fridge not even a bottle of water.as a lot of the complaints about this hotel are about the all inclusive status I am asking the manager right now why he never seems to answer questions or adress the situation in his replies.I have stayed in all inclusive all over the world always 4-5star and never had one that doesnt have water in the fridge and where you have to walk around the complex to find a bar that serves free drinks.I would be interested in his reply.
Despite his protests to the contrary the hotel caters mainly for Italians and then Russians,which would be fine if you knew that prior to booking.
The hotel layout is lovely, it has the potential to be 5 star because of its setting but fails on so many levels
.
Our room was large and clean with a good bed slept well and a beautiful view if Tiran Island.There are 5 pools but only 1 ceramic swimming pool the other are concrete and really no more than ornamental.
To summarise if you havn't travelled much and have no expectations you may find it satisfactory,if not you will be dissapointed.
None of the main tour operators would use this hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franticdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Thank you for your constructive comments.

In reference to your direct All Inclusive question , I will try to answer you with my best explanation.

As you know we do have contracts with many International Tour Operator and we do contract Soft All Inclusive ( Only soft drinks) and hard All Inclusive ( with local alcohol), We do give the Tour Operators a minimum of 5 bars for the All Inclusive ( Cabana,Panorama,Splash,Ceramic Pool Bar and Le Brasserie) and 2, the Lobby Bar and the Oriental Bar on Charge.

Also you can enjoy the Bella Vista or Mermaid Restaurant once a week with a free set menu, as you probably noticed we do run a Dine Around Programme this is advertised at the Main Restaurant entrance and in the reception area plus in the envelope that you receive at your arrival with the other information , key etc,..

You can enjoy free of charge to try our Alexandrina Restaurant in Shores Golden or our La Plage Restaurant in our Shores Aloha only walking minutes from our Hotel and the free of charge previous reservation in our main restaurant desk daily.

We do offer mineral water by the glass in all our outlets 7 bars and the Main Buffet Restaurant, the mini bar is not contracted with any of our Tour Operators even so if they request we do with an extra charge rate and we do refill every day.

For this reason we will offer to the Tour Operators very soon the new Silver Programme that will include all Premium Brand Alcohol, Free Wifi, mini bar with daily refill including mineral bottle water, a massage etc etc ..... but this of course will be an extra daily charge for the Guest that would like to enjoy the new Silver Programme.

We have a 5¨**** granted by the Egyptian Authorities with many difficult procedures for us to work on it, we do a lots of Staff Training daily and we are very proud that the work we do is honest and professional, even so, we know that we need to improve daily and we thanks all Guest reviews because they help us a lot

The other comments I will investigate and rest assure I will do my very best to fixed.

I thank you very much for your constructive comments and wish you and family a good 2011.

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

I just spent Christmas and New Years at the Shores Amphoras Hotel. It was a wonderful experience and the entire staff were really great humble people. The Egyptians we encountered in Sham were all really cool and very respectful. You feel really comfortable and safe at this Hotel(and In Sharm itself) and the Beach is right there. The Red Sea is nice, warm and blue with exotic fish near your feet. The hotel food was delicious, especially the fish(which they continually switched up, I dont know what kind it was) . I probably saw more Italians than I did Egyptians but that wasnt a bad thing, the Italian women, lets just say it looked like a Victoria Secrets Convention. And they really know how to party, HardRock Cafe and Dolce were filled with Italian women and Egyptian Men linked up. I think their culture is misunderstood by the people who said they ruined the hotel. Im American and i thought some of them were rude when I first got there but after a while i got the picture, It was basically a language barrier like most non English speakers,Ciao!
The Hotel staff make you feel at home, you are always greeted with a smile and maybe a joke but definitely most of the time real sincerity. I highly recommend this place and I plan to go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armando23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Thank you!!!!!! for your kind comments about our Shores Amphoras , really you read well the nationalities problems that looks like we have???.

Is a matter of mixing and enjoy other cultures and different way of behavior and life and this is part of the vacation to meet different peoples.....

We thank you for the comments about our staff and of Sharm in general and we do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back once again to " Your Home Away from Home"

Thank you and Happy 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Let's start with the pleasantries, the staff couldn't be more helpful and the general hotel cleanliness was excellent. The hotel layout is quite special with the coral reef on it's door step. This is typical of most sharm hotels, primarily an Italian and Russian destination.
Now the areas of concern
The hotel food court- food is bland and some seems to have been prepared early in the morning then left out, none of the hot food was actually hot! We stayed at a 4star hotel last year and it was much better. The Hotel Resturants were available at a cost unless you reserved in advance and had the set meal, the quality of the food was excellent
All inclusive? as per normal local spirits only BUT in some areas of the hotel, the bars charged for drinks. Bottled water was available at a cost,
We suffered with deli-beli as did a fair % of the hotel guests, the inhouse pharmacy did well to treat us, but this was the first time I've suffered in a long time.
The un-animation team looked a little tired although some made a little effort. The Italian reps ran rings round them and seemed fit to burst with enthusiasm.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dangerrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Thank you for your review, As you noticed we cater for many nationalities and mostly they enjoy their vacation with us, we are sorry that we did dissapointed you.

The comments about our food been cooked one day ahead , I take very serious and will investigated.

We do have 2 restaurants the Mermaid Fish and the Bella Vista Italian that to take advantage to dine free , you need to reserved one day before, we do this because we do have an average of 1000 person a day and we need to organized the reservation schedules if not it will be a caos and I am sure you will agree with this.

Also we do advertise in several Hotel spot ( Restaurant Entrance and Reception) and we do enclose in your arrival envelop all information of our Dine Around Programme that able you free of charge to dine in any of our other 2 restaurants in Shores Aloha La Plage or The Alexandrina restaurant in our Shores Golden both minutes away from Shores Amphoras, with previous reservation.

We are studying to implement a new Silver programme that with an extra cost the Guest can enjoy our premium alcohol brand plus other facilities we hope is in operation at the middle of 2011.

We are sorry you suffer of deli-beli, as you know the water in not good to drink or brush your teeth, let me inform you that during your stay with us we have in house everyday more than 1300 person and not serious report come from our Doctor log book or reception book.

We do hope sincerely that you recover and we thank you for your constructive comments and Happy 2011 to yiou and your family.

Thank you

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Went out all inclusive and had a terrible time.food was shocking and catered mainly for Italians as did everything.bars were closed early @ 6 and only one was open Xmas eve!
As all inclusive hols go,this was the pits And I've travelled all round the world.this place needs to drag itself into the 21st cent but it's to late to get me and my wife back,she's still bad a week after returning!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyconcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Good afternoon and thank you for your review.

We have to make very clear that me and my team do not agreed with your Heading Comment even so we respect it and we take as a good British sense of humor.

Maybe you dident notice but on Christmas Eve we open 3 bars and the Main Restaurant plus we open the Bella Vista Restaurant, also in your arrival envelop we place the Christmas programme and the Dine around programme that able all guest to try our other 2 restaurants in our nearby Hotels Shores Aloha and Shores Golden.

We do cater for many nationalities all year around and we regret that you feel that we have so many Italians in Sharm El Sheikh we do have a mixed nationalities Guest, some like in Mallorca they have many German and in Canary Island many Scandinavian Guest , even so I am sure you did enjoy our culture, our people and our weather.

We wish and hope your wife is getting better of her tummy problems, as you know the water is not drinkable and the temperatures some time plays with our body.

We thank you for your review and we wish you and your family a good 2011.

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Shores Amphoras is a lovely hotel but my time was a bit spoiled by all the italians and I think the Italians had priority over all the other guests staying there.

Food:

We had a wide variety of food for breakfast lunch and dinner. The food was alright but was cold every time every day. And although there was a variety it was the same variety every day so it was normally chicken, rice and vagtables which we got really fed up with. And every night they would have a theme like seafood night or mediterranean night and the only thing that wood change is the outside barbecue. Inside it was still chicken, rice and vaegtables and nonroasted potatoes claimed to be roasted.

Room:

It was a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom house with a kitchen and living room. The design was very nice but it was an awful kitchen. It had a sink and empty cupboard not even with shelves. And the TV had sports channels that played month old matches 4 times. But otherwise the beds were good, the bathrooms were good too and the cleaning was excellent. New towls every day, bed tucked in a cleaned and it becomes spotless.

Staff:

Every member off staff there was really nice. We walked in to the restaurant and we were given our drinks without being asked as they remembered what we liked. The animation team is really fun and friendly and put on a show every night. Every smiles and talks to you, waitors, chefs, animation team and hedge cutters.

Facitlies and activities:

There are great activities and facilities. You have a massages, football, french bowls, volley ball 6 pools a a gym. The gym isn't that good because the isn't much in there but everything is fine. The place has it's own beach where you can go snorkeling . The fish come up just a few meters from the shore and you can go right up to them.

Shows:

The are 2 shows every night. 1 For everyone and 1 for the italians. Like I said italians have priority. The shows are funny and invovles people from the audince. The italian show goes on far too late and keeps everyone else up. One time when it was raining the italians couldn't have their show because it was outside in thunder so they came and filled the room where the other show was with every one of them smoking so I had to leave and couldn't watch it.

Floods and room service:

during the storm there were no drains on our balcony so the water came in and covered the apartment. We phoned 3 times but no-one came. When we ordered room service it came cold. After the man touch our food to see if it was cold he brought back the same food and it still wasn't even that warm but a bit warmer so we just ate it.

New Year:

We were given a table right at the back with 2 other families. It only had 3 chairs when we booked 4 so they squeezed 1 in. The italian tradition of throwing peper balls was extremely fun but there was no count down to new year, luckily someone on my table looked at their phone 1 minute to 2011.

All inclusive:

We wentall inclusive and that was only in certains parts at certain hours

Most things were good but if you do go there I would advise to try eat out every night

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnaylor97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Thank you for your good comments about our Resort , we really appreciated, and this help us a lot to improve our operations.

Your comments about the countdown in New Year I agreed with you, we need to improve and we will do next year, this is the beauty of the guest reviews that future guest will benefit.. Thank you!!!!!!

During this period we have 1300 Guest In House 550 were Italians and is true that they have a different personality and behavior but I have to say that they get along very well with all other nationalities, we need to take into consideration that we are an International Resort and we cater for many nationalities.

During the floods we have some operative problems and we are sorry for this, in Egypt is very rare to get this kind of storms with heavy rain and we did try our best to give the cleaning water services to all 498 rooms ... at the same time!!!! but really we apologize is not often that this happens.

Once again thank you so much and we wish you and your family a Happy 2011

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Just got back from the Amphoras, it was amazing !!!! Very nice big room, with excellent sea view. When we arrived we couldn't believe it after reading all the reviews here.I was there with two kids, and they had the best time, something to dodo every hour of the day, the animation team keeps you busy with all kinds of activities... The people that work there are amazingly friendly and are willing to help you all the times. The food was great, few pasta dishes prepared while you wait, plus a good selections of starters, and main dishes for all the tastes (I had fish every day, both at lunch and dinner). Also outside there is always a grill preparing something different every night. There are two animation teams, an Italian and an international one, so there is always something to do in the evenings after dinner if you prefer not to go out. The room were cleaned every day and we never had any problem !!! The kids and I would go back tomorrow if we could :-) Definetely very good value for money, an excellent experience !!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mg641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, 3 January 2011
Thank You - Gracias- Grazie for your review and we wish you and family a good 2011.

We will hope that you come back to Your Home Away from Home soon.

Your review helps all of us to become better in the future.

Thank you.

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#87 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Golden
Otium Hotel Golden
#137 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#41 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#22 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#16 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Sharm Resort & Spa
Monte Carlo Sharm Resort & Spa
#83 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otium Hotel Amphoras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otium Hotel Amphoras

Property: Otium Hotel Amphoras
Address: Salah Taher St. | Omn El Seid Cliff - POBox 110, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly Shores Amphoras Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#67 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#90 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Otium Hotel Amphoras 5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located up on Um El Seid Cliff overlooking the Red Sea, Shores Amphoras is ideally located in one of Sharm El Sheikh’s most beautiful areas. Situated near one of the top diving spots it is a haven for divers and snorkelers. The hotel allows you direct access to many underwater and marine wonders, the highlight being an exciting ship wreck diving site called Amphoras (from where the hotel has proudly derived its name).Shores Amphoras is 18 km away (25 minute drive) from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport, and 11 km (15 minute drive) from Neama Bay (Centre). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Otium Hotel Amphoras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Amphoras Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Shores Amphoras
Amphoras Holiday Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing