We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, despite its small size” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otium Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Otium Hotel Golden
Ranked #137 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Giza, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, despite its small size”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Booking in this hotel was by accident, but I was lucky, the hotel is very good in many ways.
The rooms were very good, without any problems throughout my three nights there.
But despite my stay as (all inclusive) system, the drinking water you should pay for it, and they do not offer it for free.
Impressed by the service in this hotel, and especially in the bar, restaurant and the House keeping.
I must emphasize on the quality of food and taste, because they certainly affect the general mood, was diversified.
Hotel location was distinct because of its near to the sea and markets in the Hadaba area.
Permission to access Shores Aloha and amphoras, were very helpful, especially when other hotel offers more exciting entertainment shows, though I felt that there is a competition between the three hotels to attract residents.
swimming pool, beach and colorful sea, Ping pong, darts, volleyball, night shows, then later head to any club around like (pacha, or space, or dolce vita), this will guarantee an exciting busy day for you.
this place is totally great, but some missing few things to achieve full excellence: providing wireless internet service, serve free mineral water for (A/I), serve better drinks in the bar, more care for the fitness center.
Very soon I'll be back to Sharm el-Sheikh, and it seems that Shores Golden will be on the top of the list, "favorite hotels"

Room Tip: All-inclusive service, guarantee you peace of mind without worrying about any additional expenses
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Our Dear valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in Shores Golden.
Our formula of the All Inclusive is the standard formula in most of the Resorts, where we serve all drinks include water + Hot drinks in different out lets starting from 07.00 am till mid night all according to a schedule, furthermore all drinks we are serving all local ones.
Bottles, imported and out of all inclusive timing or areas are against charge. internet access is available at the Lobby area & the main building.
We will be more than happy to welcoming you as you will join our Loyalty Program made for all our repeater guests to enjoy the benefits and the added values offered starting from the second stay.

Please accept my sincere regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    149
    71
    39
    32
See reviews for
74
158
28
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here for 11 nights recently .worst all inc ever poor drinks disgusting food no ice cream or cocktails paint stripper spirits .pool areas and staff great everything else terrible very poor hotel .iv done about 15all inc and this was the worst i lost about 10 llb during this holiday from hell .i dnt normally moan i stayed in 3star to 5star hotels and this the worst ever i have stayed in sharm before and other hotels far better . avoid this hell hole its a terrible hotel for all inc waste of money best meal was burger king how sad is that

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marblesLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed at the Golden for 2 nights with my husband & couldnt stay any longer, paid £250 to move across the road to amphoras as this is THE WORST hotel ever!
Food is dreadful, rice, pasta & couscous are all you will get so definitely suitable for vegetarians (take some multivitamins with you though or you will be severely undernourished by the end of your holiday).

Rooms: dirty, black ceiling on our toilet, rusty bins, dirty sheets with hairs from previous guest on the bed. Dirt everywhere, will attach pictures later!!

Noisy, no entertainment. Vodka, rum, etc just like paint stripper. Waiters harass you constantly, nightmare!!
Drinks are vile, why drink wine, just stick to vinegar as slightly better than what they give you.

Got food poisoning after first night, spent 5 days in bed. My husband ventured out for some food on first day without me & was asked by the waiter if he wanted a drink...or maybe some DRUGS!! Any drugs were available according to him...disgusting!! Manager seemed ok about this though, maybe they want this hotel to be an alternative to Amsterdam?

Would rather poke my eyes out with a hot needle than stay here again.

BEWARE: beach is 1Km away, as you have to pass the Shores Amphoras & Aloha to get there. Good walk by anyone's standards.

AVOID AVOID AVOID!!! 1* at best

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SofiaLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

In Real Life) everything just as described and shown in photos.
Great place! New arrivals meet cute and friendly people: janitors, administrators, school desks, waiters with refreshments; travel agents (also Russian speaking); animators; taxi driver.
Crossing the threshold, you plunge into the world of comfort and convenience, care and warmth, a welcome holiday from the madding crowd!
Most guests Europeans: Germans, French and Italians (who owns the hotel).
The hotel is quite new, well maintained, clean, with a high level of service and qualified personnel.
Five meals a day, including on the beach. European cuisine, rich, diverse, high-quality; suitable for vegetarians.
Beach access a 5 minute walk across the road with a variety of entertainment games for adults, a beach bar and a few soft unobtrusive shops-tents.
On the way to/ from the beach you can drop into one of the stores for national sweets, a newspaper or cigarettes.
In territory the gym with glass walls, a hairdresser and gift shops.
Along the hotel bars, designed for different tastes and income levels, and the popular club.
Word of this hotel is Harmonious.
enjoy your stay! enjoy your vacation!))

Room Tip: My room (193) was located in one of the smaller buildings, designed for 4 rooms, with a sea view, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Santarovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Our Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Shores Golden Management & Staff We do thank you for your review & we are looking forward to welcoming you again enjoying your next vacation at Shores Golden Resort.

We promise you & all our valued guest to maintain the standard under our Egyptian Management Company Shores Hotels.

Please accept our sincere regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Golden Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Pro's;
Nice clean rooms, Friendly staff, good food, good family hotel, managed to uprade ourselves from b&b to all inc for free as they didn't check, (except on alcohol). Location okay, two nice pool areas!
Cons;
Entertainment was mainly in Russian or Italian, as only around 5 other English in the hotel, The porter was very rude. Small pool was freezing.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smell92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Dear valued guest,

We thank you for your review of your stay in Dec 2011 ; Most of our guests are using the heated pool & all our water activities are made by our international animation team are taking place in the heated pool, the non heated pools are their for the guests who would not like the heated one & of course in the summer time.

As for being upgraded from bed & breakfast to all inclusive formula for free, I assure you that this is not possible as each formula got it's own identifications and it's revised by the front office & the accountant and our auditors; how ever we will make sure that our control circulation are solid to avoid such an incident.

we thank you again for your review & you did enjoy your holiday & looking forward to welcoming you.

Sincere Regards

Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Golden Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I have just returned from a 2 week holiday with my son, daughter and sister. I feel it is only right to let people know what I thought of this hotel and it's staff. When we first arrived and saw the hotel frontage, I thought it looked small and comfortable. The outside was quite plain compared to some hotels that we had passed en route from the airport. Once we entered the reception, it was spotlessly clean and well appointed. Even though our flight was delayed and it was quite late, we were welcomed warmly and the staff were helpful and polite. We were then led out to the pool areas and it pretty much left me speechless. It was so much bigger than we first thought. The rooms we were given looked out onto beautifully manicured garden areas, they were clean, large and very comfortable. Our cleaner, Ahmed, was very polite and friendly and kept our rooms spotless. In the morning we had our first introduction to the food.......it was fantastic! There was plenty of choice and there was a fresh egg and crepe station where omelettes, fried eggs and crepes were cooked to order. Throughout our stay we couldn't find any fault with the food and the staff were helpful, polite and made us feel like VIP guests. The pool areas were lovely. The pool bar, run by Mohammed, was terrific. We didn't even have to order drinks on most occasions as they were brought over to us regularly with a smile. The animation team, Ash, Simon, Zoja and Analia, were great fun and managed to get my kids involved in most activities. I can't wait to return to Shores Golden with my family and hope to do so every year if at all possible. A wonderful hotel, fantastic staff and terrific atmosphere. Thanks go to everyone for making our holiday the best one ever.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto the gardens were spacious and very comfortable. Ground floors had larger patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yvonne y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Our Dear Valued Guest,

We are very honored and proud from your review and on Behalf of Shores Golden staff & Management We do thank you and We are looking forward to welcoming you again and again in our Shores Golden.
In your next vacation to Shores Golden you will be a member in our Loyalty Program and you will enjoy too many surprises prepared only for our repeaters.
Once again thank you and please accept our Sincere Regards

Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Ihave just returned from a 2 week holiday with my sister, niece and nephew and felt strongly that i must write a review for this hotel. The Shores Golden was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The food was excellent every day and the rooms were clean and spacious. The gardeners keep the grounds of the hotel beautiful with stunning flowers and well cut lawns.
The staff throughout the hotel were very helpful and extremely friendly and between them all, they gave us the best holiday ever. I want to mention a few people in particular as they were so good to us: Mohammed in the pool bar, Simon, Ash and Zoja from the animation team and George and Mustapha from the massage and beauty team. Thankyou to you all and we will definately be returning to the Shores Golden in the very near future.

Room Tip: garden rooms near the volleyball court are lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clattie2246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Our Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Shores Golden Management & all the Staff specially the mentioned ones We thank you for your review which we are honored with, furthermore We are looking forward to welcoming you & your family again in our Shores Golden where we will secure for you as Loyal & Repeater Guest many surprises to make your Holiday enjoyable as much as possible.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#85 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Club Reef Resort
Club Reef Resort
#92 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#97 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Amar Sina Village
Amar Sina Village
#133 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.5 mi away
Veraclub Queen Sharm
Veraclub Queen Sharm
#103 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Xperience St. George Homestay
Xperience St. George Homestay
#45 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otium Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otium Hotel Golden

Property: Otium Hotel Golden
Address: Om El Seid Cliff | 110 South Sinai, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly Shores Golden)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#84 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#117 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Otium Hotel Golden 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Otium Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Golden Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Shores Golden Sharm El Sheikh
Golden Sharm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing