We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and decent hotel for a good price”
Review of Otium Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Otium Hotel Golden
Ranked #142 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 29 June 2013

If you don't require best quality luxuries or other showbusiness stars services this is a hotel for you to spend few nice days and have fun. We had a great time out there and enjoyed each day. Food is tasty, fresh and various, service is friendly, always smiling and helpful, our room and bathroom was clean. Nothing to complain about. Now something to the management: Mohamed from main pool bar, the towel man at the main pool (forgot his name) and each member of animation team are deserving for a rise! They are doing a really great job and made our vacation unforgetable! Thanks guys, all the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcin_from_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Our Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Shores Golden in the very near future. We will pass your regards and of course we will consider your recommendation in our next evaluation.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

There are so many things that my friend and I loved about this hotel. Close to the sea. Good food. Two pools - one that was always quiet where you could truly relax, the other where the animation team was. The architecture of the place was on a good scale. None of the buildings were huge monstrosities. But it was the staff more than anything else that made this place stand out. Adel at the main pool bar and Adel in the restaurant were particularly friendly and always made Ahmed and me feel welcome.
I only wish there were more machines in the exercise area.
Oh, and be sure to bring mosquito repellent. They spray regularly, but, this being Sharm, mosquitoes were around.
Love this place so much, we will return in August.
Robert from Canada

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Our Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review; for sure We will forward your thanks to our staff mentioned in your review. Please note that Our exercise machines were distributed between our two fitness es in our two Resorts Shores Aloha & Shores Golden were all our guests can use both. As for the mosquitoes We are fighting and spraying daily and the situation now in okay but this being in Sharm as mentioned. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Shores Golden where you will be joining our Loyal Program for being Repeater Guest.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We visited this hotel in early May 2013 and we had a great time. I have visited Sharm el Shiek three times before at different hotels, travelled all over the world on all inclusive packages so know what to expect for what I pay and this hotel overall was of a better standard than I have experienced before (for the money paid).

The layout and grounds of the hotel are beautiful and kept to a very high standard. Access to the beach is a short walk to the sister hotel or there is a frequent shuttle bus if you have mobility problems. The reef is great for snorkelling with plenty of different species to spot as well as some bigger stuff in the blue. If you don't like the sea for swimming the hotel has two well maintained pools which are great for cooling off in. The swim up bar is a good feature and very enjoyable. There is the usual activities provided by the animation team, water polo, darts, volleyball etc where everyone is made very welcome to join in. There is also massage, beauty treatments, SCUBA, water sports, henna tattoo and photographer available if you want. And although these are extras the staff of these individual businesses were good and only ever tried once to sell me something - I didn't get hassled at all.

The bedroom was of a standard I expected from a hotel of this rating and was kept to a good standard. The towels and sheets were replaced every day, bins emptied, floor swept and plenty of toilet roll. The shower wasn't great but this is not unusual in Egypt. The public rooms and outdoor spaces were clean and comfortable.

All the staff were good, very helpful, attentive, good natured, keen to practice speaking English with us (bear in mind this hotel attracts multi national visitors and the staff have to learn some Polish, Italian, Russian), share a joke and have a laugh. I think they really helped to make a good holiday for me and I would love to mention them all by name but because they have all been superb this is difficult.

The food was of good quality and choice at all meal times. I was never disappointed in the food and I ate well to the extent that my clothes are tight now! I am always surprised when I read other reviews of hotels saying the food is rubbish when it is clearly not. Maybe some people are very set in their ways about what they think is good food? A lot of British people eat badly and maybe the shock of good fresh food confuses them? The food was excellent and I enjoyed it immensely. The booze wasn't great with the spirits being quite rough and the wine wasn't great but I did manage a glass of red at every mealtime so wasn't undrinkable. The beer is lager type and is fine. If you are wanting a boozy holiday this maybe isn't the place for you. Buy a bottle on the way out perhaps?

I loved my stay and if I can get a good price on flights will come back next year. Thanks to all at the Shores Golden for a great holiday

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCO75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Our Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Shores Golden Resort Staff & Management we do thank you for your review and We are looking forward for your second visit in the very near future.

In your next stay at Shores Golden Resort you will be a member in Our Loyalty Program which we did invent for our repeater guests to enjoy more benefits and add values given only to our Loyal Guests at no extra charge.

Please accept our sincere regards

Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My friend and I have been to this hotel 3 times in the last 13 months, Joanne has been a further 2 times previous to that. Each time we take more people who come back with us.
The hotel is a nice size to enable you to meet new people. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful, welcoming and help make your holiday all the more special.
Our rooms were kept clean on a daily basis, with the cleaners making towel animals, putting flowers in your room and even decorating the toilet :-)
The animation staff are very friendly and again help make your holiday more special and are fantastic with the kids.
The management always ensured that we are happy and comfortable.
The food is very nice, with a varied menu, not just chips chips chips.
We would/have recommended this hotel to our friends and family.
We love this hotel, it is our home!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne14061977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Our Dear Valued Guest<

Many thanks for your review & We as Management & Staff are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future, promising you more added benefits to make your next Holiday more & more enjoyable. Your Home is waiting for you & for your lovely families.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel over a year ago with my boyfriend and thought should write a review! Had an awful time at the airport and was dreading what our hotel/Egypt was going to be like. Walked into hotel & my mood totally changed, the pool area was so pretty at night, all lit up with relaxing music. It was perfect. The food was absolutely delicious! Service was fabulous throughout the 2 weeks. And the hotel was very nice & clean. The entertainment wasn't English but was still watchable (thought that might have changed now as we went over a year ago). Alcohol drinks were the standard ones you get on most holidays, a bit strong & harsh but good enough to get drunk :)! I can't wait to return back this year for a relaxation week and great food! :D.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SC1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Our Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review, much appreciated and We are looking forward to welcoming you in our Shores Golden once again; Hopefully this year.

It's true that We upgrade our Entertainment to match more with the International style as much as possible and it became more watchable for all our Guests.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My story has a distinctive smell of basil.....i got there in a warm afternoon, with some friends.Its a small and confortable hotel that treats each and every guest like you are the most important person there.....the rooms are clean, the food is excellent, the view is spectacular and its near the beach ( u can do scuba diving). They have a lot of activites that you can do....you can wake up and go strech by the pool with Maria Grazia, you can learn how to dance with Tony (these are 2 of the entertaiment crew Settemari Club).
And when the night falls....its the most heavenly scenery that u've ever seen...the colours of the sand variate from gold to red and blue, the air capture all the scent of the basil, flowers, fresh food, desert.....every place on the earth has its distinct scent....and you should discover it too....will it be the smell of culture, history,people, the bazaar? For me, it was a mixt between the basil from the hotel and the culture and history of the whole Egypt!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank monica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Our Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review and We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Shores Golden to enjoy our Loyalty Program which include plenty of surprises for our loyal & repeater Guests.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

One on the worst hotels I have stayed in. Dirty rooms, hairs and stains on the bed sheets. About 1 km or more to the beach crossing 2 roads. Food is disgusting and the drinks are cheap imitation.
Got offered drugs at the the restaurant by the waiter. Would never recommend this hotel to no on. It does not deserve a star rating. Anyone who thinks its good must have very low standards.AVOID!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#101 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#81 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#43 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Desert View Sharm Hotel
Desert View Sharm Hotel
#151 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Sharm Hotel
Viva Sharm Hotel
#215 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otium Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otium Hotel Golden

Address: Om El Seid Cliff | 110 South Sinai, Sharm El Sheikh 45625, Egypt (Formerly Shores Golden)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#88 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#123 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £17 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Otium Hotel Golden 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Otium Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Golden Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Shores Golden Sharm El Sheikh
Golden Sharm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing